The Kelantan segment of the East Coast Rail Link (ECRL) is expected to reach completion six months ahead of its original schedule in January 2027, Bernama has reported. The project has reached 61.97% completion with a personnel count of 1,500, according to Kelantan public works department deputy director Nik Soh Yaacoub.
Progress in the project currently involved bridge construction, land reclamation and piling while construction of the first ECRL station in Kelantan had also started, he said.
“We are confident that this project can be completed six months earlier than the original target since the progress of the work carried out by the China Communications Construction Company (CCCC) and Malaysia Rail Link (MRL) is ahead of schedule,” he said.
The seriousness exhibited by CCCC and MRL, in addition to the technological sophistication used in implementing this project is one of the factors for its speedy implementation,” he continued.
The East Coast Rail Link is a 50:50 joint project between CCCC and MRL that has had a protracted development, from being cancelled in 2018 before it was brought back on in 2019, with its construction costs also having been revised several times.
Hopefully this Kjaan Gagal 2.0 dun screw this and make stupid changes again like last Kjaan Gagal 1.0
You want our country maju like Singapore or hopeless like Afghanistan?
Until today i don’t really know the actual cost of this railway. It varies from RM40 bil to 80 bil. And whether that includes gombak to port klang or just up to gombak. And if track is narrow or wide.
Watch out..by 2027 the completion date of this mega unwanted wasteful project,the maverick merpati would have been released.
If u factor in land acquisition n cost overruns,it could hit a staggering RM80 Billion.
THat amount of money could have gone to upgrade our poor public hospitals,where a specialist appt could stretch from 3-5 months.
It was reported Serdang Hospital.. for a major heart operation..u wait 3 months..if u cant afford Gleneagles,u die while waiting.
Our public hospitals looks ok on the surface,but many poor patients pay 100-500 times by going private if the queue is too long.
Will only fully utilise maybe twice a yr
Many dont know this will cut the need for singapore port.
shipping can be sent through this railroad and cut some days to go through singapore shores.
serve Singapore right for being antagonistic to china. now they kena bypass
I will ride this train all the way to Kelantan… the only state in Malaysia (yes, i have been to Sarawak and Sabah) i have not visited yet