G20 BMW M340i xDrive launched in Malaysia – 382 hp and 500 Nm, CKD, RM402k with sales tax exemption

A week after we broke the news of its upcoming arrival, BMW Malaysia has officially launched the G20 BMW M340i xDrive in the country. The variant, which was introduced alongside the 330e M Sport plug-in hybrid today, now sits at the top of a four-model Malaysian 3 Series line-up that includes the 330i M Sport and 320i Sport.

The M340i, which was first revealed in Los Angeles back in November 2018, has the honour of being the first-ever locally-assembled CKD M Performance variant. It’s also the only one in the local quartet to be equipped with an inline-six powertrain.

The said mill is the 3.0 litre twin-scroll turbocharged B58 in its revamped B30O1 form, offering 382 hp (or 387 PS) at 5,800 to 6,500 rpm and 500 Nm from 1,800 to 5,000 rpm in the way of output. The power output is 13 hp more than when the car was first announced and when briefly trialled on track by this publication during the international media drive for the G20, although torque remains unchanged.

The lump is paired with an eight-speed Steptronic Sport automatic transmission, which features a Launch Control function and short ratios for the lower gears to improve acceleration. As denoted by the model suffix, xDrive all-wheel drive is present, and in terms of performance the M340i will do the 0-100 km/h sprint in 4.4 seconds, with top speed capped at 250 km/h.

Aside from the rear-biased xDrive system, the variant features an M Sport differential, which offers an electronically-controlled, fully-variable rear-wheel locking function. Also standard fitment is a
valve-controlled M Sport exhaust system, which provides oodles of noticeable growl in Sport and Sport+ drive modes.

Other mechanical highlights include an M Sport brake system, comprising four-piston front and single-piston rear units, with the calipers finished in blue, as well as variable sport steering. As for suspension, BMW Malaysia has specified the car with an electronically-controlled Adaptive M suspension, which features new valves and a revised control algorithm to enable load-dependent control of the damping forces.

As previously reported, the M340i’s exterior comes dressed with an M Aerodynamics package, M rear spoiler and BMW Individual high-gloss Shadow Line trim elements. Elsewhere, the model-specific mesh-styled front grille, front air inlet surrounds, side mirror caps and tailpipe trim are finished in a signature Cerium Grey metallic shade to further highlight the variant by sight.

Click to enlarge.

Speaking of the tailpipes, dual trapezoidal exhaust finishers find their way on, and the local specification sees the car being equipped with BMW Laserlight headlamps and 19-inch double-spoke 792 M two-tone light-alloy wheels, wrapped with 225/40 front and 255/35 rear runflat rubbers.

Inside, the M340i features front sports seats and Vernasca leather upholstery, with two colour scheme choices being available, namely black or Cognac, as it is with the 330e M Sport. Other cabin styling elements include aluminium tetragon interior trim, with highlights in pearl chrome, and BMW Individual headliner finished in anthracite.

Interior kit includes an M leather-wrapped steering wheel with shift paddles, M-specific alloy pedals and front aluminium door sills with dedicated “M340i” lettering. The variant designation also adorns the digital instrument cluster, so you’ll always be reminded of what you’re driving.

Other standard fit bits include a BMW Live Cockpit Professional infotainment system featuring a 10.25-inch centre screen and a 12.3-inch fully-digital instrument display, three-zone auto air-conditioning, 11-shade ambient lighting, an electrically-operated sunroof, a head-up display and a 16-speaker, 464 watt Harman Kardon audio system.

In terms of driving assistance systems, the M340i comes with cruise control with braking function, parking assistant, a rear view camera and a Driving Assistant package, which contains front collision warning with brake intervention (or autonomous emergency braking), lane departure warning, lane change warning, rear cross traffic alert and rear collision prevention in its kitbag.

Four exterior colours are available for the car, and these are Portimao Blue, Sunset Orange, Black Sapphire and Alpine White. Finally, pricing. The locally-assembled G20 BMW M340i is priced at RM422,800 (on-the-road without insurance), but the current SST exemption in place brings the retail price down to RM402,354 until December 31, 2020.

GALLERY: G20 BMW M340i xDrive, LHD

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Vader on Oct 22, 2020 at 10:47 am

400K. rather buy linked 2 storey@ukay Melawati.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 59
    • Susah la on Oct 22, 2020 at 11:10 am

u can’t afford it either

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 2
      • Civic Turbo 2018 on Oct 22, 2020 at 4:24 pm

Mati lah grey recon importer

• Maidin on Oct 23, 2020 at 9:29 am

Buying property is far better than buying cars. Today you buy bmw, tomorrow it depreciate value. Today you buy house, tomorrow the value goes up. Try buy a bmw today and go sell it at a 2nd hand dealer, then you will understand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 22
        • Nobody buy cars to invest, they buy it to enjoy. Just like, today you eat a 5 star meal, tommorow you shit it out. Talk about depreciation….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 0
          • Cheng Lock on Oct 25, 2020 at 10:24 pm

Enjoy if only buying using cash, but if u buy using loan then its not that fun to pay monthly commitment. Better buy a Ferrari using loan rather than buy a BMW, Ferrari is more enjoyable to drive than a BMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 24
        • Heng heng on Oct 08, 2021 at 4:05 pm

Silly thing to say in a car blog. We already bought properties, then buy cars. Anything wrong?

• Means that this car is for those who own RM1million bungalow.
      Ukay Melawati buyers can buy MyVi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
      • madmoz on Oct 22, 2020 at 11:52 am

1 million ringgits don’t buy you no bungalows nowadays in KL though. Heck, you’d be hard pressed to get a terrace in a relatively nice GnG with that.

But I digress – houses don’t come with 382HP, and damn this is a fine car with a pretty reasonable price tag.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
        • That s60 408HP reasonable price tag orso

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 25
          • seancorr (Member) on Oct 22, 2020 at 4:36 pm

Don’t compare that Volvo to this. This Beemer is a different monster. The Volvo is like someone with asthma. They will run out of breath once their battery depletes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
          • Leafable on Oct 22, 2020 at 8:04 pm

in youtube shootout, car reviewers all picked volvo S60 T8 vs BMW M340i too.

• Leaf kosong on Oct 23, 2020 at 11:48 am

Volvo and Bmw. China and German. Please lah, china volvo need at least 10 years to catch up. Reduce s60 price to RM150k may be able to sell more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
          • pigapumbu on Nov 06, 2020 at 2:59 pm

Volvo are for those that look at numbers and think wow,.. super. People who know about cars and the joy of driving they can give,… NO VOLVO PLEASE. NO battery power, now much from the puny 2.0 engine?

• Not reasonable, more than 330i 120k. People will just buy the 330i, powerful enough and useful power on kl narrow road and our short highway. 340i power cant really be 100pct useful on our road. Cla45 is more hardcore if you want to race, 330i is more logic if want a decent powerful family car. The price should be below 400k. Should just sell at 530i price instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
          • Copy and Paste II on Oct 22, 2020 at 6:51 pm

Copy and Paste II: “ Hi bruh, this super sport model price doesnt come with EEV incentive this time because CO2 emission is 177 g/km. But this price is more attractive”

• Its about time..
    It definitely spice up the car culture in Malaysia. More and more affluent ones having the appetite to buy 340i and C43.
    330i and 320i dont excite them anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 16
    • TSI Salah on Oct 22, 2020 at 11:31 am

Not really. Can see many people are still buying 320i and 330i

• Tee For on Oct 22, 2020 at 12:35 pm

Since bruh edi bayaq 300K, better beli something rare & istimewa OTR…xlain & xbukan KIA Stinger GT 378HP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 33
    • TagHeuer on Oct 22, 2020 at 11:39 am

320i, 330i, 330e and 340i M have more appetite. 3 Series all the way

• Susah la on Oct 22, 2020 at 11:11 am

Bye Bye C43 and the overhyped S60

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
    • If only the S60 is launched with the T5 engine.
      The Hybrid only version is really killing their own sales.
      It really didnt live up to its “slogan” as the “German Killer”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
    • 4.4s same as S60 which can save u rm110k, why not?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 24
      • Susah la on Oct 22, 2020 at 1:40 pm

FYI S60 never achieve 4.4s, that’s just Volvo’s claim. In real world the best S60 can do is above 5s, that’s quite a lot of difference mind you.

• Sinli on Oct 22, 2020 at 4:38 pm

Actually m340i did below 4 secs in western country tests , in our hot weather with better traction should comfortably do that

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 22, 2020 at 4:38 pm

Cannot lah that Volvo will kong out at 180kmh

• kingx on Oct 22, 2020 at 10:46 pm

Volvo max 180kmh only bro. Pay 300k but Myvi can potong anytime. How la?

• Abagail on Oct 22, 2020 at 12:07 pm

Up to their customer preference, but I dont think that Volvo, BMW and Mercedes are not killing their own sales at all.

• Sticks on Oct 22, 2020 at 12:32 pm

Absolutely great job

• Jia Ren on Oct 22, 2020 at 12:33 pm

Sportier car. Bring it on

• Jours on Oct 22, 2020 at 12:36 pm

Pretty looking

• Myvi will still tailgate this M340i and high beam to give way on fast lane lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
    • Not when those beemer are not in their mood. A 320i can play circle around a myvi on any road anyday. Just depend on the driver mood.

• Cannot compare between Myvi and M340i.

• HiVis on Oct 22, 2020 at 4:47 pm

This thing will smoke a Myvi with stage 4 tune

• heybadigol (Member) on Oct 22, 2020 at 1:58 pm

Not bad. Not bad at all. Specs looks good too. H/K sound system, laser lights, sport exhaust. Driving assistance package is OK too. No self driving. But this is the M340i, so you would want to drive it yourself. Tyre width is same as 330i, though on 19 inch rims instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Bieight on Oct 22, 2020 at 2:04 pm

Sunroof are useless here and not the latest one with mild hybrid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 18
    • i think you are wrong about sunroof in Malaysia. After long hour parking under the hot sun, open up your sunroof can instantly cool down your interior. give a try and you will appreciate sunroof.

• Sunroof is very useful at night or when at cameroon highlands

• Slirh on Oct 22, 2020 at 2:10 pm

nice specs. loved the hp and torque. But hate the price and the front grille. Looks like a monster fish from the depth of Marianna Trench

• Joehoe on Oct 22, 2020 at 3:31 pm

No ACC?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
    • Copy and Paste II on Oct 22, 2020 at 4:27 pm

Copy and Paste II: “ In fact how many times we use the adaptive cruise control. I owned a car with ACC, unless travel to outstation otherwise it is pretty useless. AEB is more important as it is safety features that can safe life.”

• Jasonpuipui on Oct 22, 2020 at 3:45 pm

No ACC..big disappointment for this kinda price
    Malaysian users got screwed for low specs but high price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 23
    • Bmw 530i owner on Oct 22, 2020 at 4:25 pm

My 530i cbu got acc and auto drive too. Used once and no more. Boring. I like to drive my bmw fast and control it. Not important for me. 360 cam better for remote car viewing using bmw app.

• CKD Super Sport Car on Oct 22, 2020 at 4:33 pm

Hi bruh, this super sport model price doesnt come with EEV incentive this time because CO2 emission is 177 g/km. But this price is more attractive

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 22, 2020 at 4:40 pm

Pui why would anyone need ACC on such a car? They did a great job giving laser lights option as standard.

• Ollie on Oct 22, 2020 at 8:09 pm

X70 drivers also dont use ACC. both x70 & bmw m340 such nice driver cars,

• SuLim on Oct 22, 2020 at 5:35 pm

People complain about specs don’t have but how often u actually use it? Why buy a sporty car so you can just autopilot?

• Driverbox on Oct 22, 2020 at 4:47 pm

Thats really cool to me

• tricycle on Oct 22, 2020 at 4:53 pm

Nice. Excellent bmw Malaysia. Now C43 amg got a new challenger. Waiting for Audi to bring the S4.

• Dayum on Oct 22, 2020 at 4:58 pm

Good looking car with well equipped specs

• hehehe on Oct 22, 2020 at 5:09 pm

kan saya sudah cakap ada model ni haritu ehhehehe

• Jascha on Oct 23, 2020 at 9:09 am

Hooray! Finally my wish come true, can’t wait to have a test drive and put my money on this lovely beast.

• Fix this article. Not “The power output is 13 hp more than when the car was first announced and when briefly trialled on track ” but 130 hp more than when the car…”

• inline 6, 4.4 secs, AWD, dayyum
    Dats one tempting BMW

• Sohai lengchai on Oct 27, 2020 at 11:56 am

For that price tag, damn cheap for b58 inline 6, practical version of supra.

• 7 yearsfd1 on Oct 29, 2020 at 6:34 pm

So Audi MY bila mahu bangun tidur? not like their sedan line up already dead. The new A3 is quite a looker. Bangun Audi MY! Bangun!

• xatomic on Nov 10, 2020 at 11:07 am

they should CKD the 4 series G22 too

• Joe hamizi on Nov 14, 2020 at 11:07 am

A45 2016= rm270k + S4 B8 2011= rm80k
    Still ada 60k for modding…