Unvaccinated interstate travellers to be compounded, attention focused on highway R&R stops – Police

The police will be issuing compounds to unvaccinated individuals found travelling interstate, Bukit Aman internal security and public order department director Datuk Hazani Ghazali told Berita Harian.

Police patrols will focus attention on highway R&R stops in particular, and will continue to observe and conduct checks to ensure the public’s adherence to existing SOPs, as well as to check for unvaccinated individuals who may be trying to take advantage of the loosened restrictions, Hazani said, adding that enforcement will be strict and that there will be no warnings given.

“Surprise inspections will be conducted from time to time to ensure that unvaccinated individuals do not take advantage and return to their hometowns,” the department director said.

“The government has already announced that those who want to travel between states will need to be fully vaccinated, therefore those who want to do so will have to comply. The matter of SOP compliance has been reminded of since last year, and there are times we must be strict. Hazani told Berita Harian.

“This time, we will immediately compound without warning those who travel interstate without having completed their vaccinations,” he added.

While roadblocks are no longer in place for the control of interstate travel, other roadblocks and operations such as Ops Benteng will still be in place in order to tackle crime and SOP violations, Hazani said. The police will also continue to monitor SOP compliance in public areas such as shopping malls, he added.

On October 10, the Malaysian government has once again permitted interstate travel from Monday, October 11 for individuals who have been fully vaccinated. This comes as the country’s adult vaccination rate reached 90% as of Sunday, October 10.

Health minister Khairy Jamaluddin has also advised people to undergo a Covid-19 self-test before they travel interstate to their hometowns to meet family members. Exising SOPs remain in place for premises such as shops and restaurants, and those who are not fully vaccinated continue to be disallowed entry.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• have vaccine will travel on Oct 12, 2021 at 3:21 pm

Now that the cops have given this statement to the press, the unvaccinated will avoid the highways & use ‘laluan tikus’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • Bieight on Oct 12, 2021 at 3:55 pm

So those can just don’t stop and won’t be fined…

• Ajibkor on Oct 12, 2021 at 4:20 pm

Why are they disclosing operasi at R n R stops?
    If so,those not jabbed will avoid R n R stops and tapao some nasi lemak and balik kampong.At the most,they just visit the petrol stations.
    I find it strange,everytime got operasi besar besaran,someone will announce it to the press.
    If the robber is coming to rob you,do they whats app you in advance?
    Good enforcement has to be all year round,unannounced to the press to give lawbreakers a big surprise.

• Matchy on Oct 12, 2021 at 6:37 pm

Sama jgn taksaman

• Not Toyota Fan on Oct 12, 2021 at 6:56 pm

OK. Kena saman IF kena tangkap. After that, how? Trueblood will still continue his journey balik kampung macam nothing has happened.

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Oct 12, 2021 at 7:02 pm

Use MySejahtera to issue saman jer la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Avenger on Oct 12, 2021 at 10:53 pm

If these antivaxxers want to temp fate and risk death, by all means go ahead. Darwinism dictates these kind will eventually whittle down thru attrition and their own stupidity like those clusters happening in anti Green Pass protests across Europe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
    • What would you know about Darwinism? Don’t be pretentious. Darwin has nothing to do with vaccination.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • History Bender on Oct 13, 2021 at 12:32 pm

Darwinism is about survival of the fittest. When majority of infected are from those unvaccinated and likelihood of death is higher too, this is Darwinism at work.

• Albert Einstein Senior on Oct 13, 2021 at 12:38 pm

Darwin believe he came from the ape,his great ancestor.
        MOnkey…no need jab mah.
        Humans need jab,wor.
        Monkeys die..no one give a damn.
        Satu keluarga affected…imagine the crying and suffering.Human lives are sacred,although we need to respect the dignity of apes.

• It goes to show that we should not take seriously somebody who pretends to be a comic book character.

• Yes Im sure getting vaccinated is a joke for you as well

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
          • flizo on Oct 14, 2021 at 11:15 am

The joke is that the cops are publicly announcing to potential offenders the locations they’re going to focus on.

• Damon Lee on Oct 14, 2021 at 10:20 pm

The cops are surely wily. The make the announcement so that idiots will try luck and take alternative routes and that is where they get the rude shock when seeing roadblocks checking on vaccination status. The good ol red herring tactic always works.

• So the unvaccinated will rather choose not to stop at any R&R.

• Samuel L Jeksen on Oct 13, 2021 at 9:52 am

surprise madafaka!

• hazri on Oct 14, 2021 at 11:53 pm

so police please focus on r&r toilet and petrol station, ensure everyone has genuine fully vaccinated cert. unvaccinated and antivax can hold the hungry but for sure can not hold to pee and poo.

• Jimho on Sep 08, 2022 at 1:13 pm

Virus is 1-3 Micron. Face Mask mesh (opening) around 82 microns; it doesn’t block viruses. Together with social distancing, lockdowns of people/businesses, forced vaccination, etc; and now severe limitations or destruction of food, fuel, supply chains worldwide. These have driven people to despair, starvation, loss of jobs, suicides; and now health problems & deaths caused by the harmful c19 vaccines. All these are the plans of the globalists (Biden govt, WEF, WHO, bioweapons labs in Ukraine, Communist ideologies, etc). Goals: Depopulation, economic collapse, climate change agendas – thru the dishonest media, politicians, etc. Their mantra: ”You’ll have nothing & you’ll be happy” -govt handouts.
    Just my opinions. We must be allowed to speak our minds. You can do ur own research & form ur conclusions. Cheers!

• In the public transports got many people but not in the building? Good logic!