Malaysia yet to decide on high speed rail project

The Malaysian government has yet to decide whether or not to resume the Kuala Lumpur-Singapore High Speed rail (HSR) project, given that the project remains in its early stages, Bernama has reported.

According to minister in the prime minister’s department Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed, the project was cancelled after the bilateral agreement on the project had lapsed on December 31, 2020. Mustapa however noted during a meeting between prime minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob and Singpaore prime minister Lee Hsien Loong that a proposal was raised for the renegotiation of the KL-Singapore HSR project.

“In response, the prime minister of Singapore expressed openness to fresh proposals from Malaysia on the HSR project. I would like to stress that the possibility of reviving the KL-Singapore HSR project is still in the early stages of discussion,” Mustapa said in response to a question by Bagan MP Lim Guan Eng during the minister’s question time segment in Dewan Rakyat.

In terms of the project’s cost, estimates made by Malaysia under the HSR 2.0 (New) model that is being proposed see the latest iteration costing far less than those of HSR 1.0 and HSR 2.0, Mustapa said.

“Under the HSR 2.0 (New) model submitted to Singapore, Malaysia proposed to abolish AssetCo (a private entity to be jointly overseen by both Malaysian and Singaporean governments). Singapore did not agree with the proposal. With that, the bilateral agreement signed on December 13, 2016 was terminated,” Mustapa said.

In light of the cancellation of the KL-Singapore HSR, the Malaysian government has decided to conduct a feasibility study on the KL-Iskandar HSR project. The study that commenced in February 2021 had been completed, and would be presented to Cabinet in the near future for its next move, the minister added.

Mustapa also explained that since 2013, all negotiations involving the HSR project had been led by the minister in the prime minister’s department (Economy) and the economic affairs minister, adding that the Cabinet decided in mid-2020 that he should helm the negotiations with Singapore for the finalising of the project.

“At this time, the government is still in the process of transferring MyHSR Corporation, the special purpose vehicle established to negotiate technical matters involving the HSR project from the purview of the prime minister’s department to the transport ministry. Therefore, all further discussions and negotiations on the project’s direction will be handled by the transport ministry,” Mustapa said.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Karam Singh on Dec 10, 2021 at 4:33 pm

But we paid singapore sgd100 mil in order to cancel.

• We were stupid enough to trust an old snake.

• PlainBS on Dec 11, 2021 at 7:30 am

It’s no better to trust number six as the bamboo river calls for him.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
        • Angry Voters on Dec 13, 2021 at 3:43 pm

But he didn’t make unrealistic promises & cheat the entire nation.

• Spin Too Much on Dec 14, 2021 at 2:55 pm

his legal rep oso said the same but the arbitrators twice decided otherwise

• PlainBS on Dec 16, 2021 at 3:16 pm

Number six janji manis with his first one, but in the end, went for the second one.

• Angry Voters on Dec 11, 2021 at 12:02 pm

That and all those janji manis from those politicians we thought we could trust. In the end, the tried and tested 60 years is still the best. We must think stay loyal to our wife of 60 years rather than going for a hot young thing that sucked us of everything.

• PlainBS on Dec 13, 2021 at 8:18 pm

Too bad number six didn’t follow your advice. He was with his 1st one for only 11 years before going for the 2nd one.

• Spin Too Much on Dec 14, 2021 at 2:50 pm

number six forced to only follow his 2nd one’s advice.

• Contradiction on Dec 15, 2021 at 9:31 am

Too bad the nation did not follow his advice, we could be having a world class HSR in just 3-4 years. What a pity for 22 months we slid 22 years back.

• Angry Voters on Dec 15, 2021 at 7:49 pm

@Contradiction, you are right. Luckily I got a time displacement unit so that I can return from 1989 to post comments here.

• YB Albert on Dec 10, 2021 at 8:50 pm

Make no mistake…HSR,ECRL …if you are talking about profits,NONE at all.They are all according the famous American mechanic Scotty Kilmer..” MONEY PITS”.
      Can any smart chap enlighten the forum ,any railway company from China ,Japan ,Europe to USA..has any been as profitable as Tesla or Toyota?
      Dont talk about profits…just to break even is a gargantuan task.
      To the covid stricken rakyat,they are only interested in putting food on the table.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
      • I think the HSR between Tokyo and Osaka is profitable.so is Shanghai to Beijing. But the rest, I don’t think so.
        The thing is, we will have to pay maybe up to 85% of the hsr and Singapore only 15%. But they get 50% of the decision. If hsr lose money, its our 85% share.

• Educate yourself with facts pls on Dec 13, 2021 at 9:22 am

How and why can you compare a national transportation system with a company like Tesla?
        Stop making Malaysians sound like Farmers, we are far more concerned about the economy than putting food on the table.
        You’re an odd one out in this forum smelling like the usual red ceramahs.

• PlainBS on Dec 11, 2021 at 7:27 am

Number six thought that he had the midas touch.

• newme on Dec 12, 2021 at 12:14 am

Read: Yet to decide on the “business” model.

• Malaysia Boleh on Dec 12, 2021 at 9:04 am

Why nego entire project with SG on this?! The route KL SG is above 90%+ on Malaysia land. We only need to nego the connection of JB point to SG point. We can start our own to connect JB KL and manage our own. JB point should be strategically locate for easy excess to travellers from SG and JB Airport.

• Lee Kim Cheong on Dec 12, 2021 at 1:21 pm

Until now I still cannot understand what is the real solid benefits to Malaysia. If the HSR wud to run from KL to Singapore, Malaysia pay 90 % of the cost but only get 10% of the benefits. Where else, Singapore pay 10% of the cost and get 90% of the benefits. Most of the riders of HSR are people who has money in their pocket and can afford the high ticket price. Going to Singapore to shop, work and not to forget most importantly, gamble at the casinos. It only benefits Genting and Sands casinos. The vast majority of Malaysians cannot afford the high ticket price. Especially, the kampung folks. It would be much better to spend the money to upgrade our current rail systems to run more efficiently. To say that it attracts more tourists is just a pipe dream. Tourists prefer to spend money in Singapore to do shopping. If coming to Malaysia tourists prefer the off beaten tracks and the seaside. Not shopping. Also, to say that with HSR being so fast and convenient that Singaporeans could come to KL for food is another cock and bull story. You don’t pay for a more tham RM100 ticket to eat Wan Ton mee or Mee Rebus in KL.

• When RTS between woodlands and jb sentral is completed, you don’t really need the high speed train to start from Singapore. You can start from jb sentral to KL as it will serve both Singapore and JB passengers.
    The distance from woodlands to jurong east to Singapore CBD is about the same.
    By doing this, hopefully tickets will be less expensive.
    Plus you can use a high speed locomotive instead of a high speed train so that tracks can be used for cargo trains as well. High speed locomotive can travel up to 240km/ hr and is used in Austria, UK and Europe as a cheaper alternative to high speed train. JB to kL in 2 hours is possible.

• LRT User on Dec 13, 2021 at 6:11 pm

People who ask for cheaper alternative options should ask themselves why did Japan not make Shinkansen a dual purpose track that could also serve freight, or why did Japan not use high speed locomotives rather than bullet trains, or why did Japan not make it terminate at outskirts of Tokyo rather than going all the way into central Tokyo CBD, or why should the rest of Japan foot the bill for building shinkansen just to connect at Tokyo, or why the prices are so high and yet still gets Gomen subsidies as part of JR, or why did Japan built them to connect cities rather than serving the rakyats at outskirt villages & boondocks, or why 50 year old shinkansen entity is still not worth multibillion dollars like Tesla, or any other misconception of the purpose for having HSR.

• dream125 on Dec 13, 2021 at 7:52 pm

High Speed Rail with many stops is nonsense! In Germany, the state railway just ordered new trains with less top speed, but better acceleration.

• muajei on Dec 16, 2021 at 5:54 pm

just another reason to songlap billions… and supprisingly getting tricked by our neighbour at the same time… water, coming up… electricity… next

• Daddy on Jun 30, 2023 at 12:44 am

Sounds like somebody is inspired by the news about recent succesful lndon HSR speed test