MITI says affordable EVs from China to enter Malaysia in Q2 this year – priced from as low as RM120,000

To further advance Malaysia’s electric vehicle (EV) industry, the ministry of international trade and industry (MITI) is encouraging the introduction of more affordable EVs, Bernama reports.

According to MITI deputy secretary general Datuk Seri Norazman Ayub, EV models priced from as low as RM120,000 will be coming to Malaysia in the second quarter of this year. At present, the most affordable EV on sale is the base 400 Pro variant of the Ora Good Cat from Great Wall Motors (GWM), which is priced at RM139,800 on-the-road without insurance. Another EV that falls below the RM150,000 price point is the Standard Range variant of the BYD Atto 3 at RM149,800.

“We have now encouraged the importation of more EVs, particularly from China, because we want to have more EVs which are affordable for the rakyat,” said Norazman, who also reiterated the government’s goal of providing at least 10,000 EV charging stations in the country by 2025.

“We will be working with highway concessionaires such as PLUS Expressways for the charging stations. We want to invite any particular investor to invest in charging stations to be part of the development of the EV ecosystem,” Norazman added.

Previously, Nik Nazmi Nik Ahmad, minister of natural resources, environment and climate change, made a similar statement on affordable EVs, although the target price mentioned at the time was under RM100,000.

“Most EVs in our market cost RM100,000 or more, hence the need to shift our attention to a larger market with EVs costing RM100,000 or less. The government is exploring avenues to introduce more affordable EVs in Malaysia and will be observing Proton as to when they will introduce a Geely-based electric vehicle here,” the minister said then.

Meanwhile, MITI minister Tengku Datuk Seri Zafrul Tengku Abdul Aziz said last December that the government strongly supported the EV agenda. Several targets were laid out too, including having electrified vehicles account for 15% of total industry volume (TIV) by 2030 and 38% of TIV by 2040.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• please hurry up on Feb 21, 2023 at 10:11 am

please hurry up! I need to buy a new car this year. I want an electric car, because I’ve taste it and I can never go back to old petrol cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
    • Sick & Tired on Feb 21, 2023 at 1:07 pm

This gomen is only for the rich. Rakyat marhaen lagi susah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
      • BN PuAS on Feb 21, 2023 at 2:09 pm

BN government ruled for 60 years, unchallenged. What have they done for you? BN cronies and family all super rich, birkin bags, europe holidays. you dapat apa? makan nasi putih bawak kereta lama. rakyat marhaen bodoh ke apa?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
        • Sohai on Feb 21, 2023 at 5:22 pm

China sell rm40k , when ship to bolehland become 120k, 300% up, fuyoo…

• Ajibkor on Feb 22, 2023 at 6:51 pm

Our brownturds clan only noe to spin the racing Skin color & parti Bulan replicas. Monyet kampung PN dh abes modal, LOL!!

• Li Peng on Feb 21, 2023 at 10:13 am

“As low as RM120k”? For a politician this might be “low”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • OOOOOOIIII on Feb 21, 2023 at 10:21 am

i been impress by the number of charging station…this article write 10,0000 ….when click in article is 10,000.
    typo error ga?

• Squid on Feb 21, 2023 at 4:34 pm

Why not? It’s much easier and quicker to build charging stations than petrol stations.

• Yes, no cables needed and electricity will come out of nowhere. Much easier and cheaper.

• Made In China on Feb 21, 2023 at 10:23 am

We need China’s help to ease our burden of buying EV cars. Even Geely can’t do much here, even with the help of Proton.

• newme on Feb 21, 2023 at 10:32 am

Guess it would be a latest model from QingLongCai.

• Kea Was on Feb 21, 2023 at 10:36 am

What a nice policy instead of getting our own car brand to move into the EV space – we are trying to promote more imported cars (Lets make others great again as they need your money while our own gets very little in return)

• Bla blaz on Feb 21, 2023 at 10:43 am

10000 charging statiin seems alot but u devide 13 (FD included) that is only about 900 unit per state. Considering the time taken to charge plus waiting etc, it wd be a painful experience to own an EV now.

• affordable is RM120,000. wow… are we a high income country or what!?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • lets face it on Feb 21, 2023 at 12:56 pm

lets face the truth. Malaysian RINGGIT is garbage. That is why we feel that RM150K is a lot. The the US Dollar or SG dollar, RM150K is a mere 40K. anyone can afford.

• Anything above RM 100,000 for a 5-seater EV is NOT AFFORDABLE. Period.

• If your house is only having single phase supply, that too can be a factor on how fast you can charge the car. At minimum you need to have a 11kW or 22kW else you will be visiting charger station all the time. On another note, the electricity cost are also different depending on how much your household is using. The more you use, the more expensive is the tier block pricing under TNB.

• Katheryne Wong on Feb 21, 2023 at 12:22 pm

EV price need to be around RM40k, then people will shift to EV. But too many EV will have charging queue issue becoz in most people live in highrise building (flat, apartment, condo etc)….

• Smart move from MITI trying to justify the definition and set the new standard of “cheap” from what the general public have in mind…

• Matchy on Feb 21, 2023 at 2:18 pm

120k is not “affordable”…

• anonymous on Feb 21, 2023 at 3:17 pm

this is what happens when the govt is run by actual millionaires. RM120k is affordable? in what realm?

• Anything below 80k and a mileage of 450km is what the rakyat needs, hopefully geely/proton can produce this soon

• James KWON on Feb 22, 2023 at 6:48 pm

please no more chinese reject EVs. we will end up a dumping place for them