Proton New Energy Technology (Pro-Net) recently announced the appointment of five more companies as official dealers of smart electric vehicles (EVs) in Malaysia, and it looks like we will indeed be getting the standard and Brabus versions of the smart #1.
In one of the official photos accompanying the release, we can clearly see two uncamouflaged cars parked behind the row of executives. The car on the left is the standard version of the #1 which is rear-wheel drive and features an electric motor rated at 272 PS (268 hp or 200 kW) and 343 Nm of torque.
Meanwhile, the car on the right with the vents near the bonnet is the Brabus variant that adds another electric motor at the front for all-wheel drive. The resulting dual-motor setup provides 428 PS (422 hp or 315 kW) and 543 Nm, enabling a 0-100 km/h time of 3.9 seconds, which is less than the regular #1’s 6.7 seconds – both share the same top speed of 180 km/h.
Curiously, there’s also a third car that is camouflaged in the photo, which could be another unit of the #1 Brabus sighted recently that gave rise to the idea that Pro-Net will offer a performance version of the EV. The #1 features a 66-kWh lithium nickel manganese cobalt oxide (NMC) battery that provides a WLTP-rated range of up to 440 km in the standard variant and 400 km in the Brabus.
In addition to the vents up front, the #1 Brabus is identified by its brake calipers and larger rear wing. It also comes with sportier front and rear aprons, while the interior gets a few specific cues to reflect its heightened capabilities.
According to Pro-Net, the #1 “is set to dazzle Malaysians before the end of 2023,” and we were previously told the EV is on track to be launched in the third quarter. Following today’s announcement, there are currently seven appointed smart dealers, namely Hap Seng Smart, Edaran Otomobil Nasional (EON), Smart Mobility, GB Auto, Eleganz Lifestyle, Lee Motors and Sigma Energy EV.
GALLERY: smart #1 Brabus
GALLERY: smart #1 Launch Edition
Looking to sell your car? Sell it with myTukar.
3.9s to reach 100kmh is just meh, for an EV
4 second is considered fast in this day and age. I wonder how fast does your car go from 0 to 100kmh
Don’t forget to compare the price…
Sell here below rm69k. It’s national car status
That already 160K if the battery
amounting 70% of total car price
1hour
I’ve driven the iX xdrive40 and I can tell you even a “meager” 6.1s acceleration in an EV can feel disorienting. So I could not imagine 3.9s.
Hopefully the Brabus #1 can be priced below RM 250K.
Pro
Standard
Brabus
#3 when?
#3 not so soon, probably end of next year due to they will start delivering for China market first, then European then only SEA. Looking at #1 was launched 2022 August and took them almost a year to arrive in Malaysia, I would not surprise if they come in Q3 or Q4 next year
Brabus are a luxury premium brand, heard a set of rim pun over 20k. My guess the smart 1 will be rm180k onwards.
I think this Brabus murah,
Bcuz this doesn’t seem able to compete for Nuburgring Race Record.
why do car manufacturers often tout the 0-100 sprint time? are the public roads to become race track for these stupid drivers who care about this?
It’s a good indicator of the acceleration of the car. So you’ll know how good it is in getting the car up to speed, or if it has sufficient power to overtake safely. Knowing the power the car makes is not sufficient since it does not take into consideration the car’s weight and/or gearing.
Brabus Electric car with brakes and calipers? I thought it uses regenerative braking?
Regen works poorly with a full battery. If you have a full charge or near full charge coming down any of our highlands you would definitely need mechanical brakes. And if you have motor burn out you would not have regen either.
Ever since this car make its debut here, no info on price or at least estimated pricing. Most EV produce high torque and an impressive 0-100kmh, so nothing new