Proton X50’s use of a timing belt isn’t a concern and why RON 95 is fine over RON 97 – CEVT explains

When the Proton X50 was launched in October this year, there was a lot of buzz surrounding the SUV’s use of a timing belt instead of a timing chain for its 1.5 litre turbocharged three-cylinder engine, which is offered in two versions: with port and direct fuel injection.

While some were unfazed by the idea of a timing belt, others lamented its usage, claiming it to be an “old” piece of technology. However, that’s not the case at all, says Håkan Sandquist, director of powertrain strategy at China Euro Vehicle Technology (CEVT).

During a recent group interview, Sandquist explained that a lot of validation work was carried out to ensure the reliability and performance of the three-cylinder engines. This includes tests at temperatures ranging from -40 to 40 degrees Celsius, altitudes of up to 4,000 metres and mileage tests of millions of kilometres.

The work performed by CEVT was necessary as the engines were designed with global markets in mind. As such, ensuring they work in the Proton X50 is just part of a larger picture, as the division within Zhejiang Geely Holding must also ensure the engines work well in other projects by Volvo Cars and Geely Auto.

“I hear the same kind of question from many places but I think when it comes to timing chains, they also requires a lot of detailed engineering expertise when developing them. Today, I’d say you see more new products actually being developed with timing belts than timing chains,” said Sandquist.

“There was one of the major OEMs of the world, I’m not going to say which one, who had significant issues with timing chains, so they actually reverted to timing belts. With a properly designed system, they will be fit for life. I don’t see there’s a big difference in the two, but they have to be properly designed,” he added.

Sandquist goes on to say that Volvo engines have been using timing belts for a long time, undergoing plenty of validating testing before they are rolled out. For instance, the current XC40 uses a timing belt in T3, T4, T5 and Recharge T5 guises. Additionally, other models like the S60, XC60 and XC90 also feature timing belts.

“If you look at all the Volvo engines, they have been using timing belts for quite a long time, they have the most stringent validation requirements and they still continue with timing belts. It’s good enough for Volvo, it’s good enough for us,” he commented.

It’s also important to note that the official service schedule for the X50 requires an inspection of its timing belt at 100,000 km/60 months, with a replacement due at 110,000 km/66 months. The timing belt for the X50 costs RM195.16, while the drive (or serpentine) belt that is also changed together is RM112.89 – the labour for both is RM150. The total cost of replacing this belts, when spread out across 60 months or five years, is about RM90 a year.

Aside from discussions on timing belts, Sandquist also noted that the three-cylinder engines were developed to run on RON 92 petrol, which is a common fuel in China. In our local context, where RON 95 and RON 97 are prevalent, it is an absolute non-issue for owners to run the former despite there being a turbocharger. He added that there’s not much to gain with running on RON 97, more so with RON 100.

Proton’s official figures for the X50 are 150 PS and 226 Nm of torque with the port fuel injection (PFI) version of the 1.5 turbo three-pot, while the direct injection (DI) unit in the range-topping Flagship makes 177 PS and 255 Nm. However, Geely has stated that the latter’s outputs are with RON 92 fuel used, and they go up to 179 PS and 265 Nm with RON 95.

“Actually, the engine has been developed for RON 92, which is normal in the Chinese market, and it will run really well with RON 95. With RON 97, there’s no real benefit. It’s only if you would be driving very much [in] super-hot climate and very high loads. But I understand that normal driving would be perfectly fine with RON 95,” explained Sandquist.

AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard's strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

The comments generally agree that using a timing belt, like in the Proton X50, is not a significant concern if genuine quality belts are used and proper maintenance is followed, with many citing their own positive experiences. There is acknowledgment that timing chains are more maintenance-free and long-lasting, but timing belts are cheaper and easier to replace. Some comments highlight the importance of sticking to scheduled replacements and caution against inferior parts. Discussions also touch on petrol octane ratings, with opinions that RON 95 is sufficient for most engines, including the X50’s turbocharged setup. There’s criticism of reliance on Western reassurance and the perception that local confidence in Malaysian engines remains lacking. Overall, sentiments lean towards practical maintenance and trusting engineered recommendations over unnecessary worry.

• mesinrumput on Dec 16, 2020 at 12:18 pm

the cost will be higher within 5 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
  • newme on Dec 16, 2020 at 12:19 pm

Despite claiming to be technological advanced and reliable, you still need a mat salleh reassurance to tell people not to worry about your product.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 12
    • Engineer on Dec 16, 2020 at 2:08 pm

Becoz idiotic M’sians don’t trust local people assurances unless it is said the same by a Mat Salleh. What to do, negara dah merdeka 60 tahun tapi minda masih dijajah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 7
      • newme on Dec 16, 2020 at 2:58 pm

You sure it is because Malaysians are idiot and not because your product is no good?
        We don’t see P2 needing a mat salleh or anyone to give reassurance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 25
        • Celup King on Dec 16, 2020 at 3:19 pm

P2 products are not fully homegrown, everyone knows that and that what draws people in coupled with the cheaper prices. In the end it is all about cost.

• newme on Dec 17, 2020 at 2:56 pm

So the China branded with mat salleh reassurance car is a homegrown?

• The japs… *Cough* which also jajah our tanah b4

• Idiotic Malaysian on Dec 16, 2020 at 5:42 pm

Because P2 doesn’t have an award winning turbocharged engine introduced into Malaysian market for idiotic Malaysians to pour out their idiotic expertise comments

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
          • newme on Dec 17, 2020 at 9:14 am

Why do you need mat salleh reassurance is it is an award winning engine? Oh wait…. they award it themselves.

Masuk bakul angkat sendiri.

• Copy Paste on Dec 17, 2020 at 2:13 pm

Copy paste: “Becoz idiotic M’sians don’t trust local people assurances unless it is said the same by a Mat Salleh. What to do, negara dah merdeka 60 tahun tapi minda masih dijajah.”

• my civic turbo on Dec 17, 2020 at 9:53 am

Regret buying civic turbo 4 cyl, even p1 can do same power with 3 cyl

• CHubby on Dec 17, 2020 at 10:57 am

P2 is just a Jepunis rebadged and not a homegrown and we all Malaysian know that. So it’s out of question whether to still need a Jepunis expert to explain and to gain trust of Jepunis technology in P2

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Dec 16, 2020 at 3:00 pm

That Mat Salleh was actively involved in the development of of the X50’s engine and gearbox, that’s why we asked him.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 9
      • Celup King on Dec 16, 2020 at 3:21 pm

Out goes the China engine spiel from haters.

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Dec 16, 2020 at 3:29 pm

Exclusive interview? Well-done PT team!!!

• Wazizi on Dec 16, 2020 at 4:53 pm

Isnt that Mat Salleh, being employed by Geely, is the business end of their mouthpiece with vested interest to defend the X50’s engine, gearbox, etc.? Where is the critical thinking part of this argument and why not ask a more neutral party? Paultan.org shouldn’t be too ready to act as their advertisers’ shield to a valid and open discourse.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
        • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Dec 17, 2020 at 12:02 am

Our question to him was for CEVT’s justifications for choosing a timing belt over a timing chain for this engine. I think he answered the question well here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
      • madmoz on Dec 16, 2020 at 8:24 pm

Well, one could always turn around and say he is not the most objective of Mat Sallehs then hehe!
        Just playing the devil’s advocate Hafriz :)

• azrai on Dec 16, 2020 at 6:54 pm

It’s known as ‘blue eye syndrome’. Most commentwealth country have the same mindset, worshipping the white.

• Bieight on Dec 16, 2020 at 12:20 pm

That means we need to pump 97 since here is super hot and the load are high…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 19
    • Engineer on Dec 16, 2020 at 2:10 pm

Can you read? I assume you can, so please see the following statement: “Sandquist also noted that the three-cylinder engines were developed to run on RON 92 petrol, which is a common fuel in China. In our local context, where RON 95 and RON 97 are prevalent, is it absolute a non-issue for owners to run the former despite there being a turbocharger.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
      • 4G63T DSM on Dec 16, 2020 at 4:18 pm

I think people can read fine.

But don’t be naïve to think they don’t know that an older car with a high mileage stressed engine that has accumulated carbon deposits over the years wont need higher octane fuel.

Can you run 92 on an old engine? Sure you can. On detection of predetonation, the engine is just going to pull timing leading to lower power outputs.

remember, on a turbocharged car, dynamic compression and heat is a lot higher than an NA car, which benefits from higher octane fuel.

• Khairul Izam on Dec 17, 2020 at 8:57 am

When ur car is old enough, like 200,000km mileage, u should be doing overhaul anyways. Any engine will need to do that regardless Sweden, China or Jap mari. Refreshing the engine meant u can keep using to its ori spec, giving excuses that it is an older used engine is just that: excuses.

• General on Dec 17, 2020 at 3:46 pm

Modern ppl dont like to old type maintenance

Otherwise, what is the improvement?

• Calvin on Dec 18, 2020 at 10:17 pm

What do you mean by that General? Engine are mechanical, they need overhauling after an extent of use. It has nothing to do with old type maintenance as older or newer engine will require such maintenance.

• Celup King on Dec 16, 2020 at 2:23 pm

Super-hot as in Sahara desert.
      Very high loads as in fully loaded running for millions of KM.

• Dylan Ch'ng on Dec 16, 2020 at 12:20 pm

Malaysian’s often are not aware that there is more than RON when it comes to petrol. There is also the euro rating.

• Ghani on Dec 16, 2020 at 12:23 pm

We Msians are ungrateful lot… afford to buy new x50 but still love to complain nonstop.

Pity those hardworking ministers & govt officers.. quietly servicing for the ppl & nation in musim covid. If dunwan timing belt, we can still ubah & choose cars with timing chain. Rilek beb,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 18
  • Kitaro Suzuoka on Dec 16, 2020 at 12:33 pm

Trust engineers not netizens! Ron 95 and timing chain are fine!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • Civic Turbo 2018 on Dec 16, 2020 at 12:58 pm

RM450 timing belt every 100-110K OK la. Then budget another RM500 for walnut blasting (Flagship only) altogether no need 1K also.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Basher Dont Learn on Dec 16, 2020 at 1:44 pm

Many people not aware about DIRECT INJECTION maintenance yet. The walnet blasting is very common among BMW/Volkswagen kaki.

• newme on Dec 16, 2020 at 3:02 pm

The problem is not the RM450. The problem is leaving the car to foreman with questionable competency to change the belt at the service centre.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
      • Celup King on Dec 16, 2020 at 3:23 pm

You talk like it needs a rocket scientist to change timing belt. LOL. No it is not much more difficult nor undoable as Proton centers had been changing timing belts on Campro engines for dog years now.

• newme on Dec 17, 2020 at 11:46 am

So how was proton doing with campro engine? Sampai company pun terjual.

• Troll Hunter on Dec 17, 2020 at 2:16 pm

That has nothing to do with your question on competency of replacing the timing belt. I know what you’re trying to do but please don’t stray from your origin question. I think celup king did well to answer that.

• newme got it spot on. Foreigners give us modern tech, locals donno to service. Same old issue at Drb Vw and Proton campro kenot fix.

• newme on Dec 18, 2020 at 9:15 am

Yes. If Proton is competent, the company won’t be sold 2 times in 5 years. And the best part is have to settle with sub-standard China quality.

• shutupla on Dec 18, 2020 at 1:19 pm

Every argument you have been answered and you just make a new one until you mentioned something unrelated to technology or engineering (as what this article is suppose to be). Why do you have to “repeatedly” mention Proton being sold “a million times in 5 years”? Is that related to the timing belt?

• Grease monkey on Dec 17, 2020 at 9:15 am

Belts & labour,what about the rest like the timing bearings and oil seals? Tambah another 500? Volvo S60 old model total changing whole timing belt set around 1.3k…

• why still rant about RON and timing belt? on Dec 16, 2020 at 2:06 pm

there is no free stuff when a car is being sold. the cost of timing chain is already included during purchase. it just remove the visible pain of paying when changing timing belt.
    RON is just about the resistance before the petrol burns unexpectedly. when using higher RON than the engine is designed for, like using RON 97 on a RON 92 engine, the feel good factor can be just placebo or the slight benefits of better additives in it.

• azrai on Dec 16, 2020 at 6:57 pm

So the timing chainm cost subjected to 2.98% interest for 9 years! So does the GearUp kit.

• Ahmad on Dec 16, 2020 at 2:18 pm

When it’s belacan brand, the will be people questioning/criticizing it no matter how small the issue is.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • Proton 90's king on Dec 16, 2020 at 2:50 pm

Ya right, even a saga cost rm600+ to change the timing belt at “authorise” service center.

• IluvProton on Dec 16, 2020 at 3:04 pm

So it’s a China car. Why macai still call it a Malaysian product?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 16
    • Celup King on Dec 16, 2020 at 3:25 pm

So it uses a Swede engine. Why haters still call it a China car?

• because 49% of PROTON is Malaysian owned. Unless you define the car by where it was designed or built.

• Shiok Sendiri on Dec 16, 2020 at 7:14 pm

Hahaha yea. Is only call Proton to please Malaysian

• Logical Deduction on Dec 17, 2020 at 2:18 pm

Honda City is Thai designed and CKD parts made in Thai for assembly in Malaysia. So why fanboys still call Honda here a Japanese brand?

• Actually Malaysian owned 50.1% of Proton.

• Lolwhut? on Dec 16, 2020 at 9:50 pm

Perodua cars comes from Indonesia so why macai still call it Malaysian national cars?

• troll on Dec 16, 2020 at 4:03 pm

why concern bout this when you can get a myvi

• Khairul Izam on Dec 17, 2020 at 9:03 am

Because with Myvi you have 99 others to be concerned abut?

• 25yrsOld on Dec 16, 2020 at 4:12 pm

Hmm, not many people know X50 uses timing belt instead of timing chain,
    This clarifies

• panjang on Dec 16, 2020 at 4:15 pm

I really wish one day someone from any car company will say ‘If you cant afford to maintain a car, dont buy one’.

• Passerby on Dec 16, 2020 at 5:37 pm

If engine is of the interference type, then, goodbye to engine when timing belt breaks. Probably need complete overhaul or change to new engine. The valves will hit the piston inside engine.
    For non interference engine, you just replace the belt, no issue with engine.

• Monkey on Dec 16, 2020 at 7:51 pm

The risk of some incompetent monkeys screwing up the timing belt change is higher. Timing chain it will probably last the last time of the car engine. My car already already more than 200k mileage and it still on ori timing chain.

Timing belt, even though mat salleh said 100k to chg most people will change at either 60k to 80k coz they will claim always stuck in traffic jam and thus better to change often. So, you make the mechanic earn more and if they screw up, and yr belt snap, the mechanic can earn more.

• Helang Club on Dec 21, 2020 at 10:39 pm

no man made engine can last forever, high milage timing chain driven engine will also incurred wear and tear on the metal chain and sprocket, vibration ‘clicking’ noise, needs higher volume of lubricant compares to timing belt driven engine,

• Its depends on how engineer designed their engine.
    1. Engine that run with timing belt is much simpler because timing belt doesn’t required any form of lubrication. Just timing belt, sets of oil seals and tensioner thats why the price is quite lower and their labour is reasonable
    2. However some issue will come up when replacing it. Take a look at Proton Campro’s engine. Its so simple to replace but ask a mechanic how to replace a Kia Carnival first gen timing belt engine and you will know what im talking about.
    3. Engineer can focused the lubrication system totally for the engine itself. Thats why some old timing belt engine last longer exceed their lifetime mileage expectations.
    3. Most of car tuner will opt for timing belt engine due to their simpler design and timing belt that can be replaced on demand with any major hassle. Talk about the glory of Mitsubishi 4G series or Nissan RB engine guys.

Some engineer will opt for timing chain because of few reasons
    1. Doesn’t required any maintenance and some automakers claim them long life usage but please be noted that it must be checked when your mileage start to hit 300000 KM.
    2. Timing chain need a constant oil pressure from engine oil pump in order to maintain timing chain tensioner thats why some engine equipped with timing chain will experince more frequent failure if owner doesn’t follow recommended service interval.
    3. Timing chain itself is consists of complex parts that is the chain itself ( please be noted that modern engine use more that one chain for connecting the oil pump and balancer shaft ), the chain hydraulic tensioner ( need oil pressure from engine oil pump ), sets of chain guide rail. Also please be noted even timing chain replacement doesn’t listed in service interval. The replacement will cost you 4 times the price of timing belt replacement due to their complex position and the labour its seriously expensive too. The timing chain cover itself will required a new sealant if opened.

Need more example ? Most Volvo engine lineup series is equipped with timing belt. The good things ? Recommended service interval will be required every 20000 KM meanwhile timing chain engine required 10000 KM service interval.

This is just a basic explanation about their timing system. Every engine have its own advantage and weakness. Everything is not perfect. A lot of things will need to be justified and be determined by a lot of factors such as the technology used, the materials, targeted market, etc.
    So just don’t go say the timing belt is bad or timing chain is bad.
    Every engine is designed with specific purpose in mind either it for performance, fuel efficiency, highly balanced perfomance, reliability, etc
    For Geely and Volvo 1.5 engine, it is designed to be used globally and can be equipped with multiple technology configurations. The proof ? their engine won China automotive award

Sorry for long explanations. Hope this helps

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
  • Alive and Kicking on Dec 16, 2020 at 10:10 pm

If the engine is the interference type, a broken timing belt can result in the pistons hitting the valves, which translates into a major engine damage.
    That’s why the manufacturers started switching to the timing chain system back in the 1990’s.

• Khairul Izam on Dec 17, 2020 at 9:02 am

Manufacturers mandated that timing belts be replaced long before it reaches failure window. If you keep to ur car maintenance and servicing (as you should be) there is no concerns on timing belt breakage, as with other components as well if you don’t perform scheduled replacement they will fail u long before ur timing belt. So just stick to ur car servicing schedule. It is that simple and worry-free.

• alive & kicking on Dec 17, 2020 at 4:43 pm

You’re right about the manufacturers recommending a timing belt replacement schedule, but you might have not been close enough to certain industry insiders whom would have told you that they were having difficulties getting consistent quality timing belts at that time, or else they would not have bothered switching to the more costly and complex timing chain system.

• Ex AD Resort user on Dec 17, 2020 at 10:50 pm

The timing belt change schedule would work as long as genuine good quality timing belts are used, but when the quality control could not be steadily maintained, the belt may snap before the scheduled change.

• Engineer on Dec 18, 2020 at 11:54 am

Automotive parts are manufactured to certain quality standards to ensure reliability. There are cases where manufacturing faults resulted in unintended consequences, ie Takata airbags, but that is more odd than norm. If there are doubts with timing belt quality, you can bet those timing chain manufactured would also be doubtful of their quality. In this case your risk with timing chain snapping is higher as you don’t expect to replace it so you don’t check on its condition, right? Timing belt at the least you’d have mechanics check on it for premature wear but not for timing chain.

• Alive & kicking on Dec 18, 2020 at 8:21 pm

History has already recorded that auto manufacturers did shift from the timing belt to the timing chain system during 1990’s & into the early 2000’s. They would not have done so if it was not feasible due to technical & business reasons. History also shows that timing chains are not exactly new in automotive engines, as they were already used in side-valve, OHV & some OHC engines before timing belts became more commonly used in the 1970’s & 1980’s.

• Omega Bulldog on Dec 17, 2020 at 9:30 am

Personally, I prefer timing belt to chain. If a belt breaks it just go snap but if a chain breaks it takes the front part of your car with it…. Note;- that might be over dramatic….

• Use genuine part only on Dec 17, 2020 at 12:53 pm

Using timing belt is not an issue. The issue here is most Malaysians driving Proton who are on tight budget, will send their cars to “workshop under tree” (kedai bawah pokok), using knock-down parts “bosskur part murah ada” mentality. what do you expect? A car breakdown in middle of road with a broken timing belt (as a result of using fake spare or inferior part). Hence the mindset, as long as it aint broken don’t change “take note: timing chain” comes our from their brain. I was driving Wira 1.6 using timing belt for 10 years replacing timing belt twice using genuine Mitsubishi part – with zero problem. Wake up Malaysians. You need to know the consequences of your cheap stake action.

• Nonama on Dec 17, 2020 at 4:53 pm

Betul tu. My 1995 Honda mileage already to the moon only once changed the timing belt. Though not strictly following maintenance schedule, it never breakdown till today. Timing chain maybe better but timing belt is cheaper & good enough.

• Doesn’t make a lot of sense when my Forte is at 250k km and running well with a chain for 10 years. Why would i want to change a belt when the chain lasts a lifetime

• Ex AD Resort user on Dec 17, 2020 at 10:40 pm

I used to drive a Nissan AD Resort with the GA16DS engine that covered 400,000km without any issues with its timing chain. :)

• david on Dec 17, 2020 at 11:11 pm

an explanation to justified old technologies. simple

• What about perodua ativa? 95 as well?