Perodua sells 21,250 cars in June, best month in 2020

Some positive news on the automotive front. Market leader Perodua has announced that it has sold an estimated 21,250 cars in June, which is its highest monthly sales figure this year. The numbers are nearly triple that of that achieved in May, when the automaker sold 7,886 units following the resumption of its business on May 19.

The company said that the sales tax exemption announced by the government on June 5 to boost car sales following the Covid-19 outbreak has had a positive impact on sales. The move sees locally-assembled (CKD) models enjoying a 100% sales tax exemption, while fully-imported (CBU) models get a 50% SST reduction until December 31, 2020.

“The government’s sales tax exemption move has had many benefits. The sizeable volume increase we’ve had as a result of that allows us to help the supplier and dealer ecosystem in this time of need – we purchased nearly RM500 million worth of local components in June alone,” said Perodua president and CEO Datuk Zainal Abidin Ahmad.

The automaker sold 8,601 cars in March before the movement control order (MCO) came into effect on March 18, halting its nationwide operations for two months. In April, where only 141 cars were registered in the country, Perodua remained at the top of the sales list with 57 units. Its year-to-date (YTD) sales total now stands in the region of 74,000 units.

The company said that it was buoyed by its performance in June. “We are immensely grateful to be able to bounce back with such energy in just under two months since we restarted operations nationwide. Our outlook is positive and we hope this momentum will continue and help the industry grow,” Zainal said.

He added that the company’s manufacturing operations were now at full capacity and maximum overtime, and it was working to ensure that customers receive their cars as quickly as possible, with no compromise on safety and quality.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Hahahahahahahahaha!
    P1 fan got buttsohurt reading this.

Best ever p2 yeahhhh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 12
    • Lets See on Jul 02, 2020 at 12:06 pm

Cannot trust what P2 say and do la. Just like they will use a different car for NCAP testing and sell the real lower quality production units to customers, basically cheating them all. Don’t believe me, go try buy the Aruz G-spec car that was ASEAN NCAP tested.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 25
      • Opsss butthurt p1 fan detected.
        Stop ur empty talk butthurt bro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
        • Safety First on Jul 02, 2020 at 4:19 pm

Empty talk is the saleperson trying to pass off his Aruz X- and AV-specs as having the same safety standards as 5 ASEAN NCAP stars G-SPEC ARUZ.

Perodua better start being truthful of the real safety standards on their sold cars. Their NCAP stars are meaningless when you cannot buy that exact variant.

For safety first, safety must be real.

• Safety First on Jul 02, 2020 at 6:53 pm

I concur with Lets See. Please tell me which your showroom has Aruz G-spec with the 5 NCAP stars that I can buy?

• Ahmadjr on Jul 02, 2020 at 12:20 pm

Another 21,250 smart Perodua owners. Kudos

• Safety First on Jul 02, 2020 at 12:37 pm

Perodua is synonymous with death stranding by a car. Congrats on being a safety meme.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • HorsePower Road Tax on Jul 02, 2020 at 12:11 pm

Perodua and P1 winning

Honda turbo cvt not flying

• Honda Civic Turbo CVT,6500 bookings, 2900 delivered. Leading C segment. See Paul Tan article.

• Up up away on Jul 02, 2020 at 12:13 pm

Wait p2 d55l suv coming out, p2 sales will always boom above 21k figure easily.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jul 02, 2020 at 9:56 pm

Without Daihatsu & Toyota help and hardwork, Perodua close shop since Day One la. Thank you Daihatsu & Toyota. Now please pay back all the tax incentives you received Perodua as a fake national car maker.

• Frozen on Jul 02, 2020 at 12:19 pm

Perodua? Ha ha. Cannot trust lah! Confirm 99% are sold to driving schools. How I know. Just go see how many Aruz going around. Bukan main diorang jerit Aruz sales every month but we see so little of them, even P X70 are more visible. Who they want to fool with shiok sendiri car sales numbers which cannot be independently verified.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
      • Wow u so that butt hurt?
        I kesian u lah.

• Well sori to say, what i see is, in 10 cars, suprisingly 7 are aruz and 3 are x70. Aruz on the road is like aruz sungai keep on mengalir. While x70 tumpang sungai wif aruz.

• Copy Paste on Jul 03, 2020 at 8:17 am

Copy paste: “even I know your claim is nonsense. Firstly, (since you like to exaggerate) ALL driving schools are using Perodua. And the second thing is, I don’t know which area you live but I see X70 here every single day.. not just once or twice a day.. it’s already very common to see them on the road.”

• Aikon on Jul 02, 2020 at 12:25 pm

It is expected. Nothing to be buttsohurt about…

• Copy Paste on Jul 02, 2020 at 12:34 pm

Copy paste:
      “One year ago, Perodua 4X Proton sales.
      Half year later, down to 3X Proton sales.
      By end of 2019, Perodua was 2X Proton sales.
      Before MCO, Perodua only did 1.8X Proton sales.
      After MCO now, it was down to 1.3X Proton sales.
      By end of the year? Predicted to be on par numbers.
      Suggestion? Sell your shares in this sinking ship now.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
      • LololoL on Jul 02, 2020 at 1:40 pm

And now, as usual, proton back to 10k behind perodua. And 14 years straight proton can never beat perodua sales, never even close. MCO different story, but still cant even beat. LOL! LOL! LOL!

• tokmoh. on Jul 02, 2020 at 1:43 pm

Dread it. Run from it. Destiny still arrives.

Proton. Is. Inevitable!

• 21,250 x RM 4,659.30 (average profit) = RM 99,010,125
      Not bad also, company earn big money too.

• As always perodua top the list…every month.
    Proton can never beat this sales figure.

• Lets See on Jul 02, 2020 at 12:10 pm

Perodua trolls have been bragging their Perodua will game over Proton soon but for each time they brag, Proton keeps narrowing the margin. Perodua trolls sembang je kencang.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
      • Same butthurt p1 fan again. Hahaha! Ur butt so hurt and its crying?
        P1 will never catch up p2 sales. Mark my word.
        P1 trolls sembang mcm puting beliung jer. Tin kosong jer sembang tu.

• Copy Paste on Jul 02, 2020 at 1:04 pm

Copy paste: “People buy P2 because its cheap, not because its good.”

• Perodua sales higher because of tikus banyak. Nvm, quantities maybe more but in term of profit both manufacturers almost same.

• Tak payah pening, tak payah susah. Beli jer…

• Autodrome on Jul 02, 2020 at 11:49 am

Carshoppers should buy more koreans, frenchies and germans instead of this unprogressive celups, soft/light chassis, bad R&H, bad NVH, unattractive design – unappealing brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 15
    • Unprogressive? Ur butt very hurt ah?
      How to say unprogreasive where number doesnt lie? Idiot!
      U r the one brainless unprogressive celup king!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
      • People buy P2 because its cheap, not because its good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
        • Hahaha on Jul 02, 2020 at 1:49 pm

Except for x70 n exora, others p1 cars actually cheaper than p2 cars.
          Full spec myvi much expensive than full spec persona and iriz.
          Full spec saga much cheaper than full spec axia. So why still less buyer go for ‘cheaper’ plotong car???? Becos it not good lar hahahahaha!

• Copy Paste on Jul 02, 2020 at 4:01 pm

Copy paste: “the Proton X70 continues to be the best-selling C-segment SUV in the country with 1,909 units sold last month, and which made it the best-selling SUV overall in the country for the first half of this year”
            “The Persona also held on as the best-selling B-segment sedan in Malaysia for two months in a row”

• perodua cheap? Tipu la! Full spec bezza is 10k more than full spec saga.They temp you there with base spec axia and hard sell you when u are there

• Edwin L on Jul 03, 2020 at 12:50 pm

Which is why Bezza loses sales to Saga, but majority of Perodua buyers are Axia customers.

• Maju Perodua.
    Axia, Bezza, Myvi, Aruz All full spec have Autonomous E.Brake, Push Start
    Bezza top spec leather is alcantara like and grippy.

Perodua and Proton Maju.
    X50 and D55L is coming.
    Storm the B-segment with Turbo, 17″ sport rim.

• vivizurianti on Jul 02, 2020 at 12:46 pm

Syukur x 100000. Prices of cars in Malaysia still mampu-beli. Abang abang and family can balik kampung and berholiday with ease, comfort and safe.

Syukur Malaysia always aman damai dan ekonomi mamtap.

• Remote control mini onli 30rm online on Jul 02, 2020 at 1:44 pm

Tofu cars shld be sold at tofu prices with baady temp gauge

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jul 02, 2020 at 2:10 pm

Can everyone please just calm down? Go ahead and support your preferred brand, but why do you need to do it by spreading fake news on other brands? Please guys, enough of this nonsense.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
    • Colgate on Jul 02, 2020 at 4:07 pm

Dear Hafriz, Agreed! It is also needed to get rid all sorts of honda cybertroopers here including Ben who are actually sometimes attacking other carmakers like Proton, Toyota, Nissan and Perodua. They are actually making us feel very hurtful. Because can see that last year that honda fans are actually attacking Mazda news even launching new Mazda 3 and Mazda 6 facelift. They are plain very jealous. They have very poor mentality and can’t even accept their facts.

So Please We Want to have better peace in the future when posting latest articles. We don’t want to see same honda cybertroopers anymore.

• Peaceful on Jul 02, 2020 at 4:28 pm

Yeah agreed! Do it rather than bit too late. We have enough of all honda fans here who keep on continue to fight against other brands, NON-STOP. They think that they are really champion and have achievement and to ensure that honda is no.1 in Malaysia. This is really unfair and very biased. They have already hurting us including buyers as well. Right guys?

• Dear Hafriz Shah, well said. Comments here should be fact based and constructive. Everyone has there one favorite brand, but be polite and meaningful with the comments. Subjectivity is allowed, but based on automotive facts not just personal opinion due to brand favoritism.Thank you for and exceptional good car blog and review, and non-biased if I may add. Keep it up.

• RaizerRocky on Jul 02, 2020 at 6:20 pm

Where and when perodua d55l launching?

• Hi Hafriz,

I have been wondering why you guys are not moderating the comments? It has been plaguing this website for ages. With political, racism, hate, nonsense comments that doesn’t belong here. Just don’t approve such comments and eventually they will give up.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jul 02, 2020 at 8:17 pm

We do moderate the comments, actually. You would not believe the nonsense we’ve been deleting!

We do believe in freedom of speech, however, hence the relaxed moderation so far. But yes, I agree wholeheartedly that political, racism and hate comments have absolutely no place in an automotive website such as this.

We’ll make changes soon.

• Easy to spot these idiots Haf bro. Just find the same copy pasta comments with different names being used and u will find the culprit master bollocker.

• I like Mazda 6 hacthback on Jul 02, 2020 at 7:17 pm

So many perodua sales fan huh? No need to compare to Proton anymore loh. The both target market are so different. Peroduas are fuel save, Protons are comfort and power. Both sales are good for the nation and rakyat. I just really hope other brand dont start bungkus. I love the varieties of choices…huhuhu.