Selangor, KL EMCO: Vehicle workshops not permitted to operate from July 3-16, according to latest SOP set

From tomorrow, July 3, certain districts in Selangor and select localities in Kuala Lumpur will go under an enhanced movement control order (EMCO) for 14 days until July 16. The EMCO will see all routes of travel into and out of these zones being closed and monitored by police.

UPDATE: The government released an updated list of SOPs later in the day (7pm on the official MKN Telegram channel) that saw changes to the essential services section of the document, with the list of services notably scaled down. The latest revision no longer lists the “vehicle repairs as well as relevant spare parts” bit, which means these services are no longer permissible in EMCO areas. This post has been edited to reflect this.

As such, no car workshops (and service centres), spare parts businesses as well as tyre shops will be allowed to operate in EMCO areas until July 16, or likely longer. Which means that should your car break down or need critical repair during this period, it can only be addressed after the EMCO is lifted, so take note.

Initial EMCO SOP set listing permissible essential services (left), and updated SOP list (right). Click to enlarge.

In announcing the move, the government also stated that during this period, everyone within these EMCO areas is not permitted to be out of their homes, with the exception of one person being allowed out to buy essential items within a 10 km radius from his/her household.

During the full movement control order (FMCO), which was implemented on a nationwide basis, car workshops and spare parts businesses as well as tyre shops were still allowed to operate during the period, as defined by the term bengkel kenderaan, penyelenggaraan dan alat ganti.

The latest SOP set for the EMCO in Selangor and KL, however, no longer lists anything that suggests this to be the case. Earlier, it was briefly mentioned (refer to the update and SOP panels above) that pembaikan kenderaan serta alat ganti berkaitan (vehicle repairs as well as relevant spare parts) would be deemed an essential service permissible during the period in EMCO areas, but this has since been removed.

This means that service centres and workshops will not be allowed to open (in EMCO areas), even to carry out urgent and critically needed vehicle repairs or any scheduled servicing and general maintenance, for that matter. Of course, the SOPs also state you’re not allowed out of the house (except to buy food, groceries or essentials), so you really can’t be sending your car in for service, can you?

This being the case (and until the next SOP update saying otherwise), expect car companies to announce an extension to routine service intervals and a grace period for warranties beyond the duration. Meanwhile, workshops and the like that are not in EMCO areas will continue to operate, with tight SOPs.

Meanwhile, car showrooms across the country continue to remain closed (although online bookings continue), as are vehicle production plants as part of the restrictions imposed during the FMCO and now, into phase one of the national recovery plan (PPN). Auto manufacturing – as well as car wash centres – will be permitted to resume activity in phase two of the PPN.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Ben Yap on Jul 02, 2021 at 8:46 pm

so if one person to repair the valves, they will also change the engine oil together and do the remaining maintenance. Government may not be able to track that.

• Copy Paste on Jul 03, 2021 at 12:06 pm

Copy paste: “Of course, the SOPs also state you’re not allowed out of the house (except to buy food, groceries or essentials), so you really can’t be sending your car in for service, can you?”

• SuperSohai on Jul 04, 2021 at 11:22 am

We have the best government taking care of rakyat. Very good goverment. So good. Best in the world.

• Selempang Merah36 on Jul 04, 2021 at 3:04 pm

Yezza bruh , konpom we hv the best government. Sez the many2 local SuperSohai(s). Best in the Universe!

• Dude.. no workshop is open. So no need to think about it.

• Shaharudin Ahmad on Jul 02, 2021 at 8:47 pm

MKN has revised again the EMCO SOP for Selangor and totally removed the services centre and workshops from the essential list

• Darren on Jul 03, 2021 at 1:02 pm

To my best knowledge, the one that was released prior to 7pm was unofficial or perhaps ‘fake news’, the one out at 7pm without service centers and workshops was released thru official channels.

• Melania Rosmah on Jul 02, 2021 at 8:53 pm

I need to send my car to the workshop to fix a stalling problem.The mechanic said,I have to leave it there for a day till 5pm.
    So,what if there r no grab drivers or taxis in that area ?Can the mechanic send me back? That will make it 2 in the car.
    So after the car is repaired at 5 pm and ready,again..can the mechanic drive the car back to my house and I send him back ?My house is in an area that Grab is quite scarce.
    I know ” one in a car ruling “is to deter crowds,but I hope the authorities will treat this like a son sending his dad for vaccination and back.
    Sometimes,the rakyat cant see the logic in certain sops while factories that contribute the most cases are running at full steam.
    The rakyat is already in total lockdown despair.I hope the authorities will be more humane.You said duduk rumah,we duduk rumah. Can any MP highlight this matter? We dont want to send our car for repairs and end up with a hefty fine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 24
    • Copy Paste on Jul 03, 2021 at 12:07 pm

Copy paste: “Of course, the SOPs also state you’re not allowed out of the house (except to buy food, groceries or essentials), so you really can’t be sending your car in for service, can you?”

• Troll Hunter on Jul 03, 2021 at 12:12 pm

Wait a sec, this is your comment (as YB Albert);
      YB Albert on Jul 02, 2021 at 12:23 pm
      The saddest reality is the real total lockdown should have been done in mid May.

So why are you gripping about total lockdown? Isn’t that what you wanted? So partial lockdown taboleh, total lockdown pun takboleh? Banggang betul org ni!

• Thinking this thing on Jul 03, 2021 at 12:21 pm

10km travel distance, a foldable bicycle can handle.

• Darren on Jul 03, 2021 at 12:51 pm

Only for work.
        https://paultan.org/2021/06/07/fmco-police-say-cycling-to-work-is-allowed/
        But no cycling for any other purpose
        https://paultan.org/2021/05/31/mco-3-0-only-jogging-non-contact-sports-no-cycling/
        But as stated by the author, nobody should be outside for any other purpose other than essentials.

• Copy Paste on Jul 03, 2021 at 10:20 pm

Copy paste: “The EMCO only applies to selected KL & Selangor districts so if you are covered by insurance, your agent should able to direct your breakdown vehicles to districts not within EMCO. I don’t see any problem here.”

• This time is not mucking around, this is serious and I hope everyone take this seriously as well. Time to stop all the pettiness.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 18
  • Mak Cik ada persoalan on Jul 02, 2021 at 9:37 pm

Timely car maintenance can be extended…..so long permissible by respective service centres.

however, some car problems can be unexpected, sudden, and unavoidable. Car will be immobile.
    So, the car tersadai at roadside? tersadai at home? Since spareparts and workshop not open.

• Darren on Jul 03, 2021 at 12:59 pm

The EMCO only applies to selected KL & Selangor districts so if you are covered by insurance, your agent should able to direct your breakdown vehicles to districts not within EMCO. I don’t see any problem here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
      • you forgot the 10km rule as well as interdistric travel. You dont expect the insurance agent to assist this without you going to the workshop yourself also right?

• Avenger on Jul 05, 2021 at 2:35 am

10km is unrestricted, if you have a good reason, like an appointment to pick up your car, the police would have no issues to give a limited permit to cross that 10km threshold.

• If you allowed essential industries running, then you should not stop workshop from operating.

• Cars can transmit wabak… Kebodohan sudah tahap gaban. Imma gomen cytro… but ini dah sampai level idiot nincompoop …Yang aq sendri pon xboleh nk tahan. bodoh PN… Gagal PN bangang!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 15
    • Copy Paste on Jul 03, 2021 at 12:09 pm

Copy paste: “This time is not mucking around, this is serious and I hope everyone take this seriously as well. Time to stop all the pettiness.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • Troll Hunter on Jul 03, 2021 at 12:22 pm

Sorry bro, if you are john then Imma your father. What i hunted and found is this:
      Abang kecik Nikmat on Apr 30, 2021 at 5:21 pm
      When this model arrives in Malaysia, it will be spec as ST edition, as in “Standet Gaban”.
      vivizurianti on Aug 26, 2020 at 6:45 pm
      US version very nice. When this comes to Malaysia….surely watered down to standet gaban…..

I can verify youre the troll that previously goes by “vivizurianti” but tracked you later on changing various names such as “Abang kecik Nikmat” and tracking that name leads me to your latest “Pak Cik nak cakap”.

Not so creative, more of laziness, when youre so easily found out. PH should really pay their trolls better as PN ones are more convincing in their comments.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
      • Norlia on Jul 03, 2021 at 5:36 pm

Hunter Gagal. lolll.. PN GAGAL…PN LINGKUP.. HANCUR hidop pasumno!! Hail Hydra!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
        • Avenger on Jul 05, 2021 at 2:36 am

PH = Hydra? Brilliant analogy

• Western Star on Jul 05, 2021 at 1:23 pm

Much like their comic book counterpart, evil, insidious, shadowy, scheming, destructive, and up to everything not good. But hey, even Lex Luthor and Kingpin got themselves into US Presidency so having them snake their way to rule a 2nd time isn’t all that different from fiction, hmm?

• Dr Strange on Jul 05, 2021 at 5:21 pm

obvious HH = Haji Hadi. Brilliant marveles.

• Kapten Amerika on Jul 06, 2021 at 10:06 am

Hail Pakatan Hydra!

• Abang Long bertanya on Jul 03, 2021 at 10:33 am

essential industries can continue operate during EMCO. However, when their lorries, machinery, forklift, etc rosak……..how to fix? Workshop, spareparts shop not open?

• Darren on Jul 03, 2021 at 12:58 pm

The EMCO only applies to selected KL & Selangor districts so if you are covered by insurance, your agent should able to direct your breakdown vehicles to districts not within EMCO. I don’t see any problem here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
  • Clare chua on Jul 03, 2021 at 10:39 am

Cannot see why car workshops cannot operate, what if my car breakdown somewhere, do i just leave it by the road and risk it of getting stolen of parts or whole car? Some SOPs really stressed the people out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
    • True, as grab driver, what will happen if my grab car breakdown?

• 25years old on Jul 03, 2021 at 12:22 pm

that’s why every car must buy Car insurance, mandated in Malaysia.

call your Car insurance company, often get Free-Towing.
      wait for the towing to arrive.

no different procedure compared to non-EMCO.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • tow and bring to where? if mechanics shops are not open? non emco shops, are they in diff state? cannot interdistrict travel right? if within 10km within selangor sure emco also. So?

• KL alot workshop is working, no EMCO.
          So, will be brought there.

• Darren on Jul 03, 2021 at 12:58 pm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
      • you have been posting the same thing yet does not understand that we are only allowed to go within 10kms as well as interdistrcit and interstate is not allowed so not sure why you feel like there is no problem for breakdown vehicles.

• Avenger on Jul 05, 2021 at 2:39 am

Unless your car brand is so poor in aftersales support that you cannot find an SC within 10km of you, they could also arrange to tow your car up to your nearest convenient location.

• Raja Kamarul on Jul 04, 2021 at 8:23 am

I was able to send my car to AB Jln Tun Razak yesterday or Saturday. I’m not in an EMCO area to be sure, but I suppose the risk is if the workers are from EMCO or red zone areas.

• Why warehouse in EMCO cannot process order to prepare stock for GDEX to deliver to area which are not in EMCO just because the warehouse is in EMCO area . Is this true? i thought warehousing is consider essential service. My company got MITI -PPN letter for distribution category but still they say cannot use for EMCO area. So customer from other area could not get stock ????

• Sorry to digress on the topic. Can someone help me, how to sell the car during this EMCO. I am leaving the country and stuck with this MCO/EMCO for the past 1 month to sell my car.
    Thanks

• Lets See on Jul 06, 2021 at 1:28 pm

If you prefer traditional, call any 2nd hand sales garage.
      If you like professional, call MUV or Carsome