2022 GWM Ora Good Cat for Malaysia – 47.8 and 63.1 kWh variants; up to 500 km EV range; est from RM140k

Great Wall Motors (GWM) announced its entry into Malaysia just yesterday, and one of the models that will be coming our way is the Ora Good Cat. The all-electric hatchback was showcased during yesterday’s event, but it’ll be some time until the Good Cat (also called the Haomao) is launched here, as we were told that GWM’s first products will only enter the market in the fourth quarter of this year.

Ahead of the Good Cat officially going on sale, Great Wall Motor Sales Malaysia has begun accepting pre-bookings for the electric vehicle (EV). The company even provided estimated pricing for a little while, but it has since revised its website and the figures are no longer there. Even so, screenshots of the website were captured prior to the website being updated, so here’s what we know so far.

To start, four variants of the Good Cat will be offered, namely the Tech, Pro, Ultra and Ultra G, all available for pre-booking at a fee of RM1,000 (click here if you’re interested). All variants will come with an electric motor rated at 143 PS (141 hp or 105 kW) and 210 Nm of torque driving the front wheels, allowing for a top speed of 152 km/h. One-pedal driving is available and there are five drive modes available (Normal, Sport, Eco, Eco+ and Auto).

Both the Tech and Pro will come with a 47.8-kWh lithium iron phosphate battery that can provide up to 400 km of range following the NEDC standard. No charging specifications were provided, but the charging times do match up to those of the Thailand-spec Good Cat.

It’ll take about eight hours to get to a full charge with AC charging (Type 2 connection) at the vehicle’s maximum supported input of 6.6 kW. Meanwhile, it takes about 46 minutes to get from a 0-80% state of charge (SoC) with DC fast charging (CCS2 connection) at 60 kW. As for pricing, both the Tech and Pro are estimated to start from RM14X,XXX, with the latter likely being higher up the scale due to its positioning above the Tech in the line-up.

After the Pro is the Ultra, which is estimated to retail from RM15X,XXX. For the higher asking price, the Ultra offers up to 500 km of range thanks to a more substantial 63.1-kWh ternary lithium battery.

The charging kit for the Pro and Ultra is identical to the Tech and Pro, although the times aren’t. With AC charging, it takes around 10 hours for a full charge and getting from a 0-80% SoC with DC fast charging requires about 40 minutes. At the very top of the pack is the Ultra G, which shares the same specifications with the Ultra, but will comes with more equipment to justify its asking price that is estimated to be from RM16X,XXX.

It should be noted that we will be getting one more variant of the Good Cat compared to Thailand, as buyers over there miss out on the Ultra G. However, the Good Cat is cheaper over there thanks to tax and duty reductions as well as incentives, with the Tech currently priced at 763,000 baht (RM93,967), the Pro at 828,500 baht (RM102,034) and the Ultra at 959,000 baht (RM118,086).

Even so, the Good Cat is poised to become the most affordable EV you can buy in Malaysia based on these estimated figures. The current record holder is the Kona Electric e-Lite, which is currently priced at RM156,538 with EV incentives and sales tax factored in, which is more than the Tech, although the base variant of the Good Cat is a little sparse in terms of kit.

On that mention, the Tech comes standard with 17-inch alloy wheels (205/55 profile tyres), LED headlamps, LED DRLs, LED taillights, keyless entry and start, fabric seats, manually-adjustable front seats, a seven-inch digital instrument cluster, automatic air-conditioning with PM2.5 filter, a 10.25-inch touchscreen infotainment system, four speakers, passive cruise control, two frontal airbags, ESC, ABS, EBD, four rear parking sensors, hill start assist, low-speed emergency braking and a tyre pressure monitoring system.

The Pro builds on the Tech by gaining 18-inch alloys (215/50 profile tyres), automatic LED headlamps, power-folding side mirrors, rain-sensing wipers, an electric panoramic sunroof, synthetic leather upholstery, a powered six-way driver’s seat, a 360-degree camera, a wireless phone charger, a USB port for a driving recorder as well as side and curtain airbags.

Also fitted are a range of active safety and driver assist system, including adaptive cruise control with intelligent turning, traffic jam assist, automatic emergency braking with intersection support, front collision warning, a wisdom dodge system, lane departure warning, lane keeping assist and lane centre keeping.

The Ultra gets the Pro’s kit list, but with the addition of a welcome light effect for the headlamps, a memory function for the powered side mirrors, driver seat memory with welcome function, two more speakers (for a total of six), automated parking, emergency lane keeping, lane change assistant, blind spot detection, rear collision warning, rear cross-traffic alert and braking, plus six parking sensors front and rear.

Finally, the Ultra G is identical to the Ultra when it comes to equipment, but not colours. The range-topper is the only one that can be had with an exterior painted Hazel Wood Beige/Wisdom Brown or Verdant Green with a white roof. Also exclusive to the Ultra G are a brown/beige and green/grey interior.

2022 GWM Ora Good Cat spec sheet; click to enlarge

The Pro and Ultra is available in three monotone colours, including Sun Black, Hamilton White and Coral Blue, along with two two-tone options featuring a black roof (Hamilton White and Mars Red) – both get a black interior. The Tech’s colour options are limited to just Sun Black and Hamilton White, paired with a black interior.

The Good Cat measures 4,235 mm long, 1,825 mm wide, 1,596 mm tall and has wheelbase of 2,650 mm. For context, the Honda City Hatchback is 4,345 mm long, 1,748 mm wide, 1,488 mm tall and its wheelbase spans 2,600 mm.

With all the information provided so far, what do you think of the Good Cat? Are you looking forward to its launch? Will you be placing a pre-booking? Let us know your thoughts in the comments below.

GALLERY: GWM Ora Good Cat, RHD unit in Malaysia

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Ruslan Bahari on Jul 08, 2022 at 11:10 am

Shut up and take my money already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
    • Ghani on Jul 08, 2022 at 3:44 pm

RM 140k selling here is just way too expensive. My 3rd wife’s relative bought this car for 100,000 yuan only in their hometown Xinjiang.

• SmartConsumer on Jul 09, 2022 at 8:13 am

Take mine too. Designed by Porsche but sold at toyota’s price. Please take my money. This car is selling like hot cakes in Europe.Super reliable. Finally in Malaysia

• Jom Global on Jul 08, 2022 at 11:20 am

Ora Good Cat,
    EV by powerbank – 47.8kWh and 63.1kWh

Comparable to
    VW Beetle 1.2 105PS/175Nm made as 4 door EV.
    Larger than VW Golf 1.4 too.

https://paultan.org/2017/05/24/volkswagen-beetle-updated-bug-in-msia-fr-rm137k/

• Beetle 4 door on Jul 09, 2022 at 6:41 am

when beetle got 4 doors.. you compare apple to orange..

• Santai on Jul 09, 2022 at 8:23 am

2 door – low spec family car.
        It’s far from being a track racing car.

• *face palm* Beetle already stopped production globally a few years ago. Why don’t you compare with Kenari???

• (Like) GWM Ora Good Cat rm140k.
    (Dislike) Proton X70 Premium rm123k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
  • seancorr on Jul 08, 2022 at 12:04 pm

Just came back from BKK after completing a project over there. Have not been able to even see one of these on their roads haha damn

• undercover peng on Jul 08, 2022 at 12:05 pm

Where is this car located now for the showroom?

• Phaser on Jul 08, 2022 at 12:47 pm

KIA Sephia
    KIA Carnival
    Proton Tiara

This has more chance of repeating their history than becoming the next great thing.

• SmartConsumer on Jul 09, 2022 at 8:16 am

This is already selling like hot cake in Europe la. Designed by head porche designer but at Honda’s price. Mana dapat? So far from reviews abroad, its a very good car. No kacau. Good range also

• Casual reader on Jul 09, 2022 at 1:30 pm

Add perodua nautica and bezza in that list

• It just show that the lack of commitment in reducing the global carbon footprint from the Malaysian government. Constantly reeking maximum profit from rakyat conscious & commitment to protect the environment.

• Casual reader on Jul 09, 2022 at 1:32 pm

What do u mean. Have given tax free and u still think it is expensive. News flash, EV is not cheap anyhow dumbdumb.if u cannot afford it work harder

• Dear casual dumbdumb reader that didn’t read the whole story. Didn’t you see the comparison price between here and Thailand? If fully duty free then why our neighbour is much cheaper?
        Highly likely there’s still some standard import duty fee that most people not aware of. Yes EV is not cheap, but it doesn’t mean EV can be 50% more expensive than equivalent ICE counterparts even after the so call duty incentive.
        Even if got money also have to think of its affordability, not simply bang your head on it and say “take my money pls”, be a wise consumer.

• Raymond on Jul 08, 2022 at 1:48 pm

Looks like a baby Porsche Taycan EV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • bieight8 on Jul 08, 2022 at 2:23 pm

Tax free also so expensive….

• “Tax free here, and I’ll tax u there” Sincerely your beloved gov.

• Copy Paste on Jul 11, 2022 at 5:22 pm

Copy paste: “News flash, EV is not cheap anyhow dumbdumb.if u cannot afford it work harder”

• EVs need to charged and our electricity tariffs not subsidized. Petrol RON95 is subsidized. Electricity tariff was supposed to increase in July but delayed for now. Will it be cheaper to drive an EV or an ICE car?

• Let me show a comparison:

My 2013 Alza RON95 – RM65 per week.
      My EV home charging – RM25 per week.

So, even with a slight tariff increase, I will not spend RM65/week like the Alza.

Don’t use DC Fast Charging unless you’re going on lots of roadtrips.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
      • Uncle on Jul 09, 2022 at 8:22 am

Short sighted, who want to buy your 2nd hand EV with old Motor and old powerbank?

• Interesting comparison… I might consider one in the distant future but I still believe that the hybrid is still the best compromise in terms of overall ownership and running cost.

• salem on Jul 09, 2022 at 10:16 am

1. 215/50R18 Tyres like Toyo also need RM2200 per set, don’t further downgrade because this is heavy and dangerous especially with 400nm.
        2. Powerbank degrades
        3. Electric motor degrades, just like household electronic appliances

Tamiya/drone also need good warranty support.

• AC charging is low tech, slow charging.
        If you are retired uncle stay @ kampung landed ok lah.

Many ppl stay condo, want high tech DC Fast charging.

• SCion on Jul 10, 2022 at 4:39 pm

It make no difference, if it can charge whole night while you sleep. The way u describe it is as if you will use the car 24/7 and do not sleep.

• May I know what is your Alza’s average fuel consumption? 12.7L/100km?

• pxp154 on Jul 08, 2022 at 3:44 pm

dont bother about the comparison. till 4ever argument but the main question is, got stock or not? HRV 1 year waiting list…. geely/proton parts pun xde… china OEM semua xde barang… huge demand-low supply

• ThaiEV on Jul 08, 2022 at 3:51 pm

Why is Thailand CHEAPER than Malaysia ….? Thought that wihtout Duties , etc it would be Cheaper. So ….. malaysian companies are looking to make more Profits at Consumers expense ?

• SmartConsumer on Jul 09, 2022 at 8:18 am

Thailand gov pandai earn money FOR their people. Our gov pandai make money FROM their people

• Lets See on Jul 11, 2022 at 5:24 pm

Interesting theory but why Thai ppl are still poorer than our B40?

• Why??? Because of Proton!!! Every other car is being taxed higher to support that creation. And everybody’s taxes is used to cover for their losses. It’s a known fact but many choose to ignore it and even many defended it. Probably they get a portion of those subsidised billions of ringgit.

• Stick on Jul 09, 2022 at 1:27 pm

Blatant copycat

• Monica on Jul 09, 2022 at 9:21 pm

140k…might as well get a new civic..screw the EV hype

• Tan yoke sin on Aug 15, 2022 at 10:13 am

I wish to have a EV car…