18 Putrajaya roads closed for National Day rehearsals – 100k people expected to attend August 31 parade

PDRM’s JSPT KL department has announced the closure of 18 roads in Putrajaya for rehearsals and the full rehearsal for the National Day parade. The morning closures – from 5am till 11am – started yesterday and will be in place till tomorrow. See the map above.

On the big day, 22 roads in the administrative capital will be closed in stages from 5am till 11am. The cops are expecting 100,000 to throng Dataran Putrajaya, and for traffic control, JSPT KL will have 416 personnel on duty.

If you’re attending, it’s better to take public transport to Putrajaya, but if you must drive, the available parking spots are around Masjid Tuanku Zainal Abidin (Masjid Besi), around Jabatan Wilayah Persekutuan, Suasana PJH, around Tugu Millenium, around Myfarm in Presint 9, PICC, near the transport ministry, Putrajaya Sentral, and public parking at the Persiaran Sultan Salahuddin Abdul Aziz Shah roundabout.

Also available are spots around the ministry of women, family and community development; ministry of communications and digital; ministry of rural development and the attorney general’s chambers. Free shuttle buses are available at PICC, Kompleks E and Putrajaya Sentral. E-hailing cars can drop-off passengers around Masjid Besi and Jalan Tun Hussien (behind the Palace of Justice).

Also, no drones are allowed without prior permission, the cops have warned.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Lolwhut? on Aug 28, 2023 at 3:44 pm

1st time a new PM had done his 1st parade in Putrajaya. No balls to face rakyat when doing it in Dataran Merdeka?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 29
    • Peppa on Aug 29, 2023 at 7:35 am

There is a construction going on nearby which is the Merdeka 118 Tower. The building is reaching the completion and i dont think they can afford to disrupt and delay the construction any longer because of the Merdeka parade. Chill out

• PlainBS on Aug 29, 2023 at 4:22 pm

Merdeka Tower is kilometers away from Dataran. It has no bearing whether to have it or not. Back in 2018-2019 when 118 was still under construction, the PH back then had no qualms to celebrate in KL, why different with this PH govt?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 24
        • Where were you in 2018 & 2019? on Aug 30, 2023 at 7:45 am

Actually in 2018 & 2019, the Merdeka National Day celebrations were held in Putrajaya, not KL.
          Yes, everyone knows that you’re living up to your ‘PlainBS’ name.

• Ahmad Azamiruddin on Aug 29, 2023 at 8:35 am

We have seen how the crowd damaged the Dataran Merdeka’s landscape and facilities. Dataran Merdeka cannot handle 100k people at once—this has nothing to do with politics.

• Kantoi But Still Wanna Defend on Aug 29, 2023 at 6:00 pm

You sounded like you’d never been to Dataran Merdeka during National Day huh? Given 100k or 200k or 300k, there won’t be damages as the field is off limits to public as the performance takes place there and so there is no question about damages here. No PM has ever started his leadership doing at Putrajaya so something is fishy going on here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 23
        • Are you implying that DBKL was lying? on Aug 30, 2023 at 7:53 am

After the 2022 National Day parade in KL, DBKL had reported that plants worth over RM600k were damaged along the venue. So, if DBKL is not lying in the news reports, it must be you who is lying here at PT.

• Selamat Hari Merdeka on Aug 29, 2023 at 8:06 pm

Putrajaya was the venue for Merdeka celebrations in 2003, 2005, 2018 & 2019. After all, it is the nation’s administrative capital.

• Are you anti Putrajaya? on Aug 30, 2023 at 7:39 am

This year it’s not the 1st time this National Independence Day event is being held at Putrajaya. The media has publicized that the rakyat are welcome to attend. So, why say that the PM doesn’t have the courage to face the people?

• Ahmad Azamiruddin on Aug 29, 2023 at 8:32 am

Ok thanks.