JPJ says there’s more than enough supply of driving licences and road tax for renewals across Malaysia

Last week, a news report indicated that motorists were facing difficulties in renewing their driving licences ahead of the September 30 deadline due to a insufficient supply of licences at both road transport department (JPJ) and Pos Malaysia counters. Appointment slots were also said to be full.

In response to the report by Utusan Malaysia, the road transport department (JPJ) has clarified in a statement that there is sufficient supply of driving licences at JPJ, Pos Malaysia and MyEG outlets nationwide, revealing the total that was out for distribution.

It said that as of August 27, state JPJ offices had 320,858 driving licence cards in stock, while Pos Malaysia had 322,872 licence cards, and MyEg had 15,259 in hand. The department also revealed the number of motorcar road tax (LKM) discs that were available – 399,975 at state JPJ outlets, 342,018 at Pos Malaysia outlets, 171,343 with MyEG and 24,982 with Puspakom.

The department assured the public that stocks of these documents were more than sufficient for people to go about renewing their road tax and driving licences. It added that limiting appointments at counters in its offices was to prevent overcrowding and adhere to standard operating procedures (SOPs) in the continued fight against the Covid-19 pandemic.

It advised users to conduct transactions online where possible via MyEG and also the MySikap portal. In the case of the latter, customers can make payments online and then proceed to collect the physical documents at any JPJ counter by submitting the receipt. It said that for this, there would be no need to make an appointment. Alternatively, it suggested the utilising JPJ drive-through counter services for renewals.

Earlier this month, the department reiterated that renewal period for both road tax and driving licences will not be extended beyond September 30, and that the extension period that had been given (from August 1 to September 30) due to Covid-19 and movement control closures was sufficient enough in terms of leeway.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Mr. Sotong on Aug 30, 2021 at 11:55 am

The problem with ‘Only by appointment’ is people rush to book slots without being sure if they can make it, fearing if they book late the slots will be gone. End up only a small number turn up for the appointment and the counters are under utilised.

I experienced this first hand. Same problem with Klinik Kesihatan.

Wasted resources due to bad planning by all parties!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
    • Fire Dragon Heaven Sky Prince on Aug 30, 2021 at 12:33 pm

Actually, the made-appointment can be cancelled off, if ppl cannot make it to post office for renewal, thus freeing up free slots for others. This however, cannot be done at last minute cancellation.

The right question here is “Are malaysian responssible enough to do the right thing?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
      • Sick & Tired on Aug 30, 2021 at 2:03 pm

The answer is: Maybe not, if you read Crappy Outalingam below blaming others.

• Just walk in dude. I took the advice from other forumers and went to my nearest post office, took a number, waited a bit, and Walah! I renewed my road tax & insurance. Everything smoothly done within 30 mins mostly waiting in line. I was happy about the whole process the only one not happy with is my new road tax expiration follows the same month as my previous one ended so I did not get any free extension. Wasted my effort to procrastinate and not renew before thinking I could get some free months. Cheepoodah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
      • Victoria on Sep 01, 2021 at 2:07 am

Yes but did the post office get driving license card for renewal?

HELL BIG NO /NOT AVAILABLE

This is call “Nasi Lemak Government”0 especially the Ministry of Transport Never doing spot check to see everything is in order but rather talking a lot of nonsense.

• Mirage on Aug 30, 2021 at 12:36 pm

Bullsh*t

Most of Pos offices around my area has no stock of cards. Just went to the post office yesterday even with appointment, no stock of cards.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
  • Crappy Outalingam on Aug 30, 2021 at 1:29 pm

Dear WKS aka Ooi khar chng….if by 30/9 still cannot resolve, YOU MUST STEP DOWN AS TRANSPORT MINISTER OF MALAYSIA!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
    • Sick & Tired on Aug 30, 2021 at 2:01 pm

If you didn’t go out and renew whose fault is it? Still blame WKS? Maybe it will be you who should be STEEPING DOWN COME 30.9!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 17
  • Niah nair Nair on Aug 30, 2021 at 3:09 pm

I have lost my road tax what to do and how to get

• Cheryl on Aug 30, 2021 at 4:43 pm

My dad went to Pos Laju Bandar Tun Razak and the staff said they are no longer providing driving license renewal service. Informed my dad to go to JPJ office.
    But we renewed via MYEG on 8 Aug to avoid crowd. Until today, still not yet received the license. When call/ messaged customer service, it says customer service temporary unavailable

• Calvin on Aug 30, 2021 at 10:56 pm

Some post office stop offering this service but I simply just hop to another post office and got done.

• WU Seong Juen on Aug 30, 2021 at 5:02 pm

I was told that no more driving card when I went to the Kuala Kangsar postoffice to renew my dl(have a apptmt). Wasting time. Unbelievable.Someone up there pl explain.

• Ben Yap on Aug 30, 2021 at 5:24 pm

everyone is taking their own sweet time renew and happy to drive with expired road tax and license even though the fee is so small.

• Syed Azman Bin Syed Suleiman on Aug 30, 2021 at 6:12 pm

The best solution is for JPJ to upgrade its system for outsourcing ie allow any updating of customers profile and what not, eg the foto requirement, change of address, particulars etc to be done online, without the hassle of appearing physically at JPJ! All these years i’ve done everything online via Myeg. No fuss! Only this year, i cant proceed thru Myeg for drivers licence renewal becoz the system says my photo was not in my profile. Then the hassle begun…

• Peter Ongkt on Aug 30, 2021 at 6:59 pm

Please bear in mind JPJ, we processed our roadtax more than three weeks ahead through Myeg online and we paid for delivery. How come you mentioned that we can walk-in to any JPJ or Pos Office to get our documents!!
    Then in this case, take out the option on delivery and services charges to be fair!!

• Jin Jinong on Aug 30, 2021 at 7:12 pm

Waited for 30mins at Klang Pos Office to renew my Driving licence through appointment. But when come to my turn, was told by the counter’s staff, “kad sudah habis!”. Why can’t they put a written notice board on this matter? Let ppl waited so long like “dunggu”, then surprise us! When process online, error msg prompted no photo found. Why can’t you put an option at your website so that we can snap and download our photo? Why make things so difficult????

• Shirlee Low on Aug 30, 2021 at 7:21 pm

Today went and renew my father’s road tax, and end up can only renew for 6 months cause the insurance policy bought was beginning of August and it’s over 2 weeks from the date of the policy. I have to call the insurance company to help me get the policy amend so that i can get 1 year road tax instead. This shouldn’t be the way as i try to get appointment with post office, i couldn’t even log in. Lastly got it today and end up have to pay extra for the insurance. Don’t understand why like this. JPJ should allow those who have their insurance on August
    to September, be given within that 2 months to renew. Everyone knows that it’s so difficult to log in to get appointment at times. Be considerate….

• Mohd Zailani on Aug 30, 2021 at 7:40 pm

Yes, the license card might be in stock, but the printing machine is not! Just went to Pos Cyberjaya today and they said the printing machine is not working and ask to come again later or just go to another Pos (even mention can walk-in nowdays). Went to Pos Puchong and cannot go in with appoinment. Start calling some Pos (Taman Equine, Salak Tinggi) to check but no one pickup.

Wasting people time and fuel.

Online renewal also not working since the website ask to go to JPJ office to upload photo. And then JPJ office also require appointment.

Does JPJ actually goes on the field to observe by themselves on the issue? Or simply make an assumption?

• Angry Tax Payer on Aug 31, 2021 at 1:07 am

Mr JPJ, are you trying to be funny? Well try harder. Up till now 31/8/2021, I still can’t make appointment with Pos Malaysia at Amcorp Mall for renewing driving license. It kept popping out “service unavailable due to technical problem”. Is this how new government works?

• It’s always a case of what they say and what the actual situation is. I made an appointment at a post office 10km away from where I stay because the post office in my area doesn’t allow appointment for renewal of driving license. When I reached there at the appointed time, I showed the Pos Malaysia personnel controlling the crowd outside my appointment. She told me driving licence cannot be done “sebab sudah habis”. I asked why was I given an appointment if that’s the case and she said “sistem tak block”. It was a complete waste of my time, not to mention petrol !! So when I read this article, I was fuming and frustrated. Oh, did I mention the “system” even sent me a reminder a day before of appointment ???

• Frustrated JPJ customer on Aug 31, 2021 at 8:00 am

I went to Pos M’sia Sri Petaling yesterday, 30/8/2021. Counter staff said driving licence out of stock. Driving licence already expired, can I still drive? Any grace period given until 30/9/2021?

• Ramlees on Aug 31, 2021 at 10:52 am

Assalam, memang cakap suma cukup supply… kami rakyat marhain yg kena tempias. Takpe Allah ada utk kami. Jumpa mereka yg menyusahkan kami di akhirat nanti. Pasti kami tuntut di atas perbuatan ni.

• Nawawi on Aug 31, 2021 at 11:49 am

Kuantiti lesen memang cukup. .tapi slot untuk temujanji tu yang tak cukup.

• Jr. Soong on Aug 31, 2021 at 2:01 pm

After 1 month… I still not receive my driving license yet

• I renew driving license via MyEG 2 weeks ago, until now still haven’t receive. I heard the card is out of stock, seriously, JPJ no body working? How can it be out of stock.

• Mirza on Aug 31, 2021 at 8:44 pm

Jpj shah alam have appt slots. After filling the reguired details right to the end and ticking x on the last section, the system stops because eGotcha shows offline. Have to give up after sevetral attempts. Had been trying for several days unsuccessfuly. Always its eGotcha is offline.JPJ just making life miserable for the public. They are just sleeping with gaji buta for the last 3 months.

• rogaz on Sep 01, 2021 at 8:26 am

I renewed my road tax At Giant Setia Alam . They ask me to wait for two weeks until today no body call or WhatsApp me. My daughter new License online but not yet get the new one . So please tell me what going on. Who at fault ? Who prepare the system? Who put this news in Paultan just to cover up? I went to JPJ Padang Jawa the situation was not convenience. Who should give the service. Now what to do ?

• Wan Zawawi Mohammed on Sep 02, 2021 at 3:28 pm

Why dont they go on the ground and check for themselves the availability of the licences. i have been checking daily as to the available slots at Pos Malaysia Giant In Nilai and Post Office in Nilai, if dates are suddenly available for renewal appointment. But I have not been successful. To say that Pos Malaysia has enough supply contradicts to what on the ground.