Two brand new Proton models to get the 1.5L TGDi engine soon – X90 SUV in 2023, S50 sedan in 2024?

Proton’s new engine plant in Tanjung Malim currently assembles the 1.5L TGDi engine that is used in the 2022 X70 MC. However, the carmaker said yesterday that the facility is also capable of making other versions of the mill, including one with port injection (PFI) that is currently imported from China for use in lesser X50 variants.

For a brief recap, the 1.5L TGDi, which is also found in the X50 Flagship, makes 177 PS and 255 Nm of torque, while the 1.5T PFI serves up 150 PS and 226 Nm in the X50 Standard, Executive and Premium.

Speaking at yesterday’s launch, Proton deputy CEO Roslan Abdullah revealed the two 1.5 litre turbocharged three-cylinder engines will be vital to its product strategy. A slide displayed at the event depicted three new models set to be launched between 2023 and 2024, and we were told at least two of them will use a turbo three-cylinder.

Now, we already know that one of the upcoming models will be a three-row SUV (popularly referred to as the X90) based on the Geely Haoyue/Okavango. Originally set to be launched this year, the X90 has since been postponed to at least 2023 due to issues arising from the Covid-19 pandemic (movement control orders, supply chain problems).

In China, the Haoyue uses the same 1.8 litre turbo four-cylinder (181 PS and 300 Nm) in the X70, which is paired with a seven-speed dual-clutch transmission driving the front wheels. Over in the Philippines, the SUV is known as the Okavango and it gets a 1.5 litre turbo three-cylinder with a mild hybrid system for 190 PS and 300 Nm, also with the same drivetrain.

It’s possible the X90 gets the 1.5L TGDi engine without the mild hybrid system, but there’s also a likelihood that we do get the Okavango’s powertrain. Proton noted its new engine plant is designed to assemble electrified engines and it previously placed a 1.5L TGDi with a 48-volt belt-integrated starter generator (BSG) on display at its Gallery of Inspiration. If we do get the electrified powertrain, the X90 could be the first Proton model to sport a mild hybrid system.

The next model due in the coming years is rumoured to be a sedan called the S50 that replaces the C-segment Preve. Reportedly based on the fourth-generation Geely Emgrand, the S50 was recently sighted undergoing testing while wearing heavy camouflage.

The Emgrand is built on the same BMA (B-segment Modular Architecture) platform as the X50/Binyue, but unlike the SUV, the S50 could receive Proton’s own styling to distinguish itself from the car it’s based on.

It was previously reported that Proton will develop new models locally using the BMA platform, with company CEO Li Chunrong saying there will be two new models that are to be fully developed by homegrown talents in the next three to five years – this statement was made in 2020. Just how different the S50 will be compared to the Emgrand remains to be seen, if ever it becomes a reality.

In China, the Emgrand is equipped with a 1.5 litre naturally-aspirated four-cylinder petrol engine that serves up 114 PS (113 hp) and 147 Nm of torque, with a five-speed manual or CVT sending drive to the front wheels. The Philippines model uses the same powertrain, but its engine is detuned to make 102 PS (101 hp) and 142 Nm. Based on Roslan’s statement earlier, the S50 could come with a 1.5 litre turbocharged three-cylinder engine.

As for the third model, Roslan said back in May this year that the Exora would be given a more substantial facelift that potentially includes a new powertrain being introduced. The carmaker has already stopped R&D work on its CamPro engine family, with the CFE version currently used in the Exora RC likely to be phased out in favour of locally assembled 1.5 litre turbo three-cylinder engines.

A revised Exora isn’t an all-new model, so the third model shown could be the smart #1 that is due to arrive in 2023 to take advantage of EV incentives that expire at the end of next year for CBU EVs. The non-Proton model will be sold through Proton Edar and features a single rear motor that pushes out 272 PS and 368 Nm of torque, along with a 66 kWh battery that delivers a range of 535 km.

While Proton isn’t revealing what are the models it plans to launch over the next two years, it’s clear that turbo power will be prioritised. Which of the new models are you looking forward to the most? Share your thoughts in the comments below.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• meladam on Jul 06, 2022 at 11:33 am

last time with mitsu, honda, renault, suzuki… all dump into river. and now geely.. let see how far they can go

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
    • Muhammad Najmi on Jul 06, 2022 at 2:20 pm

As a Proton fan i disagree, Japanese cars usually are better…

So Proton should be more careful while working together with Geely …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • Sparcov on Jul 06, 2022 at 3:22 pm

This time slightly different when Geely already holding 49.9% of Proton. In fact, I believe they have already owned more than 50% of Proton and gain the controlling share.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
      • Xi Xin Ping Sr on Jul 06, 2022 at 4:38 pm

The Chinese with less than 50% share,cant dispute,dude.
        Everytime they bring in a Geely right handed version vehicle,DRB has to pay hundreds of Million of RM as “royalty”.Even with 49%,Geely is squeezing P1’s bola at ransom.They have new turbo engines.DRB has what? “Campro” engines dating from the Gen2…all donated to Jurassic Park to look out for dinosaurs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
      • Muhammad Najmi on Jul 08, 2022 at 9:45 pm

I read DRB’s Annual report and nope. They still have 50.1% of the Share ….

• Dah Menang Semua on Jul 06, 2022 at 11:39 am

(Like) Vios-DNGA, City-iVTEC
    (Dislike) S50 3-pots TGDI

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 25
    • Rossie on Jul 06, 2022 at 1:47 pm

City vtec kick in but slower than Myvi King and X50 Turbo..
      Susah

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Jul 06, 2022 at 4:11 pm

S50 2024 ???

Thailand launching the Vios DNGA this year; expect Malaysia will follow suit 2023. Perhaps City facelifting 2023 also. Therefore by 2024, all customers already gotten their Vios and City FL lo

• ROTI CANAI on Jul 06, 2022 at 11:40 am

asal got spare parts then ok.

• No more problem bro
      https://paultan.org/2022/07/04/proton-sold-60124-units-in-1h-2022-14787-units-sold-in-june-x50-and-x70-still-lead-b-c-segment-suvs/

• X90 priced below 150k otr plz
    At least companies can claim up to 100k lol

• Bella on Jul 06, 2022 at 2:26 pm

not so expensive,

compare Harga Philipines:

Geely Coolray X50 – P978,000-1,198,000
      TYT Avanza G – P 1,039,000 (❌ AEB, handbrake)
      TYT Veloz – P 1,185,000 – P 1,225,000 ( ✅AEB ✅E-Brake, ✅360cam, ❌ACC)
      Geely Okavango X90 – P1,208,000 – P1,478,000

• newme on Jul 06, 2022 at 11:54 am

I am still waiting for Proton Jebat, Lekir, Lekiu and Jebat introduced in 2010.

• OLdtech on Jul 06, 2022 at 12:07 pm

Whilst … the Wrold is going to EV ….. Proton is styill in ICE ….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
  • We put high hope after Geely comes in but seeing Proton customers are still suffering after sales service issues……………That’s the reason X70 or X50 has never come into my considering when I bought the XV.

• Azgarffield on Jul 06, 2022 at 1:52 pm

Yeah, a Subaru in Bolehland. Come back here to recount your ownership experience in 3 years :P

• M.Ahmad.Iran on Jul 06, 2022 at 12:44 pm

Saga 1.5 Turbo let’s go!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • Now… That’s a dream combination.
      Fun and absolutely DEADLY.

Deadly as in literally.

• Lay Tiong on Jul 06, 2022 at 12:51 pm

Now, we already know that one of the upcoming models will be a three-seat SUV (popularly referred to as the X90) based on the Geely Haoyue/Okavango.

Three-row u mean?

• Merrick on Jul 06, 2022 at 2:08 pm

“It was previously reported that Proton will develop new models locally using the BMA platform, with company CEO Li Chunrong saying there will be two new models that are to be fully developed by homegrown talents in the next three to five years – this statement was made in 2020. Just how different the S50 will be compared to the Emgrand remains to be seen, if ever it becomes a reality.”

– And i hope it does, come on Proton you need your own design will ya !

• What happen to Proton invested in the Petronas Engine Division?

https://paultan.org/2012/12/11/reports-proton-acquires-petronas-engine-technology/

Such a waste. Developing young talents and not using the potential of Petronas engines.

• sparcov on Jul 06, 2022 at 3:25 pm

The Petronas E01 engine were developed in 1997. The technology already obsolete by now.

Does not make any sense to use this engine anymore. By right, they should take this engine before using Campro on its own

• Disappointed on Jul 06, 2022 at 3:20 pm

So now Proton confirms that they will use the unwanted 1.5 3 cylinder engine into all their new models upcoming.

Bravo to this action for Geely to recover their invested money in designing the engine. Their own market throw this engine out and now we take their trash like it’s some gold treasure.

Real joke.

• LoL99 on Jul 06, 2022 at 4:18 pm

Toyota did the same also, if you hav some knowledge in automotive. As long it’s better than campro, why not.

• Why So Serious on Jul 07, 2022 at 1:53 pm

https://paultan.org/2021/03/24/geelys-1-5td-engine-everything-you-need-to-know-explained-by-cevt-powertrain-boss-hakan-sandquist/
      Tell that to Volvo will ya Joker.

• Autodriver on Jul 06, 2022 at 3:32 pm

It is good Proton roll out new models with better tech. But one thing Proton MUST improve is the spare part issue. We used to laugh at continental cars as they take longer time to get spare plus the car price is expensive. But nowadays the worst spare part availability is Proton. It is good move that Proton protect Proton SC where non of outsider or spare part shop can get any Proton parts. But this actually being more hassle to end user if Proton SC no spare part, customer also can’t get it repair outside even if customer willing to pay themselves or void warranty.

The X50 and X70 is highly protected. Imagine if car got problem no one can repair outside due to Proton not allow outside to buy their spare part. This is solely good to SC. Imagine even BMW and Merc we can get genuine parts outside SC but not Proton. The 2nd hand value of Proton will be surely affected because after 7 years how many people willing to repair at SC who charge premium price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • Jeremy on Jul 07, 2022 at 2:16 pm

I want to see which BMW or Merc or even any other brands that will not immediately void your warranty when they found you are not following the standard servicing schedule and/or using non authorised parts. If you tell me which brand it is and you will officially give me a black & white to affirm that you will not take actions against owners using nonstandard parts, I will immediately buy your car, SST added be damned.

• slow mo having to rely on chinese tech

• Carlzen18 on Jul 07, 2022 at 1:37 pm

did they all realised that the direct injection engine have valve carbon deposit inherent problem. most modern ice engine utilised dual port injection there days to eliminate the problem. so actually DI engines is now considered an old tech.

• RebadgeKing on Jul 08, 2022 at 7:19 am

Expansive 3 cylinder kancil

• is the name S50 already been confirmed?
    It’ll be dope if its named “Wira” or Putra