Proton EV to debut as early as 2025 – Hong Leong IB

Geely’s Geometry E EV

Proton’s electric vehicle (EV) is set to debut as early as 2025. This is according to Hong Leong Investment Bank (HLIB), which research note released yesterday maintained its ‘buy’ rating on DRB-Hicom’s stock.

“Management guided for the new Proton EV to be introduced as early as 2025. Furthermore, Proton is leveraging Geely’s knowledge and technology to develop its own EV range. Management has guided the new Proton EV model to be launched as early as 2025,” HLIB said, reported by The Edge.

We’re now at the tail-end of 2023 and 2025 is just slightly more than a year away. Proton’s next big product is the S70 sedan (previously speculated as the S50). Does 2025 sound a little bit too soon?

According to the same bank in March 2022, Proton’s first EV will go on sale by 2027, so if the latest 2025 prediction is true, Proton would have been quietly working hard on its EV R&D and is well ahead of schedule.

But what’s not in doubt is the Geely tech and connection. Proton’s partner has the Geometry range of more affordable EVs in China – check out the A sedan, the C and the E compact crossover for an idea of what Geely has in store. More on Proton’s electrification roadmap here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Please stop the fire comment. It’s not Proton’s fault. Their contribution on the models is only DESIGNING GRILLE. It’s impossible for the grille to cause fire.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 57
    • Con9lanfirm is grille on Oct 18, 2023 at 3:18 pm

not enough air passthru hence overheat and BURN

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 46
    • stasta on Oct 22, 2023 at 9:57 pm

but but proton sent dozens of local engineers to china to allegedly participate in the RHD conversion. are you saying those engineers went there for makan angin only?

• What was their participation scope? Spell our Malaysian requirements to China engineers?

• @NotBruceWayne on Oct 18, 2023 at 11:13 am

Good..but dear Proton people, Cheaper shld not mean Uglier.
    Give us a good looking design along with greater features at marhaen price *since you guys are enjoying the benefits of National car maker.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 38
  • Laugh on Oct 18, 2023 at 11:24 am

Mark my words… another copy paste project then mark up additional 50% profit.
    lol…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 36
  • chief strategist officer on Oct 18, 2023 at 11:43 am

Proton should create a separate EV marque brand subsidiary. Name it ELECTRON or ELEKTRA. Proton can just focus on the next gen ICE vehicles from Geely-Renault JV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Bob Mal on Oct 18, 2023 at 11:48 am

Maybe – but for me I think it will come 2026 since we are always LATE to the hybrid/elec game ie.(X90 released in 2023 but Ph got it in 2021) then likely (X70 hybrid in 2024 but Ph got it in 2020) so the EV – Geely Geometry C (just released in Saudi so probably it will come here much later)

• EV user on Oct 18, 2023 at 12:34 pm

Proton EV rm45k. Mari-mari.

• mechanicnextdoor on Oct 18, 2023 at 5:36 pm

Hah tough luck they’d probably need another 10 years to reach that price point

• How about you make your current cars more fuel efficient first before you start talking about alternative fuel vehicles?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
    • Do you know on Oct 18, 2023 at 3:23 pm

when you keep lowering the emmision, the power will reduce

Proton car idle rpm is aound 900 try adjust to 700RPM at idle

Other are too complex foe malaysians malap to understands

• rosdi on Oct 18, 2023 at 1:55 pm

Apa susah, just get a zeekr and put harimau enblem in front. Done.

• In 2011-2012 itself, Proton had developed REEV (range-extender EV) for their Exora and Saga/Persona (i think). Proton won international competitions using these vehicles.

10 years later and Proton never developed this tech further. Lots of really smart people in Proton but unfortunately due to politics and ownership issues, Proton never fully realized its potential.

Such a shame, Proton could have become a huge brand in SEA/Asia.

• Rebadge King on Oct 19, 2023 at 8:55 am

35 years of nonsense better close shop and sell CKD Geely cars with actual Geely logo.

• Would really love to see them selling ICE to EV converstion kit of their existing platform.

• Broke guy on Oct 18, 2023 at 9:13 pm

The only thing that will hype me up is the reduction of import tax for all the cars. Malaysian cars are just too expensive.

• Prefer Phev on Oct 19, 2023 at 12:20 am

Hope to see a Phev car from Proton. Best of both worlds.

• fadzilli haji Ahmad on Oct 19, 2023 at 8:15 am

another cheap Geely car to be rebadged and get a “DNA” Grill to be Proton EV. I wonder what happened to all the work they did in 2010-2014. the Preve Hybrid they showcased in 2014 and Fleet cars? waste of money and talent as usual.

• Sohai on Oct 19, 2023 at 9:52 am

When nothing happens, claimed the sky and said proton engineers did more than just design bumper. After things happen, said Proton is not involved. Pui !

Anywhere, if I buy a proton and is trouble, I talk to and blame proton. You expect the consumer to talk to the donor?

• Ching chong car bitch on Oct 28, 2023 at 1:15 pm

Uh meh, i would rather drive my Nissan anyways