FMCO: Car workshops, service centres, tyre shops, spare parts outlets allowed to open during lockdown

Car workshops, spare parts businesses as well as tyre shops will be allowed to remain open from tomorrow, June 1 to 14, when the country goes into lockdown under the tightened third movement control order (MCO 3.0).

While car showrooms will be closed, it is understood that online bookings will continue for some carmakers. Meanwhile, auto production will be halted at plants during the two-week period, but after sales service will still be available at 3S and 4S centres, albeit with reduced worker capacity.

According to domestic trade and consumer affairs (KPDNHEP) minister Datuk Seri Alexander Nanta Linggi, vehicle repair (body and paint) and service centres are also allowed to operate at 60% worker capacity. No car wash services will be permitted during this time at these facilities. Outlets will also need to comply with standard operating procedures (SOPs) and all local authority directives, and observe capacity as well as travel radius and inter-district/state crossing restrictions.

With production and distribution grinding to a halt in the next two weeks, so will registrations of new vehicles, which begs the question as to how the matter of the ongoing Penjana sales tax exemption, which runs until June 30, will be approached.

As we understand it, there was a frantic rush to get registrations and matters resolved at the road transport department (JPJ) office in Wangsa Maju today, and there is every possibility of another surge to complete registrations in the final two weeks should restrictions ease, something that should be avoided. There is also the possibility of not being able to complete any vehicle registrations before June 30, so some clarity on the issue is definitely needed, and soon.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• YB Albert on May 31, 2021 at 6:39 pm

By tomorrow,rakyat will have to dudukrumah.What’s appalling is people r walking into car workshops n mini marts with masks below the chin.Hopefully ,we can see.more enforcements to nab these degil dudes.

• perutusan khas on May 31, 2021 at 6:49 pm

Kudos to our govt! Perfect balance btw virus control & rakyat livelihoods. Syabas to Prasarana chairman Kisskiss & Health Menteri air suam. Also Minister suara Doraemon.. Kipidapp

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 5
  • Sick&Tired on May 31, 2021 at 7:25 pm

Car workshops have to apply for permission from Miti before they can operate during the MCO period. My friend sent his Renault to tan Chong for servicing. He thought can collect his car tomorrow, but the service advisor told him that they will be close tomorrow as they still haven’t gotten permission from Miti. If car workshops are listed as essential, than why do they need to get permission from Miti? Are miti going to every workshop that has applied and make sure that it’s a genuine case? Imagine a large service center like tan Chong are confused, what about smaller workshops? It’s been more than a year, I just cannot understand why is it so difficult to come up with proper SOPs and procedures.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 14
    • kaizen on May 31, 2021 at 10:50 pm

cannot imagine, that u are confused over simple & easy SOPs

• Some people buat bodoh and refuse to comply with the excuse that it is difficult to understand. recalcitrant idiots are like that.

• zoom zoom on Jun 01, 2021 at 8:50 am

The staff in the essential serv still need miti letter to go to work (Road block, >10km or cross districts).

• YB Albert on Jun 01, 2021 at 9:55 am

Life is already difficult.The red tape is like adding salt and pepper into an open wound.
      We are talking about Tan chong ,UMW,Proton,perodua workshops..not those ah beng or ah kow flyby night workshops.
      If they are short handed,just rope in the municipal council chaps to weed out the bogus workshops.

• It’s not difficult, it’s not new, it’s nothing different than what was implemented in the last total lockdown, it’s appropriate and necessary for even essential businesses to get approval to run as they must declare their operations in case of a raid. Not all aftersales services are allowed, those bawah pokok bengkel are most likely not allowed as they lack the facility and capability to ensure their staff and customers follows SOP. Like my experience with Honda SC, when I arrive they would take my temperature, scan MySejahtera, they would cover my seat and steering, then blast the inside with disinfectant, when you go inside you’ll have to hand sanitize, everyone are kept to 1mtr social distance, everyone are required to wear mask to be served, technicians wears gloves during servicing, and manpower are limited to reduce risk of any spread. All these are mandatory to be complied to get MITI approval before operating and enforcements do carried out on such premises to ensure compliance. You’ll feel safe and secured in such a professional premise because they have taken all such precautions to avoid a hefty fine or shutdown.
      Do you think a typical, unregistered bawah pokok bengkel will provide you such a safe and secured assurance when there is no SOP control or enforcement even though they would be considered as ‘essential service’? If such a large brand like Honda can comply seamlessly, why is Tan Chong Nissan SC having problems, are their staff incapabled to understand or refuse to understand simple and clear instructions? If they don’t know how to comply, just go take a look at how Honda SC does things to follow the SOP. It’s that simple, Tan Chong! Don’t need a rocket scientist to teach you that!

• Sick&Tired on Jun 01, 2021 at 11:42 am

What are you talking about? Are you running your own workshop or are you just flapping your mouth? I know of workshop owners who are struggling and they are afraid to open their business even though it’s listed under essential services. And the sop is not the same as the first, previously they had to get permission from Miti, and than for this MCO, from the respective ministry and at the last moment Miti again! And the website where they had to submit their application is always down! Why can’t the use the same approval from the first MCO???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
        • “I know of workshop owners” interesting… most SC are owned and ran by the brand holders or else franchised but still follow the OEM way of operation that includes how to follow SOP. So you only know those bawah pokok bengkels that won’t follow SOP and social distancing and simply want to defend their operations when clearly they know they cannot comply. Or perhaps you are one of their cohorts.
          Let me ask you this, is money matter more than safety and lives? Big brands SCs have no issues to comply so it looks like you are deflecting and using them to defend opening your bawah pokok bengkel that don’t comply with SOP. Don’t complain SOP is difficult lah to follow if you are refusing to follow. If you cannot follow, just TUTUP KEDAI!!! Stop flapping your mouth here complaining!!! Lives are at stake here!!!!!

• Haidi on May 31, 2021 at 8:21 pm

Sorry if I missed it. Will JPJ open for driving license renewal?

• See this explanation
      https://paultan.org/2020/03/24/those-with-driving-licences-expiring-during-mco-can-still-drive-but-valid-road-tax-and-insurance-are-needed/

• Mee kuning on May 31, 2021 at 11:56 pm

Due to overwhelming demand, Govt servers crashed. Cannot process flood of applications from various businesses/companies.

Now, semua business establishment sangkut…..even before lockdown is enforced.

How typical of Malaysia.

• Anup Sharma on Jun 01, 2021 at 4:23 am

What if the service is not within 10km radius ?? What if i am not comfortable to visit showroom currnetly..will it void my warranty ??

• Dato Escobar on Jun 01, 2021 at 10:23 am

The more people goes out the cases of Covid increases. Why not just stay home for sometime. We can save the older age people and also kids. Don’t be greedy to earn money. Money can be earn. Life cannot be earn ones gone.

• Donno on Jun 01, 2021 at 10:59 am

Maybe you are unaware Anthony, but car sales tax exemption has been extended until 31 December 2021 as announced under MCO 3.0

• I remember car detailing center they allowed operate by appointments during MCO 1.0.
    Does the same rule apply for MCO 3.0?
    Does car detailing center come under (body and paint)?
    Can anyone help me on this. Thanks

• Angel Chan on Jun 12, 2021 at 3:36 pm

Is car accessories shop allow to open during mco3.0?

• Stephen Yee on Aug 03, 2021 at 3:36 pm

Dear Sir,
    I reside in Penang, and I ride a motorbike. My regular mechanic operates in an old pre-war house in Georgetown.

I just found out from him that he does not have a “workshop” license. He only has an “SSM” license. So, the authorities will sometimes fine him for operating without a proper license, but allow him to continue. He said there are almost NO mechanics in Penang with a workshop permit. To get a workshop license, he said he would have to move to a designated area far out of the city.

Since he is actually operating illegally, I feel it would be also illegal for me to receive his services. I’m in a quandary about what to do. Can you please advise?