2022 Perodua Myvi facelift – new teasers show red seats, big multi-info display, LED auto high beam

Perodua has continued to release teasers for its 2022 Myvi facelift and two short videos popped up over the weekend. One touts “Modern technology” and “Best in class fuel efficiency”, while the other shows “Youthful design” and “Iconic style”. Both end with a call to book “The Next Standard”, which is the refreshed Myvi’s tagline.

UPDATE: The new 2022 Perodua Myvi facelift has been officially launched in Malaysia, priced from RM45,700 to RM58,800 on-the-road without insurance. Check out our comprehensive launch article or watch our detailed walkaround video tour for more information.

The first video with the male talent shows red air con vent surrounds, and the new steering wheel’s right spoke. As seen before, the steering is from the Ativa, and the right spoke has a D-pad for adaptive cruise control, which is a surprising feature for a sub-RM60k car. Also seen is a Power button for the expected CVT gearbox and button for the trip meter. In the Ativa, “Trip” is on the left spoke.

Also seen here is the new instrument panel that’s lighted up. There’s a sporty red theme going on and between the two dials is a new full-height multi-info display, an upgrade in both size and appearance. There are some circular graphics too, and we’ve previously seen a welcome graphic with the Myvi’s face.

2022 Perodua Myvi facelift – new teasers show red seats, big multi-info display, LED auto high beam2022 Perodua Myvi facelift – new teasers show red seats, big multi-info display, LED auto high beam

Take a closer look at the tachometer and you’ll see a green A emblem within – that’s auto high beam, another new feature. When turned on, AHB will auto dip the high beam when it detects oncoming traffic, so you don’t have to manually on/off with the stalk.

One rung up is Adaptive Driving Beam. Available in the Ativa H and AV, the Audi Matrix LED-style system “cuts out” oncoming vehicles when high beam is on, instead of dipping the high beam completely as AHB does. We’ll see if the Myvi gets AHB or ADB. In any case, it’s an upgrade.

Moving on to the next video, we get to see the Myvi’s new seats, which will sport lots of red on the centre section and the outline. Likely to be reserved for the AV, these red seats continue the red theme seen on the AC vents and meter panel.

2022 Perodua Myvi facelift – new teasers show red seats, big multi-info display, LED auto high beam2022 Perodua Myvi facelift – new teasers show red seats, big multi-info display, LED auto high beam

After that, we get a good look at the Myvi’s new front and rear bumpers. There’s a larger and deeper grille, with a slim chrome strip that runs under the Perodua badge and into the headlights, which have been “cut” at the end that meets the grille. The front bumper features sharper contours around the downturned centre air intake, which gives the face a sharp X shape. There are vertical LED DRLs at the bumper’s edges.

Not highlighted here, but the Myvi AV’s gloss black lip now has a silver centre section, almost like a skid plate-like trim on SUVs.

Vertical vents on the rear bumper match the LED strips in front. We’ve already seen from spyshots that the tail lamps and 15-inch two-tone rims are unchanged. The video ends with a close up outdoor look at the headlamps – the new arrow head can be seen clearly here. Also, the LED strips are seen shining in the day, confirming that they are indeed DRLs, a P2 first. For a full view of the car, check out the spyshots below, and Theo Chin’s “studio pics”.

No explicit mention of the expected change from 4AT to CVT yet, although the improved claimed fuel consumption – from 21.1 km/l (1.3L) to 22.2 km/l is a strong hint. The Dual VVT-i NR engines are modern units and are expected to continue unchanged. The confirmed new variants are the top 1.5 AV, 1.5 H, 1.5 X as well as two 1.3 G variants. All are automatic – P2 has discontinued the unpopular base 1.3L manual version.

In the Ativa, Perodua Smart Drive Assist (PSDA) includes the latest ASA 3.0 plus Lane Departure Warning, Lane Departure Prevention, Adaptive Cruise Control, Lane Keep Control and Blind Spot Monitor. The PSDA umbrella also includes Parking Assist (front/rear sensors, reverse camera, rear cross traffic alert) and Headlamp Assist (Auto High Beam or Adaptive High Beam, depending on variant). We’ll see which Myvi variant gets what in due time.

Six colours are available. There’s the 2020-onwards Electric Blue, Ivory White, Glittering Silver, Lava Red, Granite Grey and the new hero Cranberry Red colour. The latter is reserved for the AV, which cannot be had with Lava Red. Granite Grey is not available for the base 1.3 G.

The 2022 Perodua Myvi facelift will be priced from RM45,700 to RM58,800, on-the-road in Peninsular Malaysia without insurance. Prices include SST exemption, which has been extended to June 30, 2022. If you remove the discontinued 1.3 MT, the previous price range was from RM43,029 (1.3 G AT) to RM52,697 (AV), which means that there’s a slight price increase to go along with the new tech/features. Just around the corner now…

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• the one thing i want Perodua to improve on Myvi is the stupid aircond control which feature array of button that is confusing for the older people and very distractive for driver to adjust during driving.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
    • Like that also difficult to use?..i wonder how u operate smartphone…lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 20
      • jokesonyou on Nov 16, 2021 at 11:00 am

So, it’s just as easy as operating smartphone is it? But you know it’s against the law and very dangerous to operate smartphone while driving right? Does that mean operating this aircond control is also against the law and very dangerous? How’s that for “difficult”?

• Ah beng car incoming

• King

• Merah Jambu on Nov 15, 2021 at 11:39 am

RM48k 1.3G D-CVT AEB

Value for Money, fuel saving.
    dapat jugak JDM gearbok this time.

• What standard on Nov 15, 2021 at 11:44 am

I dont know what kind of standard to be honest but shall be better than outdated x50 standard i hope.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • Contradiction on Nov 15, 2021 at 4:48 pm

If u don’t know what ur standard how do you judge the other standard is outdated?

• Looking good

• – Premium
    – Full Safety Package
    – Naturally Aspirated Engine
    – Redesign
    – Cheaper maintenance cost

• Roger on Nov 15, 2021 at 12:00 pm

Hidup King Myvi

• Eclipse on Nov 15, 2021 at 12:24 pm

Here comes our king

• Albert Einstein Senior on Nov 15, 2021 at 12:26 pm

Perodua,pls stop all these striptease.Give the rakyat rebates,or original prices with upgraded features.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
    • Work harder lah..keep asking rebate rebate…might as well ask for 51% discount

• 26Will on Nov 15, 2021 at 1:11 pm

Wow, so many features with L2 Automonous

• Starnest on Nov 15, 2021 at 1:18 pm

PWR

• Next standard my assssss… Put some reflectors, body kit and change seat colors then increase the price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
  • Personally don't like on Nov 15, 2021 at 1:58 pm

Yacky…red seats look like old Saga LMST…

• Priced at RM59k, not sure if its aligned with their utmost mission in the first place; to provide affordable cars for Msians. But to be fair all the updated tech & safety package and new gearbox make sense lah it is priced that high.

• jusknittin on Nov 16, 2021 at 11:05 am

Just assume that they don’t have a choice but to increase the price on their popular model.. since they probably over-invested on certain model like Ativa but not reaching their “undisclosed” target sales for that specific model. They’re trying to recover back the losses.

• Sam Loo (ori) on Nov 15, 2021 at 2:32 pm

No arm rest, no buy..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
  • I miss Metramac on Nov 15, 2021 at 2:56 pm

Noice

• Izhar on Nov 15, 2021 at 3:11 pm

How about the fuel pump P2.

• Pizza on Nov 15, 2021 at 3:42 pm

Such advanced tech

• The most suitable car for for the people here.

• Kapchai on Nov 15, 2021 at 5:52 pm

Aruz has GearUp Arm Rest.

But showroom cannot find display unit.
    All test drive cars should give Arm Rest to test.

• Truth on Nov 15, 2021 at 6:44 pm

lousy quality car anyway..shoo shoo

• Shots Fired P1, Your move on Nov 15, 2021 at 8:29 pm

The front seats look like they actually support you, nice

Hopefully, the whole car is more comfort orientated, the red accents make it so gaudy and as meaningless as the ones in the iriz active.

Also, I hope all the fake rear passenger space (shorter benches for perceived space) is fixed, with real support for longer journeys too.

Looking good but fruits cant be seen till a proper review or test drive

• PlainBS on Nov 15, 2021 at 8:53 pm

This will be the final nail in Iriz’s coffin.

Press “F” to pay respect lol.

• Terbaboo on Nov 15, 2021 at 9:02 pm

Here comes, the Killer machine!!

• I’m curious as to why the unlock button is only on the driver’s door and not on the left passenger door….if your vehicle has a problem with a warranty, this is the best part, my petrol pump won’t start and when I asked for a warranty, they told me to wait 6 months and then come back. Does this make sense? I’m curious as to why the unlock button is only on the driver’s door and not on the left passenger door….if your vehicle has a problem with a warranty, this is the best part, my petrol pump won’t start and when I asked for a warranty, they told me to wait 6 months and then come back. Does this make sense? And I’m a perodua die-hard from all new kancil, kenari, kelisa, and myvi (purchased 2 months), but the petrol pump nightmare has begun, and I’ve lost faith in this brand when it comes to warranty, all the best.

• Pokok Pahat on Nov 15, 2021 at 11:21 pm

More solid, more fun

• Lalisa on Nov 15, 2021 at 11:51 pm

More like elder Axia

• Abdul on Nov 16, 2021 at 6:43 am

Lol another joker on the road

• Muhammad Arshad Bin Mustapaha on Nov 16, 2021 at 7:40 am

I think the noisy and wind sound insulation improved too… well if u have old myvi gen3… can hear the noise sound at back door when u ‘sandar’ properly at headrest belakang tepi pintu.. takcaya? Cuba try .. ntah bocor kot.. kalu perati betul2.. nmpk lubang2 cahaya masuk.. patut la

• I hope they fixed or improve :
    1. Squeaky sound coming from the rear of car body.
    2. Suspensions because It feels too solid.
    3. Wind noise…

Finger crossed!

• Should put 1.5 or 1.3 engine with turbo. More fun. Don’t care about the price as long as it has turbo.

• Some random guy on Nov 26, 2021 at 8:33 pm

Compare this new myvi AV with Ativa H, which one is the best..