Budget 2024: Targeted subsidy for diesel in phases – current market price is RM3.75 for private users

The government has announced that it will introduce a targeted diesel subsidy in phases. This was announced by prime minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim in his Budget 2024 speech this evening.

According to the PM, subsidised diesel prices will continue to be enjoyed by selected users such as goods transport and logistics companies, while other users will be charged a higher price. With that approach, the government will be able to reduce subsidy leakage and at the same time, reduce the impact on the price of goods for the people.

Anwar said that the current subsidised diesel price, which is set at RM2.15 per litre, would be RM3.75 per litre at market price. As such, the government is bearing RM1.60 for each litre of diesel sold, or around RM1.5 billion ringgit in total.

He said that according to consumption data, subsidised diesel sales in Malaysian have increased by up to 40% since 2019, while the number of vehicles using diesel only increased by less than 3%, leading to the possibility of serious smuggling activities due to the low price of diesel in the country.

No timeframe was mentioned as to when the targeted subsidy would be introduced, but the government has previously stated that it would start doing so with diesel, and it would do so next year.

With private diesel users expected to pay up to RM3.75 per litre for unsubsidised diesel, the days of pickup trucks being lifestyle vehicles (as evident by model launches such as the Ford Ranger Raptor Diesel and Toyota Hilux GR Sport) might just be over, with owners likely to shift over to petrol SUVs instead.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Dah Menang Semua on Oct 13, 2023 at 4:59 pm

Die… U touch diesel
    Supply chain cost UP
    Semua B.N. (barang naik)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 29
    • Darren on Oct 13, 2023 at 8:39 pm

According to the PM, subsidised diesel prices will continue to be enjoyed by selected users such as goods transport and logistics companies, while other users will be charged a higher price.

Read properly lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
    • Did you read the entire article? on Oct 13, 2023 at 9:45 pm

Obviously, you neglected to read the part of this article which states, “Subsidised diesel prices will continue to be enjoyed by selected users such as goods transport and logistics companies”, which means commercial vehicles that transport goods will still be running on subsidised fuel which should not increase transportation costs of goods.

• Janji dicapati on Oct 13, 2023 at 5:04 pm

Refer my name

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 27
  • Nurul Izzah on Oct 13, 2023 at 5:05 pm

Anwar menang subsidi hapus

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 21
    • Subsidi tak hapus sama sekali on Oct 13, 2023 at 9:48 pm

Subsidi masih lagi kekal untuk golongan berpendapatan rendah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
  • pengayuhbasikal on Oct 13, 2023 at 5:05 pm

“subsidised diesel sales have increased by up to 40% since 2019, while the number of vehicles using diesel only increased by less than 3%, leading to the possibility of serious smuggling activities due to the low price of diesel in the country.”

the increase was because more trips by diesel vehicles on the road after pandemic . not because of smuggling activities … aiyoh….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 16
    • Truth Teller on Oct 13, 2023 at 10:23 pm

My company own few petrol station, 75% quantity of diesel was sold to few parties that doing smuggling diesel to black market and sell to neighborhood countries and share the profit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
      • Dr. Esmadi Abu Abu Seman on Oct 14, 2023 at 6:35 am

Do not punish rakyat because of the enforcement failure!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 22
        • Sure or not rakyat Malaysia not involved in diesel smuggling? on Oct 14, 2023 at 9:10 am

But we still need to punish those rakyat who betray the nation’s trust by getting involved in this diesel smuggling syndicates for their personal profit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
      • tokkoksengsong on Oct 14, 2023 at 10:35 am

boss, why u talking kok?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
        • Did you read the news? on Oct 14, 2023 at 4:34 pm

Earlier this month, the PJ sessions court fined a petrol station dealer RM100,000 for allowing the illegal sale of diesel in barrels of up to slightly more than 2000 litres. The abuse of subsidized diesel for personal profit, does exist.

• Of course there is smuggling of diesel. But not took so long for gomen to realise it. It started 20 years ago and they use boats and barges. Making hundreds of thousands per trip.
        Same As our local rice as it so cheap, it’s being smuggled out or repacked as imported rice earning millions. That’s why got shortage.

• Seitha on Oct 16, 2023 at 10:31 am

Why is your company not sharing this data with the authorities..
        Is your company colluding with the smugglers and gettig kick backs????????

• Gabriel on Oct 13, 2023 at 5:23 pm

SST up to 8%. Higher than GST.
    Thank you pmx. You are the best.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 11
  • call me by your name on Oct 13, 2023 at 5:30 pm

private vehicle using diesel lelong market soon

• no brainer on Oct 13, 2023 at 5:49 pm

singaporeans curi ron 95 takmau address
    kereta ev takda below 100k takmau address
    ini kerajaan memang mcb

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
  • Bieight8 on Oct 13, 2023 at 5:52 pm

Should do the same with petrol too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • DonkeyKong on Oct 13, 2023 at 6:28 pm

LOL… dulu 6% GST bukan main bising DAP dan PKR.. now SST is 8%. Kasi tepuk kuat sikit!

Meanwhile.. Pickup truck owners will soon be looking at RM3.75 per liter. Bagussss…. pickup trucks as lifestyle vehicles resulted in more road bullies on the highways. Enjoy the revised fuel prices, you losers..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 28
    • Can't stop a donkey from being an @ss on Oct 13, 2023 at 9:56 pm

SST doesn’t work the same way GST did. GST was levied at every level of transaction, starting from the producer/manufacturer, wholesaler, retailer & consumer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
    • applegreen on Oct 14, 2023 at 6:06 am

LOL okjer ..memang patot pon T20 kena tax lebih tinggi. but Goddamn those geng2 PN Sorok Minyak peket & beras …anak menantu sang Iblis tk balik-balik

• We lap u PMX on Oct 13, 2023 at 7:20 pm

Let the blanket subsidy on ron95 continue!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • Implement "polluters pay" principle (PPP) NOW on Oct 13, 2023 at 7:36 pm

1 diesel pickup truck equal 100 petrol cars emmissions

why pickup truck so popular? Sit truck very Yow Ying? Bumpy as Fark

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
    • Inferior complex on Oct 13, 2023 at 9:18 pm

Coz they need to compensate for something small….

• Jason on Oct 14, 2023 at 12:08 am

The government can remove subsidies but then all car duties and taxes should be removed according. If they still impose high taxes and duties it is not fair to Malaysians.

• Dr. Esmadi Abu Abu Seman on Oct 14, 2023 at 6:32 am

This is UNFAIR to Sabahan & Sarawakian who rely on diesel vehicles as their main transport. Punish rakyat due to enforcement failure?!?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 21
    • How do you know for sure? on Oct 14, 2023 at 9:14 am

How do you know for sure whether those who operate diesel vehicles for transportation purpose in Sabah & Sarawak are not eligible to apply for fuel subsidy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
      • Sabahan on Oct 15, 2023 at 2:03 am

In Sabah and Sarawak, road condition standard still far lagging behind compare to Penisular.

Thus, a hailak is pretty much a necessity here. You can watch some youtube video so that you CAN BE MORE SURE.

• Topic of discussion should be subsidised diesel fuel on Oct 15, 2023 at 9:33 pm

Why do you suddenly bring up about road conditions when this PT’s article is about subsidised diesel fuel?

• lolipop on Oct 15, 2023 at 5:48 am

Private/company pickup still used for small company transport. Price will go up and up and up. everyone kena

• lalala on Oct 15, 2023 at 2:58 pm

There is a loophole in the system that goes back to square one again.

Scenario 1: Logistic company meaning i registered myself as lalamove truck driver, i will have subsidy?

Scenario 2: I register a SSM with a startup logistic service company. I will be eligible for subsidy? And smuggle using this logistic company??

Implementation should be fair to all. Like thailand everyone is the same. If not loophole will open to smuggle.

• Bangkitkita on Oct 15, 2023 at 3:01 pm

There is a loophole in the system that goes back to square one again.

Scenario 1: Logistic company meaning i registered myself as lalamove truck driver, i will have subsidy?

Scenario 2: I register a SSM with a startup logistic service company. I will be eligible for subsidy? And smuggle using this logistic company??

Implementation should be fair to all. Like thailand everyone is the same. If not loophole will open to smuggle.

• apa nama on Oct 15, 2023 at 7:57 pm

implement this gst la, sst la, remove this subsidy that subsidy all useless if corruption and cronism still sweep under the carpet….

bottomline the poor and average will continue to suffer ……

• Saya Ulang on Oct 16, 2023 at 8:06 am

Saya Ulam Ulam

• willie on Oct 18, 2023 at 8:38 am

goods transport and logistics companies = basically all lorry/trucks ? private individual 1,3 tonner how. the immediate effected are private 4×4, diesel car which represent maybe less than 10% of total diesel usage ?