VIDEO: Proton X50 – AEB, FCW systems demonstrated

We previously talked about the Advanced Driver Assistance System (ADAS) suite in Proton X50 Flagship, which sounds promising given the number of active safety systems and their functionality. Of course, talk is cheap, so during yesterday’s second media preview event, Proton gave us a live demonstration of some of these systems for us to experience ourselves.

In this video, you get to see the X50 Flagship’s forward collision warning (FCW) and autonomous emergency braking (AEB) systems in action, with Hafriz Shah on hand to guide you on how they operate.

First up, FCW serves to warn drivers of any potential collisions up ahead, and it will do so in three stages. At the first stage, a visual warning is displayed on the instrument cluster when the system detects the car is at a potentially unsafe distance from the vehicle ahead.

Should the driver ignore this and continue to close the gap, pre-collision warning kicks into action, providing both audio and visual alerts, including a reminder to the driver to begin engaging the brakes. The final level is acute warning brake, and that is when the system actively applies the brakes abruptly to prevent or mitigate a crash, while snapping you back to attention.

Ignore all three stages and AEB takes over, automatically braking the car to a stop. This uses the car’s onboard sensors and operates at speeds between 4-150 km/h in situations involving moving vehicles (cars and motorcycles), and up to 80 km/h with stationary vehicles. It can also detect pedestrians, although this works at speeds of up to 70 km/h only.

The X50’s AEB system also includes emergency brake assist, which continues to monitor the situation even when you’ve applied the brakes, kicking into action if it detects insufficient braking force is applied. This is different from AEB in certain other cars, which disengages the system when you’re braking, as it thinks you’re in full control.

Of course, while the systems are impressive, they are by no means a reason for you to slack behind the wheel. These systems are there for backup and you shouldn’t be dependent on them always, so stay aware and be ready on those brakes yourselves.

GALLERY: Proton X50 drive preview, Sepang International Circuit

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• China Fan on Oct 01, 2020 at 12:17 pm

Nice.

• AliAhKauRamasamy on Oct 01, 2020 at 1:49 pm

A very useful feature especially for old/wargamas drivers. We love it.

• P2 shud learn from P1 to gip real AEB that works in real situations instead of ASA2.0 fake AEB that only works in parking lot speeds.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • If you need to rely on AEB, it means you aren’t a good driver

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
      • Safety First on Oct 01, 2020 at 2:21 pm

Interesting… then why wear seatbelts? You don’t trust your braking abilities?

• Seatbelts are necessary. on the other hand, we managed to survived without AEB all these years right? AEB is just a bonus to have

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
          • Engineer on Oct 02, 2020 at 1:30 pm

Humans also managed to survive for eons with just a horse and buggy, why did they have to go all the trouble to invent the automobile??? A horse and buggy is far more reliable and the horse will never suffer mechanical breakdowns. So in your view, mechanical breakdown is a bonus to have isn’t it? You can continue to stay in your cave because relying on any mode of transport means your legs aren’t good.

• Sam Lar on Oct 01, 2020 at 12:56 pm

X50 managed to brake safely unfortunately.. That suddent braking didn’t allow enough time or space for the driver behind and rear end collision is hard to prevent. Trust me.

Proton can try one actual scene similar to federal highway morning rush. Try 10 cars in a row.

• dong gor on Oct 01, 2020 at 2:43 pm

Today whole day just talk about x50 ka…

• Illya on Oct 01, 2020 at 4:02 pm

I think the AEB will go mad or self destruct with the random none compliance to driving rules on Malaysian rules.

• newme on Oct 01, 2020 at 4:06 pm

Wait until you see how to production car perform. Proton have the history on tether gate, Saga 1-star to 3-star.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • dumbyou on Oct 01, 2020 at 6:05 pm

Oh yes, bring out the old news when you have nothing else to condemn. Want me to remind you of your worshipped Japanese ‘good history’? Mitsubishi defect cover up in 2000, Toyota self acceleration in 2009 and ongoing Takata faulty airbags just to name a few.

• newme on Oct 02, 2020 at 9:29 am

Mesti je bring up japanese. I am not a japanese or working with japanese. Even if the japanese issues are true, its not intentional like what p1 did to saga 1 star. Siap senyap2 hantar replacement car. malu lah oi.

• Sick & Tired on Oct 02, 2020 at 1:36 pm

You still haven’t answered how come Perodua was using unknown G-spec Aruz to cheat on NCAP crash test when that variant cannot be bought by the general population…. between omitting Isofix and using totally different car testing, we can tell which wrong is more serious that can impact driver & occupants lives.