Interest in electric vehicles among Malaysians on the rise, but local ecosystem still lacking – MyEVOC

It seems that electric vehicles really are the cars of the moment, at least according to Bernama. The national news agency spoke with the Malaysian Electric Vehicle Owners Club (MyEVOC) president Datuk Shahrol Halmi, who said that the market has been responding favourably to the influx of new zero-emission vehicles.

Shahrol said there are an estimated 500 EVs on the road today, with many more people intending to buy one. “There’s a bright future for EVs in Malaysia, with many expressing an interest in owning one because it is smoother and quieter than a conventional car,” he said.

The rising interest in electric cars isn’t surprising. After all, the government has exempted these vehicles from import tax, excise duty and road tax starting this year, leading to much cheaper cars – something that always grabs buyers’ attention in our price-sensitive market. Consequently, there’s now a wide range of EVs to suit a variety of budgets and needs, said Shahrol.

“The current trend in Malaysia is high-end EVs from Porsche, BMW, Hyundai, Volvo and Mercedes-Benz, and now, Tesla, MG and Audi have entered the market, too. Buyers are spoilt for choice,” he said. We should point out that Tesla and Audi electric vehicles have been brought in via parallel importers and not through official means, while MG has yet to start local sales – although it apparently plans to do so later in the year.

Shahrol added that the recent popularity of EVs is good for the country, given the obvious lack of local emissions. “The Malaysian government encourages EV use, providing an exemption on import duty and more. They are better for the environment and don’t emit carbon dioxide which pollutes the air. It is in accordance with the government’s 2021-2030 Low Carbon Mobility Blueprint as well,” he said.

There’s a “but” in all this, of course – Shahrol said Malaysia still has work to improve its ecosystem to match other countries in the region like Indonesia, Thailand and Singapore. “They are more actively working on becoming leaders in the EV field and are continuously improving their ecosystem to enable their people to use EVs with ease,” he said.

Doubtless he is referring to the lack of any meaningful incentives to entice carmakers to build their cars and batteries here, unlike in those countries. As a result, most vehicles are being brought in as CBU imports, with the only locally-assembled electric model being the Volvo XC40 Recharge P8.

Shahrol also highlighted the relatively high cost of EVs (even with the tax exemptions) and the lack of a widespread charging infrastructure, although he believes these issues will be solved as sales of electric vehicles ramp up. “I hope EV users will be more involved in giving feedback to sellers, charge point operators and the government for a EV future that is brighter,” he said.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• newme on Apr 15, 2022 at 4:15 pm

Really MyEVOC? Ecosystem lacking and not the price of EV?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 24
    • FreakingAnnoyed on Apr 15, 2022 at 5:26 pm

Yes, ecosystem lacking. Why build a huge volume of electric car at cheap price if no infrastructure to support it? For us B40 and M40, car is a tool, not a toy. You dare to buy cheap electric car if no place to charge? Let the rich buy it now, use their influence to get more charging location built.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
      • Civic Turbo 2018 on Apr 15, 2022 at 9:17 pm

Nope, I’m fine with cheap RON95. No downtime

• Sohai on Apr 16, 2022 at 10:36 am

The whole point of this is about sustainability and environment. Is not just about you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
      • newme on Apr 16, 2022 at 1:45 am

One can buy an EV but cannot invest on an AC charger at home?

• Frozen on Apr 16, 2022 at 12:19 pm

Can share how to pull 3 phase power line to kampung area houses?

• policeman on Apr 17, 2022 at 12:05 am

That MyEvoc fella is a big fraud. Former CEO of 1MDB …monthly salary RM99,000 and Bonus 18 Bulan RM1.78 Juta. Malu apa EV ku..

• You can also install Level 2 AC Charger on a single-phase. 10-80% charging should take about 7-8 hours depending on battery size.

• Rosman on Apr 18, 2022 at 9:42 am

All of them were fraudsters inc goldman sachs, and instead of taking reponsibility they blamed it all on our innocent PM. Bunch of crooks n swindlers.

• AnakSarawak on Apr 17, 2022 at 2:33 pm

This I agree… Guess the G IS ACTUALLY not going all out on EVs…

• bieight8 on Apr 15, 2022 at 4:22 pm

EV road tax are ridiculously high…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
    • People who buys BMW & Mercedes do not complain about road tax cost and yet those looking to buy EV at about the same price balk at paying road tax cost which is also the equivalent to the BMW & Mercedes?
      Something is wrong with these people’s unrealistic expectation. Are you expecting it to be free?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 12
    • JOACHIM on Apr 15, 2022 at 6:11 pm

https://paultan.org/2022/03/29/80-of-malaysian-drivers-want-to-see-more-evs-on-the-road-but-59-will-still-buy-petrol-cars-next-bmw/
      Out of 80% interest, majority 59% will still buy ICE car not because of road tax pricing but driving range which relate to ecosystem.

• Future EV Owner on Apr 15, 2022 at 5:28 pm

I dont mind on the ecosystem but the price is on the high side and road tax are crazy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
    • You don’t mind the ecosystem? Then are you powering that EV by willpower or something? Even if give you supercheap car at zero road tax it means nothing if you cannot charge up your EV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
      • Why do you say “cannot charge up your EV”? If someone lives in a landed property, they can use a standard 3-pin wall plug or invest in a level 2 AC charger.

• Darren on Apr 18, 2022 at 9:50 am

PaulTan have said it before, don’t bother with using wall plug, charge rate is highly impractical. And i doubt kampung house rickety old electrical infrastructure could support EV wall box pulling power. Their electricals could overload & burn.

• Curious on Apr 15, 2022 at 6:31 pm

Only for the affordable, maintenance itself wil make u cry.

• It’s about the same globally . Even with adequate charging stations , there would be problems with whether the charging port is occupied or vacant
    Charging times is way longer than a trip to the petrol stations
    And from what is happening int the West , there will be transactional problems
    Either the charging port is faulty or it doesn’t accept your green card , or credit card

Personally , I feel that it’s an individual choice .Many use their cars for daily commute to work , weekend trips to far off resort or the mall that is quite a distance away

Some , like me , only drive about 50km a week .( I’m probably the exception to the rule )

That’s why I’m now working on getting myself an EV

Recently , Volvo started assembling the XC 40 Recharge pure electric in Malaysia
    Hopefully , because of this fact , road tax for EVs will be a little more reasonable after 2025

Fingers and toes crossed

• ThePolygon on Apr 16, 2022 at 10:23 am

Ya man… the XC40 EV 300 kw version is gonna cost RM 4503 for roadtax according to the https://paultan.org/2021/08/26/ev-road-tax-structure-in-malaysia-how-its-calculated-and-how-rates-are-different-for-sedans-and-non-sedans/
      once the roadtax is back in place after the exemption.
      I really think they should revise the structure cause nowadays in in near future these high powered EVs are gonna be common cause that’s how electric motors are… Even the Ioniq 5 AWD version is 225 kw which will cost RM 2703 for roadtax based on that structure.

• Darren on Apr 18, 2022 at 9:46 am

People buying luxury car complaining about roadtax pricing? Thats a first. Then don’t buy a luxury EV for crap sakes. Go wait until EV is as cheap as a Axia before you consider.

• James Wong on Apr 17, 2022 at 1:15 pm

What if there is already charge points all over west Malaysia. Would you buy the EV? What is the acceptable price point for you to put down a booking?

• I think the hogging of charging bays by non-EVs is just as big a problem. It’s so rampant on the few charging facilities we have and is to me, a national embarrassment. I hope a law can be made to prohibit and penalize such an inconsiderate behavior or else more gonna suffer with more EV users and I hope I’m wrong but new charging bays can’t seem to keep up, it never has been able to do that

• Fordist on Apr 16, 2022 at 12:22 pm

Hogging of charging bays by non-EVs are just as bad as Sinkie cars pumping our RON95. Duadua pun sama spesis berpelajaran tinggi tapi tak berotak.

• ROTI CANAI on Apr 16, 2022 at 6:12 pm

orang kayangan ini mabuk, most malaysians cant afford the price of ev’s