Travelling back to your hometown? Perform a Covid-19 rapid self-test before meeting family members – Khairy

People who want to return to their hometowns have been advised to undergo a Covid-19 self-test before meeting family members. This was the call made by health minister Khairy Jamaluddin, who said that it was now up to individuals to be responsible for their behaviour, Harian Metro reports.

“I believe we can face this challenge in #ReopeningSafely. If you want to go back to your kampung and meet the elderly, perform a Covid-19 quick test with a RTK saliva antigen self-test kit. Keep them safe,” he said. In a Twitter post, he said the ministry encouraged those who meet a lot of people to carry out testing on a regular basis.

Separately, he said that the government will eventually lower the ceiling retail price for self-test kits, but it will not be so soon, as traders have been given a transition period to clear stocks, The Star reports. “When we set the ceiling price of self-test kits recently, many traders complained that they did not have time to clear their stocks. We have a fair ceiling price in mind for consumers, but we will announce it a bit later,” he said.

Earlier this week, he had stated there will be no more roadblocks to control movement when interstate travel is permitted again, as that would be impractical. As such, the minority who refuse to be vaccinated will be able to cross state borders, but their freedom will be curtailed in terms of activities allowed.

Khairy said that the police will still conduct random checks to ensure there is compliance. “This (random inspection) remains within the standard operating procedure (SOP), and so random inspections at restaurants or premises will continue to be carried out to check compliance. This matter remains important,” he explained.

As of yesterday, October 7, the reported full vaccination rate for the adult population under the national Covid-19 immunisation program (PICK) stood at 89.1%, with 20,856,337 individuals being fully vaccinated. Last Friday, prime minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob reiterated that the lifting of interstate travel restrictions will be announced immediately when the country’s adult vaccination rate hits 90%, so this could now be within a day or two.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Safety First on Oct 08, 2021 at 1:03 pm

If you love your abah, emak, nenek, atuk and mertuas, pls get it done for all family members heading back.

If you really love your abah, emak, nenek, atuk and mertuas, pls don’t go back yet until 100% everyone is fully vaccinated.

Think Safety First for others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 11
    • masuda on Oct 08, 2021 at 4:53 pm

100% also not guarantee can stop covid. Only to follow SOP, keep hygene, stay home. Else, kasi orang lain tambah komen.

• Fake News on Oct 08, 2021 at 10:14 pm

SINGAPORE – Getting infected but not sick is the best thing that could happen to someone who has been vaccinated, as this could protect him against any coronavirus variants that might emerge in the future, said Professor Ooi Eng Eong of the Duke-NUS Medical School.

• newme on Oct 08, 2021 at 4:56 pm

Yea… one little FREE thing to do which is to keep each other 1 meter away also people refuse to do. How much is the test kit again?

• optimist on Oct 08, 2021 at 5:50 pm

Don’t worry. My self test always comes out as negative.