Road tax cannot be abolished, income source – Loke

The road tax sticker may be gone, but don’t expect the tax itself to go away anytime soon. According to transport minister Anthony Loke, lesen kenderaan motor (LKM) cannot be abolished as it is a source of income for the country.

“Road tax is one of the government’s sources of income. If all are exempted, then the government will have no income and how are we to administer the country? We need to understand that in any country, the government needs to have income, especially tax,” he said to the media yesterday.

The Seremban MP added that JPJ collects over RM4 billion every year and road tax receipts are a big portion of it. He was responding to calls from some netizens for the government to abolish road tax.

If you somehow missed it, last week, Loke announced that displaying the road tax sticker on your vehicle is no longer mandatory (for certain classes). You can still obtain an LKM sticker, but your JPJ-issued documents are now in the system. One can download the MyJPJ mobile app and “store” the road tax and lesen there, although this is not mandatory – FAQ here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• prepared for California mega quake soon on Feb 13, 2023 at 10:15 am

first world vehicle carbon emission tax replaced archaic road tax decades ago…..

• Jimho on Feb 13, 2023 at 2:59 pm

Of mega quakes: Carbon emissions laws, eg. 3 Km rule (can only drive within 3 Km fr home if limit is exceeded) -laws currently passed in some European cities, obeying WEF rules. It’s known that the deadly quakes in Turkey & other ‘weather-related’ disasters world-wide aren’t natural, but man-made -to bring about the ‘great reset’. It’s believed these agendas, including C19, are failing; for it destroys lives & economies. I hope digitalization here isn’t part of the globalist goals. Wake up ppl. God will prevent mega destructions in M’sia.

• Coming road tax for EV looks draconian. RM4500 for XC40? Road tax should be capped at RM2000 for all cars. Over taxation is like profiteering as a example, traders that charges excessively.

• Cannot abolish, Malaysia need continuous maintenance and upgrading works to match Singapore standard. Gotta pay road tax depending to it’s Horsepower/kW.

• draconian maybe on Feb 14, 2023 at 10:18 am

malaysia should introduce carbon tax laws also. This ensure those pakcik makcik wont simply but a big big car, but only 1 person inside. cause traffic jam, cause carbon emission. wasteful!

• mdfzl on Feb 13, 2023 at 11:27 am

1) Lower the proposed roadtax for EVs to a more sensible level.
    2) Roadtax for higher cc vehicles should consider seating capacity too, ie:
    a) 3L 7 seater should have lower roadtax than similar 3L 2 seater.
    b) 1L harley davidson’s road tax shouldn’t be cheaper than a 1L P2 Viva.

• Vickyboy69 on Feb 13, 2023 at 11:12 pm

The existing system is taxing the rich la. Who is buying EV at the moment? The better off ones right. And 3L 2 seater? Come on. The better road tax system should be based on car make/brand (to discriminate based on income level) and fuel efficiency/ emission level (to discriminate based on environment impacts & petrol subsidy entitlement).

Buy luxury, tax more lo, good to contribute (corruption/misuse of taxpayer money is story for another day)

• Justify on Feb 14, 2023 at 1:19 pm

I think its unjust to tax based on car make/brand alone since there is already tax on purchase. Rather the tax should be on the number of passenger so pakcik makcik who purchase expensive cars but drive alone should pay more and perhaps fuel efficiency as you mentioned.

• newme on Feb 13, 2023 at 11:28 am

Want road tax tapi road condition macam hanat. Lobang sini sana. Apa korang buat ha?

• Ahmad on Feb 13, 2023 at 2:55 pm

Kau ni mmg bodoh. Ni kan kerajaan baru. baru 3 bulan. Kasi diorg masa dulu utk buat keje.. 1 by 1, 1 step at a time.

People like u are why PH fell in the first place, allowing the likes of PN to take over.

• hazri on Feb 13, 2023 at 4:58 pm

eh masa moo & mail government semua jalan lobang dah rata ke

• Idris bekas PN on Feb 13, 2023 at 10:02 pm

kerajaan PN Pas 33bulan lngsung tak buat keje. Lebai dok balun gajibuta..

• Ah Chong on Feb 13, 2023 at 11:32 am

I’m always curious about what actually goes through the head of those who wants no tax, like how do they expect the country to be ran.

That said, I think we need to change how Roadtax is calculated. Its time we switch to impact/emissions based calculation.

• It is easy. We can pay tax but must use it wisely. If my hard earned monry that paid as tax is not used at the right places which will give me benefits, I would rather keep it in my own pocket. But for what I know now, majority of coubtry expenses is used in administration which mean paid to government servant. We have the highest ratio government servant against population. Wasting money!

• Exactly, expect 0 tax system and want everything to be perfect

• Tax is a necessity to develop a country. It should never be abolished but the structures can be refined further. Don’t make people pay exorbitant car price with equally exorbitant tax. Somewhere, it can be balanced.

• David on Feb 13, 2023 at 3:12 pm

Pay road tax and toll. Banyak pandai

• Nak rotek rahmah RM5 bulih?

• Yup source of income, sure.. no problem.. please make sure those income are properly used to repair those bloody road in the country..