2022 Peugeot 308 in Malaysia gravely mistaken for the next-generation Perodua Myvi in viral TikTok video

Indah khabar dari rupa is a popular Malay proverb that perfectly defines this story. A short 10-second TikTok video recently went viral for depicting what’s deemed to be the next-generation Perodua Myvi, but the actual car was in fact the third-generation Peugeot 308.

At the time of writing, the video has gotten over 2.1 million views and more than 1,000 comments, many of which were excited over the prospect of it being the new Myvi. There were several users who called him out, of course, but those who have no clue what the new 308 looks like would easily be misled by the video title and the usual charms of social media.

If you take a closer look at the rear of the hatch, there’s a red sticker – clearly outlined in white – that says ‘LEFT HAND DRIVE’. This is also pretty evident in the viral TikTok video. It was travelling in a convoy behind a Citroen DS3 Crossback. By the way, Perodua test mules are hardly ever spotted out in the wild, and even if they were, you can bet your life savings that they will be completely camouflaged.

Now, this is actually the exact same test car that was seen in Penang earlier in the year, but this time we get to take a slightly closer look at it. Standout features include a large panoramic sunroof, 16-inch dual-tone alloy wheels with Continental PremiumContact 6 tyres (205/60 R16), keyless entry on all four doors, black-painted side mirror caps, and GT Line kit.

The 308 is the first Peugeot model to wear the company’s new lion head logo, which is found on the radiator grille, front fenders, and tailgate (clearly masked up here). It rides on the same Efficient Modular Platform (EMP2) as before, but in terms of proportions, it’s 20 mm lower, 11 mm longer, and the wheelbase is stretched by 55 mm.

So far, the 308 is only available with three engine choices, starting with a 1.2 litre PureTech petrol, 1.5 BlueHDi diesel, and a 1.6 PureTech Hybrid. Outputs range from 110 PS to 130 PS for the 1.2 litre lump, while the plug-in hybrid can be had in either 180 PS or 225 PS tunes. There’s no indicative timeline for the launch of the new 308 here in Malaysia, and the same can certainly be said for the new Myvi.

@rayyanarilz seriuslah ini KING OF THE ROAD Myvi tu!! smart demo #perudua #produamyvi #berandatiktok #fyp #car #myvi #malaysia #kingofroad ? Apakah Itu Cinta – Andikprasetyoo

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Kapchai on May 24, 2022 at 2:28 pm

Now the Peugeot 2008 compactSUV, 2022 launched Malaysia here don’t even have the ACC Active Cruise Control highway self driving, always follow car speed infront.

only have the 1990s style Passive Cruise Control locked speed drive, always KO need reset, need sendiri brake, bcuz disturbed by slower car in front..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
  • (Dude) on May 24, 2022 at 2:56 pm

Hope its just a clickbait title and not idiot really thinks its Myvi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • seancorr on May 24, 2022 at 3:17 pm

Peugeot Malaysia must be happy with the free advertising and market research done with the majority of the public liking the design. Too bad one of these will cost 3 Myvis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • Some P2 fanboys shiok sendiri thinking their godbrand can design something so sexy as an European car. Too bad their daydream bubble got burst by PaulTan revelation. The jokes are on these P2 fanboys now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 3
  • Onanodus on May 24, 2022 at 5:00 pm

There’s no such thing as Citroen DS3 Crossback, I think you meant DS 3 Crossback?

• onanist on May 24, 2022 at 5:33 pm

hahahahaahahaha… DS is citroen lah. the gap between DS and citroen is sooooo small.. it not the same as lexus and toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Malaysian ppl only know Myvi, even tiktok also myvi, spoilt by the Myvi ady, please la, dun everything oso Myvi although it is KING of car. Dumb one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
  • Dong Gor on May 24, 2022 at 5:29 pm

how can this be a myvi…the styling is beyond perodua or even most of the jepunis. unforgiveable mistake.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • balingboy on May 24, 2022 at 6:24 pm

well, if dap mp son abusing polis escort also people can mistake it as baling mp son, why cant peugeot become myvi?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
    • Avenger on May 24, 2022 at 11:17 pm

Simply cos too many fanboys are imagining things in their own heads. P2 fanboys dreaming this is next Myvi. DAP fanboy dreaming DAP MP son is from Baling.

• amonrei on May 24, 2022 at 7:44 pm

It’s viral so it must be true right? Haha…

• it is a clickbait…probably did some research on the keyword “myvi” more popular than “208” ^^

• Sick&Tired on May 25, 2022 at 7:22 am

Peugeot make exceptionally good looking cars. The interior design is also miles ahead compared to it’s japanese counterparts. But the biggest issue I have with Peugeot is support and reliability. If you think Naza was bad, I challenge you to deal with Bermaz! They are even worse! Tried sourcing for parts with them, 90% of the time they won’t have stock and if it’s in France, it will take about 4 months to arrive. In comparison, Volkswagen takes about 2 weeks to order parts from Germany.

Since it was going to take long to order the part, I tried to get the part number from them, but they refused to provide it. I have delt with other manufacturers like bmw & Volkswagen and they will gladly provide the part number and even the diagram if you ask.

My advice is to buy the car used and find a good mechanic outside to maintain it. don’t waste your time with Bermaz. That’s why you hardly see any 2008, even though its a good looking car.

• Continental Cars Spare Parts on May 25, 2022 at 10:08 am

If you met with an accident then its even worse. I saw in forum, some of their cars got stuck in the workshop for 10 months waiting for spare parts such as the bumper.

• @Snakebabu on May 25, 2022 at 5:10 pm

208????????

• Hahaha….myvi? P2 fanboys can keep day dreaming!

• Hahaha joke of the year.