Auto upgrade of Malaysian B2 bike licence to class B will have serious implications, say road safety experts

Proponents of road safety have called on the transport ministry to study the proposal to automatically upgrade the Malaysian B2 class motorcycle licence to a full B licence. This was because it involves the safety of motorcyclists as well as that of society, the New Straits Times reports.

According to Alliance for Safe Community chairman Tan Sri Lee Lam Thye, introducing an automatic upgrade could result in serious implications, given the high number of fatalities in road mishaps involving motorcyclists. “These days, we are looking at about 6,000 to 7,000 cases of road fatalities per year, where more than 68% of these cases involve motorcyclists,” he said.

He said the current driving test required for a motorcycle licence upgrade is crucial, as it equips the motorcyclist with better knowledge on how to handle a larger, higher capacity motorcycle. “Therefore, the transport ministry has to study this proposal very carefully, especially since it involves the public’s safety,” he told the publication.

University Putra Malaysia associate professor Law Teik Hua agreed with Lee, saying that the public would be put to higher risk if authorities decided to go ahead with the automatic upgrade.

“I cannot see the rationale or benefit behind these policy changes. Perhaps it is good news for motorcyclists, but what is the benefit to society? In order to make sure the motorcyclists know what they are handling, it is better to go through the exams and the usual procedures in getting the full B licence,” said the head of the university’s road safety research centre.

Law said given that the country was facing many road deaths involving motorcyclists, addressing that was a more pressing matter. He said that instead of introducing such a policy, the ministry should review and update its existing road transport syllabus required for car and motor licences.

“If our current syllabus is sufficient, how come we still have so many accidents happening? So, the numbers show that perhaps the syllabus was sufficient back then, when you don’t have high motorisation levels, but times have changed,” he told the NST.

He said that it was time to introduce new aspects to the exam syllabus.”The current syllabus only ensures that you are good enough to drive a car or ride a motorcycle, but there is still no module to ensure you are safe enough to operate these vehicles,” he said.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• For a start why not allow auto upgrade from B2 to B1 after 10 years of clean riding record esp for scooters up to 500cc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
    • Civic Type L(ol) on Aug 30, 2023 at 10:40 am

This make more sense. 1000cc still scare me after years of riding. 500cc and below, honestly felt not much difference than 250. Unless it’s a supersport category, not suitable for newbie. But a seasoned B2 rider should have no problem, since I did go straight from underbone (kapchai) straight to 500cc before getting my B full licence (CBR500R quite tamed, suitable for daily use). I drew the line at 650cc for supersport, or 700cc for naked bike. More than than that is for heartless speed demon, or just enthusiasts who fell in love with those particular bike.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • Dah Menang Semua on Aug 30, 2023 at 10:51 am

Should deploy police force to saman..
      Those big bikes that hogging fast lane
      Those bikers that going against traffic
      Those bikers that ignore bike lanes
      Those bikers that shoot thru TnG, SmarTag

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
      • Reality hidden on Sep 02, 2023 at 8:49 pm

Those who accept a 4th and 5th injections get free B licence (…until next variant, 6th jab to reactivate free full B)

It’s a proposal of Hollywood Oscar turbo Doctor ministry of Pfizer’s Macan association Michelle & Co Massons….

• Yeah agree with this..remove B1 class and B2 auto upgrade to 500cc and below..B2 to B FULL is too much for those who normally ride 150cc jump to 1000cc..plus having 500cc license is a win win situation for rider and motorcycle distributors since a wide range of bikes choices are available compare to our current scenario 250cc B2 mostly kapchai are available..peace no war..

• Firdaus367 on Sep 04, 2023 at 11:46 pm

Rules JPJ ni ketinggalan, zaman 2 stroke dulu ya, sebab 250cc macam aprilia rs250 dulu pun dah berkuasa 70hp, zaman skg motor 4 stroke 2 silinder 600cc macam sekolah memandu pakai test b-full, er6n baru 70hp, ikutlah peredaran zaman,aku ada bfull, tapi bagi aku kalau dah ada lesen 10 tahun ke atas, auto upgrade je, better sebab skg pun banyak big bikers tak ada pun b-full, renew L je, sebab nak ambil lesen tak ada masa sibuk kerja.Confirm ramai rakyat support gov ni kalau lulus cepat.Kalau kerajaan rasa takut hilang income jpj bila buat macam ni, buat caj untuk auto upgrade, so ada pilihan, nak upgrade bayar once-off payment,.tak nak upgrade tak payah bayar.

• Blame politicians & their voters on Aug 29, 2023 at 8:08 pm

Not to be political or racist…but let’s face it, this auto-upgrade move is to please the certain group/race of motorcyclist who is their primary vote bank. Just like how they previously try to sway the Delivery Riders & Mat Rempits to vote for them. Both sides of the political fence use this method, at the expense other people & society as a whole. Those group/race of motorcyclists knows this and took advantage of it by behaving like they are the boss on the road.

Deny it all you want, but these are the facts in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 9
    • Civic Type L(ol) on Aug 30, 2023 at 11:19 am

I don’t mind tho. Those road criminals couldn’t even afford 250cc, let alone big bikes. That’s why you see plenty modified 150cc moped with basket on their knees terrorising road user. If they can afford, they sure modified a 250cc already, but yet to be seen. The current syllabus just hamper those who can afford better bike for commuting eg: maxi scooter or 300cc-500cc daily use naked bike. It took me more than 6 month after owning a 500cc to apply for B full since I don’t really have a free spare time. B2 upgrade to B1 is reasonable, but B full should stay separate and even better if add course like police escort training.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
    • Reality on Sep 01, 2023 at 11:17 am

Race is the basic of a society, an healthy society. When race disappears, acculturation and degenerescence takes place -> end of civilisation. What ever race you are, defend it because it is nothing else than your biological family extension.
      We should be free and confident to talk about race, religion, therefore politic in general, because those are the 3 corner stones of any society. Don’t let the Jews bring “equality lies” in your brain, defend your distinction, your real identity.

• Socrates on 2 wheels on Aug 29, 2023 at 8:16 pm

Obviously from someone who doesn’t ride bikes. Underpowered bikes are also one of the reasons for fatalities, especially when cars nowadays have more torque and are turbo powered. In most other countries, bikes below a certain capacity or power are not allowed on highways. And today, a 500cc bike is considered to be a small middleweight bike by many countries. Too much power kills if not handled properly, too little power also kills when u ride a small capacity machine which does not have the ability to pull itself out of situations with higher powered cars, heavy vehicles.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 5
    • kapchai on Aug 30, 2023 at 10:49 am

Spot ON bro….allowing a kapcai on highway is the same as allowing cyclist on the highway. Huge speed gap risks which contribute to fatalities. A kapchai that can only reach max speed 80kph will be fatal when there’s a huge trucks coming from behind at 110-120kph.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • I feel, a lot of the concerns raised misses the point. Do the existing B Full course adequately trains an individual of handling a big bike? I think not. You’re likely given a 650cc naked bike (~50-60hp) as the training and test bike. The curriculum is not very much different to a b2 bike, except for the part of actually riding it around the parking lot through some preplanned obstacles and routes. This is not the same as trying to pilot a 200hp crotch rocket, or a adv bike that has a seat height of 850mm.

The auto upgrade isn’t going to magically allow access of a R1 or GS to a “rempit” by giving them one in their garage the next morning. Money is going to be the ultimate factor – it already is as it’s not easily attainable for some. To think the B full training and exam is some sort of arbiter of competency and skill check is comical. If they aren’t going to take the teaching syllabus for B2 training seriously we might as well do away with it and give people auto upgrade, because it’s just an unnecessary financial strain on the people to have to pay for. I’d much rather see a complete revamp of the teaching and testing processes but alas. Irresponsible riders are going to be irresponsible no matter what, and trust me when I say it’s just as easy to sign out on a kapcai as it is on a litre bike.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
    • Civic Type L(ol) on Aug 30, 2023 at 10:53 am

Checkout police escort training courses, that’s the real, proper, and safe way to handle a big bike. But I’m not sure if it’s available for public.

• Alek Ho on Aug 29, 2023 at 9:21 pm

I understand some local elections are up in Johor, the deputy PM felt the need to please a large vote segment. People should be worried the unqualified gung-ho youngsters will cause harm to themselves & others. I’m a older B2 rider, if I intend to buy a 400cc bike, I want to learn ALL the proper, responsible ways to handle the bigger bike, so as not to cause damage to myself & own bike; & of course to people & their vehicles.

Ministry of transport & Anwar cabinet: Be very careful with this & don’t simply Kasi Kasi. ‘Kasi free B2 Takpe, Janji Undi Power?’

Better give them free Viagra: ‘Tak Hensem Takpe, Janji Barang Power’

• Alek Ho on Aug 31, 2023 at 5:23 am

Correction: Kasi Free B Takpe, Janji Undi Power? Happy Merdeka!

• Aku janji tak merempit mcm mat rider on Aug 29, 2023 at 9:31 pm

Ok fine B full is asking too much. How about B1 then? Pretty pleaseeeee

• Haiya on Aug 29, 2023 at 9:57 pm

They so called experts concerns beyond reality. Do they think new school grads got money to buy superbike meh? Cubchai also loan 4 years. Dont worry la dey..

• Mikasa on Aug 29, 2023 at 10:13 pm

Prof, its not syllbus. Only enforcement can reduce the accident rate

• Can I get refund?

• Hasnan on Aug 29, 2023 at 11:52 pm

upgrade cc from 250 to 300….cukup untuk B2.

• Lane Splitter on Aug 30, 2023 at 12:46 am

My opinion: A bike under 50hp, 40nm (under 500cc) and weight below 200kg wet, should easily be handled by anyone. It should be under B1 category. No need B2 category, just B full for 500cc and beyond. I’ve went straight to 400cc(Thai registered bike) after a few years of kapchai with only B1 licence. Did my B full bcoz I want a 650cc and that’s where I drew the line, 100hp+ and 60nm+ of torque ain’t easy to handle for newbie. I’ve never once desire for 1000cc after got my hand on 650. Sold my 650 and settled for tamed CBR500R. 250 was fine, but not enough torque, planning to sell also.

• Lane splitter on Aug 30, 2023 at 10:39 am

Yeah, make no sense bcos I did confused between B1 with B2 there

• John Dough Bread Kneader on Aug 30, 2023 at 4:58 am

Anthony is boneheaded in doing this law. These guys have extremely valid points against it.

Malaysian motorcyclists are the worst in the world can’t even follow simple laws, no enforcement, no insurance, always at no fault in an accident. Imagine putting those idiots automatically in more powerful motorbikes.

As it is current driver education is already appalling, now they want to automatically give a higher class of driving license lol. There’s a reason you need extra license to drive big trucks etc, LOKE SAME LOGIC APPLIES !

I say yes go ahead because at least this law will hopefully exterminate all those idiots riders quickly.
    Idk what LOKE IS THINKING ABOUT, he’s usually pretty good but this one is just plainly dumb.

The low hanging fruit is much better driver education and making it harder to get a license ffs, that will make rods safer but LOKE is trying to make more unsafe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
    • Are you sure it was Tony's idea in the 1st place? on Aug 30, 2023 at 11:49 am

https://paultan.org/2023/08/28/auto-upgrade-of-malaysian-b2-bike-licence-to-class-b/
      Was it Tony’s idea in the 1st place?

• Alek Ho on Aug 31, 2023 at 5:05 am

That’s right. Tony hasn’t proposed this. He should consider this very carefully. Political leaders must be free of ulterior motives & selfish gains that may harm innocent lives

• Dap haters are OKU on Sep 06, 2023 at 12:00 am

its zahid idea, not from loke

• they should think about D license to. D1.. D2..
    nowaday youngster can buy supercar but they dont have any experience on handling supercar. just think about it.

• Fatalities has nothing to do with what cc the bike/car has. It happens mostly due to riders/drivers disregarding the road rules. Kids riding bikes recklessly without licence are rampant too. Why not tackle that? Why would you need to differentiate class of motorbike licence when you have mainly 1 catgeory for paasanger cars? Do we differentiate licence for people who driving an Aruz with people driving an Urus? It is still the same licence.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • Alfred on Aug 30, 2023 at 8:20 am

Its ok, repit does not have the money to buy superbikes. If they do, god save us.

• Bruce on Aug 30, 2023 at 2:06 pm

you are over-estimating the price of “super” bikes.
      They are cheap and can be had for less than an axia lowest spec.

• I don’t think the price of getting a B full license is the barrier to ownership of a superbike – even the cheapest one. For all the optics of this proposal, it doesnt change anything tangible of whom rides a big bike and whom doesnt. Neither will it suddenly cause a spike of accidents. Overall it will mainly remove a very useless classification of testing and training that does not have actual value – as B full courses do not teach anything special that B2 didnt already teach – other than place a unnecessary burden on the people to spend that money for the sake of it.

• These politicians still haven’t given up to appease the mat rempit. They will never appreciate whatever license you give them. They just want to withdraw EPF money. Even with that, they will still not vote for you.

• Paul Chan on Aug 30, 2023 at 8:45 am

who cares about a motorbikes CC anymore?
    its the age of electric EV bikes.

• Menara Rosmah TRX on Aug 30, 2023 at 8:46 am

this proposal is mostly rejected by those who paid MONEY to get their B full lesen. hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • You guys are freaking out over nothing as this won’t change anything. If B2 license owner want to buy a big bike, they could easily get an L license. What is stopping them from buying a big bike is the bike cost itself, not the license.

• Squid on Aug 30, 2023 at 9:05 am

I hope this road safety experts also realise that even now you don’t actually need a B Full license to ride big cc bikes. All it takes for any existing B2 license holders is they can just go to JPJ and get an L license for a small fee to ride big cc bikes.

How is that any safer?

• Efandi ramli on Aug 30, 2023 at 9:28 am

It should be automatic but base on kejara merit. It will save public and people money not to take another license

• Sohai on Aug 30, 2023 at 9:34 am

You can see the benefit to the motorcyclist, but not the society? motorcylist is not part of society kah?
    The benefit is immediate, as it reduces hassle to take another license. Those potential risks are all theoeries with no study support. As it is, we have 6k-7k fatalities involving motorcyclist with the current setup. Any idea why is it so? No?

• mr1031 on Aug 30, 2023 at 11:22 am

B, B1 or B2, in the end its the attitude that must be changde..and, more enforcement pls

• eliminate B1 seems more reasonable if we are to open up

• Redondo on Aug 30, 2023 at 11:38 am

They could make those upgrades for bike that are less aggressive such as maxi scooters and adv scooters. For more aggressive bikes they also could implement mandatory completion of MSF courses.

• Frankc on Aug 30, 2023 at 1:28 pm

We don’t need B licence to earn a living. In fact B licence exam should be more stringent to make sure potential licence holder hv enough competency to handle high power bikes

• Ben Yap on Aug 30, 2023 at 1:52 pm

even government give full B license, how many can afford the bikes or maintain it? kapchai will still rule the road and upgrade bike to full B will not go full swing.

• vui vui on Aug 30, 2023 at 4:56 pm

the guy who suggest this “ auto upgrade b full “ idea surely genius because he knew the price for renew license B much higher than B2 //sigh

• Haaland How Chee Meng MCFC on Aug 30, 2023 at 8:41 pm

Our riders don’t have proper IQ to ride

• danylgan on Aug 31, 2023 at 9:03 am

How about no need B licence for D license car drivers to ride small bikes. 150 cc below and cannot carry passenger.

• Its the poor mental state, lack of respect and care.
    Nothing to do with upgrading to B.
    Also, most cant afford to buy the big cc motorcycles.

• BH SOH. on Aug 31, 2023 at 11:43 am

I think that the accidents occurred are nothing to do with either B2 or full B licence but more on the user itself.

No doubt, the fatalities percentages are high on the motorist but most of them possessed only a B2 licence.

In other words, it meant that the person concerned are the culprits and nothing to do with the category of licence.

Moreover, bigger CC bikes are much more powerful and costly and could cause more harm than smaller CC bikes.

Safety lies in the hand of oneself and not on others and definitely nothing to do with the category of license.

In order to be safe, firstly, you yourself have to ride or drive and play safe.

All are on you and only you could make the difference and nothing else.

• BH SOH. on Aug 31, 2023 at 11:46 am

I think that the accidents occurred are nothing to do with either B2 or full B licence but more on the user itself.

No doubt, the fatalities percentages are high on the motorist but most of them possessed only a B2 licence.

In other words, it meant that the person concerned are the culprits.

Moreover, bigger CC bikes are much more powerful and costly and could cause more harm than smaller CC bikes.

Safety lies in the hand of oneself and not on others.

In order to be safe, firstly, you yourself have to ride or drive and play safe.

All are on you and only you could make the difference and nothing else.

• Instead of protesting senselessly, lee lam thye should learn what is a superbike first. Those bikes that involved in accidents mainly from cheap, below 150cc, plastic bikes. Get your facts straighten out first, lee lam thye.

• Peter Yap on Aug 31, 2023 at 1:12 pm

Suggest upgrade for those above age of 35. They would have the experience to handle bigger bikes

• Anony123 on Aug 31, 2023 at 3:55 pm

Just have 2 classes for motorcycles..
    B1 – 1000cc and below/above
    B2 – 500cc and below
    Simple..
    And if it was me.. I would be changing it a little bit..
    Licenses will be renewed automatically 5 years..
    And every 5 years when your licenses are being renewed, you have to pass a set of theory exams before your licenses are eligible to be renewed..
    Because I see TOO MANY drivers and riders have totally forgotten or neglected the rules and laws..

• Jerry Junos on Aug 31, 2023 at 8:06 pm

I agreed deputy prime minister giving auto upgrade from B2 to B and not B2 below licence holder. Not all B licence holder can effort to buy 500cc & above to utilised for runner duty. Not economical.Own big bike for their hobby weekend ride..

• Junkies otr on Sep 01, 2023 at 11:18 am

Can D license auto upgrade to E after 20yrs of driving?

• jenny on Sep 01, 2023 at 9:17 pm

doesn’t matter B2 or B full. the factor that contributes the most to accident is attitude. you are gonna get into accident at some point anyway if you ride dangerously. big bike or small bike.

why not follow some country that restrict new license holder to a certain power on the bike until some period as learning curve.

• The POWER of DREAMS

• Faizal on Sep 05, 2023 at 7:08 am

After 10 then will be auto to B full would be more reasonable

• B2 to B , unless there is no record summons for 10 years still ok

• Its funny to see 95% of people just suddenly have part time job as fortune teller or time traveler saying accident rates will blow up.

To fully satisfy both group of perspectives, just add on age conditions to the upgrade. Such as below 35 years old upgrade to B1, above 35 years old upgrade to B full. Those who are newly taking the licence to test ride B1 class bikes.

• MAZRAN BIN MOHAMED on Nov 18, 2023 at 11:21 am

Hasrat kerajaan sangat baik kerana memberi peluang golongan marhain dapat B full. Tapi tapisan perlu dibuat terlebih dahulu bagi seseorang untuk dapat kelulusan. Bilangan samannya, kes kemalangannya dan ikeingkaran penunggang patuh undang-undang. Jika tiada yang bersangkutan baru diberi kelulusan. Harap kerajaan impliment. Saya sangat gembira ia berlaku.

• whylsl on Jan 05, 2024 at 5:20 pm

Good for kapcai bikers & Mat Rempit! for auto upgrade! Yet many bikers don’t even have B2 licences (not undergone JPJ training & test) but riding for years illegally. How many motor bike accidents and kill every years? In long run, it will be bad for general public, road users & other motorists. Kapcai vs big bike handling, riding, torque, weight etc are not the same. Not everyone can control themselves (young bikers etc) and expect more road risks & accidents on the roads soon! Another “good” decision by this Government! (just like allowing so dark tint, u can even see the driver or what happening inside the car these day! My vote is not going to support such government!