Chery Malaysia’s 10-year, 1 million km engine warranty reverts to 7 years after first 3k buyers, worth RM2k

After a long gestation that started way back in December 2021, Chery’s return to the Malaysian market was made official yesterday night. The brand relaunch event also saw the official debut of the Omoda 5 and Tiggo 8 Pro SUVs as the first models of Chery’s new era here.

Before yesterday, we brought you previews of what’s coming next from the company’s base in Wuhu, as well as previews of the local spec Omoda 5 and Tiggo 8 Pro. The only things that remained a mystery was the pricing (Omoda 5 RM108,800 to RM118,800; Tiggo 8 Pro RM159,800) and warranty package.

The latter is a spectacular, headline grabbing announcement – an engine warranty of 10 years or one million km. But as with all things, look out for the asterisk pointing to terms and conditions. Here, the 10-year engine warranty is only for the early birds, specifically the first 3,000 buyers.

However, even if you’re customer number 3,001, the warranty ain’t bad. To counter negative perception of cars from China and to put to bed any reliability concerns, Chery Malaysia is offering a vehicle warranty of seven years or 150,000 km. Once the 10-year engine warranty is fully claimed, engine will fall under the seven-year/150,000 km general warranty.

If for whatever reason you really need the 10-year warranty, you can purchase and extended warranty package (EWP) that will bring your engine warranty back to 10 years. The EWP price is RM2,000 – essentially, the first 3,000 buyers will get a ‘free gift worth RM2,000’.

There will also be five years of free service, but Chery’s wording is rather liberal here. This is not the same as some of the true free service packages out there, where you fork out nothing because parts and labour are included. Instead, the ‘free’ portion here is labour charges (parts not included) for alternating services (free this time, pay the next time). The service interval is every 10,000 km or six months.

We’ve covered the Omoda 5 and Tiggo 8 Pro in full, so click on the links to read more. What do you think of Chery’s price/package and warranty?

GALLERY: 2023 Chery Omoda 5

GALLERY: 2023 Chery Tiggo 8 Pro

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Mr Fakta on Jul 07, 2023 at 5:56 pm

Marketing gimmick. How do people know it’s already 3k registered, all based on their own word. They will adjust the policy based on sales figure eventually, if it’s selling fast, they might say already 3k booked but maybe only 1k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • ERIKO on Jul 08, 2023 at 9:36 am

I understand your reasoning but this type of stuff cannot tipu one. Many eyes in JPJ and Puspakom registry. Very easy to find out by public. Big car brands will not dare take this risk. So don’t worry, this will not happen

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • newme on Jul 10, 2023 at 11:12 am

This brand coming from the land claimed to have overtaken Tesla in EV sales but at the same time have grave yards storing unsold REGISTERED EV.

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Jul 08, 2023 at 11:03 am

Buy CRV for better RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 17
    • Jaguh Global on Jul 08, 2023 at 11:20 am

Proton Geli sudah goyang kah

• Noob comment

• Gary China on Jul 07, 2023 at 7:03 pm

Chery had no balls to retain the 1mil km was most probably due to cut corners after 3k productions run to clear the old stocks. 7 years warranty is considered common for Japanese rivals also. So nothing to worry abt. China boleh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
    • Sumo Giken on Jul 08, 2023 at 10:15 am

Thing is, as we all know Proton themselves struggling to keep up to cover warranty from X50 & x70, as parts availability for warranty take too much time to order & repair.
      They can boast they can cover, but if it take longer than 1-2months, who can wait that long?

• reader on Jul 08, 2023 at 10:59 am

do you even read? add 2k (after the 3000) and you get that 10 yrs peace of mind (engine only)

• Yeahsure on Jul 07, 2023 at 7:18 pm

Thanks for clarifying the fine print

• Khairul Hafiz on Jul 07, 2023 at 7:51 pm

Spec mengancam…
    Harga sgt lah menarik…
    Akan aku tunggu 2-3 tahun lagi…
    Jika xda major issues, tiggo 8 pro bakal aku rembat…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • John C on Jul 07, 2023 at 8:33 pm

Engine 10 yrs warranty with 1 million KM but 7 yrs warranty with 150k KM? Com’on lah, if so confident, why not 7 yrs with 500k KM? In fact, my Hyundai from 10 years ago gave 5 yrs warranty with 300k KM…..

• ERIKO on Jul 08, 2023 at 9:28 am

Then try to be the 1st 3000 customers la or pay the 2 k extra. they are confident but this is marketting. Clearly you are only capable of selling goreng pisang, even that I don’t think you will do well. Not very smart

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 22
      • Ericka on Jul 08, 2023 at 10:40 am

Dont be a smart ass here lah….. Wait till u get a lemon car and then be crying baby woohoo….haha

• ERIKO on Jul 08, 2023 at 4:21 pm

Lemon?? with 10 years warranty you give me bittergourd also I not worried

• seancorr on Jul 07, 2023 at 8:49 pm

Even the 7 year warranty has T&C against it. Hope it covers the gearbox up to 7 years too.

• RM165K is verrrrryyyy expensive….Pls remember , they do abandoned us once….
    RM100K , can give u 1 more chance!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
    • LawakKing on Jul 08, 2023 at 9:34 am

RM100k in Mlalaysia?? with our OKU ministers??? why don’t you build one for us. The car could be way cheaper if not for our crazy tax and AP to feed the OKU people. Instead of making money for Malaysians, they make money from Malaysians. They can get away with it because most people in Malaysia are OKU as well and cannot see how lousy our policies are. That is why our ministers can get away. Just use religion and kaum excuses to cover their daylight robbery then settle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
      • oriprice on Jul 08, 2023 at 8:51 pm

FYI …Di China, Chery OMODA 5 dijual dengan harga antara RMB 92,900 (sekitar RM 60,000) hingga RMB 126,900 (sekitar RM 82,000)….tak mungkin di sini sebab ada proton dan perodua…

• gofarkyrself on Jul 09, 2023 at 8:35 pm

like that fark la…mana ada project untung rakyat sini…..semua talk cock untung cronies only at the expense of normal rakyat…

• SmartConsumer on Jul 08, 2023 at 9:07 am

RM2k is also so worth it for 10years warranty. extra 23 years for 3 more ears and 1 million km. Mana cari. So nnfident this company. 1st 3 k buyers untung besar. Hope I can be one of the lucky 3000 buyers.

• Sohail on Jul 09, 2023 at 2:25 pm

if it fail at 200,000km, you can get new engine easily.
      Chery Tiggo 8 pro only starts at 118000rmb/RM76k. The china made 2.0Turbo engine is cheap, throw in RM20k give you also CBU engine replacement no problem, within the 10 years warranty.

If you really can hit 1,000,000km give you up to engines also no problem. but chances to hit that is less than 1 out of 3000,000

• gengM on Jul 08, 2023 at 9:25 am

Price, feature wise are far better than UMW T. XENIA.
    Time to look chinese make..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
    • Peppa on Jul 08, 2023 at 10:32 am

Since when there is UMWT Xenia? You chinese cars fanboys are so retarded

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
  • WHICH ever come FIRST ? on Jul 08, 2023 at 10:28 am

Chery Malaysia is offering a vehicle warranty of seven years or 150,000 km. Once the 10-year engine warranty is fully claimed, engine will fall under the seven-year/150,000 km general warranty.

• dapat lawan Kimchi

• Ramee on Jul 09, 2023 at 2:29 pm

i feels this one more makan minyak than kimchi to drive at KL.

• hope chery company can last 10 years in Malaysia..
    Chery Merry

• in order chery to fulfill the 10 yrs warranty, chery company must first survive at least 10 years in Malaysia…
    hope they can accomplished this
    Chery merry boys

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • ERIKO on Jul 08, 2023 at 2:34 pm

clearly you don’t know how rich Cherry company is today..Lets say they can survice for 200 years even if they don’t sell any cars in malaysia for the next 200 years.

• Bob Mal on Jul 08, 2023 at 2:44 pm

Well the Chery Tiggo 8 pro was released back in 2018 and the 2.0L T engine since 2019 guess many other countries just need about 5 years and more to get into the 10 years cycle so just keep the faith.

• Common man on Jul 08, 2023 at 6:20 pm

Well said

• kimboy98 on Jul 08, 2023 at 8:46 pm

This is the smartest person on this comment section

• Sohai on Jul 08, 2023 at 1:49 pm

10 years or 1 mil Km or company close down, which ever come first

• David on Jul 08, 2023 at 4:18 pm

Sure this company will stay here for 10 years ka?

• MitchelJ on Jul 08, 2023 at 5:39 pm

While I welcome Cherry coming back officially this time. The scar from my family-owned Easter is still fresh and very cautious about their now after-sales plans. Yea we sold it before COVID but extended warranty won’t actually soothe peoples worries if their dealers and service centres only covers major cities like Selangor, Penang, Johor and the likes.

I will be looking at this brand close to see if they have what it takes to maintain their market here.

• Dimitriano Kong Tak Wing on Jul 08, 2023 at 7:23 pm

Nice nice to come up with these and my opinion Chinese are the innovators since ancient time.

• Dukong on Jul 09, 2023 at 11:29 am

better than BYD Atto3 low mileage battery spec.

• Chery Easter new at rm80k++…after 5 years drops to rm18k
    Someone told me dont repeat same mistake

Can thank me later

• Wait a few years and see. If it is reliable, less problematic, then can buy it 2nd hand.

• Chong Or Pei on Jul 10, 2023 at 3:31 pm

1 million kilometres up to 10 years. If you drive 20,000km a year (which is about average on a single car family), 1 million kms will take 50 years. The other way to look at it is that AFTER 10 years, your car will only have travelled 200,000kms. So, you can use the “1 million kms” term but the reality is, you will never get to 1 million kms.

Pandai menipu.