Proton X50 now available on Flux – Flagship and Premium, subscription starts from RM2k per month

The few Proton X50s that you’ve been seeing on the road belong to proud early birds. There’s a backlog for sure, as Proton is some way off fulfilling orders – in November, the carmaker delivered 1,756 units of the new SUV, with total deliveries since launch standing at 2,203 units as of end November.

At the October 27 launch, Proton said it aims to produce 8,000 units of the X50 in the last two months of the year, but this appears optimistic. Order one now and you’ll have to wait for a fair bit. Any other way? Car subscription provider Flux has announced that the Proton X50 is now available for reservation. The B-SUV is available in Flagship or Premium spec, with a choice of Snow White, Jet Grey and Passion Red colours.

As mentioned, Flux is is car subscription service, which means you’re essentially renting the car from them (full story on how it works here) for an agreed tenure.

Flux gives the example of the X50 Flagship, which starts from RM1,995 per month for a 36-month subscription plan. That sum is an all-in figure that includes road tax, insurance, maintenance, plus wear and tear.

The firm says that you’ll pay less upfront with subscribing, versus a conventional purchase. The example above is Flux vs a five-year HP loan at 2.5%, with a 10% downpayment. The insurance sum includes special perils and windshield coverage.

Flux’s concierge service provides a door-to-door service and is also on hand for all your maintenance and documentation needs. There’s also 24/7 nationwide unlimited roadside assistance, emergency dispatch services and car theft recovery.

Should you want to keep the X50 after the three-year subscription period, you can pay RM78,000 to own it; that being the guaranteed future value of the car under Flux’s Subscribe to Own programme.

You will get a brand new unit within seven days of an approved reservation, so this is an effective way to beat the queue. Need to sell your current car? Flux’s concierge team will even help you get a valuation and assist with the transaction. The Proton X50 is also available for corporate subscription through Flux Business Class. Once again, here’s how Flux’s subscription model works.

GALLERY: Proton X50 1.5T Premium

GALLERY: Proton X50 1.5 TGDi Flagship

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Raja Celup on Dec 07, 2020 at 5:04 pm

Kalau miskin, buat cara miskin.

• Amran on Dec 07, 2020 at 5:27 pm

Is no-brainer better to buy then to rent the Proton X50, since is rm103k only…. when same segment rival BMW X2 priced eye-watering RM320K. summore kwsp cash incoming real soon,

• So you are basically paying 70% of ownership cost just to rent a car that doesn’t belong to you at the end? Sounds not very convincing…

• Its kinda like Tan Chong’s Nissan & Renault car subscription offer which IMHO is closer to the prices you pay if you bought outright. I am guessing there is a market for such offerings like for companies that prefers to subscribe for directors car and such.

• What a joke on Dec 07, 2020 at 7:31 pm

Kidding and kidding only for a kacang proton suv.

• FLUX or FLUKE? on Dec 07, 2020 at 8:20 pm

So its RM71,820(RM1995 x 36 months) + RM 3,093 + RM78,000 ( future buy it value) = RM152,913.

I think any normal Malaysian who can add 1+1= 2 , will be better off buying a used X50 maybe 1.5 years down the road for appox RM80k+ then paying RM72k in 3 years before being told either buy the car for another RM78k or you can start using Grab.

i still fail to see the appeal of FLUX.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • combo meals on Dec 07, 2020 at 9:18 pm

Well, if you could afford 2k loan per month , you won’t choose to drive a X50.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • Ahmadjr on Dec 08, 2020 at 8:21 pm

This plan is great for those can’t get bank loan, or those who deal lotsa cash from own biz… and dun wanna get that flashy Rolls royce, Chevy camaro, Bmw superbikes and Ford mustang. and put too much cash in bank….

• big mac on Dec 08, 2020 at 3:57 am

This kinda things only for those can’t get loan from the bank, or just need a car for a temporary period.

• Jeffreyee on Dec 08, 2020 at 11:18 am

Very good plan for companies providing car for the employers

• the appeal is the flexibility to change cars at the end of tenure with no further monetary loss or time.
    return the car and take another one.
    you pay for the flexibility and shouldn’t be compared in the manner of outright purchase vs subscription.