2023 BMW X1 sDrive20i xLine in Malaysia – full gallery; CKD; 204 PS 2.0T; from RM239k; RM33k less than iX1

Here’s a live gallery of the all-new BMW X1 sDrive20i xLine, which was launched earlier this month with a retail price of RM238,900 on-the-road without insurance. This figure is with a standard two-year warranty, but if you want the five-year extended warranty and service package, it goes up to RM259,800.

Like the second-generation (F48) X1 before it, the latest third-generation (U11) model is locally assembled (CKD) in Kulim, Kedah. The petrol-powered version of the X1 joins its fully electric sibling – the iX1 xDrive30 M Sport – in the local line-up, the latter priced from RM272,370 (or RM285,800 with the extended warranty and service package).

With the X1 sDrive20i xLine, you’re getting a 2.0 litre turbocharged inline-four engine that outputs 204 PS (201 hp or 150 kW) and 300 Nm of torque. This is paired with a seven-speed Steptronic dual-clutch transmission that sends drive to the front wheels, enabling a 0-100 km/h time of 7.6 seconds and a top speed of 236 km/h.

Standard for the CKD X1 is the xLine styling package that includes rugged-look bumpers, accompanied by an underride protection panel, a Pearl Chrome grille with high-gloss black slats and satin aluminium exterior trim.

The kit list also includes adaptive LED headlamps with high beam assist, 19-inch V-spoke style 867 bicolour light-alloy wheels, a 10.25-inch digital instrument cluster, a 10.7-inch touchscreen infotainment system, an ambient lighting system, powered front seats with driver’s side memory function, dual-zone climate control, aluminium mesh effect trim, paddle shifters and My Modes.

As for the infotainment system, it is based on BMW Operating System 8 and has support for wireless Android Auto, Apple CarPlay as well as ConnectedDrive services. Comfort Access and a wireless charging pad are also standard along with Digital Key Plus, which allows compatible smartphones (with an ultra-wideband chip) to unlock the car.

2023 BMW X1 sDrive20i xLine spec sheet; click to enlarge

In terms of driver assistance systems, the X1 sDrive20i xLine gets both the Driving and Parking Assistant packages. These include lane departure and lane change warning, collision and pedestrian warning, rear cross traffic alert, rear collision warning, speed limit info, Active Park Distance Control, Reversing Assistant, Lateral Parking Aid and a rear-view camera.

However, you won’t get adaptive cruise control, as that’s only available with the Driving Assistant Plus package, which is included (along with other features) with the iX1. The all-electric variant also boasts more power from its dual-motor, all-wheel drive powertrain for the RM33,470 premium (or RM26,000 with the extended service and warranty package) it commands over the petrol-powered X1.

You can order the CKD X1 in a choice of five colours: Black Sapphire, Alpine White, Cape York Green, Phytonic Blue and Space Silver. Regardless of the exterior colour, the interior Sensatec synthetic leather upholstery only comes in black and is paired with an anthracite headliner.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Red bottle on Oct 24, 2023 at 9:57 am

Looks great

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • (Like) smart #1 Brabus rm244,000
    (Dislike) BMW X1 RM238,900

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 53
  • Drrrr on Oct 24, 2023 at 10:29 am

OMG…Nice design car. I love this BMW power engine.

• ROTI CANAI on Oct 24, 2023 at 10:33 am

TESLA MODEL Y, byd atto 3 > THIS

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 25
  • Beauty

• Bieight8 on Oct 24, 2023 at 11:53 am

That rhd conversion is so poorly done almost on par with French cars…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
    • Then why many people will still buy rhd conversion that are made from europe, are you complaining because you are too jealous

• Nice and affordable and worth

• X1 is sporty. Love the development. Sales to outcast Mxxxxxxx n Smart

• BMW will always sell more than Mercedes lah. No need to hide hide. Cheaper cars will always sell more than more expensive cars. Just stating a common factual phenomenon.

It’s like how ayam will always sell more than itek. Those who like itek will happily pay more for it. Faham?

• Sooo..... on Oct 25, 2023 at 8:58 am

X1 have better durable car than GLA but buying GLA just for logo
        ;P
        Durable or Logo ?
        your choice ..

• Masakroti on Oct 25, 2023 at 9:13 am

GLA 200 using cheapo 1.3 engine from Renault but selling at 20k more premium than this it’s like ayam but priced higher than kambing bcoz Merc claim it’s premium. Merc also sells less because many people I know hates that stupid gearbox placement. It’s unnatural and annoying for spirited drives.

• Junkies otr on Oct 25, 2023 at 3:13 pm

All vehicles above 20yrs must scrap laa.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9