FMCO: Lockdown extended by two weeks, to June 28

The government has announced that phase one of the full movement control order (FMCO) will be extended by two weeks from June 15 to 28. No surprise as to the extension of the nationwide lockdown, what with daily Covid-19 cases still well above the 5,000 mark. The number of reported cases today was 6,849.

As before, all sectors, with the exception of essential economic and service sectors that are listed as such by the national security council (MKN), will not be allowed to operate during the period. Existing standard operating procedures (SOPs), which were updated for the FMCO, will remain in place.

This includes vehicle capacity restrictions, where only two people per household will be allowed to go out in a car to buy food, medicine and essentials. An allowance will be given for a maximum of three people to travel in a vehicle for the purpose of seeking medical care or emergency medical services, including the person needing that medical attention, within a 10 km radius from the point of residence.

The travel for essentials is also restricted to a 10 km radius from the location of one’s residence, the movement limit similar to that implemented in the first MCO last year. For taxis and ride-hailing services, the number of people in a car is also limited to two, including the driver, and the passenger must sit in the rear.

On the automotive front, car sales have of course come to a complete halt, as all car showrooms are closed and no test drives of any sort are permitted. Auto production will also continue to be halted at plants across the country for the duration of the FMCO.

However, certain essential businesses have been permitted to operate, and these are car workshops, after-sales service centres, spare parts businesses as well as tyre shops, although not all businesses related to these were running during the initial part of the lockdown.

Similarly, all services at both Puspakom and the road transport department (JPJ) have stopped until the lockdown is over. Those with their driving license, road tax (LKM) or vocational license (PSV/GDL) expiring between June 1 to July 31 have been given leeway to renew the documents from August 1 to September 30 this year.

As it was with the previous MCO-related leeway, all vehicles with expired road tax must have valid insurance cover. Print out and keep your insurance e-cover note in the vehicle and present it to the authorities when required.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Ruslan Bahari on Jun 11, 2021 at 7:21 pm

Lockdown in Malaysia requires a new unique definition in the dictionary. Enforcement is so poor too. Self-discipline? What’s that?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Jun 11, 2021 at 7:49 pm

when we got Pemimpin2 who go testdrive in another state car showroom. Self-discipline?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
      • Civic Turbo 2018 on Jun 12, 2021 at 2:24 pm

Rakyat is paying the price for their failures

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 29
        • Ghani on Jun 12, 2021 at 4:41 pm

Senang2 umum extend PKP… tapi takde bantuan makanan, barangan keperluan & duit. Rakyat nk masak batu ke..ramai dah sengsara putus makanan & takde income. Hutang sewa rumah, loan motor kereta menambah depression..kesiann rakyat susah di tempat sendri

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 31
          • Civic Turbo 2018 on Jun 13, 2021 at 9:58 am

(Boss): Don’t lockdown
            (Pekerja): Sila lockdown

• Norlia on Jun 13, 2021 at 5:06 pm

This gomen is rakyat first and boss last. Kudos!

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jun 12, 2021 at 6:24 pm

#SelangorFailures

• Sick & Tired on Jun 12, 2021 at 6:36 pm

tepat tuan… I rate the Government performance, an A for awesome but rate the rakyat E for excellent.

• Sick & Tired on Jun 13, 2021 at 6:22 pm

sori gaiss , should be an F to rakyat for Fantastic

• Dredd on Jun 11, 2021 at 9:57 pm

Yet people complaint when kena saman Rm10,000 for breach of SOP. I guess tight enforcement means RM 100,000 saman. Then people won’t complain about SOP & enforcement. Dredd agrees.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
      • Amran on Jun 12, 2021 at 1:24 pm

That YB who allegedly test driving a Ford Raptor during FMCO… Mana lebih penting, Ford Raptor atau Covid-19? and another kawan who went joyride with Rose.. Nope I really do not think they would agree

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
      • Kotembad on Jun 13, 2021 at 12:07 am

That’s not tight enforcement. You can do tight enforcement even with RM 500 saman; just make sure everyone that breaks the SOP kena. Encourage the rakyat to report SOP-breakers to authority.

• Norlia on Jun 13, 2021 at 5:09 pm

I have never known tight enforcement that comes with peanut penalties. Go to any country with good enforcement and you’ll find heavy punishments & fines are waiting. Countries with tightest enforcement like North Korea have death penalties as norm.

• KS MAK on Jun 11, 2021 at 10:05 pm

Fully support the continuation of lockdown, we need to bring the cases down so we can go back to some semblance of normality. The good thing is there is plenty of time for those schedule to go for vaccination now. No more excuses!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
      • Amran on Jun 12, 2021 at 1:29 pm

Exactly bro…Pak long was shocked How did some travellers slipped past Raya police checks? utterly irresposible… Akibat seronok ziarah raya rentas negeri, teramat kecewa begitu banyak kes Kluster raya dan kematian..

• Make Malaysia Great Again on Jun 12, 2021 at 6:40 pm

Gomen is paying the price for rakyat failures

• Who do Malaysians love the need to be disciplined and punished then turn around and shout about their rights being abused by Draconian laws and undemocratic gahmen? We don’t seem able to control ourselves yet don’t trust authorities to do that for us. So what is it that we want, living in angry self-pity hating the world and everything around it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
      • (Like) Okay. Agree for Lockdown extended to June 28.
        (Dislike) NO way.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
    • PlainBS on Jun 11, 2021 at 11:55 pm

I am amazed that some are ranting on enforcement when clearly it is up to us to prevent getting infected. All I see are frontliners get bullshit all the time so that’s why the onus of responsibility are clearly onto us, peeps just need to give a shit about this seriously. If peeps cbf to follow those instructions they can’t really complain about enforcement when there is no self responsibility.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
    • Casual reader on Jun 12, 2021 at 1:48 am

Infections go up. Is it enforcement fault? No it is ours.
      Death rates go up. Is it frontliners fault? No it is ours.
      No complying to SOP. Is it government fault? No it is ours.
      Want to go back despite ban. Is it police fault? No it is ours.
      Slow uptake of vaccination. Is it KJ fault? No it is ours.
      Missed vaccine appointment. Is it alarm clock fault? No it is ours.
      It is time we own up to our own mistakes and not blame it on others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 10
      • Spin Too Much on Jun 12, 2021 at 5:30 pm

tepat tuan… I rate the Government performance, an E for excellent.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
      • IGP mom on Jun 13, 2021 at 12:17 am

Nobody blames frontliners.

Nobody blame slow uptake but questioning why vaccination progress is slow! Look, it’s not like vaccination center is empty and waiting for people, but many is in the waiting list! Dont smoke with fake arguments.

Enforcement got the blame because of double standard. They cant go around randomly picking on rakyat who were innocent but no damn given, straight saman, when ministers, famous VIPs, police themselves go around violating the SOPs and no action taken.

It is also police fault that despite roadblock and district travelling ban, so many can still went thru. Yes, 1% rakyat are stubborn, and this is killing if enforcement turn a blind eye. They need to catch the real stubborn violators, not define rules by budi-bicara of individual police.

• Dr Strange on Jun 13, 2021 at 1:13 pm

Yes yes, they are!

They come without appointment and blame us when they cannot get slot to be vaccinated. Then they go on social media and blame us, the authorities and government for the slowness in vaccination but in truth nearly 4 million vaccine doses have been given with 2 million people done 2nd dose. And then we have 10% of those scheduled to be vaccinated missed their slots, were they smoking something the night before?

And what about those anti-vaxxers who complains about the slow government response and actions to lower the infections but they themselves refuse to register to be vaccinated or scare others to refuse.

Double standards only happen when people refuse to comply with enforcement, not our frontliners fault.

It is also disingenous to blame it all onto our police breathren at arms when they have diligently carrying out their duties day & night, rain or shine. If you have blame to put, put it onto stubborn rakyat that chose to break it

• rosdi on Jun 13, 2021 at 8:05 pm

Totally agree to extend Darurat & Total Lockdown MCO until 2035 to be safe…

• Norlia on Jun 13, 2021 at 5:10 pm

#SelangorFailures

• YB Albert on Jun 13, 2021 at 8:04 pm

After Biden/Kamala took office…just 5 months later,USA ‘s covid cases dropped to 15000 cases daily,with a population 10 times ours.
        This is due to rapid mass vaccinations and applying the science.
        Now back in Bolehland,we are hearing they are loosening some guidelines,once cases drop to 4000 and below.
        Dont u think we will need another big lockdown when cases spike to 10000 daily with no end in sight?
        By MCO 4.0…banks might NOT give any more moratoriums,they cant survive without interest income.Dont assume they will.
        Time for common sense and good medical advice to prevail.

• Casual reader on Jun 12, 2021 at 1:54 am

PS, before lockdown i see many hollering that infections were shooting up. Now that lockdown is extended i see the same folks hollering about their livelihood is gone.

What do they want, the economy to continue or risk getting infected? Perhaps they want both so they can be rich and die young.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
      • heybadigol on Jun 12, 2021 at 5:49 pm

inb4 Gomen allowed Sabah elections to go ahead in OKT 2020. Then decided No quarantine for voters returning from Sabah… finally PM admitted Sabah elections led to massive spike ..But this doesnt mean Kerajaan gagal. its still totally our fault..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 16
        • Troll Hunter on Jun 12, 2021 at 6:28 pm

Sorry dude but heybadigol is a forum member, you’re obviously not the real one. Just a lame political troll. Oh btw, want to bring up Sabah election, blame the ex-MB diedie want to cling onto power who then triggered that election.

• Copy Paste on Jun 13, 2021 at 4:59 pm

john on Feb 15, 2020 at 10:48 am

Yessss. Sapot Bapak, tolak PH! Their sapot shows us how high their integrity to the rule of law and respecting the pipus decision and wishes. Both BN and PAS abhored backdoor gomens like PH and until the pipu decided to tolak Bapak, BN and PAS is correct to sapot him.

• Norlia on Jun 13, 2021 at 5:11 pm

#WarisanFailures

• English Teacher on Jun 12, 2021 at 7:18 pm

According to Google:

What is self-discipline
      Self-discipline is defined as: “the ability to control yourself and to make yourself behave in a particular way without needing anyone else to tell you what to do.”

Keywords: Yourself, without needing anyone else

• Francis Lim on Jun 11, 2021 at 7:28 pm

Another two weeks of gaji buta for gomen staff

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 23
    • Safety First on Jun 11, 2021 at 8:14 pm

meanwhile in smaller neighbour Indonesia alredi Auto show in Aug 2021. Safety First

• KS MAK on Jun 11, 2021 at 10:07 pm

Indonesia has 3million cases and over 50k deaths. Do they care? Apparently not like here.

KS MAK

• Dredd on Jun 11, 2021 at 9:58 pm

The same to you too

• IGP mom on Jun 11, 2021 at 11:28 pm

Except, the frontliners. They suffer the most. The rest of the gomen staff … time balik kampung lagi … since WFH to them means cant work at all.

• Ghani on Jun 11, 2021 at 7:45 pm

Syabas kjaan penyayang & perihatin… Rakyat masih boleh dok rumah, masak Briyani mutton…. kari kepala ikan. Buat kopi dalgona , layann oden cikyana Masak apa pon jadi harini..sambungla pkp sampai xbangun.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
  • Sick&Tired on Jun 11, 2021 at 7:47 pm

It’s mentioned that car workshops are allowed to operate, but in reality, most are forced to close except for a few.

If they are going to prolong the MCO, at least give loan moratorium for 3 months. Unfortunately we have a finance minister who is a ex-banker and only cares about the banks rather than the people. Btw when the banks were struggling during the economic crisis in the late 90’s, the government bailed them out using our tax money, but now when we need help, the banks and government don’t give a rats ass!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 8
    • ccris on Jun 11, 2021 at 8:10 pm

Banker didahulukan, rakyat dicapati… asalkan kjaan takgagal. Akpk or bangkerap, you choice.. biar putih tulang. Agi idup agi ngelaban

• KS MAK on Jun 11, 2021 at 10:04 pm

THE issue of bank loan moratorium has resurfaced following the implementation of the full lockdown to curb the spread of Covid-19.
      Calls are currently mounting for the bank loan moratorium to be automatically extended to all borrowers and not just the B40 group, as announced by the government under the Pemerkasa Plus stimulus package.
      I understand the rationale for wanting the moratorium to be extended to the M40 group. Many in this group have also lost their jobs or had their incomes slashed due to the economic turbulence of the pandemic.
      I should know because I have gone through the bitter experience. When I was let go from my job in November last year, I was at a loss. My first reaction was to think about how I was going to pay for my housing and car loan, not to mention providing for my young family.
      At that time, Bank Negara’s automatic loan moratorium had just expired (September 2020).
      Nevertheless, I picked up the phone, called my bank and asked for my loan to be restructured.
      After a few hiccups and submission of the necessary documents and correspondence, my application was approved.
      My point is that being denied an automatic loan moratorium is not the end of the world. One just needs to take the initiative to call the bank and ask for the moratorium to be extended or the loan to be restructured.
      According to the Association of Banks Malaysia, over 90% of such requests are approved.
      With banks continuing to earn handsome returns despite the pandemic, I believe many of them do have the buffer to provide flexibility to retail borrowers, if only for goodwill purposes. Just pick up the phone and call the banks, guys!
      I am lucky that I landed a new job not long after and I went back to servicing my loans as before. From the financial standpoint, the faster I settle the debt, the less interest I have to pay.
      In my opinion, the question of being denied an automatic loan moratorium is not an issue, so please don’t turn it into one.

KS MAK

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • Sick&Tired on Jun 12, 2021 at 4:31 pm

Yes you can apply, but did you know that if the bank approves it, your credit rating will be severely effected? For the first moratorium, it didn’t effect your credit rating.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
        • From my Forensics intel, KS MAK’s writings are actually copied/pilfered from https://klse.i3investor.com/… that is totally unethical act, unlike our kind & caring govt now

• Norlia on Jun 13, 2021 at 5:15 pm

There is no such thing as pilfering an open letter. If it is available openly on the internet, it can be shared.

• KS MAK on Jun 13, 2021 at 5:26 pm

My open letter came out in The Star newsprint, it is open sharing to all. And so?

• MCO 1.0 was sudden and unexpected but if by the time MCO 3.0 rolled in you and still cannot get your finances in order to anticipate such a situation, you really deserve to have your credit rating cut. Many of the small to big businesses I know have put in place contingencies way back after restart and it worked during MCO 2.0. If you didnt practice prudent financing earlier, you only have yourself to blame here. I agree with KS MAK, if you dont take the effort, there is no one else at fault but you.

• Calvin on Jun 12, 2021 at 7:14 pm

Wait wait wait…. let me wrap my head around what you said. Your original post above demands (yes DEMANDS!) for automatic 3 month moratorium, and down here you are ranting that moratorium given has caveat on credit rating.

So I can’t fathom whether you want the moratorium or not. If you’re up for it then you have to accept that hit on your rating. If you prefer not to, don’t go around demanding for automatic moratorium and then ranting about it.

Either you shaddup and take it, or don’t take it and just shaddup.

• KS MAK on Jun 13, 2021 at 5:31 pm

Not all banks are heartless and if your credit rating and loan repayments all these while are spot on, with some luck, could get such flexibility like me if you just talk nicely to them.

My point is, if you are desperate and a lifeline is given to you, why gripe how they throw you that line?

• Avenger on Jun 11, 2021 at 10:19 pm

Many have full confidence in how things are being run..Syabas pemimpin berakal, kerajaan berjaya!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • Pak Cik Risau Dah on Jun 11, 2021 at 9:43 pm

People with job oredi getting pay cut. Some of the unfortunate ones got fired from their job since businesses went from bad to worst.

No job means no money. No money then eat what? Masak batu ke?

Extend the lockdown gonna cause more misery to rakyat.

So sad, so miserable, so stress, so poor.

• Amran on Jun 12, 2021 at 1:33 pm

Jgn risau2 cikk… nanti Mentri perladangan beri blanje air mawar ye.

• hidup subsidi on Jun 11, 2021 at 9:58 pm

Rakyat bersyukur bhw kjaan telah mengambil iktibar dpd kesilapan semasa MCO 2.0.

• Amran on Jun 12, 2021 at 1:55 pm

Rakyat amat bersyukur… biar kjaan terus mengambil iktibar sampai MCO ke 74.0 ..Tengahari makan Nasi berlauk telur goreng….makan malam plak Nasi campur kicap hitam. Rakyat bersyukur sangat2..

• hidup subsidi on Jun 12, 2021 at 5:58 pm

kenapa sebut ‘sampai MCO ke 74.0’? tak baik tu…

• Ben Yap on Jun 11, 2021 at 10:35 pm

more people will lose jobs and going bankrupt.

• Melaka state only : Jogging and Cycling are not allowed during this FMCO period :(

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 12, 2021 at 11:24 am

lockdown but most of the shops open. LV also open. apa ini.

• D. Stane on Jun 12, 2021 at 12:01 pm

Most of the Western world figured out lockdowns don’t work LAST YEAR. There are even studies available that prove this. We are so backwards minded.

• Sick & Tired on Jun 12, 2021 at 6:37 pm

Aus has done more lockdowns than us, they must be more BACKWARDS MINDED than we are.

• alive n kicking on Jun 12, 2021 at 12:51 pm

Importantly for the motoring enthusiasts, car workshops, after-sales service centres, spare parts businesses and tyre shops are being allowed to open for business. Who knows, there might be some car trouble during a grocery run.

• India variant on Jun 12, 2021 at 1:10 pm

Hahaha

• Betik yang jujur on Jun 12, 2021 at 2:27 pm

The current lockdown is like a door without lock. Come in, come out at your heart desire.

• TopsyBoxyTurvy on Jun 12, 2021 at 5:08 pm

seperti kata Pak Long dia dah tutup pintu depan tapi… right hand no talk to left hand in the govt.

• thx to idiots that balik kampung…. pttuii

• gov failed.. rakyat degil oso failed..

all failed..

failure of a country