RMCO: Police issue 80,950 summonses in first 8 days

At the start of the recovery movement control order (RMCO), the police announced that it was set to maintain a presence on highways and major federal and state roads across the country in anticipation of the expected surge in traffic from a “delayed” balik kampung exodus.

Aside from monitoring traffic flow, the police it would also carry out traffic enforcement, focusing on various offences such as speeding and driving on the emergency lane.

Now, statistics reveal that there has been no shortage of traffic offences in the first eight days of the RMCO, what with a total of 80,950 summonses issued to motorists from June 10 until Wednesday (June 17), according to Bernama.

Bukit Aman traffic investigation and enforcement department (JSPT) director Datuk Azisman Alias said that the major offences committed were driving over the speed limit (37,802), expired licenses (12,169) and disobeying traffic signs (10,390).

He said that the police would also bring the offenders to court if they violated road rules and the law, citing drink-driving infringements and motorcyclists caught racing on public roads as examples.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• panjang on Jun 19, 2020 at 11:06 am

The ‘R’ in RMCO serve double meaning…hahahahah

• Expired license? Have to renew already? Thought say as long as car insurance valid and road tax valid, it’s okay already?

• Expired since 2018 lorrr…..

• Lollapalooza on Jun 20, 2020 at 9:51 am

Only those those expired since start of MCO la.. What the excuse for people who have license & road tax expired before MCO start? None! It’s always encourage to renew them at least a month earlier than the expired date. If you wait until a day after your expired date, you think when you get caught you won’t be summoned?

• Crony on Jun 19, 2020 at 11:28 am

Abang abang polis can now minum kopi. Syukur

• vivizurianti on Jun 19, 2020 at 12:26 pm

Words in the street is that the govt sudah koyak for handing out bantuan $$$$ during COVID19 pandemic. Now, the govt want to collect back the lost $$$$…..

Is that true, dear readers?

• Sohai on Jun 19, 2020 at 1:05 pm

Assuming RM20 average a summon, that’s a haul of RM1.6mil in 8 days for PDRM

• mrsmarties on Jun 19, 2020 at 4:35 pm

Here you article say s
    https://paultan.org/2020/06/17/rmco-road-tax-driver-licences-expired-after-march-18-remain-valid-counters-to-also-open-weekends-jpj/#comment-4942190

JPJ wont take action on expired license.

This article says PDRM issued summons for expired licenses (12,169).

So? If your license expired and you met JPJ you are lucky. You meet PDRM you SOL?

• Dredd on Jun 20, 2020 at 8:21 am

JPJ is not PDRM, of course different organisations have different rules.

• Lollapalooza on Jun 20, 2020 at 9:56 am

You mean you’re not considering anyone who have expired license and road tax before MCO is it? You think all Malaysians are punctual to renew their license and road tax one or two months before their expired date is it? Also it’s clearly mentioned in the link you provided that only those “.. expired after March 18 …” still valid, or maybe you didn’t read?