MITI is proposing more EV incentives for Budget 2023

The ministry of international trade and industry (MITI) has proposed that more EV incentives be included in Budget 2023, which is set to be tabled next month on October 7. This was revealed by MITI secretary general Datuk Lokman Hakim Ali during the launch of the Perodua Ativa Hybrid subscription programme today.

“Let me just take this opportunity to share [something] with you. This morning, at an EV task force meeting, MITI as well as various ministries, agencies, industry players and associations have agreed that we should place [more] emphasis in building efficient and quality infrastructure for charging stations,” said Lokman.

“We realised the need to ensure the regulatory process is facilitative enough towards ensuring a conducive environment for the EV industry to thrive. In fact, MITI has actually put up a few proposals for Budget 2023; certain incentives to ensure that local industry players are be able to compete in the EV ecosystem,” he added.

During the tabling of Budget 2022 last year, it was announced that EVs would be completely exempt from import and excise duties. The exemption runs from January 1, 2022 until December 31, 2023 for fully-imported (CBU) EVs, while it’s until December 31, 2025 for locally-assembled (CKD) EVs. Road tax for CBU and CKD EVs are exempt until December 31, 2025 too.

Several car companies have since begun offering EVs priced to take advantage of these incentives, with more set to join the mix. The Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA), which represents car companies in our country, are seeking an extension of the exemption for up to 10 years to further promote the growth of the local EV market. What sort of EV incentives are you looking forward to in Budget 2023?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• John Dough on Sep 26, 2022 at 5:14 pm

High time to remove excise taxes for all cars.

Somewhere along the way the goverment has forgot the purpose of excise tax in the first place.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 19
    • By causing more traffic jams if removing excise taxes for all cars….not good idea

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
      • Jibbymaj on Sep 26, 2022 at 7:57 pm

You are a boomer and a gen z to understand why removing excise tax is a good idea. You hobo. You and you dream perodua. Marone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 25
        • Proposal
          1. Remove all taxes for electric vehicles to save environment
          2. Reduce taxes for hybrid and plug in hybrid vehicles to save environment by giving tax incentives
          Remove taxes for european cars
          4. Impose car taxes based on horsepower
          5. Roadtax must be based on horsepower
          6. Impose stricter for lemon law
          7. Reduce taxes for European and Korean cars including CBU and CKD
          8. Remove taxes for pick up trucks
          9. Remove taxes for CBU vehicles

Can’t agree:
          1. Removing all taxes for CKD vehicles (Reasons: because traffic jam might increase and pollution)

• Proposal:
          1. Remove all taxes for electric vehicles to save environment
          2. Reduce taxes for hybrid and plug in hybrid vehicles to save environment by giving tax incentives
          Remove taxes for european cars
          4. Impose car taxes based on horsepower
          5. Roadtax must be based on horsepower
          6. Impose stricter for lemon law
          7. Reduce taxes for European and Korean cars including CBU and CKD
          8. Remove taxes for pick up trucks
          9. Remove taxes for CBU vehicles

Can’t agree:
          1. Removing all taxes for CKD vehicles (Reasons: because traffic jam might increase and pollution)

• Are you boomer too when reducing import taxes for non-EV cars, and will have more traffic jams again??

• sohai on Sep 27, 2022 at 9:20 am

<> excluded -excise duty 105% -import tax 30%; meaning left only sst 10%, but to compare the bolehland ev car price vs US/EU/AUS price, it is not the case, its far beyond 10% sst …

• Max loan 5 yrs, min 10% downpayment to make sure those really afford can buy car.

• Wangsa on Sep 26, 2022 at 7:46 pm

I can’t agree for totally abolish tax for cars. There are better option that should not impose tax for engine capacity, but should do consideration by taxing for turbo petrol cars only, but not for turbo diesel cars cause realized that there are so many people buying turbocharged petrol cars, just because for showing off, no way. The problem is where if continuing buying turbocharged petrol engine cars, would still give more pollute air and more traffic jams.

Turbo petrol cars is expensive to maintain and also for maintenance cost and mainly for rich income group. NA Petrol Engine cars are more cheaper plus maintenance cost is also cheaper and mainly for lower and middle income group. Turbo petrol cars performance is greater but can causes huge problems for reliability while NA petrol Engine cars performance is not as good as turbo petrol cars but performance for NA petrol engine cars is good enough and don’t need big performance.

Hybrid petrol cars is also still needed and benefits for fuel economy and lesser carbon emissions than turbo petrol cars.

Turbo diesel engine cars like pick up trucks that is Hilux and D-Max are needed because of logistics, industries, logging and others

With or without taxing engine capacity, emissions will be everywhere, anyway since fuel consumption almost similar between turbo petrol cars and NA petrol engine cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
      • Engine capacity is way outdated already. Should do now based on horsepower

• sohai on Sep 27, 2022 at 9:48 am

Sohai… level kindergarden talk… we talk about GREEN , climate change … by 2023 all DIESEL vehicle should tax maximum due to highest pollution, and DIESEL price should float to market price… so use hydrogen fuel cell instead…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
        • Spritraffe on Sep 27, 2022 at 3:47 pm

Come on man, pick up truck is needed for workers and repairman. If you say tax for DIESEL vehicles, then WHO’S GONNA WORK IN THE END for people to come and repair aircond and home applicances or picking up sawit or whatever it is.

Secondly, I would agree with hydrogen fuel cell. Those manufacturers like Toyota, Hyundai and BMW would bring fuel cell vehicles soon

• MotorDir on Sep 27, 2022 at 10:15 am

Good proposal. Suggesting to remove all taxes for hybrid and plug in hybrid cars to save environment

• Proposal
      1. Remove more taxes for electric vehicles to save environment
      2. Remove more taxes for hybrid/plug in hybrid cars too by giving tax incentives to save environment
      3. Impose taxes based on horsepower for both petrol/diesel cars
      4. Remove excise taxes for pick up trucks
      5. Impose stricter lemon law
      6. Roadtax should be based on horsepower but not engine cc
      7. Reduce taxes for european cars

• LRT User on Sep 27, 2022 at 6:50 pm

Funny to see people arguing for more expensive or cheaper cars when they should be voting for better public transportation. Alas the only one that pushed for it is now in jail, and no one else cares…. except Dr Wee.
      Dr Wee for PM hopefully, to solve our traffic problems?

• If the EV players not assembling them here,
    There is not enough technology transfer and job opputurnities,

Should just collect tax from selling EV,
    Then it is fair.

@ europe the EV sales is low due to skyrocketing electric bill.
    Malaysian don’t need to absorb those over produced slow charging low spec EV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
    • Even taxing EV, it won’t collect much cause didn’t see more EV cars on the road. The only thing is that non-EV cars collected much than EV cars.

• NoInfra on Sep 26, 2022 at 8:07 pm

Using EV, it’s like buying a Bicycle but there is no proper Road.
    Your enjoyment always limited, freedome is confined.

Not using, then no suffering.

• Bieight8 on Sep 26, 2022 at 8:32 pm

Free charging, free use of highway, free public parking, low interest rate, rebates for solar panels and special car plates for EV

• malaysia car tax must go on Sep 26, 2022 at 9:49 pm

Sure you can have all the incentive you want, but if there isn’t stock available what’s the point

• circle of willis on Sep 27, 2022 at 6:42 am

remove subsidy for petrol, do targetted subsidy as plan. put more money for ev tax break and ev voucher. more ev player will come to malaysia, then the uptake of ev will be steep.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
  • Proposal
    1. Remove more taxes for electric vehicles to save environment
    2. Remove more taxes for hybrid/plug in hybrid cars too by giving tax incentives to save environment
    3. Impose taxes based on horsepower for both petrol/diesel cars
    4. Remove excise taxes for pick up trucks
    5. Impose stricter lemon law
    6. Roadtax should be based on horsepower but not engine cc
    7. Reduce taxes for european cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • Where is their brain on Sep 27, 2022 at 7:33 pm

Four unknowledge people can’t agree with you

• MotorDir on Sep 27, 2022 at 10:13 am

How about when going to remove all taxes for hybrid and plug in hybrid incentives. Is this also more important too?

• Mike Tee on Sep 27, 2022 at 12:06 pm

Agree with focus on charging infrastructure but the current state of EV market in Malaysia is too skewed towards T20. Should tax cars based on OMV (Singapore term, basically value of car on arrival in port before taxes) that are above a certain value. The rich do not need duty free vehicles.

• Where is your brain on Sep 27, 2022 at 7:32 pm

So what. Do you think EV also needed for T20 cars too? We have to move forward bro, and change your mindset. Why you still thinking about performance car for what lol!

• Mike Tee on Sep 29, 2022 at 12:38 pm

You misunderstood for the very thing I was advocating for. I said current state of EV is too beneficial for T20 and above (basically the rich). If a car’s OMV is above a certain figure progressively tax the hell out of them. Leave tax free status for ‘affordable’ EVs and PHEV, that will help mass adoption.

• Where is mindset brain on Sep 27, 2022 at 7:40 pm

Those people mindset who claimed that EV is not important? And also those saying that removing excise duties or removing taxes are good but with those performance but without hybrid? Do you think is worth?Please la guys, time to change your mindset and move on to next chapter if wanting to save environment without pollution from sorry. EV including hybrids are more priority if don’t want to pollute more air. But I agree that some of you in this article agreeing about demanding by removing taxes but not all of that have to remove everything for gasoline cars even without hybrids, which is not very good and also will causes even more problems for congestion and pollution. So please understand what’s the situation on todays

• Thinking Malaysia EV car cannot lah…probably hybrid car lah….Sabah doesn’t have a changing station…only one BMW showroom have charging station ah…