RM35 RFID stickers – govt waiting for TnG, PLUS justification before deciding on price reduction

Following former prime minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak’s viral post on the cost of passive RFID stickers being lower than RM1, the government has demanded a detailed report from PLUS and Touch n Go (TnG) on the issue. The RFID self-fitment kit is priced at RM35.

Works minister Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof said that the two companies have been ordered to present the rationale behind the RM35 price. He said that the decision on whether the RFID sticker’s RRP is reduced or not will depend on the report.

“We are studying the cost aspect and have asked PLUS and TnG to present the details for us to assess it together with the finance ministry. We want to know what’s the justification of the RM35 price. If not, we will ensure a price reduction, or a cost that’s reasonable for users,” he said in Kuala Terengganu yesterday, reported by Utusan Malaysia.

While RFID toll payment only recently hit the news because of PLUS’ rollout on the main stretch of the North South Highway from Juru to Skudai, it has been used in the Klang Valley since 2018. TnG’s RFID pilot programme ended in February 2020, and it was then that the stickers started to be sold to the public for RM35 (was FOC for pilot programme participants).

Despite the less than smooth rollout by PLUS, RFID will not be discarded and the NSE concessionaire’s promise to bring back SmartTAG lanes is just a temporary measure. There are issues to be ironed out, but it’s here to stay.

Where to get the RFID pack? How to install the sticker? How does it work? What about the TnG eWallet? We’ve compiled a comprehensive FAQ with all the details you need, plus video guides.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• newme on Jan 25, 2022 at 12:33 pm

Sure the topic R&D and backend maintenance will be brought up lah. You think they will talk about his cut, my cut meh?

• Gomorrah on Jan 25, 2022 at 2:17 pm

Of course… and also salary to pay all the installers. Ridiculous. Just mail the sticker with some instructions written in BM/English and whatever vernacular language the user may ask for and I doubt you need to charge more than RM 7. That includes a decent profit margin. Plain greedy.

• I propose 1 more item on top of pricing to be added to this RFID roll out. FREE REPLACEMENT for malfunctioning ID’s.

This will transfer the financial pain back to them, and maybe they will think of a more robust system. If it’s just lowering price, it doesn’t hurt the company income, most likely less profit – but still earn profit. SO NO INCENTIVE to make the system work better. When you have millions of users per day, 95% working fine is not good enough, 5% is 50,000 users in every million.

• Each piece is only few cents when bought in millions quantity, not even tens of cents. So replacement is not an issue. All the RFID reader are off the shelf with so many brands to pick from. The only work would be integrating into the back end where the e-wallet resides. The big question is, is ISO 18000-6C the correct technology to use for this application? I doubt it. The pilot and pre testing has been going on for so many years already, and this is not a new technology. Still need so much tweaking and testing? You ingat scanning barang yg duduk diam-diam dalam gudang ka? Complete joke.

• Dong Gor on Jan 25, 2022 at 2:05 pm

All this should come @ not cost to users at least for the first vehicle per person. We are already paying the toll. This is just a form of payment.. At most, charge rm 50 for the first rfid preloaded with rm 50.

• Albert Einstein Sr on Jan 25, 2022 at 2:18 pm

Someone who is about to face prison time (if he loses his final appeal),said it should be Rm1 for the RFID sticker.I have to agree on this,since it makes sense.
    With covid variants lurking around especially when the front dude is smoking with open windows,n paying thro T n G card,I prefer RFID,especially when it rains.

• LOL populist move. Similar to artificially reduce price of Covid self test kits. Benefits no one as we risk getting substandard kits.

Rm35 have been the standard selling price since Rfid tags are openly sold the last few years and nobody make noise until today. Why now? GE15 coming and every amateur little politician wannabes have to put their say, including this comment section? Wannabe politicians should learn to keep their mouths shut and let market to decide and let TNG and PLUS time to work it out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
  • AZAMIRUDDIN AHMAD on Jan 25, 2022 at 4:16 pm

Just enhance the smart tag system. Perodua cars already have build-in smart tag.. make it smarter, not change the system entirely..

• Smart Tag is not so smart when you consider the limitations of its technology and the limited usage.

• Brian on Jan 26, 2022 at 11:48 am

Smarter people would try finding ways to avoid paying toll as much as possible.

• Norman on Jan 25, 2022 at 4:42 pm

I prefer to use Smart Tag because it is portable. I have to change company car every few months. I cannot be tearing off the RFID sticker and replacing it with a new one all the time.

• IGP mom on Jan 25, 2022 at 4:53 pm

There should be absolutely no wayang on this. Please go ahead and charge TnGo and PLUS for profiteering.

• Bieight8 on Jan 25, 2022 at 5:04 pm

Why only now (after 2 years) make noise???

• Because 2 years ago, only few tolls use rfid, not so many affected. And PLUS didnt announce they will immediately remove TnG/Smartag lane that causes major traffic jammed in 2 main highways.. alsobthey gave it free 2 years ago for trial.

• Amran on Jan 25, 2022 at 6:40 pm

Ride motorbike, no need to pay toll.

• Ongtk on Jan 25, 2022 at 7:18 pm

I bought my RFID sticker from Touch N Go via the e-Wallet app and earned an RM8 cashback. My car is a CX-5. My RFID sticker was installed about 5 inches from the top edge, and 4.5 inches from the left edge of the windscreen just above a Macdonald’s drive-in sticker. I am pleased to share I have had no issues passing through the RFID booth since the installation.

• Nicholas Lee on Jan 26, 2022 at 10:57 pm

It should be given out for free, as all toll transactions from these stickers will make them tons of money.

• Spin Too Much on Jan 28, 2022 at 10:26 pm

Why people have never demanded TnG cards & Smart Tag devices for free before? Bodoh kan?

• Palancauuuu on Feb 02, 2022 at 2:27 pm

Entah la labuuu…kau sorang je pandai..org suruh bayar, kau bayar.