Geely Okavango – Philippines specs for Haoyue 7-seat SUV revealed; mild hybrid 1.5L turbo; from RM104k

The Geely Okavango will soon make its launch debut in the Philippines, and we now have full specifications of the seven-seat SUV thanks to AutoIndustriya. Essentially a renamed version of the Haoyue (pictured here) available in China, the Okavango will join the Azkarra (Boyue) and Coolray (Binyue) SUVs in the local line-up.

At launch, two variants will be offered, starting with the base Comfort that is reportedly priced at 1.208 million Philippine pesos (RM103,820), while the range-topping Urban is set to go for 1.328 million Philippine pesos (RM114,131).

Under the bonnet, both variants are powered by a 1.5 litre turbocharged three-cylinder petrol engine with a 48-volt mild hybrid system. The mill delivers 190 PS and 300 Nm of torque, and is mated to a seven-speed wet dual-clutch transmission driving the front wheels – there is no all-wheel drive option.

This setup is similar to what’s fitted to the range-topping Luxury variant of the Azkarra, and it differs from China’s Haoyue that is powered by a 1.8 litre turbo four-cylinder with 181 hp and 300 Nm, also with a seven-speed DCT.

Other commonalities between the two variants include three drive modes (Eco, Comfort and Sport), front MacPherson struts and rear multi-link suspension, an electronic parking brake with auto brake hold function, a 52-litre fuel tank and dimensions. On that last bit, the Okavango measures 4,835 mm long, 1,900 mm wide, 1,785 mm tall and has a 2,815 mm wheelbase, with a ground clearance of 194 mm.

The Comfort gets LED headlamps, DRLs, front and rear fog lamps and taillights, along with 17-inch aluminium-alloy wheels, heated side mirrors, triple-zone climate control with second- and third-row vents, fabric upholstery, a 10.25-inch touchscreen infotainment system, four speakers, manually-operated front seats, three individual second-row seats and a 50:50 split-folding third-row bench.

Step up to the Urban and the wheels become larger, 18-inch units, while the exterior gains roof rails and an auto fold function for the side mirrors. Inside, the speaker count is increased to eight, and there’s leather upholstery as well as power-operated front seats.

Safety-wise, it’s the Urban that comes with six airbags (front, side and curtain), with the Comfort limited to just the front two. The range-topper also gets a 360-degree camera as standard instead of a simple reverse camera, but otherwise matches the Comfort with stability systems, ABS, EBD, hill start assist and tyre pressure monitor.

Given a vehicle this size, practicality is an important aspect, and the Okavango should deliver on that front. There are 19 seat configurations possible, a double-layer console, 42 storage spaces as well as seats that can fold flat. Looking at the spec sheet, with all seats in their default position, there’s 257 litres of boot space, but this is increased to 1,200 litres when the third row is folded down, and goes even further to 2,050 litres with the second and third row down.

It all sounds like good value, but as far as we know, Proton hasn’t announced any intention to bring in the Haoyue to Malaysia. Should they though? Would you be interested in large, seven-seat SUV that is positioned above the X70 and the recently-launched X50? Let us know your thoughts in the comments below.

GALLERY: Geely Okavango teasers

GALLERY: Geely Haoyue

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• 25yrsOld on Nov 05, 2020 at 5:01 pm

Very nice, better value than overpriced Proton X50

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 38
    • John Celup on Nov 05, 2020 at 5:14 pm

Why not use Proton name there ? Takut tak laku?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 32
      • Laku what? Proton was never in Pinoy anyways.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
        • Civic Turbo 2018 on Nov 05, 2020 at 5:43 pm

(LIKE) Geely Haoyue T5
          (DISLIKE) Toyota Innova

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 13
        • Vader on Nov 05, 2020 at 7:47 pm

Cheap price. Geely was Pinoy natl carmaker.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
          • What natl carmaker? These are coming direct from China as CBU since Pinoy is LHD…. unless you mean Pinoy dah jual to China.

• Ghani on Nov 06, 2020 at 1:54 pm

These direct from China CBU sama rege Malaysia CKD Proton Coolray…. syukur P1 untung lebey.

• Actually the name “Okavango” is not specifically used in Philippines. It is the global name of “Haoyue” (can check at Geely global website). And yes, X70 is overpriced if we compare to Geely Atlas (X70) whish is selling at other countries. We could hv that X90 for the same price tag.

• Tuners 8488 on Nov 05, 2020 at 6:25 pm

Because Philippines is left hand drive country. Proton only focus on right hand drive countries.

• Kudamatabiru on Nov 05, 2020 at 9:28 pm

Pinoy is lhd

• Bruh... on Nov 05, 2020 at 5:31 pm

Just move to China or Philippine, or work hard & smart if you want to enjoy staying in MY. We don’t have the economic of scale like those countries here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • Pity x70 on Nov 05, 2020 at 6:44 pm

Pity those got older version geely in town.

• anime on Aug 27, 2021 at 10:53 am

what makes you think it’s gonna be priced at rm103K if it’s launched in Malaysia? I think it’s gonna be more pricier than x70

• hondaman on Nov 05, 2020 at 5:01 pm

ford kuga look alike

• YatPurdi on Nov 05, 2020 at 5:05 pm

Its about time… If i own a exora (same design 11 years just facelift only) back from when 1st it came out, same with my child, my child would now be Standard 5 already..

• lilytan on Nov 05, 2020 at 5:07 pm

Geely said they want proton to conquer SEA market. But now they also enter. What is this? Friendly fire? Should leave SEA to proton instead

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
    • SEA doesn’t consist of Pinoy alone you know….

• Ahcong on Nov 05, 2020 at 6:50 pm

Why? Proton need to switch the steering to left hand drive for Philippine market. Cost go up. Better direct import from Geely already left hand drive

• azrai on Nov 05, 2020 at 7:01 pm

LHD and RHD market lorr…just bashing for the purpose of bashing.

• Betol Tak? on Nov 06, 2020 at 8:00 am

Just change logo to Proton as left-hand drive version, tak boleh kah?

Then entire SEA market under Proton brand as their plan before. Malu aperr rebadge kurrr.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
        • Yeah right. Then haters like you would point fingers at Proton and shout at this “proof” to accuse them of being a rebadger. Nice try troll.

• Right hand drive countries only like Thailand, Singapore, Brunei and Indonesia.

• Pinoy is lhd..

• Have it occured to you that is because the Phillipines is a left hand drive market? Any left hand drive Proton you know of?

• Ex VGM staff on Nov 06, 2020 at 12:27 pm

Dear SMH, proton did produced LHD wiras for Europe, Vietnam and the Philippines.

France and Germany among the markets in Europe and the cars were known as 400 series (415, 416, 420) even as Persona.

Other than Wira, Proton also produced Exora, Gen2 and Saga FL for countries like Turkey, Chile and Egypt…go Google.

Problems with proton for Asean countries like Vietnam, Myanmar and Philippines is that it is lacking in image…no point trying to sell cars with the best handling, High tensile steel etc..

• chessnotcheckers on Nov 05, 2020 at 9:40 pm

Geely reported revenue of close to RMB 100 billion in 2019. Do your own fx conversion. Proton’s financial results are a rounding error in Geely’s books.

Geely paid cash of only RM170 million (presumably before transaction adjustments) for the 49% stake in Proton and injected another ~RM100 million cash into Lotus. What they want and what they got was the stake in Lotus. They paid a theme park’s ride to get Lotus. Whatever happens to Proton is just a sideshow to Geely, so before you bring your entitled perspectives onto Geely’s business moves, please use your brains.

• Red Karma on Nov 05, 2020 at 5:14 pm

X90?

• Brian on Nov 05, 2020 at 5:19 pm

Even if Proton were intend to bring this here, better wait for the safety system to be upgraded to ADAS Level 2 on par with X50.

• azrai on Nov 05, 2020 at 7:02 pm

A good market for this segment in Malaysia is in Sabah actually.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 05, 2020 at 7:15 pm

so cheap

• Fellow Malaysian on Nov 05, 2020 at 7:35 pm

To those who comment why don’t use Proton badge in the Philippines, please check your fact properly before bashing. Malaysia Proton is bought by Geely for Right Hand drive market expansion while Geely itself and China generally is Left Hand drive. The Philippines is a Left Hand drive market so using Geely to enter is perfectly correct and no conflict of interest or whatsoever. Proton is lucky to have Geely as a owner, why? Because as Geely owns Volvo, they are able to get all the technology transfer and sharing from Volvo to Geely and in rebadging Geely to Proton we are able to enjoy that technology almost immediately without further 1billion R&D and uncertain wether new product will succeed or not(1billion legendary petronas engine where are you?).

Off-topic: appeal to fellow Malaysians

Dear fellow Malaysians, please look out each other and learn from these China corporate, they are not your typical old fashioned China-man company anymore. Just around 10years ago the whole world look down on them, now if we don’t look up and learn from them, we will stuck behind forever and syok sendiri with jaguh kampung innovation. Right now US may be holding the world leader position but that was being uncontested ever since ww2. With the advancement and improvement over the years, nobody knows who is number 1 at current modern era until ww3 is fought but let’s hope ww3 is not military warfare but through economic domination.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 8
    • I bet you most of them(probably all?) never went to Pinoy or even knew Pinoy drove on right side. Typical kataks in well that croaks the loudest.

• longjaafar on Nov 05, 2020 at 11:51 pm

Long story short… let’s hope we all Msians booked that 85k Proton X50.. not Almera, Yaris, Civic and Alfad seken.

• Betol Tak? on Nov 06, 2020 at 7:55 am

Ok so why not as Proton left-hand drive then? Malu aperr tukar logo jer pun

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
      • Yeah yeah right. Then haters like you would point fingers at Proton and shout at this “proof” to accuse them of being a rebadger. Nice try troll.

• ThePolygon on Nov 05, 2020 at 7:36 pm

Wow.. how on earth they manage to sell this at RM104k? This is bigger than a Santa Fe.

• Apa la lu on Nov 06, 2020 at 6:57 am

Biggest brother only price ard RM 104k ?? The X50 already RM.103k here…. no need “national car” also can enjoy good price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
      • You want to enjoy good price? Go move there. Better yet, Haoyue only cost Rm62k as “national car” in China so why not move there? If Filipinos think like you, all of them should be moving there right? Go away together and leave us in peace.

• Sigh... on May 07, 2023 at 10:29 pm

Blh da jd YB si Alan nih. Ckp mcm menteri x suka klua Msia pnya style. Ape punya benak le. Sbb ada rmai mcm ko le, mrk2 ni suka tekan/scam lg.

Salah ke kalo kita blh dpt lebih baik?

• Direct CBU without any reengineering cost that Proton did for X70 and X50. IINM there is lesser taxation on car importation to there since it is LHD, unlikely it would be crowded out by cars from surrounding countries (driven at RHD).

• Santa Fe is overpriced.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 06, 2020 at 1:13 pm

pinoy tax not as crazy as ours.

• Firoz on Nov 05, 2020 at 8:04 pm

When geely 7 seater coming to malaysia

• Hello, Philippines left hand drive.

• To put this into perspective, in comparison of MY price with PH price (X50/Coolray);
    Geely Coolray 1.5 Comfort Turbo (PH: 978k (+-RM84.2k, actual MY:RM84,800 exc SST)
    Geely Coolray 1.5 Premium Turbo (PH: 1,088k (+-RM93.7k, actual MY:RM93,200 exc SST)
    Geely Coolray 1.5 Sport Turbo (PH: 1,198k (+-RM103.2k, actual MY:RM103,300 exc SST)

Clearly all are within 1% increase/decrease, depending which spec. Since we know Okavango price in PH, we can speculate;
    Okavango 1.5 Comfort (PH: 1,208k, est MY: RM103k-104k)
    Okavango 1.5 Urban (PH: 1,208k, est MY: RM114k-115k)

Considering the spec, quite a bargain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • Honda City 1.0Turbo on Nov 05, 2020 at 10:20 pm

https://paultan.org/2019/09/26/geely-coolray-officially-launched-in-the-philippines/

Pricing-wise, the range starts with the base Comfort variant that goes for 978,000 Philippine pesos (RM78,641), and is followed by the mid-spec Premium for 1,088,000 Philippine pesos (RM87,486) and the top-spec Sport for 1,198,000 Philippine pesos (RM96,331).

you may be right with the currency?
      but Philipino get 1.5TGDI, not the lousy 1.5TMPI.

• SilentReader on Nov 06, 2020 at 9:20 am

With such pricing, it will shake the 7 seater SUV market. Those looking for 7 seater SUVs wont mind if Haoyue or the Okavango (Proton X90?) is priced above the X70, RM120-135k should be the sweet spot for this and wont disrupt its siblings market.

• Overpriced, proton should sell cheaper

• Direct comparison doesn’t work, many fail to understand the cost of producing 100,000 cars vs the cost of producing 1,000 cars would totally be different. China market is way larger than Malaysia and Filipino gets them CBU from China.

• can this compete against x trail, Outlander, or even Tiguan , Sorento and Santa fe? i think its going to be a threat

• Jascha on Nov 06, 2020 at 2:45 pm

Why not? This can be our future X90 model to complete the P1’s SUV lineup.

• Avenger on Nov 06, 2020 at 3:40 pm

What kind of competition is that? Haoyue is larger than X70 while P1 upcoming SUV will be smaller than Aruz.

• Krisjohor on Nov 06, 2020 at 11:32 pm

“Okavango” – this word pronounced in Tamil connotes a really foul word : “oka” = four-letter and “vango” = come … !! There must be a very interesting story how this word was derived … It really would be an Indian salesman’s nightmare trying to sell it in Malaysia, Singapore, Tamilnadu, South India, Sri Lanka, etcetera… Jia hope Geely’s marketing department would be able to change the name before it goes virally brutal …

• So philippines with zero national cars sells their cars cheaper than our national cars,

• John Cheong on Nov 07, 2020 at 5:12 pm

Is the haoyue coming to Malaysia?

• PlaySafeDriveSafe on Nov 12, 2020 at 10:43 pm

This will be a good alternative for Malaysia’s full 7-seater SUV market (Mitsubishi Outlander, Nissan X-Trail, Hyundai Sante-Fe, VW Tiguan Allspace). Not to compete with Honda BR-V or Perodua Aruz/ Toyota Rush due to different segment.

• Proton was in the Philippines in 1994 under Proton Pilipinas. They only sold the Wira and IIRC, the financial crisis gave them the boot to leave.