REVIEW: 2020 Volvo S60 T8 CKD in Malaysia – RM282k

It’s been a little over a month since the launch of the locally-assembled Volvo S60 T8 R-Design. At the time, the car was priced at RM295,888, and even then it offered great performance- and equipment-to-price ratio. Now with the sales tax relief, the sole S60 retails for RM282k, a nice RM13k discount.

To briefly recap, the compact executive sedan is powered by an electrified 2.0 litre twin-charged Drive-E petrol engine, delivering a combined output of 407 hp and 640 Nm of torque. An eight-speed automatic transmission (with shift paddles) is standard, allowing the car to do the 0-100 km/h sprint in 4.4 seconds. Top speed is still 250 km/h, in case you’re wondering.

There’s lots of ground to cover with this car. Is it worth the money? Can it really do the century sprint in 4.4 seconds? What is it like as a daily driver, and can it truly rival the BMW 3 Series and Mercedes-Benz C-Class? Well, watch till the end of our video review to find out if Hafriz Shah himself would actually consider switching to the S60.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Matchy on Jun 24, 2020 at 12:36 pm

Civic TCP more spacious, and much cheaper too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 25
    • Japan not like their own Civic worr…
      https://paultan.org/2020/06/24/honda-civic-sales-of-the-fc-sedan-ends-in-japan/

• dream_125 on Jun 24, 2020 at 6:20 pm

Civic is faster than 180km/h. The slower the car, the more safe the car is (according to Volvo).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • Ex VGM staff on Jun 24, 2020 at 12:50 pm

First cars that come to mind of Malaysian ppl when they have a lot of money is
    A. BMW
    B. Merc

Only when they have so much money and bought all niche brands in Malaysia will they start to buy cars like Volvo or Jaguar. That means they are filthy rich. Volvo breakdown, 1 month in SC no issues.. They have other cars to use.

That’s right. Take your time.. They say.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
  • kusoking on Jun 24, 2020 at 2:14 pm

Actually, I am sure Volvo is doing everything well including safy feature(LV2 ADAS) compare to others.
    But still no point to convice me to buy a 180km/h speed limited expensive Luxury car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • KenDick Niamah on Jun 24, 2020 at 2:57 pm

Do you drive over 180km/h ? I do think speed limit and horsepower is different case.

• kusoking on Jun 24, 2020 at 7:03 pm

I don’t think the people who bought the Ferrari will need to always drive above 180km/h to tells other “This is Ferrari”.
        But how to you think some one tell you ” My Ferrari only can run 180km/h, but I have it more than 1mil”. Is it feel good?

• Ben Yap on Jun 24, 2020 at 3:03 pm

if you cannot afford a BMW or merc, you’ll get a volvo. if you cannot afford a volvo, u get a honda. if you cannot afford to get a honda, buy modenas and start to bash Honda’s quality because jealous that their friends car is a honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 28
    • Celup King on Jun 24, 2020 at 4:47 pm

Your logic don’t make sense when Volvo are priced similarly to BMW & Mercs.

• Zlatan on Jun 24, 2020 at 11:35 pm

Bollocks. Ur a Merc fan. Sampai kiamat pun Volvo would not cut it. Pfft

• longjaafar on Jun 25, 2020 at 10:32 am

I don’t know what to make of Volvo. First, they price their CKD as much as the CBU. Then sooner or later, they will start selling their cars with 180km/hr speed limit, although their engines come with 400+bhp.
    They price their cars even higher than the BMW, as in the case of the XC60 vs the BMW X3.
    They must realise that they are in the mass market. They are not Polestars or Maseratis or Lambos…

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 25, 2020 at 12:18 pm

no folding rear seats is a bummer