2022 Perodua Alza AV now supports Apple CarPlay – for existing cars, it will be activated during service

The 2022 Perodua Alza AV now supports Apple CarPlay. We have received confirmation from Perodua that the carmaker has obtained the necessary certification and approval from Apple to now roll out the function.

The Alza AV was launched with an upgraded 9.0-inch touchscreen head unit with wired Android Auto connectivity, the first Perodua model to feature AA. Then, the Apple CarPlay function was not enabled as Perodua had submitted documents for MFi certification for CarPlay, and was waiting for approval from Apple.

The certification involves three stages of development, with various quality and performance tests in each to ensure that the infotainment unit functions as intended when CarPlay is running. According to literature regarding the certification process, Apple estimates that the MFi Program certification process will take at least four months.

Android Auto on the Alza AV’s 9.0-inch display – click to enlarge

How about cars that are already delivered? Apple CarPlay will be “turned on” for you the next time you bring your car for servicing or inspection. iPhone users, remind the service centre. Once again, Android Auto and Apple CarPlay are only for the Alza AV – the mid-spec H also gets a 9.0-inch touchscreen head unit, but it’s the older system found in the Ativa. Check out our spec-by-spec variant breakdown here.

Now that it’s onboard, wired Apple CarPlay joins the list of first-for-Perodua features on the new Alza. The others are Android Auto, electronic parking brake with auto brake hold, rear disc brakes (part of the EPB package), a 360-degree panoramic view monitor and Drive Modes (Eco, Normal, Sport). The two latter features have dedicated buttons on the steering.

Check out our walk-around videos below as well as our full launch report of the all-new Alza.

GALLERY: 2022 Perodua Alza AV

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• CalCheese on Aug 18, 2022 at 10:41 am

Yes, first time to see Perodua come out with both AndroidAuto and Apple CarPlay. Kudos to P2 as national carmaker

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 33
  • newme on Aug 18, 2022 at 11:00 am

High income Apple users that appreciate the feature won’t be driving an Alza.

Low income Apple users mostly likely won’t know what an Apple carplay is. They only use the phone for tiktok and to play some lowly games while flashing it to show off to their peers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 23
    • Sohai on Aug 18, 2022 at 8:57 pm

I know you don’t mean what you say because nobody is this ignorant.
      But just to prove your point wrong, I am Apple User who has booked an Alza.
      And my observation is quite different. Most People who use expensive phone and change phone every year are those who are not rich (probably that’s why they are not because of bad decisions).
      And the toy that rich people play with is not phone.
      And ya, I am not rich…

• P1 ultimate kipas susah mati on Aug 18, 2022 at 11:02 am

Meanwhile p1 waste money to “develop” scammy and crappy atlas

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 21
  • Elon Fanboi on Aug 18, 2022 at 11:06 am

How about Proton car? Hmm…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
  • Good Job Perodua for giving what the users really use and need. Not that atlas OS with no AppleCarplay / Android Auto support!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 21
  • Win liao lo. That dinosaur Exora on the other hand….

• So rich Alza owners from B40 or M40 should not be subsidized petrol as I am the T20 also using huawei phone rm2k only instead of iphone rm12k!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 9
    • Mr Mar on Aug 18, 2022 at 3:12 pm

so what’s your point ? rm2k huawei phone is nothing compared to your large mansion, supercar and luxury watch

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
    • Elon Fanboi on Aug 18, 2022 at 5:19 pm

Apa yg ko merepek ni!? U can get less than RM1000 for 2nd hand iphone. And nowadays, not many people use Huawei phones bcoz no google play store.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 24
    • many pipu got buy used ipong 7, 8, X.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 21
    • Autodriver on Aug 20, 2022 at 10:15 am

You must be drunk. Most of the time Android Auto and Apple Carplay come together since they using same hardware only different OS. Since new Alza got AA it is just a courtesy to apply CP. I believe most new Alza owners are using android and they use AA. You are using Huawei is your own choice, why can’t M40 and B40 using IPhone. The latest IPhone SE is below RM 3k and it can use Carplay.

Not everyone is using latest IPhone, many people love IPhone because it can easily last 2 or 3 years and the OS and battery still stay strong.

Btw it is sorry that none of Huawei support Android Auto unless download AA from APK which is a risk to expose to none trusted apps.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
  • Autodriver on Aug 20, 2022 at 10:23 am

My current car got Android Auto and Apple Carplay for years. I didn’t know it is so important until I seen many people actually looking for it. It is a great job to Perodua setting its very first AA and CP in new Alza. Now people can get rid of sticking phone holder, can play Spotify or YouTube music and sound come from car speakers instead of phone speaker. The map display in AA or CP is much easier to read due to larger screen than phone.

Another important thing is Perodua outrun Proton broken Atlas OS in all aspect.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • Alza buyer on Sep 05, 2022 at 6:57 pm

Went to 1000km service/inspection but told by perodua cyberxxxx need go branch like putrajaya or bukit puchong to activate apple car play

• why i cant connect the Bluetooth