It has been revealed that Budget 2023 (Bajet 2023), which was scheduled in the Parliament calendar for October 28, is now reportedly set to be presented earlier. The Budget is now expected to be tabled by finance minister Tengku Datuk Seri Zafrul Tengku Abdul Aziz three weeks earlier, on October 7, according to The Star.
The decision to bring forward Budget 2023 was reportedly made at a Cabinet meeting earlier this morning (August 26), with prime minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob informing the Cabinet of the shift. The move to bring Budget forward is regarded as an indication that the general election could possibly be held soon.
The decision to hold an earlier Budget is being made ahead of a special Umno meeting tomorrow (August 27), where party leaders are expected to push for Parliament to be dissolved as soon as possible, paving the way for elections to be called.
However, the prime minister said that decision to bring forward the tabling of Budget 2023 is not unusual, as it has been done as early as September previously. “This is normal. During Pak Lah’s (former prime minister Tun Abdullah Ahmad Badawi) time, the Budget was tabled in September,” Ismail Sabri said earlier this evening.
Asked by reporters to confirm the new date, he said to wait for minister in the prime minister’s department (parliament and law), Datuk Seri Dr Wan Junaidi Tuanku Jaafar, to announce it.
Last month, Tengku Zafrul had indicated that Budget 2023 will focus on more sustainable subsidy management and strengthening the country’s resilience against future shocks. From an automotive-related perspective, the biggest news on this front in last year’s Budget was with the tax and duty exemptions announced for electric vehicles (EVs).
Ahead of this year’s edition, what sort of auto-related updates – as well as that for public transport and infrastructure – would you want to see being incorporated in this year’s Budget? Share your thoughts and suggestions with us in the comments section.
Looking to sell your car? Sell it with myTukar.
“The decision to hold an earlier Budget is being made ahead of a special Umno meeting tomorrow (August 27), where party leaders are expected to push for Parliament to be dissolved as soon as possible, paving the way for elections to be called.”
The keyword here is UMNO. Follow what UMNO says.
Let’s get it ON!!!
#BajetKeluargaMalaysia #BetterNation #GE15FTW
UMNO seperating “Court Cluster” members..
New LVL of “Clean”/ “Corruption” yet to see
They say sack AG,maverick Maimun…to follow dumno ?
Then we will become another Somalia or Sri Lanka or Myanmar.
Thank God,we have an honest,upright,God fearing Chief Justice.
This time,kataks cannot jump ship.Once we have PH 2.0,more littoral combat kataks will be apprehended.
Bad enough PH1.0 costed us RM 60 BILLION, say NO TO PH2.0 for the next 60 years unless they they are willing to foot that RM 60 BILLION bill.
And before you try to justify their act, PH1.0 is being sued by exAG for sacking him along with the sacks of Chief Justice, the top army general, and IGP. PH1.0 had taken all the bad habits of BN1.0 and sped things up by a factor of 60X.
GE15 we are still waiting for PH 1.0 recycled promises of RM1.50/L petrol, toll abolishment, free healthcare, free ptptn, lower cost of living, lower car prices, high income salaries, no corruption, no court cases, no kleptocracy. 22 months not one fulfilled and we are still waiting…
B4 PH 2.0 can come in, PH 1.0 please clean up your unfulfilled promises first….
We don’t need to lower car prices as majority malaysian already fed heavy traffic jams and already rejecting to have lower car prices and tax holiday too
The point is, PH had promised us that and so many other promises
Copy paste edited: “Lol. Just because you can push the like button multiple times and post fake news about BN you think you can influence the media and win GE this time?
Things don’t work this way my friend.
You can make the illusion of success but you can’t change the truth.”
implement voluntary scrapping… and if you scrap, govt should give tax exemption for their next car. takkan la only ev get the goodies.
Government not enough revenue to extend sst exemption for cars. Government needs help for others, not cars again
Government needs money to help free Najib. Cars are not everything, Najib is.
Better UMNO than DAP. Under them we normal rakyat will not be allowed to own cars.
https://paultan.org/2022/05/31/driving-a-car-in-malaysia-should-be-made-a-luxury-not-a-necessity-says-dap-assemblyman-liew-chin-tong/
Copy paste: “We don’t need to lower car prices as majority malaysian already fed heavy traffic jams and already rejecting to have lower car prices and tax holiday too”
Copy paste: “Are you the same type of entitled primadonna that had bought a car during tax free and now complaining he is angry with the government because he could not make it in time to buy another car tax free?”
Also pls tabled a Budget for BN Minister’s wife. I’m sure they deserved more than RM243 Million?
I put no hope on him. He will just like those frogs, only look money. We can know by his move to join umno recently.
Minister of finance is just senator, not frogs
That’s funny. He is arguably the most qualified FinMin since Tun Tan Siew Sin of MCA and arguably the most cleanest since Tun Hussein Onn of UMNO. His performance at steering the national finances through the pandemic which arguably was the we’d ever faced (even worse than AFC 1998) is remarkable what with other countries have done far worse or went totally bankrupt. Sigh
I see a serious problem with Malaysians when a capable person whose deeds are well recognised gets tarnished just for joining so-called ‘wrong’ side, while a stump of a wood FinMin from the ‘right’ side gets glorified despite his own court case. This echoes to a certain exPM who, throughout his 22 years in charge, was criticised constantly but put on a pedestal by those same critics when he joined the ‘right’ side. Sigh
No doubt I’ll bet 100% these same critics of Zafrul will sing his praises if tomorrow he joins the ‘right’ side too. Malaysian politics has a problem and it is not the politicians. Sigh
Totally agree with you there Joe.
Too many snowflakes cannot handle the truth of this comment. DREDD IS DISPLEASED.
bunch of conman running the cabinet
Not all of them
As opposed to a bunch of cheats, scammers and swindlers that conned us of 22 months?
They conned u 22 months.Dumbo conned u 60 years,n still conning.Which is worst ?22 months or 720 months?
Copy paste: “PH1.0 had taken all the bad habits of BN1.0 and sped things up by a factor of 60X.”
BN took 60 year to lose out RM 100 Bil.
PH took just 22 months to lose out RM 60 Bil.
If given PH 60 months we will lose RM 163 Bil.
Which is worse? Lose RM 100 Bil in 60 years or RM 163 Bil in just 60 months?
Early election mean new government so all subsidies will be gone, all crooks will left to lurch, new AG, new COJ, new IGP, new SPRM head, new EV cars for menteris, so on and so fourth..because the next 5 years rakyat cannot do anything
Exactly as what happened during PH1.0 era
RM 1000 one-off grant for repairing classic cars more than 25 years.
Restored > Scrapped
Bring down the taxes for all the cars and taxes of those who couldn’t enjoy the fuel subsidy first. Otherwise, kita kasi dia kalah saja lah. Don’t treat the rakyat as small children ok!
Gotten 2 years of tax free car sales until 500,000 backlog and still demand for lower taxes? Are you the same type of entitled primadonna that had bought a car during tax free and now complaining he is angry with the government because he could not make it in time to buy another car tax free?
You have a point, but I think the original poster was referring to excise duty inclusive and not just the 6% SST. I agree of course the entire excise duty shouldn’t be abolished, aside from the obvious fact that it’s income for the government, our already insane traffic around Klang Valley and Penang and other cities will only become worse.
Please allocate budget for arm force to do maintenance for their tanks, black hawks, hummer and most important artillery pieces.