Proton X90 seen in Malaysia – large 7-seater SUV based on Geely Haoyue on test, unique local styling?

The Geely Haoyue – or Okavango, as it’s known in international markets – has been widely tipped to be the basis of Proton’s next new model, and now we’ve got further proof. We spotted the seven-seater SUV on the North Klang Valley Expressway (NKVE) headed towards Subang, wearing Proton trade plates (they were previously seen on a Geely Binyue, which became the X50).

Although the test mule is covered in copious amounts of camouflage, the basic silhouette, door-mounted wing mirrors, “floating” roof rails and trademark rising shoulder line are recognisably the Haoyue’s. One thing of note is that the taillights appear to be slightly different from the Geely, while the number plate has been moved up from the rear bumper to the tailgate.

This suggests that Proton is finally making significant design changes to its Geely-based models, although this may be a red herring and could simply be part of the disguise. This is not the first time the Haoyue has been spotted in Malaysia – a reader also sent us a spyshot of the car earlier this year. Given Proton’s naming convention, could the new model be called the X90? It seems very likely.

The Haoyue is the largest SUV in Geely’s lineup and is available in five- and seven-seat variants – the latter with individually-adjustable seats. The utilitarian torsion beam rear suspension even allows enough space with the pews folded flat for an inflatable double bed, available as an option in China.

Power comes from the same 1.8 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine you’ll find in the X70, here making 181 PS and 300 Nm of torque. It’s all sent to the front wheels via a seven-speed dual-clutch transmission, again lifted from the X70.

As for the Philippines, the Okavango was launched there last year with the same 1.5 litre turbo three-cylinder and 48-volt mild hybrid setup as the Azkarra (Boyue Pro), churning out 190 PS. Prices range from 1,208,000 pesos (RM102,000) to 1,328,000 pesos (RM112,100).

So, what do you think – is the new Proton X90 worthy of your consideration, given what the Geely Haoyue offers? Sound off in the comments after the jump.

GALLERY: Geely Haoyue/Okavango

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Dong Gor on Nov 01, 2021 at 6:53 pm

Two more months to March to the end year 2021…can proton still make it to launch a new model per year as promised?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • awg1031 on Nov 01, 2021 at 11:08 pm

Sell here below rm107k

• Lets See on Nov 02, 2021 at 7:57 am

X50 came out late Nov. So why not?

• Cannn… Launch first, then sell 1 month later. Like Intel Alder Lake procs.

• lithium on Nov 02, 2021 at 9:54 am

i think a geely based mid-size MPV to replace the exora makes more market sense than a big suv. 7 seater big suv are less convenient for families with small children and elderly when compared to an mpv where the platform for suv is too high for getting into and out of the car and also the ride comfort is normally not as good as a softer mpv. also if you look at the mpv sector, mid-size choices are limited for new cars – only left with aging alza, exora and higher up the nissan serena. its a market waiting to be tap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 12
      • intermilan206 on Nov 02, 2021 at 9:15 pm

These concerns have been highlighted since they broke the news (through various automotive news site) that Jiaji MPV isn’t coming. MPV body style is not in trend, so if you want 7 seaters, you have to get SUV.

They leads us to believe survey was done and the outcome was more people want 7-seater SUV than 7-seaters MPV. Duh?

In the end, they thought its better to bet on the trend rather than the actual needs of real customers who looks for 7 seaters in the first place.

Affordable mid-premium MPVs have practically vanish. Most that are still around seems to move into premium pricing (higher profit margin) which worsen the sales figure and their perception on market demands.

Mid-premium full-size MPV (price range RM180-240K?) is a segment waiting for revival.

Specifically Proton, they need Exora replacement but I guess they can’t be bother. They are full-on the SUV gravy train.

Have I mentioned SUV simply don’t work as a practical proper 7-seaters?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
        • donno on Nov 03, 2021 at 12:36 pm

If the jiaji does not come as the exora replacement, it will be at proton’s loss.

the haoyue isn’t really what people would buy if wanting and MPV.

many would be intimidated to drive such a large SUV daily.

There is still a strong market for MPVs such as Exora in malaysia. When other companies are leaving the segment (like no more stream and wish), proton should make the segment its own. Without exora, the market for toyota noah, nissan serena, honda stepwgn will boom.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • Pengawai Am Sekolah on Nov 02, 2021 at 1:46 pm

Proton should considered making pick-up truck instead of another SUV, listen to consumer wind of change

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 21
      • JOACHIM on Nov 02, 2021 at 10:59 pm

So how many pickups did others sold vs SUV? Pickups are niche while any mom & pop seem to be getting an SUV or two.

• tanah segera masin on Nov 03, 2021 at 12:34 pm

Come to Borneo, countryside, estates, town, Cameron Highlands, Bangsars, there are more pickups than any suv sedan or hatchback on the road. Pickups are niche?

• Western Star on Nov 01, 2021 at 6:57 pm

Alza killer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 23
  • Harun on Nov 01, 2021 at 7:25 pm

Waiting for comparision with Mitsubishi Outlander.

• Outlander size 4695mm x 1810mm x 1680mm, Torque 196Nm @ 4200rpm.

X90 size 4835mm x 1900mm x 1780mm, Torque 226Nm @ 1500rpm

• 1.5L turbo X50 is 80-100k
    1.8L turbo X70 is 95-120k
    I was hoping
    2.0L turbo X90 largest suv at 110-140k with 7 seater option will be ideal I think
    If price goes higher bear in mind there will be many more option available. Competition tougher

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
    • benard on Nov 01, 2021 at 10:46 pm

In the Philippines, the Haoyue is sold at a price lower than the Boyue (X70)

If sold in Malaysia the Haoyue should be the same, same price or cheaper than the X70.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
      • Correct. Haoyue is not that expensive, made affordable premium.

At the moment, the Geely Haoyue is priced from CNY 103,600 (~RM 67k) to CNY 139,600 (~RM 90k), while the Boyue is priced between CNY 89,800 (~RM 58k) to CNY 142,800 (RM 92k).

• Donno on Nov 01, 2021 at 7:40 pm

This car overlaps the X70 too much, price-wise.

Ideally Proton should just replace the X70 with the Haoyue, probably just transfer the whole Haoyue line to malaysia as it is not a good seller in China anyway. But that would cause trouble to Proton’s Pakistani X70 CKD plans.

I really believe a 7 seater SUV at the price of the current X70 will be a great seller in malaysia. It would surely be a bestseller in sabah and sarawak.

Also the longer Haoyue body would be a good base to create a unibody twin-cab pickup as a spiritual successor to the Proton Arena. Should be much more better looking than the very weird looking Geely Farizon FX.

If the Haoyue comes as an additional model (not to replace the X70 outright), probably should name it as X80, as the X90 name in my opinion should be reserved for a top of the range SUV like the Geely Xingyue L.

Another question. Is proton bringing this Haoyue in addition the the Geely Jiaji, or instead of it? As the next new launch for proton is supposed to be the Exora replacement.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 5
    • RyanT on Nov 01, 2021 at 9:04 pm

Based on your logic, bmw should replace the X5 with the X7 too ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 85
      • donno on Nov 01, 2021 at 10:56 pm

Is the X5 priced similar to the X7??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
        • Lets See on Nov 02, 2021 at 7:59 am

You presume X90 will be priced similar to X70 which it won’t.

• donno on Nov 02, 2021 at 5:32 pm

repost jon comments above

” Correct. Haoyue is not that expensive, made affordable premium.

At the moment, the Geely Haoyue is priced from CNY 103,600 (~RM 67k) to CNY 139,600 (~RM 90k), while the Boyue is priced between CNY 89,800 (~RM 58k) to CNY 142,800 (RM 92k). “

• Lets See on Nov 02, 2021 at 11:04 pm

Boyue prices in China is around X50 here, so logic dictates X70 to be priced one segment higher, and X90 to be priced one segment above that. There will not be much overlaps if any.

• RyanT on Nov 02, 2021 at 8:37 am

xDrive40i only rm80k difference for x5 n x7, the price ratio difference is almost same as x50 n x70…so u propose to bmw to get rid of x5 la…haaa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
          • donno on Nov 02, 2021 at 5:30 pm

i am not talking and comparing X50 with X70.

• The problem is, it’s front wheel drive. It needs an AWD option to be considered seriously in East Malaysia

• donno on Nov 02, 2021 at 9:13 am

There is an AWD version of the Haoyue in China.

• typical sama on Nov 02, 2021 at 10:36 am

4wd for sarawakians, yes but most sabahan, no. I’d say only 5% of Sabah 4wd actually went offroad with the intention of reaching remote village. Most 95% use 4wd as family driving with occasional long distance driving.

Then again I’m based in KK so my perception of 4wd are what you’ve read above. My family’s fortuner is only use for long distance driving and family car while I’m an advocate of estima/vellfire for large families.

• syabahunn on Nov 02, 2021 at 12:56 pm

I don’t think most younger generation care about that. Besides, if you’re looking for car with awd, most here (in Sabah) would probably advise you buy pickup truck instead, because awd is basically 4wd so when it’s 4wd, we’ll assume that the car is meant to do some rough riding. SUVs is a bit of “rich man’s car” and shouldn’t be considered to drive on rough condition at all – I believe this is the mindset. Unless, if the SUVs is (state’s) gov car, (like fortuner), then, yes.. it’s acceptable to drive on rough roads.

• Lets See on Nov 02, 2021 at 11:06 pm

X70 did came with AWD version. It did not sell well enough for Proton to retain it.

• mirage on Nov 01, 2021 at 10:52 pm

I think there is no place for 2 SUVs of similar price and size in Proton lineup.

Malaysian market is too small for that.

If this Haoyue is launched, it will just eat up the market of the Proton X70. Even though it is just 3 years old, the X70 now looks so much dated, when compared to X50 or even the Haoyue

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • Since the based model of both X70 and soon to be X90 are both available here in the Philippines courtesy of Geely I can assure you it is a completely different car that has is target people to market.

Though I can say that when the Okavango (Haoyue) launch here it somehow overshadow the Azkarra (X70) – but as mentioned they have different target market since here top of the line Azkarra is the most expensive among the available model here in the PH.

As an owner of Geely Okavango (Haoyue) it is really a good car I myself is 5’10” in height and I can seat comfortably on the third row – I not familiar what kind of car culture you have there in Malaysia but in Philippines we want a big family MPV/SUV so for those who can’t afford those big 7 seater SUV such as Fortuner etc. Pinoys opted for MPV’s and Okavango (Haoyue) is shaking up competition here due to it’s price and feature tech that even the top spec Toyota Innova here cannot matched.

The article forget to mentioned that we have three variants here with top of the line cost MYR 121,478.04 – it includes Panoramic Sun/Moon Roof, Adaptive LED and a much bigger instrument panel.

We are expecting a new model from Geely PH probably by of this year or early next year – and based on their website we “might” get a sedan which is the “Geely Emgrand” and the newly release “Geely Xingyue L”

• Im pretty sure their bring the haoyue instead of the jiaji and maybe the would released a facelift version of the x70 like the bouye x or the bouye pro as it is the most realistic option

• Jinggo on Nov 01, 2021 at 7:42 pm

if the price tag is more than 120k than we are scammed to the max here..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
    • Mr Fakta on Nov 01, 2021 at 10:31 pm

It will. Don’t forget they have a lazy partner and workforce to bela. In the Philippine, you don’t have this issue.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 28
      • Lets See on Nov 02, 2021 at 8:00 am

You stupid or something. In Phy, this car is CBU from China as both are left hand driven.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • I don’t see this costing anywhere less than 140k for the mid spec model. Proton seems to be completely ignoring the huge market for B & C segment cars priced below their X50. I wonder why. I guess that means Iriz and Persona will be in production for another 30 years then.

• I’m sure that’s not the case. Maybe they’re in fact in the midst of developing a B segment in-house while the updated persona/iriz soldier on. Suv is in trend so they’re pretty smart to take advantage of that first.

• I mean why would they add an b and c segment car when they already have the persona and iriz

• Beefy. This should be nice to look at on the road.

• Albert Einstein Senior on Nov 01, 2021 at 8:35 pm

This X90 looks much much more apetising than the X70.
    Proton,bring it on.The competition is getting hotter.

• I prefered they rebadging Geely Xingyue L for Proton X90.

• Xingyue l is probably to luxurious for the proton brand at the moment

• Devan Xingfang on Nov 02, 2021 at 7:50 am

No AWD available, just a typical mere 7 seater like Peugeot 5008.. what a waste

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
    • Lets See on Nov 02, 2021 at 11:09 pm

X70 did came with AWD version. It did not sell well enough for Proton to retain it.

• Faris on Nov 02, 2021 at 9:07 am

Rm112k…? Very expensive for China brand. Surely this size will overtake other model.
    Xpander 92k, later will come BRV 2022

• Ahmad Afifi on Nov 02, 2021 at 9:23 am

Helllllyaaaaaaa …..

• newuser on Nov 02, 2021 at 11:11 am

We want jiaji…we dont want this haoyue…jiaji looks more premium…alza killer??hopefully it will be priced same as current Alza..i will buy it…hahahahahaha

• To sell cheaper is only when geely is able to market on its own establishments. Riding on proton means buyers have to pay more to geely and huge commissions to proton. Buyers have to pay double for services too and thats one of the reasons labour for minor/lube service costs rm70 for 10 minutes job.

• SYAIFUL NIZAM BIN HASSAN on Nov 02, 2021 at 11:28 am

Finally! Rear plate recess is moved from rear bumper to tailgate for upcoming Proton X90 (Malaysian Version of Geely Okavango)! Hidup Proton!!

• Jumbuck on Nov 02, 2021 at 12:12 pm

Can somebody photoshop the Haoyue into a pickup/ute like the Hyundai Santa Cruz or Fiat Toro?

https://paultan.org/2021/07/13/2022-hyundai-santa-cruz-pricing-revealed-fr-rm100k/

https://paultan.org/2015/12/16/fiat-toro-pick-up-truck-official-image-of-rear-released/

• Proton should put another 2.0L turbo range to this. If follow 1.8L then no diferent than X70 except bigger and heavier

• Saleem Mazher on Nov 02, 2021 at 5:52 pm

Well frankly speaking while Proton X70 looks like and SUV, the upcoming X-90 looks more like an MPV platform than an SUV. Given its long wheel base It should have bigger wheelers and better clearance to give it that SUV look.

• This would be more of an Innova competitor, so expect this to benchmark Innova and undercut it in price.

• Cuckoo bird on Nov 03, 2021 at 11:36 am

Not a big fan of large SUVs. But if this comes next in the lineup then I hope we get the one with the hybrid motor. This will justify proton placing a higher price tag on the x90 vs x70 as to not place them in the same price bracket.

Now what I’m more interested is what’s next in the lineup after this. I really hope proton will be asking for the geometry kungfu cow ev. They can really be the market leader in ev transition in Malaysia and would eat up a huge Market share if they act first. They can also upsell the wall fast chargers to be installed in the homes of the car buyers.

There is already a problem in Europe where ice vehicles have no demand in the used market and EVs hardly depreciating in value.

• Suhaimi Tajin on Nov 08, 2021 at 2:09 pm

Proton should strongly consider bring in Jiaiji instead of Houyue as planned earlier. Exora is too old. Max refreshment already. Time to rest it and for a replacement model. Will offer strong value proposition in Malaysian market. They want practical MPV for daily use that can seat 7 people.

• Suhaimi Tajin on Nov 08, 2021 at 2:21 pm

Exora should be put to rest. Jiaji should replace it. I even have a name for it. ExoJi…

• masam manis on Nov 17, 2021 at 1:56 pm

rival cx8 tiguan allspace santa fe kia sportage..bring it on!!

• Embek on Nov 29, 2021 at 3:06 am

Geely boleh membajak ke macam tractor belarus. Org melayu , arab kata kuda boleh transport aND cari rezki. Pakat dengan NAFAS

• Guest on Dec 01, 2021 at 10:35 am

Chinese car companies make great revolution, time for chinese to swallow. Proton only knows to do marketing for the chinese cars to survive. Chinese knows how to squeeze and ride

• Guest on Dec 01, 2021 at 10:36 am

Chinese showing them how to sell.

• Kai Ling on Apr 12, 2022 at 7:37 pm

I’m waiting the X90 car in Malaysia

• Kai Ling on Apr 12, 2022 at 7:38 pm

I’m waiting the X90 car in Malaysia

• XanderXXX on Aug 08, 2022 at 5:47 pm

X50 is on the right track..but..X70?X90?..X70 should be 7seaters while X90 as 9seaters..next could be X11 that can compete with Kia Grand Carnival 11seaters for global market..otherwise named it X7-11..