2022 Mercedes-Benz C-Class CKD in Malaysia – up to RM17k less than CBU; minor changes; from RM288k

2022 W206 Mercedes-Benz C300 AMG Line (CBU)

The fifth-generation W206 Mercedes-Benz C-Class was first launched in Malaysia as a fully-imported (CBU) model back in February this year. Shortly after going on sale, we reported that the executive sedan was sold out in March, and that the C-Class’ order book has since been switched to the locally-assembled (CKD) version that will be introduced in the second half of 2022.

It appears a launch could take place soon, as Mercedes-Benz dealers in Malaysia have begun posting up spec sheets with pricing for the W206 CKD, which will once again be offered in two variants just like its CBU counterpart.

2022 W206 Mercedes-Benz C200 Avantgarde (CKD) spec sheet; click to enlarge

The range starts with the C200 Avantgarde that retails at RM287,888, making it RM12,000 less when compared to the SST-inclusive price of the CBU version. The range-topping C300 AMG Line is also cheaper in CKD form, as it is priced at RM327,888 – full RM17,000 less.

In terms of equipment, the CKD variants are nearly identical to the CBU ones, although there are still some minor differences. The powered boot on both CKD variants now come with hands-free access, and the safety kit now includes Pre-Safe, which is the carmaker’s anticipatory occupant protection system.

2022 W206 Mercedes-Benz C300 AMG Line (CKD) spec sheet; click to enlarge

As for engines, the two available variants are powered by turbocharged four-cylinder units that feature an integrated starter generator (ISG) capable of providing a boost of 20 PS (20 hp or 15 kW) and 200 Nm.

The C200 gets a M254 1.5 litre mill that serves up 204 PS (201 hp) from 5,800 to 6,100 rpm and 300 Nm of torque from 1,800 to 4,000 rpm. Higher up the line-up, the C300 gets the 2.0 litre version of the M254 with 258 PS (255 hp) and 400 Nm from 2,000 to 3,200 rpm. A 9G-Tronic nine-speed automatic transmission is standard for both engines. We’ve already sampled both, so do check out our written and video reviews.

GALLERY: 2022 W206 Mercedes-Benz C200 Avantgarde (CBU)

GALLERY: 2022 W206 Mercedes-Benz C300 AMG Line (CBU)

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Mango on Aug 22, 2022 at 9:09 pm

Volvo S60 is better

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 11
    • Santan on Aug 23, 2022 at 12:11 am

Nothing can beat that Merz 1.5 litre powertrain rm80 roadtax only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 44
      • RyanT on Aug 23, 2022 at 10:14 am

I don’t think u are a successful businessman

• john is otak batu on Aug 23, 2022 at 1:22 pm

I’m a trash collector in Singapore.Not successful. Can I buy?

• RyanT on Aug 23, 2022 at 7:49 pm

Work harder trash collector…rm10k a month is nothing la pls

• CIMB security excellence on Aug 23, 2022 at 8:27 am

How is the Volvo better?

• Polar Bear on Aug 23, 2022 at 11:33 am

– Better fuel consumption
        – Faster
        – Reliable
        – Cheaper than C Class
        – Many more

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 5
        • Most importantly, safety! Volvo’s advanced safety system is standard across its range!

• Lan Chee Yeow on Mar 11, 2023 at 5:53 pm

Certainly almost all cars are better than the locally assembled lower range (C class etc) Mercedes. But there are still Suckers who continue to buy the three pointed star badge at a price not worth looking considering the quality and spec that comes with it. Imagine a C class costing close to a 5 series BMW ckd, when C class hardly matches or just be on par with a 3 series BMW.

• Mango on Aug 22, 2022 at 9:11 pm

3 Series is also better but rather than this

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 5
    • mingKor on Aug 23, 2022 at 11:30 am

For G20 330i i don think so. G20 technology is very old. nothing much compare to F20, lets wait for 2023 3 series. that look better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
  • No Distronic Plus/Adaptive Cruise Control for C200/C300?
    No 360 Camera for C200?
    missing Harman Kardan/Bose/Burmester?
    only auto high beam, not adaptive headlamp like EQA.

1st looks is cool, but 2nd look the dashboard & console is too large with alot plastic surface area. A bit too complex and non luxury style minimalist.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 2
  • Me too on Aug 22, 2022 at 9:54 pm

Haha c200 almost could get you a 330i. C300 could almost get you a 530e.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 0
  • anonymous on Aug 22, 2022 at 10:01 pm

insane to me that Mercedes made a new car to be sold, packed it with a ton of new tech only for all of it to be scrapped for its Malaysia launch. even more insane is that people still buy them. you do you bestie, couldn’t be me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • RyanT on Aug 22, 2022 at 11:14 pm

Just go for Japanese D-segments, save u rm90-100k…peace of mind

• Mr Fakta on Aug 23, 2022 at 12:07 am

Just wait for the 3 series LCI

• only 40k difference, no reason not to go for c300.
    c200 is such a waste of time.

• ThePolygon on Aug 23, 2022 at 7:27 am

With this pricing, I guess everyone moving down to A-Class.

• AppleTree on Aug 23, 2022 at 10:22 am

A Class? too compact and very bad quality. just try close their 4 doors and u know what i meant.

sorry, i mean you can’t close the door. You have to slam it to close.

• Unsatisfactory C Class Owner on Apr 03, 2023 at 10:00 pm

Never buy Mercedes, one of dangerous to own after one month driving

• SmartConsumer on Aug 23, 2022 at 8:25 am

50k price hike since 2 years ago. Only stupid fool will pay this extra money for European inflation. Buy asian cars instead during this global economic crisis as non western countries has the least inflation

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • JOACHIM on Aug 23, 2022 at 10:14 am

LOL Are you sure its not the other way round? Conti cars been getting cheaper with CKD incentives meantime Jap Dsegment used to cost rm150k now it is about rm200k.

• SmartConsumer on Aug 23, 2022 at 10:51 am

Which conti cars is getting cheaper? Please give me 1 example. I have been buying conti since 20 years ago. I’m very familiar with prices of BMW and mercedes.

• conti car on Aug 23, 2022 at 4:17 pm

lol doest sound like you have been buying conti car for 20 years bmw sold the e90 320 sport for 248k when launch now the 320 sport is only 241k and the 335i was sold for 510k when launch but the modern day equivalent m340i only selling for 390k so yes conti car has become cheaper.

• SmartConsumer on Aug 24, 2022 at 8:49 am

Clearly you know nothing. F30 was sold at 238k stupid. E90 248 k hahahahaha. you look stupid bro, malu wei

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
        • Eh right here wat. From near RM 300k down to 287k. Is that not cheaper or do you need help in maths?

• Bobby on Aug 23, 2022 at 8:53 am

Well, above average ppl will take this. Congrats to those who own this beauty, and enjoy your ride.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
    • Truth Seeker on Aug 23, 2022 at 10:52 am

Poor Mercedes salesman spotted..Hahahahaha..Good try

• anonymous on Aug 23, 2022 at 1:58 pm

above average consumers are also smart so they won’t go for this tin kosong specced Mercedes. the C300 doesn’t even have the upgraded speakers like come on now that’s got to be a joke right?

• Lan Chee Yeow on Mar 11, 2023 at 5:55 pm

Business must be hard selling overpriced and under-performing ckd scrap Mercedes which drives slower than a Passat..

Never buy Mercedes, one of dangerous to own after one month driving

• Selection on Aug 23, 2022 at 10:00 am

Like previous gen, the compact sedan still have small legroom.

C300 Amg Line, curious how it get a dual tone seat design designed like a cocooning baby Car seats.

very far off from expected AMG seats, which also made as AMG gaming seats:
    https://paultan.org/2022/08/08/mercedes-launches-the-new-amg-office-chair/

• abdullah on Aug 23, 2022 at 11:25 am

CKD version still not adding back any good feature. Burmester,HUD, digital Light beam,etc. and price almost same as CBU. only fool will buy it.

better go for Recond Full SPec with even cheaper price

• The basic car already comes well equip vs Jap peers, so some would be satisfied and rather trade all those extra gadgets for a valid warranty and servicing with genuine spares.

• seancorr on Aug 23, 2022 at 6:46 pm

Damn they didn’t bring back the Burmester sound system nor did they include the Digital Lights in the C300 but the price shot up like no tomorrow.

Never buy C Class or any of Mercedes, one of dangerous to own after one month driving

• Feeling same as you. No more buying mercedes after my gle have so many problems