Perodua sells 25,035 units in September, highest ever monthly sales in the automaker’s 26-year history

National carmaker Perodua has recorded its highest ever monthly sales in its 26-year history with sales of 25,035 vehicles in September, a 10.8% increase from the 22,604 units it sold in August.

Together with the 23,203 units it reported in July, total sales in the third quarter of 2020 amounted to 70,842 units, up by 13,870 units (or 24.3%) from the corresponding Q3 in 2019. In the first nine months of the year, the company sold 145,012 units, which it says represents 69.1% of its target to sell 210,000 units for the year. The sales performance figures were released by UMW Holdings, which has a 38% stake in Perodua, through a press statement.

At the start of 2020, Perodua had set a sales target of 240,000 units for the year, but revised this in light of the Covid-19 pandemic. In August, Perodua president and CEO Datuk Zainal Abidin Ahmad revealed that the automaker expected to do close to 210,000 units this year.

Don’t expect the numbers to climb significantly beyond this in the near future, because 25,000 vehicles is about the maximum the company can churn out each month. Back in August, Zainal revealed that the automaker’s production plan from August to December would see the company assembling “around 25,000 units a month on average, which is almost 98 to 99%% of our capacity.”

He added that the significant demand has resulted in the waiting period now being more than two months (back in August), and that the company was trying very hard to catch up with demand.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Amran on Oct 15, 2020 at 10:31 am

Another 25,035 happy Perodua car owner, enjoy ur ride gais!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 4
    • Truckers on Oct 15, 2020 at 12:17 pm

Enjoy while you can guys, I will see you soon at my secondhand car dealer to take in these cars once you got too fedup to deal with their problems. Don’t worry we offering great RV for brand new Peroduas.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 23
      • https://paultan.org/2020/10/12/used-car-demand-in-malaysia-sees-an-increase-in-q3-2020/

New Myvis very laku consistently got new ones for resale. Smart money when buying Perodua cars, just don’t buy new.

• Proton is far away on Oct 15, 2020 at 2:46 pm

Perodua will always be the number 1 car in Malaysia. Protong needs to improve the quality to catch up. Technology wise China engine is far behind japanese engine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
          • Celup King on Oct 15, 2020 at 4:52 pm

No1 becoz it is cheap. People buy Perodua becoz it is cheap not becoz it is good. If it were good people would not be selling so fast to 2nd hand dealer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
          • dream_125 on Oct 15, 2020 at 5:03 pm

“Technology wise China engine is far behind japanese engine”

Can you explain that further?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
          • leoRNado on Oct 16, 2020 at 8:15 am

Celup King – what is the best selling car for Proton?. Saga n Persona. It also cheap. Way cheaper than P2. weirdo!

• Ahmad on Oct 16, 2020 at 4:30 pm

Perodua bila ‘rebadge’ kereta semua duk puji, TAPI bila proton ‘rebadge’ kereta kaw2 kena kutuk, yang faham faham la, tak faham diam sudah, sigh.

• Roti John Loo on Oct 15, 2020 at 5:18 pm

New Myvis and other Berukduas very laku consistently, kayalah aku as a Berukdua salesman. Smart money when buying Berukdua cars, will look for me as only i can offer my special package to neraka for buyers, you know i know lah, pipu buying Berukdua and drive like Beruk Mak Yeh and challenge others to race on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
    • Civic Turbo 2018 on Oct 15, 2020 at 12:34 pm

Last time ppl buy car to travel. Now ppl buy car to keep at home. Superb

• The female population in Malaysia has increased.

• Roti john on Oct 15, 2020 at 1:46 pm

Good job Perodua! Amazing achievement as always. Trully a Game-Changing carmaker for Malaysians

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
      • Rakyat Malaysia on Oct 15, 2020 at 2:38 pm

Who owns Perodua? See the majority shareholders? EPF, Khazanah and UMW. So Perodua Game-Changing amazing achievements is because we have amazing Game-Changing Gomen. Good job our Game-Changer Gomen!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
        • leoRNado on Oct 16, 2020 at 8:13 am

Since when Khazanah & EPF become shareholders of P2?. Read before you comment. 3 biggest shareholders are UMW Corp, MBM Resources & Daihatsu Motor.

• Vader on Oct 16, 2020 at 11:08 am

This is what Kunta told us worr… He said so many things i must belip him wan.

• Congratulations to Toyota Daihatsu Japan
    Same to Geely China

• Disappointet on Oct 15, 2020 at 10:58 am

3…2…1…
    P1 fan will butthurt n bash kaw kaw.

Hahahaha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 10
  • Frankly, macam jarang nampak on the road…really doubt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
    • PlainBS on Oct 15, 2020 at 11:37 am

Cannot be bluffing because it’s an official statement.

• Truckers on Oct 15, 2020 at 12:20 pm

Perodua main tipu with numbers just like they tipu many of my customers when they cannot get 21km/L on their Bezzas. But I so kind offering them great RV when they trade in since these are still brand new.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
      • Faster buy new car & enjoy carloan moratorium

• Why not? Even vw can bluff on emission

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • hazzif on Oct 15, 2020 at 11:43 am

something is wrong with your eyesight. please see your doctor

• Newne on Oct 15, 2020 at 12:05 pm

Klu p2 jarang, p1 lagi leh.

• 25,000 is not much
        We have over 30million population

Proton and others sales even less
        X50 X70 50,000 bookings but afew to zero on the road, only in youtube, tiktok

• Tesla on Oct 15, 2020 at 12:30 pm

As a grab driver, I can confirm that u got eye problems. Too many perodua cars on the road and u said jarang nampak

• Aiyo….Jarang to me means not as much as I expected la…haaa

• futre-earings on Oct 15, 2020 at 11:38 am

Wow… Even with future of the economy stressed by COVID … the BANKS are willing to LOAN . Why ????

• Abam lorry tarik kereta on Oct 15, 2020 at 12:14 pm

Bankers needs to hit monthly sales target and kpi

• Money make world go round on Oct 15, 2020 at 12:21 pm

Walao never learned economics is it? If people dont spend then whole economy dies lo, its that simple. Bank give out loan for people to spend. U bankrupt later no matter ma, can lelong your car house etc, still making money move.

Economy is like water friend, keep it flow and the water will be clean. If not, water become stagnant.

• vivizurianti on Oct 15, 2020 at 12:01 pm

This is the proof that Malaysia economy very very very strong and robust. Economy tak goyang langsung and ppl are still buying, buying, buying. Online shopping oso steadily growing…..

Keep calm and keep buying.

• Newne on Oct 15, 2020 at 12:04 pm

Pity them p2. Tak menang tangan.

• dong gor on Oct 15, 2020 at 1:12 pm

this is the power of sales tax exemption!
    save a 2k, spend 50k.
    good logic

• Truth on Oct 15, 2020 at 1:28 pm

no matter what perodua is always a buruk dua, lousy cars, horrible service and unethical car company

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
  • Sam Loo (fake) on Oct 15, 2020 at 1:47 pm

Congratulations new myvi, bezza and aruz. Not to forget axia and alza. Coming soon D55L all new Kembara.

So proud of Malaysia’s no.1 national car maker. Top sales!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • All new Kembara was Nautica. Oh wait did trolls conveniently forgot when Perodua fails?

• AFMGT youtube on Oct 15, 2020 at 1:53 pm

Buy MBMR stock which has a 20.6% stake in Perodua for a nice dividend. Enjoy!

• Celup king said people bought myvi cos it’s cheap but geely iriz not laku. Highest specs even cheaper than myvi advance lolz

• Unknown on Oct 16, 2020 at 8:29 am

Bcoz pipu mostly buy low spec myvi which is cheaper than iriz. Deswai myvi outsold iriz bcoz it is cheap not bcoz it is good.

• Sam Loo on Oct 16, 2020 at 12:31 pm

Perodua good rv

• Good for Perodua, but... on Oct 16, 2020 at 12:56 pm

Well this is more likely cause we don’t have a choice no? Take away the tax imposed on foreign brands and see how Perodua or even Proton will do. While it’s fine we have National cars to help the economy and provide jobs, the protections granted to these companies give them an unfair advantage. Go to The US, Australia or Europe. The cars are priced to compete with each other in their respective segments regardless of brands (mind you, I’m talking about the ‘affordable’ brands like Kia, Hyundai, Honda, Toyota, Nissan, Ford, Chevrolet and maybe even Volkswagen. Luxury marques are in a different league but it’s that way everywhere in the world). While some brands are naturally cheaper then others, the difference isn’t like what we have here in Malaysia. The people who are so in love with Perodua and Proton are the same people who haven’t tried driving other brands more likely due to affordability. And it’s sad.

• Long Chen on Oct 16, 2020 at 4:36 pm

Haha really? I always call them “kereta biskut”

• Long Chen on Oct 16, 2020 at 4:42 pm

Yeah terbaik perukdua, mungkin sebab tu kot bila pergi ronda-ronda kedai kereta terpakai, berlambak kereta ‘dia’vi(myvi), kereta vavi(viva), seruppa(bezza), jarang-jarang haruz(aruz) terperuk kat situ. Yang mana faham-faham, tak faham, diam sudah.