Gov’t not ruling out the reintroduction of GST – Rafizi

Economy minister Rafizi Ramli says the government is not ruling out the reintroduction of the goods and services tax (GST). Although the country’s priority was to roll out the capital gains tax next year, he said that other forms of taxes, including GST, will be considered in the effort to widen the nation’s revenue base, The Star reports.

“We will be open and go through whatever way we can to achieve fiscal sustainability through a wider revenue base – whether is going to be capital gains tax, GST or any other forms of direct and indirect taxes,” he told reporters following the tabling of the 12th Malaysia Plan (12MP) mid-term review in parliament today.

“One of the strategies to widen our revenue base is to develop and roll out capital gains tax in 2024, and the government will stick to that strategy,” he said. As for other potential avenues of revenue collection, these remain open. “We will decide on a case-to-case and year-to-year basis,” he said in response to a question about whether the government had plans to revive GST.

Rafizi added that any announcement with regards to any introduction of a new tax or revenue stream would be made by the finance ministry from one budget announcement to another.

Last week, MCA president Datuk Seri Wee Ka Siong called on the government to bring GST back, as many businesses were reportedly dodging taxes under the present sales and service tax (SST), resulting in reduced revenue for the government.

Wee said that the GST could be revived with several improvements, such as the introduction of an exemption list, zero-rated supply and giving financial aid to the poor with increased government revenue. He also suggested that the reintroduction be made at a lower rate and increased over a period of time.

The GST replaced the sales and service tax (SST) in April 2015, but was then scrapped in favour of bringing back SST in September 2018 when the Pakatan Harapan government took over the reins.

In March this year, prime minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim had reiterated that Malaysia would not reinstate the GST or any other broad-based consumption tax in the near future. He said the country was simply not ready for the reintroduction of GST, with the rakyat‘s income and threshold first needing to be increased and at a reasonable level before the tax could be reinstated.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Kimaks on Sep 11, 2023 at 6:21 pm

Woi GST cukup la! Apa mau capital gain tax lagi haaa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 14
    • Yasin on Sep 11, 2023 at 7:01 pm

More u spend..more u kena taxed. So no problemo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 36
      • Dah Menang Semua on Sep 11, 2023 at 10:33 pm

Start with 3% and prompt on refund
        Don’t siphon to 1MDB like last time

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
        • Zahid Komedi on Sep 12, 2023 at 8:49 am

Haha, nice joke. We will release bossku asap

• Dah Menang Semua on Sep 12, 2023 at 2:28 pm

DogTer Wee (bekas menteri PN) pon dokong pemulihan GST, jadi supporter PN akan sokong laa

• Dinpagoh Janawibawa on Sep 12, 2023 at 2:57 pm

Betoi ..saya awal2 dh lepas. Najib bile lagi.. kikihkij355

• sapot pee end on Sep 12, 2023 at 9:57 pm

yes, he comes out & u go in!

• Richard Tee on Sep 13, 2023 at 6:31 am

PN started to look into revitalise GST back in 2020; PN govt was finalising the mechanism of targeted subsidy in 2022; when PH-BN took over post PRU15, they found out the debt gone from 1.0T to 1.5T, leaving limited choices now

• @Richard Tee on Sep 14, 2023 at 2:06 am

@Richard Tee, it’s unfortunate that lots of comments here are based on coffee shop talk with children mentality.

• DonkeyKong on Sep 11, 2023 at 7:43 pm

Congrats to PH. Looks like the Bursa bloodbath of 2018 that put an end to the world’s longest stock market bullrun isn’t enough for them. 6 months of continuous foreign outflow from our stock market isn’t bad enough back then.

Now they wanna implement capital gains tax.

Repeat after me:

“Bursa will plunge below 1000 points and foreign outflow will be non-stop for 12 months”.

Wait and see…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 30
    • Nurul Izzah on Sep 11, 2023 at 8:13 pm

Tax the rich, help the poor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 19
      • Amboi…senangnya…kalo mcmtu kita pun jadi miskin la tadah tangan mintak dedak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 22
        • John Ohwai on Sep 12, 2023 at 11:55 am

Deswai geng PN tgh demam depression kenot balun rasuah dedak. Ohwaiii alphard Ku

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • OKU Ministers on Sep 13, 2023 at 9:07 am

Our OKU gov makes money from us. Capable gov makes money and give to its people eg Dubai, Brunei, China etc. We have many OKU braind dead spesis in Malaysia who don’t know how to make money. Sohai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
        • U must be the real OKU on Sep 14, 2023 at 2:24 am

The public sector which is the government is not meant to make profits. It is the private sector that make the profits. Governments do not simply give money to its people. The private sector employs people & pays them salaries, derived from the profits. A government receives money from the private sector via taxation to cover the costs of running the country. Countries like UAE & Brunei are luckier because their governments & private sectors earn from their petroleum resources a lot more than what is needed to cover the cost of running the countries.

• Pakatan Korup on Sep 12, 2023 at 9:28 am

This Rafizi fella is pretty useless. Before becoming government, GST was not good. Suddenly, GST became good when he became minister. And their supporters will blindly support them because they are all useless like him. All talks are just to gain support.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 32
      • Sam ke Ting & Hisyam and Co on Sep 12, 2023 at 1:40 pm

Never,never,never trust a politician.
        Last time,no Anwar, No DAP….lately komedi attending DAP convention….what a big joke.
        Rafizi..same.
        Lets dare him to 1.Implement capital gain tax
        2.Implement GST 3.Abolish fuel n TNB subsidies 4.raise germen hospital charges 5.Jack up income tax 6.Slap other forms of taxes etc 7.Raise stamp duties
        The greenies will be happy to take over,once their support dies.Just tengok dulu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
      • Naw they ady brainwashed their supporters and voters to hate GST, so no way they dare to bring it back unless they want to slap their own faces. Ohh I can just hear loud slaps emanating from Putrajaya…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
  • Nurul Izzah on Sep 11, 2023 at 6:48 pm

Anwar menang rakyat senang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 30
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Sep 12, 2023 at 5:51 pm

Anwar gembira, rakyat sengsara
      Anwar di Sg Buloh, rakyat sorak kali sepuloh
      Dulu hasut benci GST, nah skarang mau pulang GST
      Dulu cakap lain, sekarang cakap lain
      Boleh caya ke Gomen ni, dah dua kali ditipu ni
      Sampai bila rakyat nak tidur, dah masa utk bangun dan sedar

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
    • mangekyou sharingan on Sep 13, 2023 at 7:52 am

Saya ulammm…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • Janji dicapati on Sep 11, 2023 at 6:48 pm

Refer my name

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 35
  • PHBN Korup on Sep 11, 2023 at 6:49 pm

Tahniah pengundi PH

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 42
    • Dah Menang Semua on Sep 12, 2023 at 2:29 pm

DogTer Wee (bekas menteri PN) pon dokong pemulihan GST, jadi supporter PN akan sokong laa

• PHBN Korup on Sep 11, 2023 at 6:50 pm

Nothing is impossible under this corrupt government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 51
    • www.malaymail.com/news/malaysia/2020/03/11/muhyiddin-says-will-study-calls-to-bring-back-gst/1845352
      PUTRAJAYA, March 11, 2020 – Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin pledged today to consider calls to reinstate the unpopular Goods and Services Tax (GST), promising to review all tax systems as part of the new government’s effort to rein in living costs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
      • anton on Sep 12, 2023 at 9:36 am

well.. at least PN not objecting to GST from day 1. Now the PH gov objecting everything under the sun when not in gov. When in gov, they say.. oooo the situation now different. Jokers and fools.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 31
        • Before the sheraton move, TSMY was also equally vocal against gst but not long after the sheraton move, he told the media about his u turn as in the news report.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
          • anton on Sep 13, 2023 at 9:44 am

aiyoo.. before the sheraton move its the PH gov la, do I need to teach you also.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
          • What I need to teach you is that TSMY was against GST to win his MP seat in GE14 as PH politician but he changed his principle to be pro GST after sheraton move.

• PitStop on Sep 11, 2023 at 7:20 pm

See?

Dulu dah elok-elok implement, this sotong hasut the people about the bad of GST. Now, want to reverse the decision.

Very the ****** this fella…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 84
  • DonkeyKong on Sep 11, 2023 at 7:40 pm

Can Guan Eng please sing “ABCD GST” to officiate the reintroduction of GST? Tahniah PH voters.. firstly for believing that GST is bad, highways can be FOC and that PH will end corruption.. and secondly for giving mamakutty a platform to destroy the country a second time.

Ribu-ribu tahniah….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 67
    • PH Supporter on Sep 12, 2023 at 5:53 pm

Toh ce, toh ce, ini kalilah kita skru Malaysia kaw kaw sampai habis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
    • kira duit sebelum nyanyi on Sep 14, 2023 at 1:55 am

Wait 1st. LGE needs time to count the RM250k he won from a defamation lawsuit.

• knbccb on Sep 11, 2023 at 8:06 pm

KNBCCB WKS! He shld hv kept his mouth shut last wk!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
    • VAT loh..instead of GST on Sep 11, 2023 at 9:43 pm

Actually, if the gmen dont want use the name “GST” scare ppl said they follow the previous 1, just name it as VAT (Value Added Tax). Just make sure it is 3%, then i think most will accept 1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 22
      • knbccb on Sep 12, 2023 at 7:37 am

KNBCCB!!!.. U oso shld keep ur mouth shut!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 16
        • Lets See on Sep 13, 2023 at 12:50 am

KNBCCB!! Whole of Pakatan and their supporters and their dumb voters. You deserve this!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
          • knbccb on Sep 13, 2023 at 8:50 am

KNBCCB!!! Who ask u 2 hijack my slogan??!! U r no better than them!! KNBCCB TO U!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
        • Come on. GST works in more than 160 countries! on Sep 13, 2023 at 1:16 pm

Btw, y u against the implementation of gst if it well managed and low percentage? the suggestion above by VATloh is ok wat. 3% vs 10%sst, every1 benefitted. & fairly tax all. Except u r the 1 that scare of gst able to efficiently tax ur biz gao gao.Anyway, by ur comments, i bliv u r those uneducated & uncivilised ahbeng tht doing nothing for the betterment of the country.

• sapota pee end on Sep 13, 2023 at 2:57 pm

u memang betul.. kita org memang gitu (berbaloi selagi ada kfc)

• jinggo on Sep 11, 2023 at 10:17 pm

tahniah kerajaan mahaldahni.. saya ulaaammmm!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 20
    • DonkeyKong on Sep 13, 2023 at 8:40 am

Hari ni kita naik Putrajaya… Besok.. saya ulang.. besok.. tak sampai 24 jam.. kita akan kencing kaw kaw berjemaah kat seluruh Malaysia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • Undi PH dapat Zahid on Sep 12, 2023 at 10:01 am

Buat saja GST balik. Sebab penyokong PH kan kurang cerdik dan sokong perasuah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
  • pomen on Sep 12, 2023 at 11:22 am

malu la nak introduce semula GST walaupun dah admit GST tu bagus…tak kan nak jilat ludah balik..haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
    • Saya ulammm... on Sep 12, 2023 at 5:21 pm

Brader, jilat menjilat penjilatan ini sudah menjadi darah-daging politician da.

• sohai on Sep 12, 2023 at 11:37 am

aiya all politicians only jaga own ass only la…in fact human being nature are like that….so dont trust any and always be prepared for the worst…

• PH Supporter on Sep 12, 2023 at 5:54 pm

Yet still tell people to vote for us. So who the stupid one here. Hahahaha

• Takpayahlah. You take so much money also you give it to B40 only. Not that the taxpayers benefit from it.

• Nobita Lim on Sep 12, 2023 at 3:09 pm

ABCD..GST

• DonkeyKong on Sep 13, 2023 at 8:47 am

GST under Kerajaan Madanon = gomen sakau & tibai.

Dulu cakap: tak payah GST. Subsidi minyak kekal. Negara ni kaya raya, hanya perlu hapuskan rasuah.

Sekarang: Kita nak taruk mcm mcm tax baru utk cekik rakyat sampai mati.

Conclusion = Rasuah is a hundred times worse under Kerajaan Madanon?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Abolish SST 10% replace with low GST say 2-3%….the more you consume, the more you pay taxes ie GST. Extend GST claim/refund to include B40 too instead to only companies. this will help the poor while govt can tax the wealthy and on the basis – on how much they consume.

• david on Sep 12, 2023 at 5:22 pm

Tax rakyat kaw kaw. Then kena sakau

• Sick&Tired on Sep 12, 2023 at 9:38 pm

Politicians are hypocrites. Whether it’s PN, PAS, DAP, PKR, BN, etc. You cannot trust them. My advice is work hard so that you don’t have to depend on them for any help.

• DonkeyKong on Sep 13, 2023 at 8:49 am

Brother your advice will not work for the parasites and freeloaders. And their numbers are growing..

• how do u know on Sep 13, 2023 at 3:02 pm

how do u know their numbers are growing?
        because u r 1 of dem

• DAP Sayangi Rasuah on Sep 13, 2023 at 12:14 pm

Sembang