2020 Proton X50 officially teased in Merdeka video!

The Proton X50 is now official! National carmaker Proton has teased its upcoming crossover in its 2020 Merdeka video, showing a blue example along with the rest of the current product range. Finally, the automotive industry’s worst kept secret is out.

A few quick cuts show off the X50’s side profile, quad tailpipes, LED headlights with daytime running lights and the round Proton logo. Look closely enough and you’ll even spot red highlights on the front grille and the brake callipers. The wheels match the 18-inch items found on the Geely Bin Yue/Coolray in other markets.

This also confirms we are getting the “Sport” version of the crossover (it’s available with two distinct faces in China, this being the more aggressively-styled look), as seen in the frontal shot and of course, the quad pipe close-ups. Interestingly enough, the teaser car wears a body-coloured roof setup instead of black, although the floating roof look is still in play with the blacked-out C-pillars.

There are no specifics released just yet, but the Proton X50 is likely getting the 1.5 litre, direct injection turbocharged three-cylinder petrol engine with 177 hp and 255 Nm of torque, paired with a seven-speed dual-clutch transmission as available in both China and the Philippines. The 0-100 km/h time as claimed by Geely is 7.9 seconds.

Built on the modular BMA platform, the X50 is expected to be offered with class-leading safety features. Six airbags and electronic stability control will be standard, while the upper variant(s) are likely to have autonomous emergency braking (AEB) and even adaptive cruise control (ACC) with active lane keep assist, surpassing even its bigger sibling, the X70.

Now that Proton is actively teasing the X50, the launch should be planned for the next month or two, matching the Q4 2020 timeline indicated earlier. Based on the response online, it couldn’t come early enough, really. Now that it’s all official, we’ll be waiting for the specs an the all important prices with bated breath. Selamat Hari Merdeka, everyone!

GALLERY: Geely Binyue

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• romance on Aug 31, 2020 at 10:37 am

(Like) X50 and Kona
    (Dislike) HRV

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 308 Thumb down 23
    • Art Ant on Aug 31, 2020 at 10:44 am

Better save money to buy X50 instead of buying City Hybrid and slower H City

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 400 Thumb down 17
      • Steven Kua on Aug 31, 2020 at 11:07 am

Lucky China, Geely and Li Chunrong saved Proton. Now, we Malaysians can finally be proud of our national car again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 59
        • Lao yee on Aug 31, 2020 at 3:10 pm

Proton X50 177HP, all waiting with bated breath. Esp in major RHD countries in UK, Japan, Russia and Turki sold in millions2…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 0
          • Avenger on Sep 01, 2020 at 10:51 am

this X50 cannibalized own x70 sales,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 36
          • Ghani on Sep 01, 2020 at 12:13 pm

Proton won’t care if money goes into right or left of their pockets.

• Roti john on Sep 01, 2020 at 12:26 pm

You are right. I am afraid that it will actually happen as the Game-Changing X50 is more advanced than the big brother X70. I hope that Proton internal will discuss about this matter and reduce the price for X70 in order to avoid the cannibalization.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 29
          • @ Avenger

Won’t cannibalized own X70 sales

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
          • Li Peng on Sep 02, 2020 at 11:55 pm

“major RHD countries in UK, Japan, Russia and Turki”

Since when Russia and Turkey are RHD countries?

• Stephen on Aug 31, 2020 at 3:24 pm

Lucky the Japanese government protect Honda. Otherwise, Honda could have already gone bankrupt and join the Nissan alliance group

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
        • The Swede on Aug 31, 2020 at 3:45 pm

Lucky Sweden, Geely and Li Chunrong saved Volvo Cars. Now, we Swedes can finally be proud of our national car again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
        • Proton X70 China RM60k but Msia RM123k on Aug 31, 2020 at 6:36 pm

hope they sell it cheaper for Malaysians as they claim it is a Malaysian national car company.

Now so unfair, Proton X70 in CHina RM60k but in Malaysia RM123k

Our product should be cheaper for MAlaysians

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 59
          • cyborg on Sep 01, 2020 at 9:58 am

if it is 123k i might aswell buy mitsubishi,honda or ,nissan

• X70 alrdy Rm123k max, no way X50 will be priced the same bro.

• The Swede on Sep 01, 2020 at 1:59 pm

Volvo is also our national car but why since the beginning their cars are sold at Mercedes & Beemer prices. Our product should be cheaper for SWedes but we don’t mind paying more even if we could buy Mercedes or Beemer.

• Lolwhut on Aug 31, 2020 at 6:52 pm

National Tongsan car? jkjk

• AliAhKauRamasamy on Aug 31, 2020 at 11:50 am

We like it.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 117 Thumb down 5
        • Angry Voters on Aug 31, 2020 at 4:43 pm

Why tease here, tease there..That Proton marketing local mgmt dem outdated, juz Googled geely binyue and geely coolray. Pfftt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 32
          • Angry voter or simply Angry Hater? on Sep 01, 2020 at 12:29 pm

Show me where can get images for right hand drive Binyue…

• Roti john on Aug 31, 2020 at 12:08 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 164
      • Looks like ima switch my 2017 Crv turbo for this X50. I am so excited! Hurry up and release it soon Proton

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 5
        • Angry Voters on Aug 31, 2020 at 4:44 pm

Good choice! From Drb honda to Drb proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 0
        • Copy Paste II on Aug 31, 2020 at 6:13 pm

“Most hrv owners will be upgrading to X50”. And these crv, city, jazz, civic, accord and brv owners will also upgrading to x50 soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
        • Helmy Kadir on Aug 31, 2020 at 6:17 pm

Geely masterplan have come true. In a few more years, there won’t be a single tulen Proton on sale.

LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
      • Helmy Kadir on Aug 31, 2020 at 6:10 pm

We must be thankful to Geely for giving us X70 and X50, Well done Geely. We hope you transfer more technology and wisdom into Malaysia.

Geely and China have achieved a lot for Malaysia. But I can only wish that it was our boys who made the X50 and X70.

I feel very sad that we have to tumpang glamour. Other people give us the product and yet we syiok sendiri

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 17
    • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 174
      • Steven Kua on Aug 31, 2020 at 11:09 am

you cannot compare China car and Japanese car. Japanese cars are sold in over 100 countries in the world. China car is only sold in China and a few 3rd world countries

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 77
        • salgoodguy on Aug 31, 2020 at 2:34 pm

agreed.. bold point

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 18
          • Heng Lee on Sep 01, 2020 at 5:00 pm

Mitsubishi withdrew from the EU, Daihatsu withdrew from the EU.

Please deduct the 27 EU countries from your “100 countries”.

• The Swede on Aug 31, 2020 at 3:47 pm

You cannot compare Sweden-China car and Japanese car. Japanese cars are sold in over 100 countries in the world but miserably failed to do proper recall and replace faulty fuel pumps. Sweden-China car sold everywhere around the world but never suffered fuel pump issues.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
        • Lets See on Aug 31, 2020 at 4:54 pm

Up comment you praised China, one comment below you bash China. Pls lah. At least be more consistent with your comments here.

• Heng Lee on Aug 31, 2020 at 8:57 pm

Daihatsu withdraw from the USA in 1992 and from the EU in 2013. It’s only available in 3rd world countries and Japan.

• BTS_Army on Aug 31, 2020 at 9:50 pm

I would believe you if my source of information are only newspapers, libraries and tv/radios but this is the internet generation Steven. You can’t expect us to be dumb enough to trust you without checking the facta do you?

• Save your breath, Kunta. Perodua’s lead from 4x sales (according to you btw) down to less than 2x now. Even if Japanese cars being sold at the moon and Mars also can’t change that fact.

• Faiz Arshad on Sep 01, 2020 at 12:15 am

Japanese car nowdays becomes low quality. China cars becomes higher quaity and conti class cars but reliable compare to others european conti cars.

• Living in KL on Sep 02, 2020 at 5:36 pm

Once you detect the sarcasm in the “praise” comment, you’ll realise that he is indeed consistent

• Your Perodua Rocky D55L rival is Proton X30.
        Proton X50 size bigger.

• Helmy Kadir on Aug 31, 2020 at 6:22 pm

It is the biggest joke to compare China car with long established Japanese cars. Soon the China and Proton fanboys will say their cars also better than German

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
        • Heng Lee on Sep 01, 2020 at 5:02 pm

You’re absolutely right! I never heard of any fuel pump problems with chinese cars…

• Ahmad Azizul on Sep 04, 2020 at 5:52 pm

This is the reason why companies like Nokia, Blackberry and others fail. They think they are untouchable and laugh at the fact someone will replace them.

• Perodua D55L size smaller, different class.

• Not Honda dream on Aug 31, 2020 at 10:38 am

New X50 got Higher HP, Nm torque than City RS.. And I believe will be yet cheaper than City, HRV and Jazz Hybrid too.

Quality wise, hhmmm… Who is ABANG and who is Adik? Later we will know.. Toss / Flip the coin

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 147 Thumb down 4
    • Peak Duo on Aug 31, 2020 at 10:47 am

Betul kan. Spare parts, service and maintenance also cheaper than Honda. Buying Honda Hybrid or Earth Dream CVT, later go to workshop and wasted lot of money

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 100 Thumb down 9
      • Dzulkifly on Aug 31, 2020 at 11:30 am

Proton X70 owner always complaining parts prices are so expensive. Become like London Cab already. Pandai Geely

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 58
        • Fuyao on Aug 31, 2020 at 2:17 pm

So meaning that Honda owners always complaining parts prices, bad aftersales services and even quality is very bad. So many honda owners already regretted. Not worth to buy honda. Will buy proton soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
        • X70 Buyer on Aug 31, 2020 at 3:48 pm

X70 servicing cost much cheaper than your CR-V, you nak tipu siapa? Internet taboleh ditipu lah!

• Rosman on Aug 31, 2020 at 4:55 pm

Sure @Kunta/Dzulkifly/Steven Kua, we blip you.

• Heng Lee on Aug 31, 2020 at 8:59 pm

I know a former Perodua owner who’s now driving a X70. He’s always surprised how cheap the parts are compared with P2.

• albert tan on Aug 31, 2020 at 6:34 pm

What will Proton do if China did not give us their wonderful cars?What happened to our Proton cars now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
        • History Bender on Sep 01, 2020 at 11:12 am

It would do better than today scenario since without Daihatsu/Toyota giving their wonderful junks to Perodua for rebadging, Proton would be the only affordable cars just like back in the 90’s.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
    • Steven Kua on Aug 31, 2020 at 11:11 am

Nobody buys Akira aircon. Everybody buys York or Panasonic.

There is a reason why.

All the more when it is a RM100k car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 33
      • pyraxle on Aug 31, 2020 at 3:35 pm

But more people are buying Huawei & Xiaomi phone instead of Sony now, how?

There is a reason why.

It’s well specced & cheaper.

• X70 Buyer on Aug 31, 2020 at 3:50 pm

Yet many more people buys Huawei, Oppo, Lenovo henpon compared to Sony henpon.

• The result will show you are wrong.

• Heng Lee on Aug 31, 2020 at 9:01 pm

Yes, York and Panasonic aircons are both made in China. People want quality for an affordable price.

• Lollapalooza on Aug 31, 2020 at 9:31 pm

I doubt that’s even true. I see a lot of unknown brands in aircond other than the ones you mentioned. People always look at the cheapest first and if it comes with quality, its always a bargain. And thats X50

• Nostologic on Aug 31, 2020 at 10:39 am

Most hrv owners will be upgrading to X50

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 13
  • Celup King on Aug 31, 2020 at 10:42 am

177hp, the 77k X40 konpom most powerful in class

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 10
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 31, 2020 at 10:55 am

bye bye Kona

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 66
  • Ashley on Aug 31, 2020 at 11:03 am

At least p1 don’t bailout from government. Unlike honda still asking billions for tongkat from japan gomen, especially for pandemic

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 26
    • That Guy on Aug 31, 2020 at 7:56 pm

Um, are you being serious? Did you forget the RM1.5b bailout 4 years ago?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
      • Waders on Sep 01, 2020 at 9:45 am

How about why honda has bailout more and more billions from government?

• The Swede on Sep 01, 2020 at 11:32 am

Not as bad as Toyota begging 1 tril yen from Government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
        • Julie on Sep 01, 2020 at 1:04 pm

But still recovering better for toyota, nissan & mazda. Even Proton/Geely financial still healthier. Anyway, better than honda for also begging 1 tril yen from Goverment as well

• newme on Sep 01, 2020 at 9:32 am

It’s inevitable and acceptable asking money during pandemic. Nobody expected that. P1 asking money from gov. even during peace time.

• Grant on Sep 01, 2020 at 10:39 am

the scene behind bailout is actually grant la bro, all manufacturer or company with r&d can claim the refund fs cost to gov. P2 also do the same but not much as P1. go chckla

• Save your breath, bro. newme the resident China/Proton hater won’t listen to reasons and facts. He only listen to voices in his head.

• seancorr (Member) on Aug 31, 2020 at 11:15 am

Active lane keep assist would be awesome but that will also overshadow it’s pricier sibling. Let’s see what Proton will do.

• Duane on Aug 31, 2020 at 2:21 pm

It’s okay what, the Corolla also has full speed adaptive cruise control with traffic jam assist. The Camry doesn’t.
      The BMW 3 series has AEB but the 520i doesn’t.
      The Mazda 3 and CX30 have ADAS and ACC but the Mazda 6 and CX5 doesn’t.

• Heng Lee on Aug 31, 2020 at 3:14 pm

Proton X50 based on COTY volvo XC40, better.

• Your Axia has ASA2.0 which its pricier sibling Alza doesn’t have. So means Alza got overshadowed by little brother Axia?

• Syer1n on Aug 31, 2020 at 11:17 am

At the 0:14 mark, the front of the car is very apparent. Not saying it’s ugly. It is actually a handsome car. But I’m slightly disappointed that i anticipated a different bumper design.

• X70 old tech, X50 better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • Jon Salah on Aug 31, 2020 at 5:54 pm

You’re almost correct. It should be

Honda boring and ancient tech while X70 and X50 have better tech

Then it is correct

• Faiz Arshad on Sep 01, 2020 at 12:17 am

Wait for facelifted X70

• Start a fight on Aug 31, 2020 at 12:19 pm

The feel of the advert is really china advert style.. my opinion after serving for china co for 10 years in marketing .. if go other direction sure rejected.. i mean china china.. not china global like huawei, although, they used to be the same in the past

• I prefer friendly China style advert than troll stoking fire looking for fight new City low class advert style. Wanna compare their B-segment with others D-segment car memang bodo.

• I Love Hafriz on Aug 31, 2020 at 12:25 pm

Another chinese car making so call malaysian motoring enthusiast wet …. how low have we fallen ….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 35
    • Jumper on Aug 31, 2020 at 4:36 pm

Well based on your statement, it shows How low your Mentality is. Suck it up. We’re moving towards something big here, I know it’s not much but chill, one step at a time.

• krsdy on Aug 31, 2020 at 12:47 pm

Just rebadged China car, syok sendiri for what? Then why no one buying Haval?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 45
    • In coding/programming, we call/ re-use other programming called api to deliver an application.it is costly and time consuming to develop from scratch

• The_Anonymous on Aug 31, 2020 at 2:50 pm

Does Haval has Volvo company in it’s stable?

• Because Haval is no class unlike Geely.

• Jumper on Aug 31, 2020 at 4:38 pm

Oof these butthurt comments, now2 pour a cup of ” teh tarik ” and then minum.

• Potong or Kimchi on Aug 31, 2020 at 4:47 pm

because HAVAL looks outdated af, and not to mention Geely using BMA and Volvo tech. Yes rebadge but at least it is a good car, for pips who interested in X50, no one cares about the badge. If badge is important, go Toyota / BMW those, why get Proton? Haters gonna hate

• Lollapalooza on Aug 31, 2020 at 9:43 pm

I honestly think Haval is a good brand. I did consider to buy the Haval H1 previously but I thought it was too small and the design is quite outdated. The X50 is anything but a mere rebadge. To refresh your memory, something labelled as rebadge doesn’t have to go through LHD to RHD (or vice versa) conversion and rigorous tests. Rebadge is like buying a Rush and change the emblem to Terios. Anyone can do it. Heck, I can buy a Prevè and simply change the emblem to Civic, thats how easy it is.

• Faiz Arshad on Sep 01, 2020 at 12:18 am

Haval not a conti class car.

• casual rider on Sep 01, 2020 at 8:18 am

correct, it also show that proton name still hold some value above certain brands

• Aikon on Sep 01, 2020 at 8:26 am

Haval is a decent car too. The refreshed H2 is a decent offering but why it doesn’t do well, is because of a few factors. 1) Lack of service centres on every street corner (don’t take this literally please). 2) Little or no information on parts availability or pricing 3) Weak communications. They don’t even reply e-mails. Can’t expect them to have a good marcomm programme.

The brand deserves better. May be a more experienced distributor with deeper pockets with the ability to lower those prices can help. Otherwise, Haval will continue to be in everybody’s shadows.

• HAVAL low tech and less attractive.

• Howry on Aug 31, 2020 at 1:38 pm

Heard its RM85,788 for the top variant 1.5 turbo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
  • hazzif on Aug 31, 2020 at 1:45 pm

so much teaser…haiyaa..bila nak launch..please take my money proton…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • Syer1n on Aug 31, 2020 at 4:23 pm

This is literally the first teaser. What actually did you have for breakfast buddy?

• Dzulkifly on Aug 31, 2020 at 6:24 pm

you mean, pls take my money China and Geely. Proton is China owned bro

• msia driver on Aug 31, 2020 at 6:42 pm

i already save up cash RM360k for straight away buy 4 units when it launch it..

• Too bad Proton, Vivo is ahead of you by one quarter to launch X50. They even have X50 Pro!

On a serious note, the ACC support low speed follow or not?

• Johnweak on Aug 31, 2020 at 3:20 pm

Merdeka ads..but cars are from china..lulz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
    • Lollapalooza on Sep 01, 2020 at 2:45 pm

What a childish comment. I’m not surprised that you’ll say the same when Starbucks do Merdeka ad.

• While it is official, the naming ‘X50’ isn’t yet official. The first line is a bit misleading.
    Althou widely expected, let’s not give any wrong assumptions as yet, eh.

• Plainbs on Aug 31, 2020 at 4:16 pm

Wake me up again when the X50 is finally out, so much teaser for nothing.

• C.P. MOHAN on Aug 31, 2020 at 4:39 pm

The future is in EV and battery technology, but showcases an internal combustion engine/vehicle after 63 years to show that we are moving forward.

• So much for all those argurments on the nationality of the car. It doesnt matter whether it’s national car or china car or jap car or kimchi car, as long as it’s good car priced well, ppl will buy it

• Hmmm... I wonder on Aug 31, 2020 at 4:58 pm

These China-Protons with DCTs, Turbos and sophisticated electronics, so much more complicated than NA engines and CVTs. I wonder how Proton Service Department technicians are coping with diagnosis and repairs. How is Proton growing and enhancing technician expertise? They probably need salary increase and more training.

• I am an owner of proton since 1985.The quality of the car is not good.The cvt transmission in preve is a big issue n neither customer service or proton service centres are helpful.After sales service is bad.Will never buy a proton model again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
    • Olivia on Sep 01, 2020 at 10:09 am

Drive honda, even worse than proton. Going to honda service centers so many times but not helpful at all. And too many issues on cvt transmission, fuel pump, steering rack, oil dilution, honda sensing in any honda models. Always pay like buying used car. Will never buy a honda model again.

• Your proton in 1985 got CVT? Hahaha nice try our P2 salesman.

• casual rider on Sep 01, 2020 at 6:03 pm

wow, an owner from the very first model until cvt gearbox model.you must be loyal or liar

• Mazli on Aug 31, 2020 at 7:36 pm

I hope our national car can produce a 7 seater suv with ample space for luggage and comfort

• Nobodyreadsreplies on Aug 31, 2020 at 7:55 pm

I was totally onboard with getting one, until the Xinjiang Uighur, and then Coronavirus.

Nope, not giving half of that money to them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 15
  • C.P. MOHAN on Aug 31, 2020 at 8:26 pm

Is it Geely or Proton, especially on Merdeka any other day without reference to Merdeka or National car fine by me.

• Ex VGM staff on Aug 31, 2020 at 10:00 pm

Is X50 really a crossover? A BMW X6 is a cross between an SUV and a coupe, hence the name crossover.

X50 and X70 is relatively a genuine SUV – it does not cross with any other body shape (not sedan, not coupe, not anything)

• Jaguh on Aug 31, 2020 at 10:15 pm

Very nice vehicle and wanna get one when launched!!

• Azhar on Aug 31, 2020 at 10:46 pm

Maintenance wise how?

• Lollapalooza on Sep 01, 2020 at 2:51 pm

I like that you already thinking ahead about the maintenance but I doubt that this is a serious question because it sound like a trollalala.. How does one know the maintenance details when it’s not even launched yet?

• Testing on Sep 01, 2020 at 8:47 am

Failed some test for msia ANCAP
    Owner in filipin already got complaints, water slipping into body panel

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
  • As I support Proton all this while, this model is not built from scratch by Proton itself. Just another series of rebadge car, but with better price and specs.

Facts.

• While it is not built from scratch, it is far from a simple rebadge. A more appropriate term would be ‘reengineered’.

• The Swede on Sep 01, 2020 at 11:34 am

Our COTY winning XC40 is designed globally, so are those accolades a win for Sweden Volvo or Volvo-Geely global partnership?

• Hafiz Muhammad Sharif on Sep 01, 2020 at 10:26 am

I like proton X50