Cyclist killed in accident on Jalan Temiang-Pantai

The scenic Temiang-Pantai road in Negeri Sembilan is quickly becoming the most viral route in Malaysia, and all for the wrong reasons. Unfortunately, the latest incident involves a cyclist being killed on the road, which is often referred to as the New Zealand highway by motorists.

Details are scarce, but photos circulating on social media (shared by Ezani Zainal) show a tattered bicycle on the ground and a damaged Perodua Axia. Comments online suggest that the cyclist was hit from behind while going up the hill.

Cyclist killed in accident on Jalan Temiang-Pantai

For those wondering, it is perfectly legal for cyclists to be on this particular road. While cycling on highways in Malaysia is now barred – up to RM5,000 fine or 12 month term in prison – no such limitation is placed on a federal road such as Jalan Temiang-Pantai. It’s often mistakenly called a highway or a lebuhraya, but it’s not.

Speaking to reporters earlier this year, Negeri Sembilan police chief Datuk Mohamad Mat Yusop mentioned specifically that there are no restrictions on activities such as cycling and jogging on the stretch, as long as it doesn’t obstruct traffic and pose any danger to anyone. Just in case you may think the cyclist is at fault for being there.

Sad news, how ever way you see it. Stay safe on the roads, everyone.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• If no dashcam.
    Rugi Habis.
    Bertabalah Axia Driver.

Let’s wait for other dash cam video, instead of observing Netizen comments.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
    • Amran on Jun 01, 2022 at 9:32 pm

Salah mak bapak, takjaga anak maen basikal lajak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 19
    • Civic Turbo 2018 on Jun 01, 2022 at 10:34 pm

60km/h speed limit definitely not highway

• Dredd on Jun 02, 2022 at 9:11 am

Sam supporters like: Bike is on the road, not supposed to be there, same idiots as the biker gang and Lembu gang taking a scenic stop, deserve what they got, biker parents too should go to jail, driver is innocent.

Bike supporters like: Idiot driver buta ke, driving too fast lettew, langgar belakang automatic dah salah no question, deserves to go to jail, driver parents too should go to jail, biker is innocent.

Now the question for both supporters. If everyone is innocent then who is guilty for DREDD to punish; God?

• Makcik on Jun 01, 2022 at 8:45 pm

Now u see,
    You don’t have the dashcam,
    Ppl say you have killed the biker?

Alamak. Whose fault?
    Polis keputusan/court Judgement pun belum ada lagi.
    No video to watch yet also.

• Rossie on Jun 01, 2022 at 8:47 pm

“A cyclist is being killed on the road”.

I thought it is an accident caused death, not murdering.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
    • Jessie on Jun 02, 2022 at 9:57 am

What is the difference of killed and died?

“Died” is to lose one’s life due to injuries sustained or to natural causes from within. “Killed” is to lose one’s life due to an outside force or act of another.

• Pedestrian on Jun 01, 2022 at 9:06 pm

Can’t decide yet if the bicycle riding correctly, or wrongly.

But there are good practice,
    Try to ride/walk on the opposite lane, beyond the white line.
    Bcuz we don’t have the rear/side mirror to see what’s behind us.
    So we can react to any car/motorbike/lorry wrongly heading to us, reducing chance of getting into accidents.

Finally, nobody wish to get involved with accidents too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
    • ‘Try to ride/walk on the opposite lane, beyond the white line.’

I think there might be some exceptions to this. Riding on the opposite side of a narrow road at fast pace with a lot of curves and blind spots will shorten the reaction time of both rider & driver if they are on collision course.

If you are slow like on basikal tua just coming back from fishing, then I think it’s OK to stay on the opposite lane.

• Bieight8 on Jun 01, 2022 at 9:41 pm

Will the driver be fine 6k and 6 years jail fordangerousdriving???

• Saber rider on Jun 01, 2022 at 9:50 pm

https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2022/06/01/cyclist-killed-in-accident-along-jalan-pantai-nilai

• Is this happen on highway? I google and found an article by Paul Tan on 18 October 2021 that any cycling activity on highways need permission of police or Malaysia highway authority (LLM). I suppose cycling on normal road is legal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 30
    • dellen on Jun 02, 2022 at 2:36 am

literally 50% of the paragraphs in this story answers your question but you ask this again here in the comments

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
    • Obviously on Jun 02, 2022 at 9:20 am

Its so obvious this guy read the title then comment without reaching the whole article, go read restaurant menu, forum is not your cup of tea

• Copy Paste on Jun 02, 2022 at 10:24 am

Copy paste: “While cycling on highways in Malaysia is now barred – up to RM5,000 fine or 12 month term in prison – no such limitation is placed on a federal road such as Jalan Temiang-Pantai. It’s often mistakenly called a highway or a lebuhraya, but it’s not.”

• Idiot? on Jun 02, 2022 at 11:09 am

Ckp bod* kang trigger. Baca title je tahu. Haish… Aptb

• mr1031 on Jun 02, 2022 at 12:04 pm

BN people just dont read, dont they?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 8
      • Yeah sure, and I’m the real Twitter buyer. You must be stupid to believe a fake name.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
  • Vezeroth on Jun 02, 2022 at 1:25 am

Strange the impact on the right of the car.. does it mean the cyclist was in the middle of the road?

• It is P2!. Yes may be in middle of the road, with out rear flash light or reflective vest?

• Minal on Jun 02, 2022 at 5:55 am

Zero emission, zero life

• No double std. No need dashcam record as proof. Knocked someone midnight without proper light from bicycle, against direction, never drunk, never used phone alao charged with careless driving. Now, was day time, driver can not see dmbicycle in front? Could not avoid. According to our judge logic, definitely is careless driving!

• Mr. Sotong on Jun 02, 2022 at 8:55 am

The cyclist may not be in the wrong but that is the risk he/she took to stay healthy but unfortunately……

• what is the law on Jun 02, 2022 at 9:45 am

So it is a federal road, not a highway.

Technically only highway have emergency lane right? federal roads have road shoulders.

• Ben Yap on Jun 02, 2022 at 9:50 am

the bicycle frame still looks ok. can take back and sell.

• 10k++ on Jun 02, 2022 at 11:13 am

Vibranium. Made in Wakanda. If you bicycle made from nium2 family, don’t expect it to save your precious life. We made with flesh and bone, so fragile. Mayb need to put the fragile sticker like courier… So that people can handle with care…

• The emergency lane / road shoulder is big as WAJA, so should be more than enough for cyclist. Is the Axia distracted by the view?

• termiang on Jun 02, 2022 at 1:41 pm

single lane bercita2 nak jadi highway ke. hahaha

• BN for life on Jun 02, 2022 at 9:58 pm

Drivers salah for sure. Should be avoided. The car damage show car hit hard. Cyclist died.

• New driver or lady driver ( from the pic) …..same all prob. Playing with hp while driving. In broad daylight she can hit the cyclist. Still wondering how can a small axia cant avoid the cyclist…..

• abdurra on Jun 05, 2022 at 6:59 pm

basikal benar guna jalan itu maka had limit laju kenderaan yg sesuai perlu dilaksanakan. saya lebih yakin kemalangan berlaku atas kelajuan.. jika tidak laju pasti dapat elakkan melanggar basikal tersebut walaupun kata basikal itu bersalah