2023 Proton X90 spotted testing in Malaysia again – now with less camo; to get 1.5L TGDi three-cylinder?

It’s widely known that Proton will add a second SUV to its line-up, which will be a seven-seater based on the Geely Haoyue (also known as the Okavango in other markets). Over the past few months, several camouflaged prototypes of the model, which is popularly referred to as the X90, have been sighted on our roads.

This has happened once again, and the photos you see here come courtesy of paultan.org reader Lim Wei Leong, who spotted this X90 test vehicle somewhere in Melaka. Unlike previous sightings, this unit is dressed in less camouflage and bears a different trade plate.

As such, we get to see more of the SUV’s rear quarter windows and taillights, which resemble that of the Haoyue. The boxy profile is something we’re already familiar with, while the bumper, rear badges, wheel arches, belt line and part of the vehicle’s top section are all covered up.

Proton previously said at the launch of its new engine plant in Tanjung Malim that it will launch three new models between 2023 and 2024, and at least two of them will be powered by a turbocharged three-cylinder engine.

The X90 is one of three models on the way, and it will likely be revealed in 2023 as the company has already confirmed that the large SUV won’t be launched this year. In the Philippines, the Okavango is powered by a 1.5 litre turbocharged three-cylinder with a 48-mild hybrid system for 190 PS and 300 Nm, paired with a DCT driving the front wheels.

There’s a possibility we could get the mild hybrid engine, seeing how Proton showcased a 1.5 litre TGDi three-cylinder mill with a 48-volt belt-integrated starter generator (BSG) at its Gallery of Inspiration previously. A more likely path is for Proton to just skip the mild hybrid engine and use the the vanilla TGDi three-cylinder, which is now locally assembled for the X50 and X70 MC – the unit outputs 177 PS and 255 Nm in both Proton SUVs.

GALLERY: 2023 Proton X90 spyshots

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• newme on Aug 17, 2022 at 5:48 pm

No need 3 cylinder for 1.5 tan car. I think 2-stroke engine is enough.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
    • Alcatraz Ajibkor on Aug 17, 2022 at 7:41 pm

X90 is quite heavy..the 1.5 turbo may be a bit overstressed to power it.
      Anyway,bring it on.Lets see whether it lives up to its hype.

• Dun worry bro i will join u soon

• SmartConsumer on Aug 18, 2022 at 8:03 am

So are you engineer? This is 2021 la buddy. 1.5L with latest tech has lots of power. U r clearly still living in the past

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
      • reports say the X90 is lighter than the X70 despite its larger size.

• 1.5 turbo has more torque than 2 litre normally aspirated engine. And according to what i read, the weight of x-90 s about the same as x 70.

• Lol what is proton thinking having all 3 cars in a line up use the same small engine. This car should be a 1.8 4 cylinder at least, imagine how overstressed a 3 cylinder in a high state of tune will be.

• Engineer on Aug 19, 2022 at 5:00 pm

With people mover the important thing torque value and boy this small wonder engine has oodles of it in spades.

• Sohai on Aug 20, 2022 at 9:35 pm

P2 also uses the 1.5 from hatch to SUV to MPV..
        and you can see the same engine from Merc A class to E class .

• Cakapandai on Aug 19, 2022 at 11:09 am

As a neartheengine and keyboard as my precision tool, 3 cylinder 1.5L tebo for 1.5-1.7tonne car will be sufficient. Combine output with electric motor around 200hp will be just nice to haul people, esp to Genting..very important to pass this test, its the benchmark for Automotive Prowess.

talk kok sing song, as if most of us can afford this car, most probably around RM150k..

• David on Aug 17, 2022 at 7:00 pm

Why camo. Not cayenne anyway

• Why So Serious on Aug 18, 2022 at 9:05 am

Because this is nt a straight rebadge unlike perodua?

• It’s even funnier for cayenne to wear camo as Porsche cars don’t actually look all that different throughout generation.

• jajssnsn on Aug 18, 2022 at 5:29 pm

Its the small details that count. otherwise facelifted cars shouldnt have camouflage too despite the small changes

• Sigh... on Aug 17, 2022 at 7:50 pm

Wtf the engine. 3 cyl for real? Then the asking price will be what? Surely more expansive than X70 right.

Is this the direction for P1 in Malaysia? If you really don’t wanna make kereta rakyat better tarik the tongkat lah.

No need the F protection with that hefty price tag.

Property expansive like shyt.
    Car also same.

But salary like mother father.

Then someone will said ‘X suka blh keluar Malaysia’.

Gladly will bla if get the opportunity.

• that 3 cylinder engine is made in malaysia.

• tricycle on Aug 17, 2022 at 10:18 pm

Dear Geely/Proton 3-cylinder is lame. Either you put the new Geely 4 cylinder 1.6 turbo or the 4 cylinder 1.8 turbo as in x70. Give us AWD and full spec as well.

• Hope got awd version like x 70.

• Jeywork on Aug 18, 2022 at 5:44 am

Harga dia nanti mampu lihat

• To push so high hp n torque out from 1.5…….u need to do decarbonise frequently. Parts chsnge also expected to be more frequent.

• Nice huge car

• taboogen on Aug 18, 2022 at 8:02 am

2nd SUV or 3rd SUV?

• Mr Mar on Aug 18, 2022 at 8:02 am

Every 2-3 month will get an article of X90 spotted. Just launch la P1 no need to wait2 anymore

• Scrap Engine Reuse on Aug 18, 2022 at 8:04 am

Yet another diesel lorry wannabe.

• Haters gonna hate on Aug 18, 2022 at 8:25 am

Why David ? Not Donkey Kong anyway.

• Stupid rhetoric …. what to cover up about ? This car in youtube already can guess what the designed and specs . Proto a drama king

• One word : UGLY

• The center of excellence rebadge on Aug 20, 2022 at 8:18 pm

Meh
    Another rebadge car
    Boooooring

• helmi on Aug 21, 2022 at 12:00 pm

My experience with x50 3 cylinder turbo
    1. Noisy engine
    2. A bit lagging when you want to accelerate when you stop
    3. Gas guzzler. No match with 1.5 NA Japan model in term of fuel economy

• SmartConsumer on Aug 22, 2022 at 8:41 am

Gas guzzler? really? U comparing it to Myvi?
      Laggy yes. Most turbo cars got turbo lag. Can easily be fixed with remap and upgrade