2022 Volvo V60 Recharge T8 in Malaysia – RM286,909

After quietly releasing full details of the V60 on its website, Volvo Car Malaysia (VCM) has officially announced the sale of the new estate. The Volvo V60 is available in the sole, but most luxurious Recharge T8 Inscription trim, so it’s packaged slightly different compared to the sportier S60 T8 R-Design.

The locally-assembled car is priced at RM286,909 (on-the-road without insurance), which puts it about RM4,000 more costly than the S60. Included in the price is a five-year unlimited mileage warranty plus an eight-year or 160,000 km PHEV battery warranty. The service interval is 20,000 km.

For starters, it gets the more familiar Inscription grille with vertical slats, a less aggressive front bumper, new 19-inch 5-multi spoke two-tone alloys with 235/40 tyres, as well as a powered tailgate. The V60 gets 529 litres of boot space compared to the S60’s 442 litres, and the rear seats fold 60:40 for a cavernous 1,441 litres of space. There’s also a pop-up grocery holder here.

Inside, you get Charcoal leather and Linear Lime decor instead of the R-Design’s Nappa leather and fabric upholstery and metal inlays. A Maroon Brown leather paired to Driftwood trim is also available. The 9.7-inch display is still the same Sensus infotainment system as before, and not the latest Android-based operating system. However, you do get Apple CarPlay and Android Auto support as standard, something that the newer system doesn’t offer.

Standard kit include adaptive LED headlights with active bending lights, silver roof rails, keyless entry, twist-knob start, dual-zone automatic climate control, a panoramic sunroof, power-adjustable front seats with memory, an Orrefors crystal gearknob, a 12.3-inch digital instrument display, a 360-degree camera system, park assist and a 16-speaker, 600-watt Harman Kardon sound system.

Being a T8, the V60 gets a 2.0 litre twincharged four-cylinder engine that’s electrified to make to make a total system output of 407 PS at 5,700 rpm and 640 Nm of torque from 1,200 to 5,400 rpm. An Aisin eight-speed automatic gearbox and all-wheel drive are standard.

As usual, it ships with the automaker’s range of advanced driver assistance system, including Pilot Assist Level 2 semi-autonomous driving capability that incorporates adaptive cruise control and lane centring assist.

Also fitted are AEB with pedestrian, cyclist and large animal detection, evasive steering assist, rear collision mitigation, lane keeping assist, run-off road mitigation, oncoming lane mitigation, blind spot monitoring and rear cross traffic alert with auto brake.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• newuser on Jan 12, 2022 at 5:38 pm

i don’t know why somehow i don’t like the volvo steering wheel design…they can do better…

• hahah on Jan 12, 2022 at 7:29 pm

wagon are so beatutiful wish more manafacturer come out with it instead of more suv

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Innovasi on Jan 13, 2022 at 9:18 am

XC60 – hi riding SUV 235/55R19
      V60 – lo riding Wagon 235/40R19

• John Gavin McCourt on Jan 13, 2022 at 9:37 pm

my dad was a big volvo specialits
    nearly a volvo franchisee 1977
    i have few s60s
    hardest car to sell
    most underarated car in the whole wide world

• Aeroheads on Feb 19, 2022 at 10:41 am

This V60 a better buy than new camry 2.5l from Thailand

• Joshua Albert Goh on Oct 09, 2022 at 9:02 am

Great write up. My problem is to buy the 2020 60T8 or 2020 S90 replace my current XC60T8 (with Polestar software power upgrade) when my 5 yrs warranty runs out. I love my XC60 pity Volvo doesn’t extends Warranty Service Plus Plus – the only reason for my needing to change apart from normal occupancy is now two. I love the 40km pure electric power supply but wish it is double that. Not for the next 10 yrs I dun think EV infrastructure will solve range panic. So what if every R&R has charging – if you have the misfortune to be caught in a traffic jam which takes hours to clear you suffer range panic as your battery drains away. My Hybrid allows me use petrol engine to charge will on the move so just enjoy the a/c n good sound in a long jam & pity the EV “I want to be first to own one”.
    Tqvm Paul your article brought me back to Volvo (my last was Volvo T5 Estate – that police looking white estate wagon)