Plane from Langkawi to Subang crashes near Elmina, claims 10 lives – 8 in plane, car driver and motorcyclist

According to posts by netizens on X (formerly known as Twitter), a plane scheduled to land at the Sultan Abdul Aziz Shah Airport (also known as the Subang Airport) has crashed on a road near Seksyen U16 of the Elmina township. Emergency responders are currently at the crash site along Persiaran Elmina and roads are claimed to be closed heading to the township.

The plane is said to be a small jet called a Beechcraft Model 390 (Premier 1) with registration number N28JV flying from Langkawi to Subang Airport.

The tragedy claimed 10 lives including 2 flight crew, 6 passengers, 1 motorcyclist and 1 car driver.

UPDATES:

4pm – According to Malaysiakini, the incident claimed six victims.

5pm – The following is a statement from CAAM

AIRCRAFT CRASHED AT ELMINA, SHAH ALAM, SELANGOR

PUTRAJAYA – The Civil Aviation Authority of Malaysia (CAAM) confirms that a Beechcraft Model 390 (Premier 1) registration number N28JV had crashed near Elmina, Shah Alam, Selangor on Thursday, 17th August 2023.

The aircraft operated by Jetvalet Sdn. Bhd departed from Langkawi International Airport at 2:08 p.m. to Sultan Abdul Aziz Shah Airport.

The first contact made by the aircraft with Subang Air Traffic Control Tower was at 2:47p.m. and landing clearance was given at 2:48 p.m.

At 2:51 p.m., the Subang Air Traffic Control Tower observed smoke originating from the crash site but no mayday call was made by the aircraft.

Kuala Lumpur Aeronautical Rescue Coordination Centre (KL ARCC) has been activated to coordinate the search and rescue mission.

A total of six passengers and two flight crew were on board and their conditions have yet to be confirmed at press time.

The safety investigation will be conducted by the Air Accident Investigation Bureau under the Ministry of Transport Malaysia in accordance with Part XXVI of the Civil Aviation Regulations 2016.

DATO’ CAPTAIN NORAZMAN BIN MAHMUD
Chief Executive Officer
Civil Aviation Authority of Malaysia

5:26pm – The following is a statement from GCE highway. GCE’s Elmina interchange will be closed temporarily to facilitate investigation and clean-up works.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard's strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Raven Crow news on Aug 17, 2023 at 7:42 pm

plane hit flock of birds during decending?

• Top Gun Maverick on Aug 17, 2023 at 11:21 pm

Survivability zero unless pilot and passengers have ejection seats

• MASAMI on Aug 18, 2023 at 9:46 am

You call yourself Maverick but clearly you know nothing about plane. This is clearly a pilot failure. Any plane even if all engine shut off, can still glide and land easily on any open land/road. Plenty of time to seach for one. This pilot probably panicked when he saw the motorcyclist and tried to avoid him and killing everyone. I whold relax and ascend a bit until road clear than try and land again. Worst case scenarion is having my front wheel scrape the top of the motorcyclist’s helmet and get a few swear words from him but no one dies. Anyway condolonces to all victims. May they rest in peace

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 26
        • Ben Yap on Aug 18, 2023 at 12:20 pm

after playing video game, sudah syok sendiri and talk until as if you are so clever eh?

• RAF veteran on Aug 18, 2023 at 12:29 pm

boy u r playing too much pc game flight simulator. jet plane can’t glide with flame-out engine not enough thrust to airlift. Its not your grandpa ww2 all analogue plane.

• Bieight8 on Aug 17, 2023 at 8:02 pm

Just show how unsafe to drive here…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 23
    • Civic Type L(ol) on Aug 17, 2023 at 8:41 pm

You can walk on your toes and still die stumbling whatever on your path, if dieing is your fate to begin with.

• Veneno on Aug 17, 2023 at 10:15 pm

Bro, you can even die while sleeping or drown in the bathtub or falling down the stairs. We can die everywhere.

• Anonymous on Aug 18, 2023 at 9:42 am

There’s been only 2 plane crashes in that area, 46 years apart. What are you talking about?

• Ben Yap on Aug 18, 2023 at 8:58 am

condolences to the families.

• BYD FANBOY on Aug 18, 2023 at 9:39 am

Al-Fatihah to all victims. RIP. Hope this incident won’t happen again _/\_

• Azmint on Aug 18, 2023 at 11:03 am

Al fatehah..

• Marcus Goh on Aug 18, 2023 at 7:37 pm

i feel so bad for.rest and pease for them

• Ollie on Aug 22, 2023 at 9:33 am

The main passenger was CEO of Gading, a company owned by Tengku Hassanal, son of Pahang Sultan.