TNB and Mysuri Biz EV taxi collaboration – first cabs in TeksiKu service due out in Nov, 1,000 units planned

Tenaga Nasional (TNB) and Mysuri Biz Technologies are set to collaborate on a programme to deploy 1,000 electric vehicles (EVs) as taxis in the country. According to Mysuri Biz Technologies CEO Mohd Noor Ghazali, the first of these EV taxis are slated to begin operating in November.

Speaking to paultan.org at the two-day 5th International Sustainable Energy Summit (ISES) 2022 at the Kuala Lumpur Convention Centre yesterday, he said that coverage will initially centre around the Klang Valley as well as Langkawi, which environment and water (KASA) minister Datuk Seri Tuan Ibrahim Tuan Man previously said is one of the starting points earmarked by the government for its push towards electrification.

The service, which will eventually be introduced to other states, will be offered by the company under the TeksiKu banner. Teksiku is an ride-hailing mobile application developed and managed by MySuri, a Cyberjaya-based platform service provider, for taxis and rental cars.

Mohd Noor said that the EV taxis are aimed at transforming the public transport service, and the programme would enable taxi drivers to adopt new technologies without the need to fork out a large investment. He said that the EVs will be made available to drivers under a lease-to-own scheme via the Koperasi Jurupandu TeksiKu cooperative.

The MG ZS EV, an example of which was on show at the event, will form the basis of the initial fleet, but there are intentions to eventually add the BYD e6 (which was spotted in a TeksiKu ad) into the programme. Mohd Noor said a deal for that is still being discussed.

In general, charging infrastructure support in the public domain will be provided by TNB, but Mysuri will also implement a network of chargers for taxi drivers to recharge their vehicles. Incidentally, the EV taxis will all wear the striking yellow exterior, reminiscent of NYC’s cabs, as seen on the display vehicle. Mohd Noor said that this will make the EVs easily identifiable and also differentiate them from regular hired vehicles.

Bookings for the service, when it eventually kicks off, can be made via the TeksiKu app, but the company will also set up electronic kiosks in strategic locations (for example, in airports and stations within the rail network) to enable those without the app to easily secure a ride.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Bossku would be proud

• History Bender on Sep 02, 2022 at 9:57 am

Indeed he would have launched this if people had not played gutter politics and took us backwards.

• Got gov support on Aug 31, 2022 at 2:27 pm

Good. Got funding. Good

• Bieight8 on Aug 31, 2022 at 2:50 pm

Should use mercedes eqs…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
  • Mr Bigx on Aug 31, 2022 at 3:30 pm

Please check Mysuri Biz Technologies belongs to whom? Where they got the funding to buy 1000 cars???

• gomen on Sep 01, 2022 at 7:10 pm

Did you not read news to see who it belongs to and where fund came from

• Do we have plans on how to deal with recycling the lithium batteries when they reach the end of life?

• Soon Harun Bin Soon Abraham on Sep 01, 2022 at 8:22 am

Interesting! I am interested to be part of the wonderful TeksiKu big family. For me as same time to secured my daily income end needs also monthly house rental. At moment I am using my KWSP saving to solved daily end needs and I know this not a normal into it.. So a urgent reason rather gathered ownself for daily life needs as my main daily and monthly much needed income.now I shall go applied as one after this.

• Dr Shahul Hameed Bin Mohamed Ibrahim on Sep 02, 2022 at 8:57 am

The government should have targets for local car manufacturers to market affordable electric vehicles and standardized charging infrastructure which can be undertaken jointly with tnb and petronas. Also need to control fares especially last mile connection to public transport. Let’s target 50% hybrids by sale and 20% electric by 2025 and 50% electric by 2030. We should start manudacturing batteries.

• Alfie on Aug 15, 2023 at 5:18 pm

Hope that i could be the first driver that your company selected