Neta V EV crossover to debut in Malaysia next month – GoAuto’s Intro Synergy appointed as distributor

Chinese electric vehicle (EV) manufacturer Neta is set to make its Malaysian debut next month, with the Neta V being the first model to enter the market, as indicated previously through the Neta Malaysia website. This was revealed by Intro Synergy, the brand’s newly-appointed distributor.

The company, which is a wholly-owned subsidiary of GoAuto Group, said it had inked a five-year deal with Hozon New Energy Auto, and together with its partners will invest around RM300 million to develop its sales and after-sales network as well as a manufacturing plant for local assembly.

“We are excited to announce our partnership with Neta, which will enable us to bring our innovative electric vehicles at affordable and competitive prices to more customers in Malaysia. We hope that this brand will be well received by the public and further boost EV acceptance in the country,” said GoAuto group chairman Datuk SM Azli SM Nasimuddin Kamal.

The Neta V will premiere at an event early next month. The all-electric crossover was introduced in 2020 and rides on the same HPC platform used by the Neta U-II. In Thailand, the Neta V features a 38.5-kWh lithium-ion battery that powers a front-mounted electric motor rated at 95 PS (94 hp or 70 kW) and 150 Nm of torque.

Performance specifications include a a top speed of 101 km/h and a 0-50 km/h time of 3.9 seconds, and the Neta V has an operating range of 384 km (based on the NEDC standard). For charging, the Neta V can accept a max AC input (Type 2) of 6.6 kW, with a full charge taking eight hours.

There’s also DC fast charging at a peak of 100 kW, and this gets the battery from a 30-80% state of charge in just 30 minutes, while a vehicle-to-load (V2L) system provides up to 3.3 kW of output, allowing the vehicle to power external accessories.

GALLERY: Neta V at Bangkok International Motor Show 2023

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• fakerange on Apr 20, 2023 at 11:05 am

when will malaysia regulate that all range estimates should be standardised to WLTP.

20% difference is a lot and definitely misleading most common car buyers who don’t know the different measurement standards.

• Might be possible to cause someone in an EV to run out of electricity in the middle of the highway, that would be scary and dangerous.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
      • No, because it will show you your charge level and estimated range based on your driving history with the car, like almost every other modern car. If you still manage to run out in the middle of the road, the problem is with you.

• E thought petrol cannot run out

• fakerange on Apr 21, 2023 at 6:15 pm

the trip computer will still read out actual range based on your driving behaviour, but using NEDC as a selling point grossly over-declares the range.

384km on NEDC is approximately 307km on WLTP (usually estimated at 20% less) – but in the real let’s say you only get 90% of the WLTP range.

which means you paid good money for a car thinking you’ll get 384km but in truth you only get about 270km. it’s practically a fraud.

waiting for regulators will take ages. i just wished all motoring journalists also did their part to emphasise this in their article coverage. simply saying “based on NEDC test cycle” in an article does nothing for the layman.

especially with more and more chinese makers entering the market at lower price points, a lot of people are gonna be misled. people need to remember things come at a lower price point for a reason – if it sounds too good, something’s probably not quite right.

• Neta in Thailand is selling around RM68K
    you thing here government will allow to sell so cheap? sure will price around RM120K almost same with Ora Good Cat.

Unless is proton or perodua logo product else who ever come in cannot sell cheaper that proton or perodua brand in Malaysia

• Celup King on Apr 20, 2023 at 3:59 pm

Tenkiu to Proton & Geely for daring to bring China cars over and help build the brand image solidly and with their vast network of dealers & 3S/4S there is less worry compared to dulu when China cars have poor service. Let’s hope these newme intro brands BYD, Neta, Cherry, Dongfeng, don’t spoil the solid China car image that Proton & Geely had built up, with poor servicing like those before.

• John li on Apr 20, 2023 at 12:12 pm

Neta in Thailand is selling around RM68K
    you thing here government will allow to sell so cheap? sure will price around RM120K almost same with Ora Good Cat.

Unless is proton or Perodua logo product else who ever come in cannot sell cheaper that proton or Perodua brand in Malaysia

• Isabella of France (b. 1389 - d. 1409) on Apr 20, 2023 at 12:50 pm

Beware guys. This whole EV thing is automotive, not electronics. While China might be ok with electronics, they have still have to prove solidly on automotive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • Y so serious on Apr 21, 2023 at 8:42 am

It’s just a battery car

• EVcarnuts on Apr 21, 2023 at 2:48 pm

You need to study what BYD, NIO, Xpeng, Saic, etc are doing. Chinese EV are generations ahead. Except Tesla.

• SCion on Apr 20, 2023 at 1:09 pm

this look like car clone of another clone!

• Haval h2 on Apr 20, 2023 at 1:53 pm

Go auta? Aiyooo. Warranty haval pun dh 4 thun delay.

• Lala Land on Apr 20, 2023 at 2:33 pm

What a fugly looking car.

• Got halal or not? Nama pun Tuhan Cina.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
  • Joker on Apr 20, 2023 at 7:40 pm

BYD dolphin will kill these Neta V, for sure Malaysia market will sell very expensive

• Newme on Apr 21, 2023 at 9:34 am

Byd ar? with their lfp batt causing so many fire cases in china?

• EVcarnuts on Apr 21, 2023 at 2:49 pm

You need to study what BYD, NIO, Xpeng, Saic, etc are doing. Chinese EV are generations ahead. Except Tesla.

• John B on Apr 22, 2023 at 3:35 pm

That’s too bad. I hope Malaysia doesn’t copy USA high tarriff and blocking cheap non fossil fuel import EV from China. Nobody can of course buy these in the USA either