Shell Recharge EV fast charging network in Malaysia begins operations – 180 kW DC chargers at 6 stations

In March last year, Shell and Porsche Asia Pacific announced plans to implement Southeast Asia’s first cross-border, high performance charging (HPC) network for electric vehicles to offer EV drivers the convenience of travelling between Singapore and Peninsular Malaysia.

The new HPC network, which consists of 12 charging points at six Shell stations located along the North-South Expressway in Malaysia, has now kicked off with the introduction of the first charging point at the Shell station in Tangkak Lay-By (South Bound), officially operational as of tomorrow.

This will be soon be followed by introductions at Shell stations located at Seremban R&R (North Bound), Seremban R&R (South Bound), Pagoh R&R (South Bound), Simpang Pulai RTC (North Bound) and Tapah R&R (South Bound). Last year, the companies had said that the network would be ready by the first half of 2022.

Each of the six stations will be equipped with a 180 kW DC fast charger featuring two CCS Type 2 connectors. The setup will enable a single electric vehicle to be charged at the full 180 kW rate, or two vehicles at 90 kW each. The company says depending on model and capacity, an EV’s battery can be juiced up from 0% to 80% in 30 minutes.

Click to enlarge.

The Shell HPC network will complement the company’s existing network of EV chargers that is made up of 18 ‘Reserve + Shell Recharge’ charging points in Malaysia as well as the 18 Shell Recharge 50 kW fast-charging points and 87 Greenlot public charging points in Singapore.

According to Shell, there are three tiers in how users can utilise its 180 kW Recharge network. The first is by a pay-per-use basis. Open to all EV users, no subscription is needed in this case, and in Malaysia payment for charging consists of a RM4 confirmation fee and RM20 for every five mins of charging for the first 25 minutes, and RM20 for every five minute block thereafter. This works out to RM240 an hour (or RM244 with confirmation fee included).

The second is via a subscription term of a year, enabling Gold Member status. Subscription costs RM835 a year, but this offers subscribers a cheaper recharge rate – for the first 10 hours of use per year, users will pay RM12 for every five minutes for the first 25 minutes of charging, followed by RM5 for every additional five minutes thereafter (the RM4 confirmation fee remains).

This makes for a rate of RM95 an hour (or RM99 with confirmation fee included) under the subscription. Once the first 10 hours are used, a quota top-up is available at RM80 per hour, although standard rates will then apply.

Subscription also offers a 10% cashback for all charging stations at Shell Recharge AC stations as well as the ability to reserve a bay via the ParkEasy app – upon confirmation of reservation, the bay will be reserved for you for up to one hour before your arrival.

The third is exclusive to Porsche EV owners, with a complimentary three-year Platinum membership being provided with every purchase of a Taycan. Rates are also lower on the whole – for the first 12 hours of use per year, users will pay RM10 for every five minutes for the first 25 minutes of charging, followed by RM5 for every additional five minutes thereafter (again, the RM4 confirmation fee remains).

This works out to a rate of RM85 an hour (or RM89 with confirmation fee included). A quota top-up following the first 12 hours of use is available for RM60 an hour, with standard rates for charging then applying. Malaysian Taycan owners will also be able to enjoy an exclusive discount of SGD 0.10 per kWh off the prevailing retail rate when charging in Singapore, available for the first 600 kWh per year.

Additionally, Porsche users will also be able to access the 175 kW high-performance chargers already established at all four Porsche Centres in the country.

Get the ParkEasy app to use the Shell Recharge DC chargers in Malaysia. Use our referral code R88W3N2T when you download the ParkEasy app and you’ll get some free credits to try it out.

Learn more: ,

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Bob Mal on Jan 12, 2022 at 2:00 pm

Imagine RM20/5minute that parking space will be the most expensive in the world and probably I would have to pay at least RM40 just wait in time to get a cup of coffee.

The electricity cost is ridiculous when considering a full charge of big battery cars also requires 30min full fast charge imagine how much that is gonna cost while including a cup of coffee for the waiting period.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • Mr. Sotong on Jan 12, 2022 at 2:05 pm

None planned for LPT? Looks like I cant take my Taycan for balik kampung yet….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • problem with this is will the drivers of EV cars willing to sit and wait at the petrol station for 1 hour for their car to charge?

• Charge 20-30 min only laaa. Its against the ev culture to charge up for that long, we only charge at max of 80% because usually its where the charge rate will starts to drop drastically, besides charging above 80% soc is bad for the battery. Anyways im disappointed by the fact that shell Malaysia decided to charge us fees base on per minute rather than per kW , Its the more logical way.

• Just Think on Jan 26, 2022 at 10:06 pm

Well, think about it…. Local law say cannot sell electricity, so the workaround of sling parking space. That’s why by minute. How to sell by kW?

• This sucks on Jan 12, 2022 at 5:37 pm

Leave it to a gas company to roll out the worst sort of EV charging infrastructure. Charging by the minute punishes the cheaper EVs that cannot use the full 180 kW rate like Hyundai Kona.

• Anonymous on Jan 17, 2022 at 4:21 pm

Exactly, I’m really confused by this pricing structure because it really should be RMXX/kWh like in other countries. Per minute just does not make sense and is way too expensive at the moment

• Jason on Mar 13, 2022 at 10:55 pm

It’s S$0.55/kWh in Singapore by Shell using 50kW charger. There are cheaper option by SP at S$0.51kWh. RM20 per 5min is f..king ex. Also, 180kW doesn’t make sense as most EV charge point is probably 40kW.

• Bieight8 on Jan 12, 2022 at 6:00 pm

Who would pay rm244 for an hour???

• Neutral on Jan 12, 2022 at 7:05 pm

With these rates, I wonder how many people are able to afford an EV.

• Crazy rate! Good luck!

• EV car is already expensive and recharging it is hurting your pocket even more. Thank you Shell for discouraging the EV. Well, as long as your electricity (70% in Malaysia) is generated by dirty coal, you are not going to save the environment. It is carbon plus, not neutral.

• yusrykru on Jan 13, 2022 at 10:43 am

petrol pumps will be the next kind of retail outlets

• gilaman on Jan 14, 2022 at 1:57 am

Imagine rushing to hospital, suddenly out of juice. Oklah, pi shopping dulu.

• Kenny Lim on Jan 13, 2022 at 11:48 am

Burn fossil fuel and burn my wallet, I go for the fossil fuel. How are we going to adopt EV when there price were so expensive? But based on the price, definitely not for normal consumers. With that price, I believe their ‘charger’ has V-power options unlike normal electricity.

• Anonymous on Jan 13, 2022 at 1:23 pm

I’m shocked at these prices. It basically makes EVs extremely unaffordable.

• chapgohmeh on Jan 13, 2022 at 5:18 pm

its impressive that you could twist a simple EV charging (in replacement of fueling) into a parking space, coffee waiting etc etc. Side effect of too much wfh or …?

just stay with your fuel vehicle, let the market drive down the scale.

• Tony1802 on Jan 14, 2022 at 2:27 pm

what ? charging RM240/1 hour , RM120/30 min

with RM120, i can pump 58.5L RON 95…

my old car can run 10KM/1L…with 58.5L, easily can travel 585KM.

EV save $ ? unless your mathematic sucks!

• JJ Autohaus on Jan 15, 2022 at 4:12 pm

EVs are for environmental friendly purposes with less CO emissions to protect our planet. Not just about money all the time?

• douglas on Mar 10, 2022 at 11:10 pm

what kind of crazy pricing is this…our electricity rate is around RM0.30+ / KWH, shouldn’t the cost of charging a say 60kwh EV be ~RM20 only?

• gulai on Mar 22, 2022 at 6:36 pm

I guess u need to realise that this is a high performance charging network (read: premium) which is able to dish out 180kw DC (kinda like fast charger for your phone). Not all EV supports fastcharging at this rate.

If you want to charge cheaper, just use chargEV network that u can normally find in hotels, shopping malls, and Petronas stations. They charge RM240/year, that’s it. Eat all you can. The drawback? Instead of 180kw DC, u get only up to 22kw AC (thus longer charging time).

Most EV owners will charge at home anyways unless they are roadtripping. How often do you roadtrip?

• isaac on Mar 27, 2022 at 11:29 am

in chinese we say qing gui na yao dan 請鬼拿藥單
    (asking a ghost to fetch your medicine list), asking a fossil fuel company to encourage you from not using their fossil fuel is kinda illogical. I do not see the sincerity at all. I am going to stick to petrol cars for now.

EVs right now are just not suitable for long range driving in Malaysia.

Unless we have super huge batteries (say 300 KWH), super fast charging points (at least 100KW and above), more charging points dotted around Malaysian roads and parking lots or better yet, wireless charging coils beneath the public roads (which is about a million USD per mile to build that) EVs can only stuck inside the home city.

Also we need to ensure EVs have a fully functional battery swap capability so if the batteries’ charge capacity declined after 10 years, it is easier and cheaper to replace the battery instead of buying a new EV