There has been no shortage of buzz about the Tesla Model Y since it made its appearance on the EV maker’s online configurator last week, effectively opening up the order books for the EV. As more shared their bookings for the car on social media posts, talk quickly spread like wildfire about the influx of orders for the car.
This eventually led to a claim that orders for the Model Y had reached the 10,000 unit mark within four days of the car’s availability online. Tesla was quick to dismiss that claim, calling it “fake news,” as the New Straits Times reports.
At yesterday’s official launch of the brand and the introduction of the Model Y in the country, Tesla regional director Isabel Fan categorically denied the claim circulating online that it had secured that number of bookings for the electric SUV.
“The actual number of reservations will remain undisclosed, but Tesla assures the public that interest in Model Y is strong and appreciates the support from our growing community of customers in Malaysia,” she told the publication.
While the total number of orders will never be ascertained, what is certain is that you should be seeing quite a number of Model Ys on the road starting from next year. According to the company, first deliveries of the car to Malaysian customers will begin sometime in early 2024.
To recap, three versions of the Model Y are available for Malaysia, the Standard Range RWD (RM199,000), Long Range AWD (RM246,000) and Performance AWD (RM288,000). All were present at the launch event at Pavilion Kuala Lumpur, and will be on display at the location until October 31.
GALLERY: Tesla Model Y Long Range AWD
GALLERY: Tesla Model Y Performance AWD
LOL… “fake news” .. Trump has influenced Musk and gang.
Fake news by desperate Gomen trying to show they are not failing and rakyat are rich to afford 10k of Teslas. Thank you Elon for showing the truth. Now we know how bad the situation of this country, turning into a hellhole run by perverts and thugs.
Time for Malaysians to save Malaysia and make it great again!
the guy above me must be a bmw or merc SA
Nothing to do with bmw or mers, this is about the future of msia.
In Malaysia, it is a land of fake news. people just love to forward fake news and the culprit for fake news love to see their news go viral. that’s why these fake news will never stop.
They “categorically denied” it, but I wouldn’t be surprised if it was initially drummed by up a Tesla employee to generate hype and FOMO.
FROM PT copywritters? or NEW Strait TIMES cartoons writers?
WHAT you think ?
Tesla will flop big time in Malaysia!
Fake news was popularize by Trump because he abuses the term
So they meant its cheap?!yea for those can afford,Ben class memang bolehlah!lol
ari tu felda, skg tesla plk #mesinbasuh
Many people still don’t realize the Road Tax for a base Model Y (assuming 347PS/255kW of power output) will cost around ~RM3400 per year in the current EV roadtax guideline.
Long Range AWD with 514PS/378kW wil cost around ~RM6400
Performance with 534PS/394kW will cost around ~RM6800
The free tax period only will last till 2025.
Suggest to have a clarity on the roadtax structure, electricity tariff (government is restructuring/removing subsidy) with regards to EV.
They’re announcing it soon la read the news
Soon means nothing is out yet.. forever announcing soon, but buyers still very gangho to purchase EV without knowing the total cost of ownership.. no wonder EV is for T20 only..
I dont see how blardy cool is this laptop car.
Inside,u see a laptop mounted on its dashboard.
Aesthetics wise,its design is only 2 out of 10 score.
If u need a system upgrade,be forewarned ..it costs a bomb.
3400 to 6800Rm road tax from 2025..I reckon ,those who still want this laptop car is prepared to pay.
This 200 grand laptop car ..is a rich man’s toy.If u cant afford or just borderline..dont toy with it.
do you know how much a bmw or merc EV with 500bhp costs? granted their design is far better but still..
when happened to tesla they say it a fake news, so transparent. but if this happened to proton, perodua they will say oh it a good news. haha
Haha all the toy battery car try to con pupil real man drive real car so don’t park beside me ok if you see nombor plat 68 go far far away don’t drop my class. Make me laughing see loser charging forever .
“The actual number of reservations will remain undisclosed”, smart move … they probably working out the timeline deliveries of the cars to customers knowing is going to be a long waiting time, too much hype, last thing they wann is for customer to find out that booking a Tesla today & you might get your car in early 2025 or 2026 !!!
tesla build lots of gigafactories globally, they have lots of spare production capacity and also control the battery supply chain from source
just as i expect…some guy posted on youtube…