PJD Link cancelled, but project not completely buried, could be revived in future if conditions met – Amirudin

While the Petaling Jaya Dispersal Link (PJD Link) has been cancelled, but it isn’t completely dead and buried. According to caretaker Selangor MB Datuk Seri Amirudin Shari, the project might be revived in the future if it can meet requirements and satisfy residents.

He said that while the state government did not wish to gamble with the people’s livelihood just for the sake of development, there was still a necessity to further develop Petaling Jaya and to introduce a more effective traffic dispersal system.

“So, we shall see again. If they (developer) can fulfil the conditions set by the state and appease the people, we can continue ahead with it; however, at this very moment, they cannot do so because of certain unmet conditions,” he said.

He however stated that the cancellation of the project as announced yesterday was final and would not be revisited after the state election on August 12, the Malay Mail reports. The decision by Selangor to cancel the project was made due to the impact assessment reports submitted by the developer being unsatisfactory and not meeting certain conditions set by the state government.

Amirudin also clarified that while the state government would not go on with the project, only the federal government had the authority to cancel the concession agreement signed between it and the developer company in 2022.

“It means that as long as the company does not meet our requirements, the project cannot be implemented. But it is up to the federal government (to cancel the concession agreement,” he explained.

The proposed PJD Link had been approved in principle by the cabinet in November 2017 before the state government approved the project in principle in September 2020, subject to environmental impact (EIA), social impact (SIA) and traffic impact (TIA) assessments.

The 25.4-km, two lane dual carriageway would have connected the north and south of Petaling Jaya, passing through Petaling Jaya Utara, Bandar Utama, Taman Tun Dr Ismail, Petaling Jaya city centre, Taman Dato’ Harun, Taman Medan Baru, Taman Sri Manja, Bandar Kinrara and Bukit Jalil Technology Park.

It would also have 11 interchanges located at Bandar Utama, SPRINT, Damansara Intan, Jalan Universiti, Federal Highway, Jalan Barat/Jalan Sultan, NPE, KESAS, Jalan Puchong, Jalan Kinrara 1 and the Bukit Jalil Highway. The expressway, which was to be 100% privately funded, was targeted to commence construction in mid-2023 with an estimated completion time of three years.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• told yah… nie semua bcos of the polls. lepas dpt balik kuasa senyap2 revive the project. duit dah ambik wei

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • Chong Or Pei on Aug 01, 2023 at 11:35 am

Would it be revived after the polls, YB? Asking for a friend.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • Avenger on Aug 01, 2023 at 3:32 pm

Projects done previous governments all cancel with stupid reasons only their macais can accept then after elections repackage and relaunch that same project and call it Pakatan idea then get all the credits. This is PH after all, nothing original all rebranded. Even draconian laws they used to whack now gets rebranded and used on the Opposition.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
  • Flip flop politikus on Aug 01, 2023 at 11:41 am

So PJD Lingkup or tak Lingkup?

• Avenger on Aug 01, 2023 at 3:33 pm

Won’t be lingkup.
      If Pakatan loses and PN retakes back, it will maintain as a PN project.
      If Pakatan wins and remains, it will be rebranded as a PH project.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
  • WhY lA lIkE tHiS on Aug 01, 2023 at 2:19 pm

I don’t understand why people are complaining about this highway. Is it because people are afraid to try new things? For me living in PJ, this will massively help me to travel around to other parts of PJ where currently takes approximately 30 minutes on a good day. Moreover their house value will also increase which to me seems like a win win situation

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
    • My Name on Aug 01, 2023 at 4:23 pm

For residents who stay along the proposed alignment, the concerns are always noise & pollution that goes on from construction period up to when the proposed highway is open. Noise and dust from vehicles passing by will definitely affect residents. This is in addition to being exposed to risks of any incidents during construction.

Maybe with a highway, and paying the toll fare, would reduce your travel time from 30mins down to 15mins. Sure. Good for you but not all is good for other people.

On property value, there is evidence that highways adversely affecting property value especially if the unit/house is facing the highway. A google search would show you property values in Damansara Perdana facing DASH highway are lower. Houses in Damansara Heights separated by SPRINT highway have lower property value. Houses in TTDI next to LDP have lower property value.

The govt has to decide whether the advantage of the highway is greater that the disadvantages which affect residents and road users. Development and new things will come but to what limit? my 2 cents.

• NIMBY on Aug 01, 2023 at 7:12 pm

First of all, the residents acquired their property along the proposed alignment decades ago at what price? It has gone multiple folds already. With a slight drop for the convenience of the masses, they now play victim. Typical!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
        • My Name on Aug 01, 2023 at 8:16 pm

Hello NIMBY. Great name.

Here you are only pointing out on property value. Not all residents want to sell their homes and cash out and live somewhere else. A lot of people actually want to stay where they are.

How about the other points of discussion? I would like your input on that as well. Good to see other POVs.

Hopefully you will welcome any future highway or tunnel or govt acquisition in your backyard with open arms!

• ROTI CANAI on Aug 04, 2023 at 1:05 pm

sounds like ure one of the contractors for the projek

• Peppa on Aug 01, 2023 at 2:30 pm

Just how many highway we really need in Selangor?

• Mad at it (Madatit) on Aug 01, 2023 at 6:02 pm

Very stupid move by Madani. I am mad at it. Similar like HSR – cancelled but revived later at much higher cost and reaped by different cronies.
    Rakyat are the ones who will suffer – continuous traffic jams, inefficient connectivity to major highways, more clogging and more curses.

• berlin on Aug 02, 2023 at 4:55 am

weh go do your res3arch that who really cancelled HSR. It’s PN Bapa COVID midin gomen. You spreading your hatred onto PH gomen who are working hard to clean up the mess by your gomen. Don’t talk about politics kiddo PN supporter.

• Zahid on Aug 03, 2023 at 4:54 pm

Real stupid to blame Muhy, the project was all but dead thanks to PH Gomen and Abah was just doing the right thing to make the cancellation official as he was legally bound to once the MOU expired. He was only PM for 17mths and mostly was battling Covid, who was running the country for 22mths and did nothing? Go ask ur PH koliks.

• For that 22 months on Aug 03, 2023 at 11:44 pm

the real boss was the old doctor, who like PM8, didn’t really consider himself a real part of PH & used PH to oust PM6.