Proton to launch two homegrown models developed by Malaysian talents in the next 3-5 years – Dr Li

Proton will launch not one, but two new models that are to be fully developed by homegrown talents in the next three to five years, as revealed by its CEO Dr Li Chunrong in an interview with Astro Awani today. That puts to rest any thoughts that the local car company will merely rebadge Geely models from now on.

“I want to tell you, we are now discussing that we will [launch new models] developed by Proton people – by ourselves. We will develop not only one model, but two models together,” Li revealed when asked if Proton will continue making “original” models to follow the two Geely-based SUVs (the X70 and the upcoming X50).

This is not completely new, of course, as it was already hinted to us by Proton’s head of design, Azlan Othman, back in July. It was mentioned then that Proton will be developing new platforms to underpin its next homegrown cars. We now know for a fact that two models are being worked on, and that they will be out in the next five years or so.

What models exactly? Nothing is for certain now, but it seems likely that Proton will be replacing its best-selling model, the Saga, within that time frame. The third-generation model (itself heavily based on the second-gen from 2008) first appeared in 2016, and was given a thorough facelift last year.

The second model could be the next Persona, which has followed the Saga’s release schedule rather closely (initial launch in 2016, facelifted in 2019). It too has been a relative sales success, and is due for at least another update soon together with its close relative, the Iriz hatchback – development mules have already been seen out and about.

It would make sense for Proton to develop its own car base for its compact car range, while utilising Geely’s B-segment Modular Architecture (BMA) and Compact Modular Architecture (CMA) platforms for its larger and more advanced products. So, what do you think of this plan, folks?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Switch Leg on Sep 11, 2020 at 11:00 pm

Kudos Proton. At least Proton doing much better and has improved a lot. Unlike honda, always never listen to people’s feedback and Honda malaysia always give too outdated boring technology with unreliable cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 18
    • I am hoping for Preve & Exora homegrown replacements. These haven’t gotten the Volvo treatment unlike the other siblings so they need newer models to refresh that lineup. Building on proven & high tech CMA & BMA platform will give them the cost & time savings rather than develop from scratch. Kudos to Proton & Geely!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
      • Lucy Tan on Sep 13, 2020 at 9:26 am

Two home grown model with 99.99 geely content but grill designed locally

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
        • So im guessing u din read the news that X70 CKD is at 45% local content and rising plus X50 will be CKD from start, giving it a local content headstart? And that rear AC on X50 is purely Proton idea & engineering efforts as it dun have on Binyue or Coolray.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • PowahOfDreams on Sep 12, 2020 at 9:18 am

You must be dreaming.
      They evolved from IMA, iDCD, then iMMD. Not to mention Clarity and Insight which are not released. On ICE side, CVCC and recently the moderately boosted 1.5T, 1.0T.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 22
      • Tableware on Sep 12, 2020 at 2:15 pm

He is trying to tell you is that, Honda Malaysia always giving boring specs with low quality cars bro. By the way, not to mentioned, as nowadays, everyone getting more bored for driving honda due to these honda design such as current gen and latest gen which is almost equally same. Of course, heard some also said that Honda design is getting backward, especially Clarity and Insight. And so no matter evolving from IMA, iDCD to iMMD, some of honda tech will definitely get you even boring. So you need to understand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Sep 12, 2020 at 9:30 am

Kudos Geely Chinas. Long live forever Chinas

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 33
      • Brian on Sep 12, 2020 at 1:38 pm

China got such good cars, habislah Japan & Korea! Can tapau their car industry lar!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
        • Theirs cars only sell well in Malaysia. In first world singapore, japanese and koreans dominate the car industry bro

• dream_125 on Sep 14, 2020 at 5:35 pm

I never saw a car from Singapore somewhere in the world?

• Remember,the first proton is proton saga rebadge from Mitsubishi Lancer

• Fordist on Sep 13, 2020 at 10:13 pm

The first Toyota was a rebadged Ford Model T. So what you try to say?

• AmaEma on Sep 11, 2020 at 11:02 pm

Another two models, which is Proton Preve (Geely Binrui) and Proton Perdana (Geely Borui)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • Hantu Raya on Sep 12, 2020 at 2:35 pm

Penulis baru saja sebut ‘homegrown’ (not a rebadge). Memang sah pemahaman fail….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • so all rebadged from Geely huh

• English Teacher on Sep 12, 2020 at 10:28 pm

Please brush up on your English comprehension and re-read the article.

• Dylan Ch'ng on Sep 11, 2020 at 11:03 pm

I would say that 1 model is going to c segment sedan at least.

• M & B on Sep 11, 2020 at 11:03 pm

Tahniah Proton Malaysia. Keep going

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Heng Lee on Sep 11, 2020 at 11:06 pm

Tengkiu Dr Li. We want Proton Jiaji & Proton GE.

• Soon most honda owners will buy another two real game changers for this brand. Already knew that not worthy to use honda due to bad QC products

• Gooses on Sep 11, 2020 at 11:47 pm

So which car brand of service and reliable are more better and trusted as well as having necessary features??

(Like) Proton, Nissan, Toyota, Mazda, Hyundai
    (Dislike) Perodua and Honda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
  • Jaguh on Sep 12, 2020 at 12:38 am

This is what is needed for Proton

• dream_125 on Sep 12, 2020 at 1:29 am

The smallest Geely available would be the Binrui with a length of 4,680mm and a wheel base of 2,670mm. The current Persona is much smaller (4,362mm, 2,555mm). Apparently the Chinese don’t like small cars (even all conti cars are offered as “L” Version there), so I guess it would make sense for Geely to let Proton do the job to develop a small platform.

• Honest people on Sep 12, 2020 at 1:37 am

Dont waste time…those tongkat homegrown cant build anything

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 30
    • No different than Honda as their designers can’t build anything after General Motors has decided to build platforms and developing R & D for Honda

• How long more? on Sep 12, 2020 at 1:57 am

After 35 years, another 3 – 5 years. Might as well don’t.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
    • Preve, Persona, Saga VVT, Exora, Iriz have been on the market for 35 years?! What a shocker! I didn’t know they were so loved by many for that long time! *sarcasm*

• Syerin on Sep 12, 2020 at 7:11 am

I really wish proton will keep the iriz line going. It’ll be a bummer if they abandon the nameplate without at least a spiritual successor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • C.P. MOHAN on Sep 12, 2020 at 8:51 am

Be informed, Proton is Malaysian so it is natural.

• Ex VGM staff on Sep 12, 2020 at 9:19 am

I believe proton does read paultan articles and comments and I hope they will take my ideas as well (just like peugoet took my idea of claw headlamp in the car design contest in 2012 – almost immediately peugoet started to changing new headlamp which you can see in their new models today).

First. Modular platforms. So saga and persona can share similar platform like VW MQB or Toyota TNGA.
    Second. Current campro engine make improvement as follows:-
    A. Reverse engine formation so the intake manifold is at front of engine while the exhaust manifold is at the back (like vios altis and VW golf). Exhaust pipe is shorter and lighter and catalytic converter heats up faster and more efficient.
    B. Change the timing belt mechanicals to timing chain.

Third. Use a modular base for dashboard with the differences being the HVAC controls and instrument meter layout.

Proton had done the same way of doing things some 20 years ago and by doing so they managed to keep production costs low and high margin.

The car is known as Proton Wira and relatively a success to Proton by having many models like

1. Proton wira sedan
    2. Proton wira hatchback 5 door @ Aeroback
    3. Proton wira hatchback 3 door @ Satria
    4. Proton wira coupe @ Putra
    5. Proton wira pick-up @ Arena

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
    • Ambrin on Sep 12, 2020 at 1:37 pm

the new Proton Preve is deglorified Volvo S60…

• dream_125 on Sep 12, 2020 at 5:24 pm

“B. Change the timing belt mechanicals to timing chain. ”

There are many manufacturers which have serious problems with timing chains (-tensioners), i.e. Toyota with the Aygo (both petrol and diesel).
      Why change to timing chain? That I don’t have to replace the belt every 100k km, but have to replace the timing chain and -tensioner instead?

• sarawak sarawak on Sep 12, 2020 at 11:04 pm

Every proton use same headlights, same door, same bonnet u mean. haha.

• Hi Proton on Sep 12, 2020 at 9:41 am

Saga and Persona 1.4L turbo, 1.5L Turbo for Saga and Persona R3. MPV with technology and top saftey which can challenge vellfire /Estima at affordable price.

• azrai on Sep 12, 2020 at 10:19 am

Not a rebadge one. So it must be SAGA and Persona. Plus it will both come in sedan and hatchback variant.

• DonkeyKong on Sep 12, 2020 at 12:03 pm

Develop new models but after-sales service and HQ customer support is total BS? No thanks. Give them a few more years and Proton’s proven track record of mediocrity and poor customer satisfaction will percolate to the surface again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • Brian on Sep 12, 2020 at 1:40 pm

They have made great strides in that area too!

• Selamat on Sep 12, 2020 at 2:40 pm

exactly bruh Donkey..is so funny and perplexing, some ppl BS their family n friends to buy kete Proton. but themself driving that japanese and mengidam to own the next conti. Real hipokrit, and shameless selfish them. Sighh

• 4G63T DSM on Sep 12, 2020 at 12:07 pm

Homegrown models? I shudder to think.

Proton executives and product planners (and maybe other strongly “cabled” people) has been living so long in an isolated bubble to have forgotten how to produce good models.

We had a long history of hair brained, self gratifying models that made no sense to the car buying public. Examples include but not limited to, the Tiara, the Arena, the Juara, the time where proton had 4 C-segment cars at one go, the Suprima (who TF asked for a 4 door c segment hatch? ), the hastily rebadged Accordana, the Ertiga…. And list goes on.

And you would think why proton has been bleeding to death.

Seriously, any long time PT “analysts” here would do a better job running proton.

Better just let Geely run the show….. Anyway, its for show anyway, any “home grown” car will be a rebadge if not a rebody at most of a geely platform. It makes absolutely no sense for us to develop something homegrown, we simply do not have the volume.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
    • tokmoh. on Sep 13, 2020 at 12:52 am

What to do when some dumbarses are on a crusade against Geely for erasing Proton’s legacy.

It seems they refuse to admit Proton’s past failure was its own doing. In fact, a vocal media guy was partly responsible for the failure, yet he refuses to admit it. They don’t have the intelligence to understand that business is business.

To them, govt is obliged to bail them out when things go wrong, very wrong in fact. Entitled prick, and insanely stupid to expect things will be different despite insisting same old formula of ‘janji orang kiter’ for the sake of ‘maruah’.

So Geely gotta give face, and cave in to pressure, when they would know as much as we do it will just be throwing away down the drain. Ah well.

• Ohh welcom back bro. *Social distance fist bump

• tokmoh. on Sep 13, 2020 at 11:17 pm

*Social distance fist bump

Sorry, but Proton don’t need another Campro, or 4 C-segment cars at once.

I trust in Dr Li’s wisdom when he said home grown, it would still mean shared platform, powertrain and tech from Geely. Business is business.

But you’ll never know if the cronies start to be greedy and plotting to overthrow Dr Li and go full retard like Nissan did. All for the sake of maruah, bangga buat unsellable cars, asalkan buatan kite. No thanks.

• Whether be new campro or not, P1 have things Geely dun have, and deswai they trying to fill in these gaps, esp with small car development. They can stay the course as long Bapak is kept out of power but Dr Li better watch his backs 24/7, or else his 2nd in command might turn Starscream on him. Geely setup RHD hub here cuz they knows theres plenty of development potential left in P1. As long the status quo with gomen & P1 management remains, all is gud for now.

• tokmoh. on Sep 14, 2020 at 4:31 pm

Aye. To beat P2, there’s always a need for budget range rm35k-50k thereabout.

X70 take care of rm100-120k market
            X50 take care of rm80-100k market

Proton can develop P2-killer rm35k-50k market, but this time it must be properly modern and competent package. Business is business.

• dream_125 on Sep 13, 2020 at 4:33 pm

“models that made no sense to the car buying public”

I have to agree. Proton’s approach was too technical. Take the Suprima S: It’s still a beautiful car, but in my opinion it was too expensive and didn’t fit the Malaysian market. It’s common for other car manufacturers worldwide, that they develop models that are later axed when they find out that the model would be too expensive to produce (or if there’s no market for that model).
      Proton’s approach was: “We spend so much money for development already, so let’s produce the model, even if it doesn’t make sense commercially”.
      To be fair: Apparently in one case Proton axed a project because it was too expensive, the Iriz EV.

• Developing by Malaysia talents? Please make sure you train them at least sense of design in both interior and exterior look! I do not put too high hope for the technical parts but please design a good looking car first.

• I Wheel Survive on Sep 12, 2020 at 6:07 pm

This chinese CEO Dr Li knows exactly what Proton need: Proton has been doing well with OEM from Geely, but he is aware that although Malaysians love the Geely models, they would still think Proton cant built it’s own cars (well), hence he is coming up with the plan, this will definitely further enchance Proton’s image and change the perception of Malaysians.

• tan32 on Sep 12, 2020 at 8:28 pm

hopefully not by the same ‘chief designer’

• Prefer to be electric or hydrogen car homegrown design. That will be the future. Future is now.

• I would say the 2 model might be Saga and Preve. Both of this model definitely need an all new model compared to Persona/Iriz

• nik azlan on Sep 13, 2020 at 6:55 pm

Rebadge shj senang, economic of scale so can sell cheap2 to consumer…..consumer win!

• SagaBeLumMasak on Sep 14, 2020 at 8:43 am

2 mostly anticipated models should be A Wagon and Arena replacement

• Rising of Proton on Sep 15, 2020 at 1:00 am

So can it be concluded, executive and SUV will be rebadge car. Affordable car will goes under home grown for hatchback and sedan??