2022 Mercedes-Benz A200, A250 Sedan M’sian review

The V177 Mercedes-Benz A-Class Sedan is, by all intents and purposes, a gateway model into the flashy realm of the three-pointed star. It’s available in A 200 Progressive Line and A 250 AMG Line guises, both of which are locally assembled in Pekan, Pahang.

Prices start from RM220,459 for the A 200 Sedan, which is powered by a Renault-sourced M282 1.33 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine that makes 163 PS and 250 Nm of torque. It drives the front wheels through a Getrag seven-speed wet dual-clutch transmission.

Meanwhile, the A 250 – priced at RM243,858 – is motivated by an in-house 2.0 litre M260 turbo four-pot churning out 224 PS at 5,500 rpm and 350 Nm between 1,800 and 4,000 rpm. The gearbox is also a Mercedes unit, again a seven-speed wet dual-clutch transmission.

Prices have gone up slightly from its initial launch, but that also includes a slight kit bump. The A 200 now gets the 64-colour ambient lighting and power-adjustable front passenger seat, whereas the A 250 gets blind spot monitoring. Extras include wireless charging and hands-free boot access for both, as well as active lane keep assist and automatic high beam.

Find out what we think of the baby sedans in our review above, and as usual, do let us know what you think in the comments section below. Also, feel free to browse CarBase.my for a more detailed look at their specifications.

GALLERY: V177 Mercedes-Benz A 250 AMG Line Sedan CKD
GALLERY: V177 Mercedes-Benz A 200 Sedan CKD

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Inferior specs products from Mercedes Benz Malaysia need review???

• JOACHIM on May 24, 2022 at 4:29 pm

Like how BMW removed 360 camera and AA/CP functions from their new cars?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
      • You’re not comparing apples to apples here. The BMW spec removal although is unfortunate they’re only temporary. The MB specs are inferior to begin with.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
        • Contradiction on May 25, 2022 at 9:51 am

It is a lesser of 2 evils.
          MB ripped you off with lesser specs to start.
          BMW cheated you by omitting specs they said it should come with.
          Which do you feel is worse. MB at least tell you upfront what is lacked, BMW outright cheated you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
          • Omitting specs is temporary due to lack of car chip issues

• Contradiction on May 25, 2022 at 12:01 pm

How temporary is temporary? Experts predict the chip shortage will last at least until 2024. When they said temporary it is for BMW, its not like temporary for you as a buyer whereby BMW will upgrade your car for free to bring back these specs they omitted. For you it is permanently downgraded. Can you accept that on a car you put half a million RM into?

• Of course. For M40-T20 to enjoy it with RON95 while still can.

• What m40 can afford MB?

• Contradiction on May 25, 2022 at 9:53 am

According to comments in the fuel subsidy article, plenty of M40 and also B40 owns BMW and MB. So I wonder if our M40 were actually well off or what they said is a contradiction.

• Sohai on May 24, 2022 at 5:52 pm

Why pay RM200+k for a Benz using Renault engine?

• seancorr on May 24, 2022 at 6:00 pm

Wait for facelift then u will definitely get some extra goodies. At the moment the kit count is horrendous especially for the A200 even after they added those standard spec back into it

• Or just buy a BMW 218i

• I knocked my head when I tried to get into the rear seat, and I am just average in height. Unless you have no plans to ferry more than 1 passenger, I guess you can consider. I have no issues with headroom in my CLA45.

I was considering the 218i but after that try to get into the back, it’s off the list. Wife don’t like BMW so, sticking with A250 or A35.

• ROTI CANAI on May 25, 2022 at 10:03 pm

this is how low mercedes has dropped to

• Bro Amar on May 27, 2022 at 12:36 am

received my a250 2022 with surprise that the rear air cond vent was removed.. the dual climate zone also missing.. although it had been included in the ckd 2021 version.. i feel cheated as there was no mention on the removal, only on the inclusion of 4 rarely used features.. and the 2022 version price is increased to 4k.. can Paul Tan put a clearer picture here on what else have been removed from the 2021 model..? so that other new customers were not cheated?

• BOTBOT on Oct 03, 2022 at 10:39 am

I got mine last month, had the same feeling of being cheated. and none of the dealer or MBM can answer me why the features are removed. especially the rear vent that is missing that is worse than driving an AUDI A3 now.